• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2017
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Jun 29, 2018
    100
    It’s the rare series that tries to have it all and succeeds. It’s topical and fun; it’s exciting and poignant; it’s got long episodes and a short episode total; it’s got a standalone episode told from one viewer’s perspective and fully drawn supporting arcs; it’s inclusive from every angle, addresses issues of inclusivity, but doesn’t define its minority characters by those issues.
  2. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 28, 2018
    100
    GLOW is joyous, delightful, smart and funny television that showcases the complicated dance of strength and vulnerability in women, from Junkchains and She Wolves to Vikings and Liberty Belles.
  3. Reviewed by: Charlie Mason
    Jun 15, 2018
    100
    Showrunners Carly Mensch and Liz Flahive again manage to zigzag between the lowbrow silliness of the show-within-the-show and the higher-brow hijinks behind the scenes without giving the impression that the series has a split personality. ... Perhaps best of all, since Season 2 is so emotionally brutal, when we get a break that’s not of the heart variety, it doesn’t feel like a present, it feels earned.
  4. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jun 15, 2018
    91
    The bantery ensemble comedy and doing-our-own-stunts stage farce leads to darker, more raw emotional places.
  5. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 28, 2018
    90
    The female wrestlers are a splendid ensemble, both in their silly show, and in GLOW. But they’re always individuals. ... The 10 episodes in GLOW Season 2 go by so fast, they’ll leave you wanting more.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 28, 2018
    90
    A trio of performances that I thought were good enough in season one to warrant Emmy nominations from Alison Brie, Betty Gilpin and Marc Maron are even better in season two. Looking at the season as a whole, it’s easy to pick out a few subplots that don’t work, but they're easy to ignore on a good show that's only gotten better. ... It’s one of TV’s best comedies.
  7. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Jun 28, 2018
    90
    Fortunately GLOW remains as lithe and fleet-footed in its second season as in its first. ... Young has more emotional notes to capitalize upon than before. Seeing her and everyone else in this series go all in, heart forward, makes their various tales of this ragtag dream worthy of our emotional investment and GLOW itself well worth of the five-plus hours of attention it asks of the audience.
  8. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 27, 2018
    90
    Glow gleams in its fabulously entertaining second season with a buoyant celebration of rowdy sisterhood. [25 Jun - 8 Jul 2018, p.10]
  9. Reviewed by: Malcolm Venable
    Jul 23, 2018
    89
    One reason GLOW works so well is that it makes uncomfortable, complicated conversations about gender, sexual harassment, race and sexuality fun.
  10. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 30, 2018
    80
    Because there are so many supporting characters just waiting to break out (keep an eye on Kia Stevens’ Welfare Queen), GLOW has an urgency it may have lacked in the first season. ... Still, it’s the women in the ring who prove irresistible. GLOW isn’t the laugh-a-minute comedy you might expect, but a stealthy character study just waiting to pounce.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 29, 2018
    80
    As a bonus, the finale closes this latest run in a manner that nicely sets the stage for season three. For a show that occasionally felt as if it was precariously perched on the top rope in its first season -- leaving doubt as to how long "GLOW's" light could stay flickering -- this second match pretty impressively outshines its debut.
  12. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Jun 29, 2018
    80
    The episodic focus also allows the show to skip over big swaths of time when nothing interesting is happening, the better to get to the good stuff. That leaves GLOW slightly less than the sum of its parts. But at the same time, the parts are so inventive, so stylish, and so fun that I feel churlish pointing out how they don’t quite cohere into anything more in the end. Maybe the best advice I can give is: Watch this show. Watch it several times. It’s a good one
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 29, 2018
    80
    It’s a show that works on a few different levels, but it’s never better than when it goes to giddy workout montages and thrilling ringside action.
  14. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 28, 2018
    80
    Their in-ring roles reduce complicated women to simplified cartoons. In this way the wrestling personas are the exact opposite of the roles on Netflix’s GLOW, which are the kind of rich, meaty, more-than-just-likeable parts that actresses always wish they could find.
  15. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 27, 2018
    80
    It unpacks the tropes and cultural markers of the era and fondly repackages nostalgia by celebrating the enchantment of performance and the giddy adventure of amateurism.
  16. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 26, 2018
    80
    Luckily for GLOW, there's just something about the series that made it immensely enjoyable even when it wasn't firing on all cylinders or reaching its fullest potential. That's a real achievement and a testament to how engaging the cast was even in limited minutes. ... It's a testament to them [the cast] that what viewers do get is more than enough to keep watching and not giving up.
  17. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Jun 26, 2018
    80
    GLOW also continues to be really funny, strutting right along the line between cheeky and serious with even greater confidence.
  18. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jun 15, 2018
    80
    While all these characters had their moments in Season 1, many of them good and fun, getting to know them in Season 2 is far more rewarding with the clichés of their origin stories firmly behind them. Like the rapidly improving show within the show, this sophomore season of GLOW finds its footing, throws in more jaw-dropping stunts and mines its potential to become just as spunky, tenacious and determined as its heroines.
  19. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 28, 2018
    75
    GLOW just bubbles with scene-stealers.
  20. Reviewed by: Julia Selinger
    Jun 18, 2018
    75
    Season two mostly focuses on Ruth, Sam, and Debbie. In doing so, GLOW avoids the bloat of other ensemble shows--including that of producer Jenji Kohan’s other Netflix dramedy, Orange Is the New Black. The storylines involving the secondary characters never feel out of place and are typically played for laughs. ... At the same time, you may wish that some of these subplots were less hastily assembled. ... Luckily, we’re also afforded a few richly intimate close-ups with some of GLOW's side players.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 90
  2. Negative: 10 out of 90
  1. Jul 5, 2018
    1
    Hate to say it but this is one of the most overrated TV series of all time. I watched all of season 1 and now season 2 and am bored to tears.Hate to say it but this is one of the most overrated TV series of all time. I watched all of season 1 and now season 2 and am bored to tears. None of the characters are at all enjoyable and the story is almost non existent. It's pretty obvious why it's being reviewed so highly but if I type it out I'll be labeled a sexist. Don't waste your time with this. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    I liked the first season of Glow a lot. I though the first half wasn't as good as it could be but the second half was pretty good. When it gotI liked the first season of Glow a lot. I though the first half wasn't as good as it could be but the second half was pretty good. When it got renewed, I at first had mixed feelings. I later on lost interest in the show. However, I didn't have anything to do so I thought I'd give the second season a try and I am so glad I did.
    First of all, this show's visuals are amazing. Incredibly directed and the 80s vibes feels very real and is so amazing. The show now focused on more side characters; sexual assault in Hollywood, 3 LGBTQ+ characters and an illegal immigrant (a white girl, finally a show showing it's not only POC who go to the US illegally). I love how the cast isn't just perfect models and are realistic and different girls who take pride in their passion.
    The storyline develops very smoothly and doesn't feel milked or boring after a while unlike shows like '13 Reasons Why'. The script is also very well written. It feels natural and real and the one liners are some of the best ones I've heard, especially those delivered by Debbie/Liberty Belle.
    I was hooked from the beginning of the season until the very end and I'm still sad it's over, really hope it gets renewed. This is a massive improvement from the first season which I also liked, just felt like it could've been better and now they've proven that they can do better.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This is a great TV show. I’m not into wrestling, but those two first seasons just got me hooked. Brillant cast, fast pace, endearingThis is a great TV show. I’m not into wrestling, but those two first seasons just got me hooked. Brillant cast, fast pace, endearing characters, good musical score. And after all, it’s not about wrestling as much as it is about the (life) combat of those women and men’s in the ‘80s. Brilliant ! Can’t wait for the next season ! Full Review »