• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 21, 2018
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 8, 2018
    9
    This show is a light and fun watch. I don't feel that I have to worry about extreme violence but I love the crime series. This series reminds me of many of my favorite mystery books.
  2. Jun 26, 2018
    6
    Nothing surprising here, but also nothing great or offensive here. Did not originally know this was from the same team that brought us Castle, but recognized the similarities right away. Rachel Bilson gets by on her looks and Eddie Cibrian is just a bit past his prime (spent as a supporting actor in a lot of whodunnits) so falls into the “grizzled veteran PI” mode. Since this is aNothing surprising here, but also nothing great or offensive here. Did not originally know this was from the same team that brought us Castle, but recognized the similarities right away. Rachel Bilson gets by on her looks and Eddie Cibrian is just a bit past his prime (spent as a supporting actor in a lot of whodunnits) so falls into the “grizzled veteran PI” mode. Since this is a basically a Castle reboot, expect to see these characters deny and attempt to ignore the obvious sexual tension built into the premise, then succumb to it if the series lasts long enough.

    Not the worst thing on summer TV, but far from the best.
    Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2018
    5
    Cute, entertaining show but I don't think it has enough grit or originality to carry it. I don't feel Cibrian and Bilson can pull off a convincing romance either. IMHO, it's the type of show for young teens to gush over.
  4. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Great Show. Its light, funny and has a different spin to other crime drama shows. The chemistry between the characters is good; both friendship and romantic wise. i love it, especially if you just need something to watch.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 27, 2018
    40
    [Take Two] goes beyond light mystery to the realm of weightlessness. [25 Jun - 8 Jul 2018, p.11]
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 21, 2018
    50
    Created by the producers of "Castle" -- and conceptually just birthed from its rib -- Take Two is the slightest of crime procedurals, one that will live or die on the appeal of its stars. Fortunately, they're both adorable, which might not be enough to sustain an ABC series that might as well have been titled "Castle 2."
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 21, 2018
    70
    Take Two is a lighter proposition than "Castle" eventually became--but Bilson and Cibrian are airier presences than their predecessors, and a lack of gravitas suits them. ... Take Two promises to be just that sort of enjoyable show, and if it brings nothing new to the table, that is the meal we have come for. To make too great claims for it would be in a way to insult its not-untasty flavor.