• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2017
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 8 out of 62

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 6, 2018
    8
    A great continuation of the first season, it was bigger and better. Season 2 gives the characters much more depth, I loved it.
  2. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    I liked the first season of Glow a lot. I though the first half wasn't as good as it could be but the second half was pretty good. When it got renewed, I at first had mixed feelings. I later on lost interest in the show. However, I didn't have anything to do so I thought I'd give the second season a try and I am so glad I did.
    First of all, this show's visuals are amazing. Incredibly
    I liked the first season of Glow a lot. I though the first half wasn't as good as it could be but the second half was pretty good. When it got renewed, I at first had mixed feelings. I later on lost interest in the show. However, I didn't have anything to do so I thought I'd give the second season a try and I am so glad I did.
    First of all, this show's visuals are amazing. Incredibly directed and the 80s vibes feels very real and is so amazing. The show now focused on more side characters; sexual assault in Hollywood, 3 LGBTQ+ characters and an illegal immigrant (a white girl, finally a show showing it's not only POC who go to the US illegally). I love how the cast isn't just perfect models and are realistic and different girls who take pride in their passion.
    The storyline develops very smoothly and doesn't feel milked or boring after a while unlike shows like '13 Reasons Why'. The script is also very well written. It feels natural and real and the one liners are some of the best ones I've heard, especially those delivered by Debbie/Liberty Belle.
    I was hooked from the beginning of the season until the very end and I'm still sad it's over, really hope it gets renewed. This is a massive improvement from the first season which I also liked, just felt like it could've been better and now they've proven that they can do better.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This is a great TV show. I’m not into wrestling, but those two first seasons just got me hooked. Brillant cast, fast pace, endearing characters, good musical score. And after all, it’s not about wrestling as much as it is about the (life) combat of those women and men’s in the ‘80s. Brilliant ! Can’t wait for the next season !
  4. Jul 5, 2018
    1
    Hate to say it but this is one of the most overrated TV series of all time. I watched all of season 1 and now season 2 and am bored to tears. None of the characters are at all enjoyable and the story is almost non existent. It's pretty obvious why it's being reviewed so highly but if I type it out I'll be labeled a sexist. Don't waste your time with this.
  5. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    Lots to like here. Great writing, believable characters, old school nostalgia, good looking gals :-)

    Wound up checking this show out after seeing Allison Brie was in it after loving her in community and Mad Men. Had no idea Maron would be so good in it as well, nice transition piece for him. But truly the whole ensemble brings their A game to the table. As a mid thirties dude I'm
    Lots to like here. Great writing, believable characters, old school nostalgia, good looking gals :-)

    Wound up checking this show out after seeing Allison Brie was in it after loving her in community and Mad Men. Had no idea Maron would be so good in it as well, nice transition piece for him. But truly the whole ensemble brings their A game to the table. As a mid thirties dude I'm not sure I'm the target demographic, but I must say, awesome work.

    Oh, and to the one guy who rated this a "1", give me a break. You sat through 20 hours of a show you absolutely hated? I call BS.
    Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2018
    10
    Great continuation of the quality from S1. Feels like the screenplay evolved naturally telling each characters story. Again Glow does a great job in not wasting your time with filler episodes. One particularly fantastic episode was dedicated to a full meta 'GLOW episode'! Genius stuff. I have fallen in love with the characters and setting, after such a great run with S1&S2 I sincerelyGreat continuation of the quality from S1. Feels like the screenplay evolved naturally telling each characters story. Again Glow does a great job in not wasting your time with filler episodes. One particularly fantastic episode was dedicated to a full meta 'GLOW episode'! Genius stuff. I have fallen in love with the characters and setting, after such a great run with S1&S2 I sincerely hope this show keeps the same staff and maintains this exceptional quality. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2018
    5
    I had great expectations for season 2 as first season was so great. Unfortunately I didnt get the same feelings. Too many episodes are very melancholic and I didnt like them. So narrative not so good, actors and directors thumbs up
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Jun 29, 2018
    100
    It’s the rare series that tries to have it all and succeeds. It’s topical and fun; it’s exciting and poignant; it’s got long episodes and a short episode total; it’s got a standalone episode told from one viewer’s perspective and fully drawn supporting arcs; it’s inclusive from every angle, addresses issues of inclusivity, but doesn’t define its minority characters by those issues.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 29, 2018
    80
    As a bonus, the finale closes this latest run in a manner that nicely sets the stage for season three. For a show that occasionally felt as if it was precariously perched on the top rope in its first season -- leaving doubt as to how long "GLOW's" light could stay flickering -- this second match pretty impressively outshines its debut.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Jun 29, 2018
    80
    The episodic focus also allows the show to skip over big swaths of time when nothing interesting is happening, the better to get to the good stuff. That leaves GLOW slightly less than the sum of its parts. But at the same time, the parts are so inventive, so stylish, and so fun that I feel churlish pointing out how they don’t quite cohere into anything more in the end. Maybe the best advice I can give is: Watch this show. Watch it several times. It’s a good one