• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2018
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 21, 2018
    10
    This is the first show with real trans women. It is a insight to the ball scene of New York city in 1987. It also touches on the various issues that affect the trans community.
  2. Jun 3, 2018
    8
    Excellent portrayal of a forgotten subculture. When I first saw the film ‘Paris is Burning’ in 1990, I never would have imagined a dramatization of that world making it one day to series television. The dialogue is a little melodramatic and the story somewhat contrived at times, but not so much that it overshadowed the wonderful characters and exciting ball competition sequences. I’mExcellent portrayal of a forgotten subculture. When I first saw the film ‘Paris is Burning’ in 1990, I never would have imagined a dramatization of that world making it one day to series television. The dialogue is a little melodramatic and the story somewhat contrived at times, but not so much that it overshadowed the wonderful characters and exciting ball competition sequences. I’m looking forward to watching these great characters evolve. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2018
    6
    A mixed bag, for me. The 80s ball scene is compelling--fresh, fascinating, gorgeous. The characters are appealing and well-cast. The show should have been a home run, and it did seem headed that way at first, but then it faltered, and I bailed out halfway through episode 6. Why? The plotting deteriorated into brief, sentimental stories serving up lessons about the trans experience. I haveA mixed bag, for me. The 80s ball scene is compelling--fresh, fascinating, gorgeous. The characters are appealing and well-cast. The show should have been a home run, and it did seem headed that way at first, but then it faltered, and I bailed out halfway through episode 6. Why? The plotting deteriorated into brief, sentimental stories serving up lessons about the trans experience. I have no objection to learning something once in a while, but I do want more than that in a dramatic series. Too bad. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    One of the most relatable shows i've ever seen.
    Point for Ryan Murphy again!
    The cast is really good. MJ, Ryan Jamal and Indya are stars.
  5. Jun 8, 2018
    9
    As a Dutchie I'd never heard of ball culture before. Sure, there was vogue (thx Madonna), but this was next level. But the atmosphere reminded me of my teens (somehow The Kids from Fame came to mind) and I was hooked from the first minute.
    This show might turn me gay though.
  6. Jul 16, 2018
    5
    as someone else wrote, the acting and characters are engaging but the story line is as predictable and paint-by-numbers as the costumes are out of this world. It's rather disappointing, as a story about 80's drag queens should try to be more avant-garde in tone and content. The score is a boring 80's mix-tape (memberberries anyone!).
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 12, 2018
    60
    Pose owns its shamelessness in earnest, artless yet enjoyable melodramatic stories about these societal rejects. [11 - 24 Jun 2018, p.12]
  2. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Pose is way too entertaining to be considered an example of TV offering a diversity lesson.
  3. Reviewed by: Spencer Kornhaber
    Jun 7, 2018
    40
    We’re told what we’re watching is worthy of acclaim, even if our eyes and ears tell us otherwise. All of which not only keeps the characters from feeling like actual, three-dimensional people