• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fool's Gold Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Los Angeles-based group led by Luke Top and Lewis Pesacov (and featuring 10 other musicians from such bands as We Are Scientists, the Fall, and Foreign Born) blend African music with indie rock on its debut album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The spirited chants and intricate beats give Fool’s Gold unity, and the precision is inviting. They never break from their tight sound with a boldly original gesture, but there’s no need to risk spoiling this fun set of songs.
  2. This new project is hardly a bandwagon-shaped whim. Instead, Fool's Gold, the album, has been made with genuine passion and a desire to pay homage to something its creators clearly love.
  3. Fool’s Gold stretch Western pop templates out into African shapes; and this debut album belies their name by being a genuine gem.
  4. Throughout its 43 minutes, Fool’s Gold has the air of the kind of effortless breeziness that comes with tossed-off side projects. But that vibe underscores the effectiveness of the album, which features multiple stylistic quirks that could lead Fool’s Gold in a variety of directions if they continue as a project.
  5. The first half connects the mind and the body equally, which is why they are such successful songs. The second half of is just body music and that’s where it falls a little flat. That’s not to say it doesn't work at all.
  6. Tribal chanting and desert parties meet drum machines and electrifying guitar riffs in an album that is consistently inventive, mesmerising and incredibly danceable.
  7. Under The Radar
    When a band takes that inspiration and --through performance, production, and a cantorial twist-makes it irresistable and uniquely their own, you can't do much else but shake it. [Fall 2009, p.62]

See all 12 Critic Reviews