• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 21, 2018
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 21, 2018
    70
    Take Two is a lighter proposition than "Castle" eventually became--but Bilson and Cibrian are airier presences than their predecessors, and a lack of gravitas suits them. ... Take Two promises to be just that sort of enjoyable show, and if it brings nothing new to the table, that is the meal we have come for. To make too great claims for it would be in a way to insult its not-untasty flavor.
  2. Reviewed by: Sadie Gennis
    Jun 19, 2018
    67
    Take Two is a light crime procedural that's here to give you some pretty people to look at, some quips to chuckle at and a mystery to solve in a tidy 43 minutes. Nothing more, nothing less. It's weird that something so familiar and formulaic can feel like a breath of fresh air, but here we are.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 14, 2018
    60
    For fans of darker, soapier TV fare, the light-as-a-feather “Take Two” will be a hard pass, but for a light drama it’s entertaining enough, thanks to producers poking fun at TV procedural cliches (while also embracing them) and Ms. Bilson’s likable performance.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 21, 2018
    58
    Take Two is honest advertising. It’s the second grab at a winning premise, for the same network, no less. You deserve more.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 21, 2018
    50
    Created by the producers of "Castle" -- and conceptually just birthed from its rib -- Take Two is the slightest of crime procedurals, one that will live or die on the appeal of its stars. Fortunately, they're both adorable, which might not be enough to sustain an ABC series that might as well have been titled "Castle 2."
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 20, 2018
    50
    As with Castle, this one will sink or swim on the banter and appeal of the two leads. Bllson grades a bit higher on these curves while Cibrian sucks it up and regularly swallows hard. ... Take Two comes nowhere close to matching the glories of ABC’s Moonlighting or NBC’s Remington Steele, both of whose odd couple crime solvers really rocked. Castle also fell well short of those two, but did pass ABC’s endurance test.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 20, 2018
    50
    Light as air, not much more substance, "Take Two" is a genial "Castle" redo.
  8. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 16, 2018
    45
    The trouble with Take Two is with neither the concept, retread though it may be, or the stars. It's the dreadful scripts. The crime-of-the-week stories are like little video Rubik cubes; with a lot of time and effort, you could figure them out, but why bother? And the jokes all tend to revolve around genitalia, including a truly startling number of variations on the old Mae West is-that-a-gun-in-your-pocket routine.
  9. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 27, 2018
    40
    [Take Two] goes beyond light mystery to the realm of weightlessness. [25 Jun - 8 Jul 2018, p.11]
  10. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 20, 2018
    40
    Take Two is Castle in a blender, but not a very efficient blender, so it's just big, gloppy, easily recognizable chunks of Castle, genders reversed.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Great Show. Its light, funny and has a different spin to other crime drama shows. The chemistry between the characters is good; bothGreat Show. Its light, funny and has a different spin to other crime drama shows. The chemistry between the characters is good; both friendship and romantic wise. i love it, especially if you just need something to watch. Full Review »
  2. Aug 8, 2018
    9
    This show is a light and fun watch. I don't feel that I have to worry about extreme violence but I love the crime series. This seriesThis show is a light and fun watch. I don't feel that I have to worry about extreme violence but I love the crime series. This series reminds me of many of my favorite mystery books. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2018
    5
    Cute, entertaining show but I don't think it has enough grit or originality to carry it. I don't feel Cibrian and Bilson can pull off aCute, entertaining show but I don't think it has enough grit or originality to carry it. I don't feel Cibrian and Bilson can pull off a convincing romance either. IMHO, it's the type of show for young teens to gush over. Full Review »