• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2018
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 10, 2018
    58
    Things aren’t breezy enough here to be a jaunty sword-and-dagger fest. Talon is too serious-minded for that with her understandable determination to kill her mother’s killers in addition to avenging the attempted wiping out of an entire race. The first episode never dawdles in this respect. Future hours may calm down considerably on the action front. But even at a slower pace, The Outpost seems to promise enough mayhem, intrigue and burgeoning feminism to make for a satisfying enough summer run.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 9, 2018
    50
    The series, which is humorous enough and romantic enough and as bloody as it needs to be for the international market, is not completely predictable.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 9, 2018
    40
    Imagine a low-rent “Game of Thrones” wannabe with bargain basement special effects and a paint-by-numbers plot and you’ve got a good conception of the fantasy drama "The Outpost."
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 9, 2018
    25
    Outpost might remind you of the heyday--or low point--of syndicated shows in the late ’80s or ’90s. It’s not “Xena: Warrior Princess”--it’s more on par with the dreck of “Beastmaster.”
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jul 9, 2018
    20
    The Outpost isn't offensively bad. It's just head-scratchingly, "Why is this getting domestic distribution at all?" bad or "Geez, I hope The CW doesn't think it's going to be able to lure fans of The 100 to this" bad.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Jul 12, 2018
    10
    I really enjoyed the show and having finally a fantasy medieval genre show that reminds me of all the games I love. The choice of actors isI really enjoyed the show and having finally a fantasy medieval genre show that reminds me of all the games I love. The choice of actors is perfect for the characters we've seen so far. Andrew Howard just gives me the creeps in all the good ways Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    If you like fantasy, I think this show is going to be awesome. Only seen first episode, but am already hooked. Sure, it's a little cheap, butIf you like fantasy, I think this show is going to be awesome. Only seen first episode, but am already hooked. Sure, it's a little cheap, but characters and story are cool so far, and hints at much bigger things to come. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2018
    9
    If all that most of the critics more or less say is "this show is low budget", that's not particularly interesting. There were some roughIf all that most of the critics more or less say is "this show is low budget", that's not particularly interesting. There were some rough spots in the first episode, but overall it's pretty fun, and I think the characters have some strong chemistry. Can't wait for the rest of the season! Full Review »