• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2018
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 5, 2018
    4
    Not a great show. It's not funny enough to be a good black comedy and lacks the emotional core that would make it a worthwhile drama. The characters are basically all stereotypes. Tom and Shiv are the only characters nuanced enough to be believable. For all the time spent characterizing the ultra-wealthy the show doesn't actually have anything of any substance to say about them or theirNot a great show. It's not funny enough to be a good black comedy and lacks the emotional core that would make it a worthwhile drama. The characters are basically all stereotypes. Tom and Shiv are the only characters nuanced enough to be believable. For all the time spent characterizing the ultra-wealthy the show doesn't actually have anything of any substance to say about them or their world. Instead the show embraces a kind of safe cynicism and tears down each of the overly simplistic "types" — rich and poor, liberal and conservative — that stand in as characters. It gets 4 points for having a relatively engaging narrative, but fails to cohere into anything more than an appeal to the audience's desire to experience vicarious luxury.

    And they waaaay overuse the show's dumb theme song — for some reason it shows up multiple times in every episode in addition to the opening titles. I can't imagine what these scripts look like: "Something dramatic happens. Cue piano music with a hip-hop beat so our idiot viewers know something dramatic happened."
    Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2018
    5
    Very underwhelming. Each character is more clichéd than the next: The Murdoch old-lion figure, who still has all his cunning despite his decrepit health, the anointed heir who has daddy issues, the immature bouffon of a little brother who prefers to laugh at everyone than accept taking responsibilities for his incompentence, the older brother who retreated to a ranch to avoid the rat race,Very underwhelming. Each character is more clichéd than the next: The Murdoch old-lion figure, who still has all his cunning despite his decrepit health, the anointed heir who has daddy issues, the immature bouffon of a little brother who prefers to laugh at everyone than accept taking responsibilities for his incompentence, the older brother who retreated to a ranch to avoid the rat race, the daughter that went into politics to prove she can do it alone, the consigliere who thinks he is part of the family...
    Probably as realistic as an episode of Dallas or Dynasty in the 80's.
    HBO, this is summer, but come on....
    Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2018
    6
    This show was marketed and positioned as HBO's version of "Billions." Instead, its the Corporate America version of "Death of Stalin, In the Loop/Thick of it, and Veep, but its just not as funny, sharp, and witty. Unlike those shows, the unlikeable characters in this one just aren't engaging enough. Just tiresome and boring. We get it, they're terrible, spoiled, entitled people. So what?This show was marketed and positioned as HBO's version of "Billions." Instead, its the Corporate America version of "Death of Stalin, In the Loop/Thick of it, and Veep, but its just not as funny, sharp, and witty. Unlike those shows, the unlikeable characters in this one just aren't engaging enough. Just tiresome and boring. We get it, they're terrible, spoiled, entitled people. So what? What is the hook here? Why should we care? Should we laugh? Hate them? Feel pity? The show doesn't seem to give a clear purpose other than hate and maybe laugh. That gets old fast.

    Will continue watching and holding out hope that it'll get better towards the end of the season, but I'm not holding my breath.
    Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2018
    0
    I watched the first episode and most of the second but I had to stop the show because I couldn't take any more. I need a character to root for but there's not one single GOOD person on this show.
  5. Jun 4, 2018
    9
    Judging by the first episode, Succession presents an uncomfortable and very entertaining black comedy about a ruthless media baron and his spectacularly damaged family. The kickoff episode reminded me a lot of my favorite parts of director Adam McKay's film, The Big Short and confirms McKay's deft touch with class comedy. Creator and writer Jesse Armstrong (Veep and Black Mirror.)Judging by the first episode, Succession presents an uncomfortable and very entertaining black comedy about a ruthless media baron and his spectacularly damaged family. The kickoff episode reminded me a lot of my favorite parts of director Adam McKay's film, The Big Short and confirms McKay's deft touch with class comedy. Creator and writer Jesse Armstrong (Veep and Black Mirror.) delivers a hilariously lacerating edge to the show's characters. Really looking forward to the rest of the series. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2018
    9
    I am glad I did not give a lot of weight to the prior reviews. Normally if a show or movie does not get a minimum 70 I pass and this one was at 69. I was very entertained by the engaging first episode. Brian Cox is one of my favorite character actors but the rest of the cast playing his family and associates are also quite good.
  7. Jun 17, 2018
    10
    Best TV show of the year, so far. Among all these fantastic shows with robots and dragons, this is a breath of fresh air from the HBO.
  8. Jun 14, 2018
    7
    The premise here is nothing new, but this type of family dynamic is always a good platform for telling an interesting story. My complaint is with the Casting Director, not one of the main characters (except for Daddy) is fit for purpose, in terms of acting ability or screen presence. So, even with a good unfolding storyline and production values etc., you have a bunch of indequates,The premise here is nothing new, but this type of family dynamic is always a good platform for telling an interesting story. My complaint is with the Casting Director, not one of the main characters (except for Daddy) is fit for purpose, in terms of acting ability or screen presence. So, even with a good unfolding storyline and production values etc., you have a bunch of indequates, trying to play house. On the other hand, the opening theme music rocks. Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2018
    8
    Succession is compelling, well-written, and well-acted; there is something about it that feels very authentic, which is unusual for a show of this nature. At first I was surprised by some of the reviews, but the more I think about it, I realize that many people require action sequences, CGI, and major events to stay interested; this show is for viewers who like stories that take time toSuccession is compelling, well-written, and well-acted; there is something about it that feels very authentic, which is unusual for a show of this nature. At first I was surprised by some of the reviews, but the more I think about it, I realize that many people require action sequences, CGI, and major events to stay interested; this show is for viewers who like stories that take time to unfold, and who enjoy the details as much as the payoff. Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2018
    8
    Succession is a terrific family drama. Yes, they are a very rich family. Yes, there is some business involved. But the real entertainment here comes from how the family interacts with each other, and how the concept of family only goes so far in business. It may be a bit over the top at times but that just adds to the entertainment value. The comedy is quite good as well. If you're a fanSuccession is a terrific family drama. Yes, they are a very rich family. Yes, there is some business involved. But the real entertainment here comes from how the family interacts with each other, and how the concept of family only goes so far in business. It may be a bit over the top at times but that just adds to the entertainment value. The comedy is quite good as well. If you're a fan of family dramas with business being a bit of a background driver of the story, Succession is for you. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2018
    10
    This show is amazing and on the way to be in the same league than The Wire and consorts(Yes, I said it !).
    My love was immediate and continues to grow , as it reaches a perfect balance of drama and comedic writing and acting perfection. I don't want to be rude and call names, but so many reviewers missed completely the satire early on and have since turned their jackets. It could be
    This show is amazing and on the way to be in the same league than The Wire and consorts(Yes, I said it !).
    My love was immediate and continues to grow , as it reaches a perfect balance of drama and comedic writing and acting perfection. I don't want to be rude and call names, but so many reviewers missed completely the satire early on and have since turned their jackets. It could be said that they were pranked by the show, like characters from Sacha Baron Cohen films...patronizing first before realizing what was really happening.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 15, 2018
    80
    Succession is elevated by Cox’s turn.
  2. Reviewed by: Liam Mathews
    Jun 8, 2018
    70
    Succession, HBO's new drama series with a comedy pedigree, is a combination boardroom and family drama spiked with acidic humor that will make you grateful for your own dysfunctional family. You all may be broke and screwed up, but that's better than being a Roy.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Lawson
    Jun 5, 2018
    65
    Any discomfort we feel about enjoying the show means Succession has succeeded, stoking a needling internal (and now external) conversation about the masses’ ideological relationship to the oligarchs pulling levers above our heads. If that is indeed what the show is trying to do, a begrudging hats off to Succession.