• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2018
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 9, 2018
    9
    I am glad I did not give a lot of weight to the prior reviews. Normally if a show or movie does not get a minimum 70 I pass and this one was at 69. I was very entertained by the engaging first episode. Brian Cox is one of my favorite character actors but the rest of the cast playing his family and associates are also quite good.
  2. Jun 4, 2018
    9
    Judging by the first episode, Succession presents an uncomfortable and very entertaining black comedy about a ruthless media baron and his spectacularly damaged family. The kickoff episode reminded me a lot of my favorite parts of director Adam McKay's film, The Big Short and confirms McKay's deft touch with class comedy. Creator and writer Jesse Armstrong (Veep and Black Mirror.)Judging by the first episode, Succession presents an uncomfortable and very entertaining black comedy about a ruthless media baron and his spectacularly damaged family. The kickoff episode reminded me a lot of my favorite parts of director Adam McKay's film, The Big Short and confirms McKay's deft touch with class comedy. Creator and writer Jesse Armstrong (Veep and Black Mirror.) delivers a hilariously lacerating edge to the show's characters. Really looking forward to the rest of the series. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2018
    5
    Very underwhelming. Each character is more clichéd than the next: The Murdoch old-lion figure, who still has all his cunning despite his decrepit health, the anointed heir who has daddy issues, the immature bouffon of a little brother who prefers to laugh at everyone than accept taking responsibilities for his incompentence, the older brother who retreated to a ranch to avoid the rat race,Very underwhelming. Each character is more clichéd than the next: The Murdoch old-lion figure, who still has all his cunning despite his decrepit health, the anointed heir who has daddy issues, the immature bouffon of a little brother who prefers to laugh at everyone than accept taking responsibilities for his incompentence, the older brother who retreated to a ranch to avoid the rat race, the daughter that went into politics to prove she can do it alone, the consigliere who thinks he is part of the family...
    Probably as realistic as an episode of Dallas or Dynasty in the 80's.
    HBO, this is summer, but come on....
    Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2018
    10
    Best TV show of the year, so far. Among all these fantastic shows with robots and dragons, this is a breath of fresh air from the HBO.
  5. Jun 15, 2018
    0
    I watched the first episode and most of the second but I had to stop the show because I couldn't take any more. I need a character to root for but there's not one single GOOD person on this show.
  6. Jun 14, 2018
    7
    The premise here is nothing new, but this type of family dynamic is always a good platform for telling an interesting story. My complaint is with the Casting Director, not one of the main characters (except for Daddy) is fit for purpose, in terms of acting ability or screen presence. So, even with a good unfolding storyline and production values etc., you have a bunch of indequates,The premise here is nothing new, but this type of family dynamic is always a good platform for telling an interesting story. My complaint is with the Casting Director, not one of the main characters (except for Daddy) is fit for purpose, in terms of acting ability or screen presence. So, even with a good unfolding storyline and production values etc., you have a bunch of indequates, trying to play house. On the other hand, the opening theme music rocks. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 15, 2018
    80
    Succession is elevated by Cox’s turn.
  2. Reviewed by: Liam Mathews
    Jun 8, 2018
    70
    Succession, HBO's new drama series with a comedy pedigree, is a combination boardroom and family drama spiked with acidic humor that will make you grateful for your own dysfunctional family. You all may be broke and screwed up, but that's better than being a Roy.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Lawson
    Jun 5, 2018
    65
    Any discomfort we feel about enjoying the show means Succession has succeeded, stoking a needling internal (and now external) conversation about the masses’ ideological relationship to the oligarchs pulling levers above our heads. If that is indeed what the show is trying to do, a begrudging hats off to Succession.