• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Feb 16, 2018
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Feb 16, 2018
    100
    With the new Twin Fantasy, Toledo has done the unimaginable: created a reboot that matches its original in tone, passion, and excitement.
  2. Feb 1, 2018
    100
    This is no stop-gap, contract filler of a record but rather a perfectionist giving a great album the full workout it deserved.
  3. 91
    On the 2018 remake (full title: Twin Fantasy (Face to Face)), Toledo maintains his vulnerability but hides behind layers of noise and production value. ... But if Toledo’s production sensibilities are still a work in progress, his sense of humor and wit continue to shine through.
  4. 91
    It’s a neat inversion that yields some of the most thrillingly ambitious indie rock compositions of this decade, though one that occasionally exhausts the listener into submission.
  5. Magnet
    Apr 17, 2018
    90
    What a glorious sound it is--the highs and lows (sonically and emotionally) are crisper and better defined. [No. 150, p.50]
  6. Feb 20, 2018
    90
    The new release of Twin Fantasy never panders to the original. Nor does it feel like Toledo is forced to adhere to the limitations of his previous work. It’s a development, not a remake; the full realisation of what was always supposed to be--and it sounds all the more incredible for it.
  7. Feb 16, 2018
    90
    The age-old saying goes if something isn't broken, don't fix it, but the re-release of Twin Fantasy shows that, seven years later, Car Seat Headrest are capable of re-contextualizing their work in ways that cement the faith that we have in them as revolutionary musicians.
  8. 90
    Thanks to the fact that Car Seat Headrest is now a band rather than a solo recording project, there’s more spit and polish to the songs, a level of gloss that Twin Fantasy really benefits from.
  9. Feb 16, 2018
    86
    Twin Fantasy is not a perfect record—the latter half is bogged down by soundscape-y passages and spoken word, for one thing--but that only validates it as a powerful document of teenaged pain and longing.
  10. Feb 16, 2018
    80
    There are times when the less charitable might be inclined to shout at Toledo to pull himself together, but Car Seat Headrest increasingly feel like a significant band, and Toledo like an unusual and compelling voice.
  11. Feb 15, 2018
    80
    Twin Fantasy leaves no doubt that Toledo is a strikingly gifted and thoughtful songwriter who also has a firm grasp of how to make his material work in the studio, and isn't afraid to think on a grand scale.
  12. Feb 15, 2018
    80
    While it may not carry the same intrigue of a college student self-recording a lo-fi opus between classes, this new Twin Fantasy elucidates the masterfulness of an incisive indie savant whose creative reach had, until recently, exceeded his grasp.
  13. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    Indulgent? Possibly, but it works, because this record – even the longest tracks--is punchy, witty and razor sharp.
  14. Feb 5, 2018
    80
    With its tight and at times almost arena-sized arrangements and clean--though not slick--production, the new version of the album, subtitled Face to Face, jettisons that entire aspect of the Twin Fantasy experience. For some who may have had trouble finding an entry point to the songs through the original album's lo-fi haze, this will be good news.
  15. Uncut
    Feb 1, 2018
    80
    Twin Fantasy marks another leap in ambition. [Mar 2018, p.22]
  16. Mojo
    Feb 1, 2018
    80
    Like the original, Twin Fantasy 2017 transports us to a unique and fully formed world, where this time the physical geography is still more affecting. [Mar 2018, p.96]
  17. Q Magazine
    Feb 1, 2018
    80
    Hardcore aficionados might doggedly stick to the original but for new fans, it's a treat. [Mar 2018, p.107]
  18. Feb 16, 2018
    76
    The results of Toledo’s re-imagination add up to enough to make this feel like more than just a perfectionist’s pursuit.
  19. Apr 18, 2018
    70
    Though it often overstays its welcome, with a handful of tracks pushing beyond the 15-minute mark, Twin Fantasy is an ideal starting point for any latent Will Toledo fan.
  20. 70
    Though some longtime fans may feel as though some of the imperfections that adorned Toledo’s original DIY bedroom release are lost in translation in this gorgeously polished release, in its new iteration Twin Fantasy is a deeply moving statement from one of indie rock’s freshest young voices.
  21. Feb 20, 2018
    40
    While it shows flashes of brilliance it also exposes Toledo's early shortcomings as a songwriter. Filled with angst and the genuine spunk of Toledo's frantic guitars, Twin Fantasy is also erratic and inconsistent.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 168
  1. Feb 18, 2018
    10
    It´s only February and we have a serious contender for the album of the year in Twin Fantasy. Toledo has done fantastic work. Pure rawness.It´s only February and we have a serious contender for the album of the year in Twin Fantasy. Toledo has done fantastic work. Pure rawness. The drums are spectacular. Great production by the way.

    Best songs: Famous Prophets, High to Death, Sober to Death
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2018
    10
    The way Car Set Headrest are able to seamlessly produce an album that improves upon the original in every way is a feat in itself. What aThe way Car Set Headrest are able to seamlessly produce an album that improves upon the original in every way is a feat in itself. What a thrilling experience. If you haven't listened to the original before I suggest you listen to that first to get a sense of just how incredible this album truly is. The new High to Death and Famous Prophets are some of the most beautiful songs Toledo's ever made. Awesome stuff. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2018
    9
    Wow.

    I hadn't heard of CSH until this album, but I saw the high metascore and thought I'd give it a try. Before I listened to this one, I
    Wow.

    I hadn't heard of CSH until this album, but I saw the high metascore and thought I'd give it a try. Before I listened to this one, I listened to TOD, and while I thought some of the songs were good, I didn't really like others

    And then I listened to this album, which, right now, is a close second for album of the year.

    It's genius, well crafted, and, in my opinion, try as you might, Toledo is probably the only person who will ever fully understand this album. The lyrics are honest and, frankly, really confusing, and the great production and raw vocals match them perfectly. Really great album.

    Favorite track: Beach Life-in-Death
    Full Review »