User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 21, 2018
    8
    It's a bit classist & racially tone deaf, but I enjoyed the first episode immensely. Yellowstone reminds me of Longmire with better production value, and a deeper acting bench. Will be tuning in for more.
  2. Jun 25, 2018
    10
    Very much enjoyed it so far. Haven’t been this entertained in a long time. Give it a shot and see for yourself.
  3. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    Great show with the huge potential. Feels very Sheridan. If you've watched his movies and love them before you will more than likely enjoy this series too. I assume the first episodes should give us the detailed presentation and intriguing set-up while the other half of the show will develop in a very dramatic and frantic detective-like story.
  4. Jun 21, 2018
    9
    I enjoyed it a lot. Many different plot lines going on, all relevant and the dynamics of the family are interesting and telling a pretty good story. The slutty tough sister is quite the gal, not really a family show. I'm looking forward to the next episode.
  5. Jun 20, 2018
    10
    Reminds me of Game of Thrones but instead of dragons, Montana. Lots of characters each with their own motivation and personality differences. The pacing was slower and the movement not as crisp as I would have suspected but I have an inkling it's due to the episodes that follow tying together the pilot's breadcrumbs. It's a 10 from me because I want to see what happens next and theReminds me of Game of Thrones but instead of dragons, Montana. Lots of characters each with their own motivation and personality differences. The pacing was slower and the movement not as crisp as I would have suspected but I have an inkling it's due to the episodes that follow tying together the pilot's breadcrumbs. It's a 10 from me because I want to see what happens next and the characters are intriguing, despite their morality being questionable at best. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2018
    0
    The writers for Yellowstone enjoyed the movie "Legends of the fall", so much the similarities between the two are laughable at best. Fiction seems to be the latter for Yellowstone rather than accuracy!
    The storyline is a coin flip, a full reversal of when the native Americans shared the land with nature.
    I enjoyed yellowstone for what it is and will watch more.
  7. Jun 22, 2018
    2
    The show and acting were good but the language did not have to be what it was too many f bombs. Totally not necessary acting and facial expressions would get the same message across. Wo language it would be an almost acceptable family show. Don’t know if I will keep watching if language stays the same
  8. Jun 21, 2018
    2
    Typical Costner fashion this is drawn out and boring. Could be a good series if it moves along quicker.
    i like the land owner/developer/Indian battle, but I'm worried about the Costner curse. And how come no one ever addresses the change in Costner's voice. A lot of the time you can't even understand what he is saying, did he have cancer? vocal cord damage?
  9. Jun 29, 2018
    3
    I just can't relate to billionaire cattle ranchers on any level. Not my cup of tea or in this case buffalo chips.
  10. Jun 25, 2018
    3
    Typical gratuitous profanity laced bore lacking in story craft, but that's what's delivered from narrative challenged immature "talent" produced and financed by today's studio stooges.
  11. Jun 29, 2018
    0
    Pretty much disappointed,i mainly only watched 1st episode to see Buck Taylor,Rudy Ramos and Ian Bowen, and to see what it is about and i love those 3 actors above and wish they were in more movies,i like Kevin Costner,but not near as much as the 3 i mentioned above,so i am sad Buck and Rudy are only in 1st episode,but i went ahead and watched 2nd episode..because Ian Bowen was suppose toPretty much disappointed,i mainly only watched 1st episode to see Buck Taylor,Rudy Ramos and Ian Bowen, and to see what it is about and i love those 3 actors above and wish they were in more movies,i like Kevin Costner,but not near as much as the 3 i mentioned above,so i am sad Buck and Rudy are only in 1st episode,but i went ahead and watched 2nd episode..because Ian Bowen was suppose to be in it and i have yet to see him,i did not even see him in 1st episode,i loved him on Teen wolf and was excited to see him in a western,is he not really on here,i suffered thru the 2nd episode waiting to see him,because i am actually very bored with the Yellowstone series,so far,especially since there will be no more Rudy Ramos and Buck Taylor Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2018
    4
    Sadly, virtually totally derivative material here. Maybe the "writers" should have re-visited Larry McMurtry's "Lonesome Dove" to understand how to do a sweeping western saga right. I was primarily drawn to watch by virtue of a credible cast. But, if you put sophomoric dialogue in their mouths, it's not gonna elevate the final product. I am only rating it this high as there is so much junkSadly, virtually totally derivative material here. Maybe the "writers" should have re-visited Larry McMurtry's "Lonesome Dove" to understand how to do a sweeping western saga right. I was primarily drawn to watch by virtue of a credible cast. But, if you put sophomoric dialogue in their mouths, it's not gonna elevate the final product. I am only rating it this high as there is so much junk on the summer schedule that anything watchable gets a partial pass... Expand
  13. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yellowstone is a TV western featuring the timeless battle between cowboys and indians. Only this time, the battle takes place in present day and the indians win the day more often than not with the help of a casino.

    This is a joy to watch. The writing is crisp, the acting spot on, and the characters have a story to tell. When the patriarch of the Dutton family, played by Kevin Costner, does something particularly evil, it seems like he's doing it because he's trying to preserve a way of life. And when his youngest son, Kacey, shoots his brother-in-law (spoiler), we see his father, even though the son seeks distance from John Dutton.

    Yellowstone could end up seemingly melodramatic. However, I think it pulls back just enough to make it less of a soap opera. It feels more of an authentic telling of a family struggling to fit in even if they have been controlling Montana for five generations. Maybe its a Western thing; the cowboy always struggles.
    Expand
  14. Jul 12, 2018
    10
    epic show that keeps getting better with every episode! by far, the best show of the summer.
  15. Jul 13, 2018
    0
    Watched the what I thought was the first show...and was wondering if I missed one show prior. Absolutely no development of anything ? Just drops you in and you're supposed to figure it out ? Really bad screenplay and plot ? Is this a soap ? Doesn't hold a candle to "Lonesome Dove" so far..Am I the only one. What a shame...
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 27, 2018
    50
    The story refreshingly shirks Dallas-style melodrama, but its violent, tragic twists often lacks the intended impact, because it feels we've ridden this dolorous trail too many times before. [25 Jun - 8 Jul 2018, p.11]
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 20, 2018
    30
    A series that begins as a ponderous horse opera and develops into a somewhat preposterous soap opera.
  3. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 20, 2018
    70
    Though “Yellowstone,” at least in the early going, has its flaws--please make scenes of people having sex standing up against a wall go away forever--it’s a solid piece of work.