• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2018
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Love this show. I need something to take me away with what is currently going on. Found myself watching this show and truly enjoying it. Will recommended to my sister and mom. I love the main character, he's charming, engaging and shows a lot of talent. Looking forward to more episodes.
  2. Oct 4, 2018
    8
    This show is a must watch! It is a feel good show with a great premise! I love how the main character is helping other people and saving lives. The show reminds me of Person of Interest but with religion. I like the characters a lot I am also a big fan of the main characters Actor Brandon Micheal Hall who was on a tv show last year that I loved that shouldn't have been cancelled ( TheThis show is a must watch! It is a feel good show with a great premise! I love how the main character is helping other people and saving lives. The show reminds me of Person of Interest but with religion. I like the characters a lot I am also a big fan of the main characters Actor Brandon Micheal Hall who was on a tv show last year that I loved that shouldn't have been cancelled ( The Mayor). So if you are looking for a feel good show, a comedy drama, or just a show to help you keep faith and have hope than this show is for you! Great new premise and a nice breath of fresh air!!! Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2018
    10
    While predictable, to me, it's much needed in this day and age. A Feel Good Show. Dealing with problems from a larger, spiritual perspective. Gives Food For Thought. Give it a chance if you're looking for something other than the usual Cop Shows, FBI, Doctor or Reality TV Shows.
  4. Sep 8, 2018
    0
    The very premise of this show is a crime against humanity. Of all the ways the Creator of all things could communicate, he or she chooses facebook?
  5. Sep 2, 2018
    1
    Horrible acting and an already been done premise (see the far superior Joan of Arcadia, also from CBS) make this show, the pilot episode anyway, a chore to watch. Divine intervention is about the only thing that'll keep God Friended Me on the air. Skip it! Amen.
  6. Sep 30, 2018
    8
    Surprisingly believable. Rather predictable, but I like the idea of diverse people working together to help the world.
  7. Oct 1, 2018
    9
    This is a feel-good show that is a reminder that TV can still have family shows. A lot happens in the pilot which is tied together nicely at the end. Actors play their parts well.
  8. Sep 9, 2018
    0
    An unabashed cash grab targeting the lowest common denominator intelligence demographic. This experiment is going to end badly for CBS. I would like to know the story about how something like this got on the air. I'm sure it would make for a far more interesting story than what is presented by this show.
  9. Sep 30, 2018
    1
    Cowardly avoidance of major backlash by having the main character start off as atheist rather than, oh I don’t know, being part of a different religion. Seriously, can you imagine this premise if it was slightly different? Think about it: The main character is Jewish and God decides to show him the error of his belief system. I bet that would be received well.

    Why pick on the atheists
    Cowardly avoidance of major backlash by having the main character start off as atheist rather than, oh I don’t know, being part of a different religion. Seriously, can you imagine this premise if it was slightly different? Think about it: The main character is Jewish and God decides to show him the error of his belief system. I bet that would be received well.

    Why pick on the atheists instead? Oh, because they’re all wrong. And all religious people know they’re wrong and we outnumber them so there’s less risk.

    I was willing to, like most other shows that I have no interest in, let this one slide happily by while I get on watching things I like. But I foolishly assumed the main character was having some kind of existential crisis or something. Not that he’s an atheist who needed to be corrected via social media.

    Do your stupid God shows if you have to. But could it not be done without wagging a finger in someone’s face and telling them you know better?

    Screw you, whoever’s baby this is as well as the person/people who green-lit it.

    What’s the 1 point for? The performances. They deserve at least some recognition.
    Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2018
    9
    I love this show....if the negative critics want more realism, tell them to watch CNN or any news. We need more positive stuff, no matter how it comes to us.

    Negative reviewers: just go lay down in the street if you want more realism
  11. Nov 3, 2018
    10
    When my wife first suggested I watch this show, I cringed. the last thing I wanted to watch was another show about God and religion. Well was I pleasantly surprised. This show is about people interacting with and helping other people with God and religion kind of in the background.This is not a plug for religion or a shot at atheists. The show is refreshing and very clever. This is a showWhen my wife first suggested I watch this show, I cringed. the last thing I wanted to watch was another show about God and religion. Well was I pleasantly surprised. This show is about people interacting with and helping other people with God and religion kind of in the background.This is not a plug for religion or a shot at atheists. The show is refreshing and very clever. This is a show about us examining our beliefs and life in general with no one saying what is right or wrong and trying to make sense of it all. The only real morality message is about being nice to one another, something this world is badly in need of right now. I love the characters and the actors who play them. This is my favorite new show of the season and one of my few "must watch every week" shows this year. Expand
  12. Nov 25, 2018
    0
    Look at all these fake reviews!

    This show is cringy garbage. The acting is awful, the premise is awful. The dialogue is awful. There are too many good shows on TV to waste your time with this garbage.
  13. Nov 29, 2018
    4
    Interesting premise, but settled into formula scripts pretty quickly. We can already see the main character struggling with his agnostic/atheist slant. We already see the romantic subplot heating up. Predictable and fairly shallow.
  14. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    Light. Refreshing. Family friendly. Touching. Has a good message and sends a good message as well. Some good supporting actors, co-stars, and familiar faces. Writing and directing seems like a good fit. I like that it has sort of a magical, paranormal and mysterious twist to it. The on-screen chemistry between the actors seems to be spot on. There have been similar stories done like thisLight. Refreshing. Family friendly. Touching. Has a good message and sends a good message as well. Some good supporting actors, co-stars, and familiar faces. Writing and directing seems like a good fit. I like that it has sort of a magical, paranormal and mysterious twist to it. The on-screen chemistry between the actors seems to be spot on. There have been similar stories done like this before in the past, but then again, there's nothing under the sun that hasn't been tried already. Besides, I find God Friended Me a lot better than MUCH of this other crap that we're seeing on the boob tube these days!! I like it. Amen. Expand
  15. BDS
    Dec 2, 2018
    10
    My hubby and I LOVE this show. We are actually quite disappointed that it isn’t on tonight. Looking forward to the next two episodes in December, and I know we will look forward to season 2. I hope this show does well. It’s a nice change to some of the horrible shows that have been on TV. I’d rather see a show about good deeds rather than evil. Great job with the script!!!
  16. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    One of the best new shows that tackle the issues from both sides to come up with a fell good show that gives you hope that you're not alone out there.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Oct 1, 2018
    70
    Hall is charismatic and likable enough to ground the show’s fantastical premise in something semi-real, or at least real enough to make the series palatable. God Friended Me also has a sense of humor and a sense of plot-driven momentum.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 1, 2018
    50
    Like the show’s interludes of theological discourse, its moments of regret and redemption are made to be easy to grasp and digest in the context of a Sunday night, broadcast network, mostly-family-friendly comic drama. For those less invested in the God question, or less attracted to sentiment, the show will run mostly on the substantial charm and chemistry of its young stars and the Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew sleuthing they do together.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 1, 2018
    58
    It’s sweet, loaded with a talented cast (Morton is particularly authentic), but it could use a bit more of the devil to it, if you know what I mean.