• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2018
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 4, 2018
    3
    Is it just me or is @TheNeighborhood simply "All In The Family" in reverse? Not very funny in today's world.
  2. Oct 6, 2018
    3
    First, I absolutely hate the canned laughter. If something's funny, let it stand on it's own. I was hoping for inspired writing, but that wasn't the case. I was hoping for a modern day reverse "Jeffersons" with beacomparable wit and bite. It didn't happen in this episode. I hope it gets better because the premise is great.
  3. Oct 30, 2018
    0
    Tthis show is filled with such racial stereotypes ..promoting it .Hate it !!!!!
  4. Oct 15, 2018
    2
    I had hopes for this show. I like the performers and there's plenty of potential in the situation. But the show is rife with overly broad racial humor, and the characters spend more time worrying about each other's attitudes than they do in trying to get to know each other. Disappointing.
  5. Oct 4, 2018
    6
    I feel like we may be judging this show too harshly! This show I thought was pretty funny! I really like all the cast in it especially Marcel Spears as Marty. He carried the show for me and that's crazy when you look at all the talent surrounding the newcomer!! I think this show is going to evolve into a great show to watch with the family! Just give the show time to develop and see whatI feel like we may be judging this show too harshly! This show I thought was pretty funny! I really like all the cast in it especially Marcel Spears as Marty. He carried the show for me and that's crazy when you look at all the talent surrounding the newcomer!! I think this show is going to evolve into a great show to watch with the family! Just give the show time to develop and see what happens! I for sure will be tuning in to see if the show truly stands out! Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2018
    7
    Wow. Viewers and critics alike are putting this show through the meat grinder! I don't know, I like it. It's a refreshing change from the usual and typical story lines where the lead characters are clashing with their intrusive, alcoholic parents, while trying to raise their "special" children whilst trying to keep the flame in their marriage burning. I think this show has a lot ofWow. Viewers and critics alike are putting this show through the meat grinder! I don't know, I like it. It's a refreshing change from the usual and typical story lines where the lead characters are clashing with their intrusive, alcoholic parents, while trying to raise their "special" children whilst trying to keep the flame in their marriage burning. I think this show has a lot of potential and I'm curious to see how it progresses. Cedric the Entertainer plays a good part in this show. I also personally find it relatable. I grew up in a city just west of Toronto in the '90's where I was one of the few white people, and the rest of the population was primarily black or Indian. There was really a multicultural boom in that district at that time and I really GET where this show is coming from. I moved in to a neighborhood that was primarily black and it wasn't easy. I was the minority... and they let me know it too. Nothing I did was good enough and I was always an outcast and always got picked on no matter where I went or what I did. Ultimately, The Neighborhood is a comedy, so they have to keep it light and fluffy and family friendly, but the premise of the show is very real and not only can I relate to that, but I can appreciate it as well. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2018
    10
    Really exciting is the idea of ​​social differences within a current context. Taking into account that it does not take one or more outside to solve such exhausting problems, unlike our current TV shows. Like sex and drugs ...
  8. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    Wow, this show is not just bad but extremely Racist.... where's the outrage about this one?
  9. Dec 5, 2018
    5
    Not great but Cedric the Entertainer, Tichina Arnold, and Beth Behrs make it watchable.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2018
    50
    CBS has taken major steps to make its new fall series considerably more diverse than last time. The Neighborhood hits that mark, but also marches to the same-old/same-old sitcom beats.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 1, 2018
    60
    It has political points too, about diversity and unity, preservation and gentrification, which are simultaneously emphasized and danced around. Stripped down to its essentials, it’s a familiar sort of comedy about a person who would like to be left alone and the person who won’t leave him alone. ... If Dave can seem too weird to be true, the Butler family represents a dynamic so familiar to situation comedy as to seem practically real.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 1, 2018
    45
    Perceptiveness alone will not carry a sitcom; it's got to have jokes. And The Neighboorhood relies far too much on the novelty of a black character spouting edgy lines that we're more accustomed to hearing from a white mouth.