• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2018
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 3, 2018
    8
    Very nice show which can easily be concluded in pure happiness in 30 minutes. I love the actors who play the couple. They are very talented.
  2. Oct 4, 2018
    4
    When I saw Damon Wayans Jr was getting his own show I was super excited as I am a big fan of the Wayans and company so I for sure tuned into this one. I didn't laugh once! I never try to be harsh on a show but this just wasn't funny. I believe the show has promise it just needs a little more development. I like all the cast it just didn't work for me! It felt like they were trying so hardWhen I saw Damon Wayans Jr was getting his own show I was super excited as I am a big fan of the Wayans and company so I for sure tuned into this one. I didn't laugh once! I never try to be harsh on a show but this just wasn't funny. I believe the show has promise it just needs a little more development. I like all the cast it just didn't work for me! It felt like they were trying so hard to make the audience laugh that it hurt. I don't think it will make it past one season but if they can pick up the humor and invest into character development than it has a shot! Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    0
    Probably the dumbest, cringest **** i've ever seen for a while. The resemblances between the "girlfriend" character and Taylor Swift in a desperate use to catfish viewers was pathetic
  4. Oct 8, 2018
    0
    The misogynistic jokes and tropes re the female characters in this show fall very, very flat in any case, but in today's environment they feel especially tone deaf. What a disappointing waste of two incredible main actors in Wayans and Stevens West; even their comedic talents can't overcome a terribly dated concept and a terribly written script.
  5. Oct 9, 2018
    9
    It's surprisingly good. I haven't watched a show with piped in applause like this in a LONG time, but the two lead actors are perfect for it. She's amazing! (Loved her in Greek.)
  6. Oct 4, 2018
    8
    It's hard to tell now how this show will go, but I liked the first episode. It was fun. A little fast tho. Too many events in 20 minutes. But it was funny, I was smiling and laughing a lot. I have a feeling that the next episodes will be better than the pilot because the cast is really great. To me, the show is promising to be a great comedy. I totally enjoyed watching it after a hard dayIt's hard to tell now how this show will go, but I liked the first episode. It was fun. A little fast tho. Too many events in 20 minutes. But it was funny, I was smiling and laughing a lot. I have a feeling that the next episodes will be better than the pilot because the cast is really great. To me, the show is promising to be a great comedy. I totally enjoyed watching it after a hard day of work. It was relaxing. Do not expect anything serious. It's just fun and easy going comedy. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2018
    5
    It has it's moments of slapstick, however it seems forced, over rehearsed and too meticulously timed. It really throws me off how Amber West and Damon Wayans Jr.'s characters are suppose to be so much older than this young rock star's character, which would insinuate that they've been married for a long time, yet in every episode, they're acting all giddy and giggly with one another as ifIt has it's moments of slapstick, however it seems forced, over rehearsed and too meticulously timed. It really throws me off how Amber West and Damon Wayans Jr.'s characters are suppose to be so much older than this young rock star's character, which would insinuate that they've been married for a long time, yet in every episode, they're acting all giddy and giggly with one another as if they're still on their honeymoon! They're acting too phony and overly dramatic... especially Wayans. It doesn't look believable. And another thing: They've got this cute little so-called rock star living with them for FREE!? So this kid is making some big time Hollywood money, and he's not giving Jake and Claire a cent for his rent or food all because he had a little emotional breakdown at the beginning of the series and they're okay with that!!?? I don't think so! AGAIN...not believable! Then there's the intrusive, alcoholic parents. Thank God the writers threw THAT in there because it's not like we haven't been seeing THAT in every other comedy sitcom for the last 50 years!! AGAIN!!... not believable. I gave Happy Together a generous 5 because despite it's many flaws, it is great to see Stephanie Weir and Victor Williams again. I can see there was some attempt to make this show entertaining, and it does have it's funny moments, but overall, this show makes NO attempt to show us something new and refreshing - something we haven't seen before. It's just not happening here. Expand
  8. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    We're really enjoying this show. Unlike so many others today, it's not one continuous dirty joke, so far. Hope it stays that way.
  9. Oct 18, 2018
    7
    There are no misogynistic jokes! Get a grip, larry shippers. The show is bland and harmless.
  10. Dec 5, 2018
    4
    I watched the first 6 or so, but lacked anything to bring me back, so i deleted from watch list.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2018
    42
    Tthe season’s slightest new sitcom on a network that has done much better by this genre in recent seasons with the likes of Young Sheldon, Mom and Life In Pieces. In this case, the premise simply has no foreseeable promise.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Oct 1, 2018
    75
    The producers are excited to create more absurd fun for their comic duo, and the audience should be happy in the long run, admiring a knowing farce at a time where the world’s dark buffoonery needs to be ignored. Happy Together may not become an iconic sitcom, but it’s already a pretty good source for happiness.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 1, 2018
    50
    Nothing particularly interesting is done with the premise. ... But Wayans and West develop an increasingly comfortable rapport as the episodes go on, and West is enjoyable all the way through, funny without breathing hard.