• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2018
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    If you like fantasy, I think this show is going to be awesome. Only seen first episode, but am already hooked. Sure, it's a little cheap, but characters and story are cool so far, and hints at much bigger things to come.
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    0
    First episode is so bad, haven't seen such a poor quality in a long time.
    Fight and acting are awfull.
    story is a classic revenge plot.
    i m a fantasy fan but i will advice you to pass this one.
  3. Jul 29, 2018
    7
    There's clearly a terrible trend in film and TV these days where comparisons exlude budget. This Low budget show misses the mark in some areas, but in most it hits well enough to be a bit of fun. The acting is ok, despite the arguments from others that it's awful (what they mean is the scripts dialogue is generally poor).

    The filming quality is what you'd expect from a series with
    There's clearly a terrible trend in film and TV these days where comparisons exlude budget. This Low budget show misses the mark in some areas, but in most it hits well enough to be a bit of fun. The acting is ok, despite the arguments from others that it's awful (what they mean is the scripts dialogue is generally poor).

    The filming quality is what you'd expect from a series with enough of a budget for a network like CW to try out, but it's nothing great. Where the show really does well is in ensuring that the characters drives the story where the script and dialogue fail.

    Although relatively cliche, I'm in and want to find out more about the world that these characters exist in, who the mysterious figure at the end of the first episode is, what the relationship is between the captain and the "princess" and what the hell happened between him and his father.

    This definitely has potential to be something great if it is supported and is given the budget necessary for it to take off.

    I'm currently comparing this to Xena and Herculese and give it about 7 (if they are a 10).

    Compared to something as perfect as Game of Thrones it's a solid 2... but, Hey! Benioff and Martin kinda spoiled us with that one.
    Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2018
    9
    If all that most of the critics more or less say is "this show is low budget", that's not particularly interesting. There were some rough spots in the first episode, but overall it's pretty fun, and I think the characters have some strong chemistry. Can't wait for the rest of the season!
  5. Jul 18, 2018
    0
    WOW! the show could be good if the ideas are seared into the right direction, but the lead actress is killing every chance of being watchable.
    I have the feeling that she didn't get the chance to read the script before shooting, has no idea what her character is supposed to be nor how to represent her...too bad, it could be a show, and now i suppose it is going to be canceled after fist
    WOW! the show could be good if the ideas are seared into the right direction, but the lead actress is killing every chance of being watchable.
    I have the feeling that she didn't get the chance to read the script before shooting, has no idea what her character is supposed to be nor how to represent her...too bad, it could be a show, and now i suppose it is going to be canceled after fist season :(
    what am I going to watch? :(
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2018
    6
    Wow, Episode 1 was really bad.
    Think "Men in Tights" production quality but without any humor and with bad acting, CGI and choreography.
  7. Jul 12, 2018
    10
    I really enjoyed the show and having finally a fantasy medieval genre show that reminds me of all the games I love. The choice of actors is perfect for the characters we've seen so far. Andrew Howard just gives me the creeps in all the good ways
  8. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    The Outpost is a fresh new series by the creators of the fantasy film series Mythica. Jess Greene is the main star, Talon, a Blackblood, the nearest analogy to that is think Half Elven. The series is backed up by a great musical score by James Schafer, and the sound engineering of Nate Hoffman, and China Khoral

    Far too many critics are attacking Outpost on low budget, or on plot based
    The Outpost is a fresh new series by the creators of the fantasy film series Mythica. Jess Greene is the main star, Talon, a Blackblood, the nearest analogy to that is think Half Elven. The series is backed up by a great musical score by James Schafer, and the sound engineering of Nate Hoffman, and China Khoral

    Far too many critics are attacking Outpost on low budget, or on plot based off of having only viewed the pilot, very unfairly. If you want Game of Thrones, go watch that, pay HBO or buy the DVD's, The Outpost is not attempting to be that, or Lord of the Rings.

    What Outpost does offer is a new network fantasy show, with actors that care about their audience, and love to interact with them on Facebook on the Fan Group Mythica and Outpost Musings, as well as on Twitter. Both Jake Stormoen and Adam Johnson are incredible with that, you will not find this with your larger shows.

    The Outpost offers you a chance to come in as a fan and support a small show filmed primarily in Utah, with a small studio, and help with that support to become more of what you dream of in a fantasy show, Arrowstorm Studios is all about you, the fans.

    If you want a show to watch weekly with your kids with magic, fun, diverse characters and cast, The Outpost is something you need to give a chance, for something PG and enchanting, If you ever played Dungeons and Dragons, or love watching Critical Role, The Outpost will be a fix for you

    The Outpost is not perfect, the characters need and probably will grow as the episodes progress. If you care more about Story, and people, rather than gloss and BOOMS, this series is your chance for something epic
    Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2018
    10
    I can tell the story is going places. The pilot isn’t perfect, but I was entertained and I’m excited to see where the story goes by the end of the season! For now I’ll give it a 10 to counteract the low scores from people who are eager to judge a show by its pilot while simultaneously expecting Game of Thrones production values from a low budget production.
  10. Jul 17, 2018
    0
    This is ridiculously bad. Gamers: Dorkness Rising level of execution, except that Dorkness Rising was a parody and shot by enthusiasts for free, and being hilarious and cringeworthy by intent.

    10 stronk independent wymmynz out of 10, would punch men in closed helmets with my bare fists again. Srsly, the likes of Shannara or Legend of the Seeker are Citizen Kanes of fantasy television
    This is ridiculously bad. Gamers: Dorkness Rising level of execution, except that Dorkness Rising was a parody and shot by enthusiasts for free, and being hilarious and cringeworthy by intent.

    10 stronk independent wymmynz out of 10, would punch men in closed helmets with my bare fists again.

    Srsly, the likes of Shannara or Legend of the Seeker are Citizen Kanes of fantasy television when contrasted to this.
    Expand
  11. Jul 18, 2018
    10
    The Outpost is a fantastic new show brought to us by Dean Devlin and the producers of the Mythica movies, and it is truly great! It has strong female leads, fast pacing, great story-line with lots of twists and turns. The characters are interesting and well-played. It has fantasy, sci-fi, romance, mystery, humor, creatures and action. It leaves you wanting more-- more of the actors, moreThe Outpost is a fantastic new show brought to us by Dean Devlin and the producers of the Mythica movies, and it is truly great! It has strong female leads, fast pacing, great story-line with lots of twists and turns. The characters are interesting and well-played. It has fantasy, sci-fi, romance, mystery, humor, creatures and action. It leaves you wanting more-- more of the actors, more of the characters and more seasons to watch the story and characters evolve. Well done!! And it's from an independent film studio Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2018
    10
    This show, while low budget I feel shows great potential. I think in this modern era we are jaded by tv shows with high production values and any show that doesn't get the marvel netflix treatment is immediately shunned. If you are a fan of older tv shows from my childhood like Buffy and Xena warrior princess than this show will fill familiar. That being said the first couple of episodesThis show, while low budget I feel shows great potential. I think in this modern era we are jaded by tv shows with high production values and any show that doesn't get the marvel netflix treatment is immediately shunned. If you are a fan of older tv shows from my childhood like Buffy and Xena warrior princess than this show will fill familiar. That being said the first couple of episodes are abit slow and hard to get into, but if you can see past that you will be treated to a thrilling nestalgia trip. Expand
  13. Jul 15, 2018
    5
    I have mixed feelings. The protagonist is a very bad actor, doesn't seem natural at all, in a lot of situations overacts, and the script doesn't help her. The reactions of the characters and the motivations are built with a childish mind I think. The fights are unrealistic as well: momentum, leverage or physics in general never restricted the mind of the choreographer (ok, this happensI have mixed feelings. The protagonist is a very bad actor, doesn't seem natural at all, in a lot of situations overacts, and the script doesn't help her. The reactions of the characters and the motivations are built with a childish mind I think. The fights are unrealistic as well: momentum, leverage or physics in general never restricted the mind of the choreographer (ok, this happens almost all fantasy movies, GoT was a refreshing exception with its more realistic approach.)

    BUT:

    There are very few good fantasy series around, and this one isn't the worst at all. And there are children, middle aged and old actors as well. I really hate when most of the characters are teenagers.
    The costumes, scenes, buildings and the atmosphere of the outpost itself feels good enough, I liked it. And I don't want to speak about the plot, this was the first episode. So far I didn't find stupid contradictions in terms, the logic of the plot isn't broken. On the long run the plot can be good as well. I expect a relatively generic fantasy story, which I think suits this series.
    If you like old school rpg games, I think you can give to the movie a higher score, because against all weakness, there is a strong, familiar RPGish atmosphere, which saved the episode for me. If you aren't an RPG loving type, you can even dislike this.
    Expand
  14. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    If you liked the series Merlin you will also enjoy it. The series has its faults but the show is entertaining and fills a gap in the market right now. If you have kids I think this is a highly recommended program. I hope they keep it running for season 2.
    Acting is decent but the plot is very entertaining.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 10, 2018
    58
    Things aren’t breezy enough here to be a jaunty sword-and-dagger fest. Talon is too serious-minded for that with her understandable determination to kill her mother’s killers in addition to avenging the attempted wiping out of an entire race. The first episode never dawdles in this respect. Future hours may calm down considerably on the action front. But even at a slower pace, The Outpost seems to promise enough mayhem, intrigue and burgeoning feminism to make for a satisfying enough summer run.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jul 9, 2018
    20
    The Outpost isn't offensively bad. It's just head-scratchingly, "Why is this getting domestic distribution at all?" bad or "Geez, I hope The CW doesn't think it's going to be able to lure fans of The 100 to this" bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 9, 2018
    50
    The series, which is humorous enough and romantic enough and as bloody as it needs to be for the international market, is not completely predictable.