• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2016
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 116
  2. Negative: 22 out of 116

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 28, 2018
    4
    If this were not released all at once, this second season would be unwatchable. Since it can be binged, with (extremely) heavy use of the skip button during all the soap scenes, and live music to pad each episode out, it is somewhat watchable. The cringe-worthy aspects from season one were not learned from, and are repeated throughout this season. Uninteresting characters that showIf this were not released all at once, this second season would be unwatchable. Since it can be binged, with (extremely) heavy use of the skip button during all the soap scenes, and live music to pad each episode out, it is somewhat watchable. The cringe-worthy aspects from season one were not learned from, and are repeated throughout this season. Uninteresting characters that show little to no actual development, orgin stories to try and cover up the lack of writing talent, and some very poor directing that has the acting talent looking far less professional than they have in their other work, leaves a very poor taste. The fight scenes are nonsensically copypasta with thugs that know they cannot succeed, yet still walk into it. To make it worse, the criminals that are trying to murder Luke are never arrested (unless convienent for the script). Continunity appears to have been left on the cutting room floor. This should have been boiled down to eight or nine episodes at best, but at thirteen it just continues the Netflix quantity over quality that has plaged them for the last few years. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2018
    4
    Suffers from the same issues that season 1 had. They gave up on a great villain in Bushmaster about midway through the season (much like they did with Cottonmouth in season 1) for some junk side plots that aren't all that interesting and to knock off a few characters we all expected to be knocked off from pretty much the first episode. And the final episode of the season doesn't make meSuffers from the same issues that season 1 had. They gave up on a great villain in Bushmaster about midway through the season (much like they did with Cottonmouth in season 1) for some junk side plots that aren't all that interesting and to knock off a few characters we all expected to be knocked off from pretty much the first episode. And the final episode of the season doesn't make me even slightly interested for season 3. I've given up on Luke Cage at this point. The writers clearly have no idea what they are doing and despite a promising start, they crash and burn as the season progressed (much like they did in season 1). Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    Though stronger in some ways than the first season there seems to be a lot of recycled storylines in some episodes with Mariah being demanding, Shades trying to calm her down, her daughter not trusting her, etc. Bushmaster was an excellent villain and his plot line better than season 1's Diamondback. My biggest complaint was Misty's bionic arm, which looked like an oversized glove.
  4. Jul 4, 2018
    2
    Even though this season is slightly better than season 1, it suffers from the same problem. It feels like you are watching the same short story over and over again with no actual movement forward until the last 2 episodes. Everything inbetween introducing bushmaster and the last 2 episodes is basically soul searching filler where the characters go around and around until enough time hasEven though this season is slightly better than season 1, it suffers from the same problem. It feels like you are watching the same short story over and over again with no actual movement forward until the last 2 episodes. Everything inbetween introducing bushmaster and the last 2 episodes is basically soul searching filler where the characters go around and around until enough time has passed that the story can actual do something of consequence.

    The bad guys were just so boring, its a story I have seen over and over again in countless other shows and there is very little originality here.

    Overall it was a dissapointing show in season 1 and dissapointing show in season 2. I think netflix used up all their creativity on daredevil and jessica jones and at this point are pretty much out of ideas.
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2018
    3
    Repeated story-lines and scenes throughout the season in which we same the same characters confronting each other over the same issues in the same way multiple times. The acting from many of the 'bad guys' was way over the top and some repeated monologues. Some episodes were incredibly boring. No development in the antagonist. Could see the end coming in episode 2.
  6. Jul 1, 2018
    6
    Definitely not a bad season. It has some moments that rise above the first, but it still has a few problems that keep it from being better. The season still lacked a good villain. Bushmaster was generally charming and sympathetic, but he had nowhere near the charisma of Cottonmouth, yet a big improvement over Diamondback. Black Mariah becomes virtually unlikable despite Alfre Woodward'sDefinitely not a bad season. It has some moments that rise above the first, but it still has a few problems that keep it from being better. The season still lacked a good villain. Bushmaster was generally charming and sympathetic, but he had nowhere near the charisma of Cottonmouth, yet a big improvement over Diamondback. Black Mariah becomes virtually unlikable despite Alfre Woodward's stellar performance, and I spent most of the season rooting for her death. Luke himself seems to be taking a darker turn as a character and I'm not sure how I feel about it. It means Season 3 could have some raised stakes, but it just seems so odd after he spent most of Season 1 being such a boy scout. The show seems to WANT to delve into the "Heroes for Hire" storyline, but it never really bears any fruit, it mostly just feels like a glorified reference and nothing more. The one thing that saved this show for me actually had little to do with Luke Cage; in just one episode, they actually make Iron Fist a good character. So another middle-of-the-road season from Marvel/Netflix's most middle-of-the-road show, but at least now I have hope for Iron Fist, so...silver linings, right? Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2018
    9
    I love it, even more than the previous one. I love all the jamaican stuff, Bushmaster's character, Black Mariah, Shades, everyone.
    And Luke. He's so charismatic, has such a nice smile. "I want to be this guy's friend", that's what i think when i see him. I hope they don't really make him go dark for S3, he's perfect as he is now.
  8. Jun 24, 2018
    3
    This season was meh. Uninteresting character arcs, comically bad acting, using (albeit cool) live music as filler. Some of the Jamaican accents were too thick and hardly understandable. The only highlight was the upgraded villain to Bushmaster. He was awesome.
  9. Jun 26, 2018
    4
    Once again, a Netflix Marvel Hero series with nine episodes of plot stretched and padded out to thirteen.
    -First off, it's boring. Some superhero powers are low-key and provide subtle advantage. Super-strength and bullet proof are the powers for ACTION. Slouching up and down the streets in a hoodie is not action. Sitting in barbershop chair dithering is not action. Action is not just
    Once again, a Netflix Marvel Hero series with nine episodes of plot stretched and padded out to thirteen.
    -First off, it's boring. Some superhero powers are low-key and provide subtle advantage. Super-strength and bullet proof are the powers for ACTION. Slouching up and down the streets in a hoodie is not action. Sitting in barbershop chair dithering is not action. Action is not just fighting, it's dynamic motion and uptempo music and fast cuts and kicking down a wall in frustration. Not talk-talk-talk have another glass of rum, oh what to do what to do.
    -Second off, it should be called "the Mariah Stokes Story". If the character, or her immediate family, were not on the screen 50% more than Luke Cage, I'll eat my remote control. Add in all the other supporting characters and the title of the series should be "With Cameo Appearance by Luke Cage!"
    -This Season 2 nearly challenged "Iron Fist" as the most boring Netflix Marvel effort, which makes it really a twist that the episode guest-starring Iron Fist was easily the best of the thirteen.
    -I had to turn on subtitles to have a chance of following/understanding the Jamaican accents.
    -"Luke Cage S2" had some many, many good moments. They just need to carefully edit those good moments into maybe eight tight episodes and they'd have something. Right now it's too much like pushing a tractor tire across a field...without super-strength.
    Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2018
    3
    I thought the first season was pretty bad, nope... This season is epically boring and just plain bad. A longass music video. This season had three episodes of story. Maybe. Marvel on Netflix has taken a considerable decline in quality since the first 8 episodes of Daredevil. I don't know what the hell's going on.
  11. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    I can't understand why this season is so underrated. Its way better than the first one, and it is a really good season.
    I didn't like Luke Cage's season one at all. This one, on the other hand, had everything I wanted. Daughters of the Dragon, heroes for hire. Iron Fist, cyber Misty.
    Bushmaster and Nightshade were great antagonists as well. IGN is crazy by giving SE1 84 and SE2 45.
    I can't understand why this season is so underrated. Its way better than the first one, and it is a really good season.
    I didn't like Luke Cage's season one at all. This one, on the other hand, had everything I wanted. Daughters of the Dragon, heroes for hire. Iron Fist, cyber Misty.
    Bushmaster and Nightshade were great antagonists as well.
    IGN is crazy by giving SE1 84 and SE2 45. Hope season 3 keep this level of improvement.
    Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2018
    1
    The acting so far this season is comparable to the unforgettable Iron First. Even the beautiful and talented Rosario Dawson couldn't elevate season 2. The fake and unintelligible Jamaican accents makes listening and watching an unpleasant experience. I've watched 4 episodes so far and it's very disappointing compared to season 1. I'm going to skip to episode 10 so I can see Misty's bionicThe acting so far this season is comparable to the unforgettable Iron First. Even the beautiful and talented Rosario Dawson couldn't elevate season 2. The fake and unintelligible Jamaican accents makes listening and watching an unpleasant experience. I've watched 4 episodes so far and it's very disappointing compared to season 1. I'm going to skip to episode 10 so I can see Misty's bionic arm. It just feels like Marvel threw in towel on Luke Cage. Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2018
    5
    Luke Cage season 2 is very disappointing.
    Is it bad? No. Is it good? No way.
    Season 1 had a very good first half and a bit bad in the second half. Season 2 is incredibly mediocre all the way through, some good episodes, and some BAD episodes. We were advertised in the trailers that Bushmaster was the main villain. But during the season he seemed like more of anti-hero. With Mariah
    Luke Cage season 2 is very disappointing.
    Is it bad? No. Is it good? No way.
    Season 1 had a very good first half and a bit bad in the second half. Season 2 is incredibly mediocre all the way through, some good episodes, and some BAD episodes.

    We were advertised in the trailers that Bushmaster was the main villain. But during the season he seemed like more of anti-hero. With Mariah Dillard/Stokes being the main villain. Both Cage and Bushmaster wanted to take out Mariah, but Luke Cage being a hero, wants Mariah to face Justice, but Bushmaster, like an anti-hero thought that she should have died. So his arc reminded me a bit of Punisher in Daredevil season 2.

    I loved the whole Jamaican theme, it was great to see, sometimes, they couldn't handle the accent, but not something too bad. Loved bushmaster's character, i felt for his loss and actually wanted him to succeed. That scene where Mariah killed the Jamaican community was heartbreaking. But how they ended Bushmaster's arc was underwhelming, in the end he felt like a plot device simple to introduce Tilda Johnson as season 3 villain.

    The season felt really stretched out, boring at times, but the actions scenes were always on point, some characters felt like just plot devices, and i was really surprised, how much i liked Danny Rand's appearance. Through all the problems, here is my main problem with season 2. Alfre Woodard's performances were TERRIBLE. Her acting was atrocious, and she didn't seem to know what she was doing. Mariah Dillard could have been an iconic character, but Alfre Woodard's terrible performances made her one of the most annoying characters i've ever seen.
    Expand
  14. Jul 11, 2018
    4
    The Good:

    Mike Colter is Luke Cage. What a great casting choice and what a talented actor! Iron Fist: Wow, he was great. Did I just write that? I DID! Overall Acting: All of the characters were well played, with special attention going to (besides Colter) Rosario Dawson and Alfre Woodard. The Power: Power Man was properly portrayed with superior physical abilities. He
    The Good:

    Mike Colter is Luke Cage. What a great casting choice and what a talented actor!

    Iron Fist: Wow, he was great. Did I just write that? I DID!

    Overall Acting: All of the characters were well played, with special attention going to (besides Colter) Rosario Dawson and Alfre Woodard.

    The Power: Power Man was properly portrayed with superior physical abilities. He wasn't hurt the entire series like so many other Netflix Marvel series.

    Luke's Dad: It was so nice to see a family member not have some sort of ulterior motive. Luke's relationship with his father was powerful, interesting, and reletable.

    The Bad:

    Too Damn Slow. Too many one-on-one sit downs. Mariah was a great chracter who reminding me SO much of Hilalry Clinton, but she had so much screen time that even the talented Alfre Woodard couldn't make her stick. Shades was with her too much as well, with the cougar theme running thin pretty quickly.

    Everyone Dies: If you are a secondary character in a Marvel series you might as well blow your own head off because you will be dead as soon as you are made interesting.

    Misty's Arm: Talk about lame special effects. Once Misty receives her bionic arm she walks around like it's just a regular arm. No mechanical noises, strength boost or "Wow!" moments associated with her superpower. Glad she got help with her handicap, but come on, she's supposed to be super powered with that thing!

    The Ending: I didn't buy the ultimate decision Luke makes. It didn't fit his character. I was disappointed.

    Bushmaster: Great actor, but his backstory just didn't connect with me. It was too simple and too generic. I don't know why this character has gotten such high praise. I think he was wasted by lazy writing.

    All in all I'm starting to think of watching marvel series as work rather than entertainment. The only one I loved was Daredevil Season 1. All the other series have considerable flaws and it's wearing me down.
    Expand
  15. Jun 22, 2018
    9
    Very nice series. i liked protagonist. i want more episodes of this series.
  16. Jun 25, 2018
    9
    This season was in my opinion even better the first. Thank to bushmaster I'm calling everybody bredren. Man I hope they bring him back. Season 3 is a most Netflix.
  17. Jun 26, 2018
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. episode 10 was great. Other than that, the series is waaayyyyy too long and boring. I hate that they act like the other shows barely exist. you tell me harlem is completely f-ed up, and no other characters do anything until 10 episodes in? Expand
  18. Jul 2, 2018
    6
    I loved the first season much better, but this brought a lot of what season 1 had into season 2. It had a lot of action and politics was also prevalent, but it missed the very thing that made season 1 so great, Luke Cage.
  19. Jul 30, 2018
    6
    This season is far too long and slow paced and it spends too much time with characters we don't care about. Bushmaster is by far the best part of this season.
  20. Jul 4, 2018
    8
    Luke Cage season 1 was one of the better Marvel series to me which I enjoyed. I enjoyed Luke Cage season 2 even more so. Characters remain interesting, and don't suddenly get slashed from the character roster as seen in Jessica Jones season 2. The new villain "Bushmaster" was more interesting than previous villain "Diamondback." Similar to many other Marvel series, there are severalLuke Cage season 1 was one of the better Marvel series to me which I enjoyed. I enjoyed Luke Cage season 2 even more so. Characters remain interesting, and don't suddenly get slashed from the character roster as seen in Jessica Jones season 2. The new villain "Bushmaster" was more interesting than previous villain "Diamondback." Similar to many other Marvel series, there are several dialogue, heavy scenes in Luke Cage: season 2. Some will feel these scenes are stretched out. For me though, it didn't bother me enough to detract from the show. Expand
  21. Aug 2, 2018
    7
    I was not entertained by first season but I did like season two. There are lots of improvement in what was lacking in the first interaction: Better Villains, Better side stories, Better fighting choreography, and so on.
    This season L. Cage is facing a new manace (with supernatural power) coming to Harlem during Mariah ascension to power. Most of the episodes have subplots regarding
    I was not entertained by first season but I did like season two. There are lots of improvement in what was lacking in the first interaction: Better Villains, Better side stories, Better fighting choreography, and so on.
    This season L. Cage is facing a new manace (with supernatural power) coming to Harlem during Mariah ascension to power. Most of the episodes have subplots regarding personal life problems of the protagonists, for example... Family connection (daughter-mother relation or legacy difficulty), Consequences of notoriety, struggle with Misty phisical problems, Romantic relationship, Law vs Super-heroes Vigilantes and so on ... all not too original but well written and in witch the viewer can relate to.
    Expand
  22. Aug 12, 2018
    9
    The continuing adventures of street fighting man from Harlem, trying to make justice with no vengeance; dynamic action sequences and a family second plot gives the same charm of previous season. After watching the final chapter, ¿what shall to wait next?
  23. Oct 6, 2018
    7
    I liked it, it has a better rhythm than the first season but the conflict is very uneven and the villain is not at a high level but it works well although I keep saying that they extend the plot too much and 13 episodes are excessive.
  24. Jul 2, 2018
    8
    It's better than Jessica Jones Season 2 that's for sure. However, it still has the same problems that we're now starting to see all across the TV MCU: Too many episodes and side-plots that go nowhere and come off as too soap opera-ish, weak connection and continunity within the MCU, though Danny Rand's presence is a nice touch and surprisingly the highlight of the season, and a weakIt's better than Jessica Jones Season 2 that's for sure. However, it still has the same problems that we're now starting to see all across the TV MCU: Too many episodes and side-plots that go nowhere and come off as too soap opera-ish, weak connection and continunity within the MCU, though Danny Rand's presence is a nice touch and surprisingly the highlight of the season, and a weak central villain, though Bushmaster is a big improvement over Diamondback.

    The thing why I like this season is because unlike Jessica Jones, Punisher, Daredevil, and Danny Rand, he doesn't spend the whole season brooding and moping through flashbacks, having some kind of existential crisis with his past. He IS the hero and is confident about it, as it shows him in action. I just wish he had better villains to face than Mariah Dillard. And stronger continuity with the MCU (how has he not crossed paths with Daredevil or Punisher yet?!?).
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2018
    6
    Luke cage was one of my big anticipations on netflix for 2018 and after taking some time to think about the season i think it falls into the same issues as the first. The first half of luke cage season 1 was almost perfect, then when it hit half way, the show took a very different turn and changed the story up dramatically and I was left very disappointed. Luke cage season 2 does aLuke cage was one of my big anticipations on netflix for 2018 and after taking some time to think about the season i think it falls into the same issues as the first. The first half of luke cage season 1 was almost perfect, then when it hit half way, the show took a very different turn and changed the story up dramatically and I was left very disappointed. Luke cage season 2 does a little swap, the first half of luke cage season 2 was very boring and very dull. We are briefly introduced to the shows 2 big bad guys and that is Black Mariah and Bushmaster. In this first half we spend an awful amount of time with Mariah's character and her plot. Alfre Woodard gives a very good performance and you can tell that she is trying to give it her all, it's unfortunate though that her character is so poorly realised. We touch on her motivations and she's really just trying to replicate what was cottonmouth in season 1 of Luke cage. The second half of luke cage is far better than the first, we get to know Bushmaster more who I really enjoyed in this show overall and Mustafa Shakir gives a good performance, however it is a shame though that he is very underused in this show, he shows up every once and a while, spends to whole time on screen in the last 2 episodes and then just disappears and the show treats it like they just decided to get rid of him, that the story he and luke cage had just ended there. As far as the action scenes go, they are pretty good, especially in episode 10 and 12 which are my 2 favourite episodes in the season. Mike colter is once again great as Luke Cage and throws himself into the action scenes and is definitely playing this character with a bit more heart than he did in season 1.

    Now the ending. I had to watch this episode twice to try and get how I felt about it and I wanted to make sure that I didn't miss anything important. it didn't end like I thought it would and I'm sure many fans will be pleased with the ending as its very different to most of the Netflix marvel shows. I personally felt frustrated by the ending because it feels like the main plot of the show was just tossed aside, it felt unfinished and I felt like they could have stretched out the conclusion more, one more episode would have been great to wrap up the show, and because of the uninteresting character in Black Mariah if felt like the show didn't conclude properly.

    So overall a mixed series, some good moments and some bad, I probably think of it the same as season 1, this show is enjoyable, it's not bad but they had great potential in this show and didn't decide to flesh it out.
    Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2018
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I always look forward to the Netflix Marvel shows, but this year's Luke Cage was a disappointment. IMO, it was about 3 episodes too long. It's as though they had the episode count in mind even before filming and had to stretch out the musical performances (good as they were) and a whole lot of extraneous dialogue to get there. (Did Shades really need to give an entire synopsis of all of Mariah's crimes when he was at the precinct?) This was particularly evident to me in the last half of the season. I'm hoping they don't make the same mistake with "Daredevil." I did like (as always) Rosario Dawson/Claire and hope that the rumors aren't true that she's done with the Defenders. Simone Missick's Misty continues to be believable, and the episode with Luke and Danny Rand was refreshing. Expand
  27. Jul 2, 2018
    8
    The musical performers were excellent especially the blues guitarists. This season didn't end the way I thought it would so I'm looking forward to seeing where the writers go in season 3
  28. kmj
    Jul 20, 2018
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh dear was this season slow. It started to lose steam way early on and really got tiring right about the time Claire left(was it episode 3? 4? idc). Watching people beat each other up and have Luke show up to stop them got tiring fast. Bushmaster was portrayed brilliantly, but good lord he got old. Shades never had the menace that the show wanted him to have. Mariah never really lived up to her potential. It took way too long for her to be a convincing crime lord, rather than a paranoid and flustered politician. She really came into her own at the end, but we only got a glimpse of her potential before she died. They should have cut 5 hours out of this season.
    The only reason i slogged through all 13 hours of it is that it's a marvel property. I gave up a few times along the way. By the time the season ended i was irritated and frustrated at both the show and myself. Don't make the same mistake. Maybe skip this season. Put it on fast forward. Read the episode synopsis. You ain't missing out, I promise.
    Expand
  29. Oct 16, 2018
    3
    I liked him in the Defenders, but 2 whole seasons for him self. Lets face it he is not Jessica Jones or Daredevil. Not much better then Iron Fist.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Despite its improvements in season two, that reality is something that Luke Cage still struggles with. In many ways, Luke Cage reads as a would-be groundbreaking superhero show from the ’90s displaced into 2018: earnest, a bit hollow, and more primed toward political resonance than artistic grace.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 25, 2018
    50
    Too much canvas with wild splashes of paint deployed to fill it. Compared with the first, the second is a disappointment, but far from a failure. Best experienced in small bites instead of huge indigestible chunks.
  3. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    Jun 22, 2018
    75
    The show is, to be clear, worth admiring for the way it deeply cares about its ensemble and their journeys--Misty (Simone Missick) in particular is well-served with plenty to do. But that’s where most of the bloat lies: long scenes, with pretty quick emotional conclusions.