• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2017
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 89
  2. Negative: 22 out of 89

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 13, 2018
    9
    Absolutely ridiculous show captures the heart and soul of what it is like to go through puberty (seemly alone) surrounded by adults who act like they have zero clue as to what is going on, along side other children going through the same anxieties.

    The show is clearly satirical and is not meant for children, but if children do see it, they will be a ridiculous show up there with South
    Absolutely ridiculous show captures the heart and soul of what it is like to go through puberty (seemly alone) surrounded by adults who act like they have zero clue as to what is going on, along side other children going through the same anxieties.

    The show is clearly satirical and is not meant for children, but if children do see it, they will be a ridiculous show up there with South Park for them, except they will learn (in some cases) better lessons here about loving yourself for who you really are and not feeling like a monster for having hormonal urges. A conversation we struggle with even as adults.
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2018
    9
    Uma deliciosa segunda temporada... O elenco de voz transborda de atuações nítidas e indeléveis. A abordagem da puberdade (feminina e, ainda, masculina) e das complicações que surgem durante e após a mesma foi simplesmente pensada de uma forma inteligente e engraçada. É impossível não soltar uma gargalhadas quando acompanhamos as vitórias e os fracassos dos personagens!
  3. Oct 13, 2018
    9
    Superior over it's previous season. We already know the characters and it's time to explore the world with them in this hilarious and thought provoking season. Each episode delves deeper into all the teen angst problems we all know and also have experienced. The writing is great and so is the animation. If you liked the first season, definitely watch this right away. Or if you're in theSuperior over it's previous season. We already know the characters and it's time to explore the world with them in this hilarious and thought provoking season. Each episode delves deeper into all the teen angst problems we all know and also have experienced. The writing is great and so is the animation. If you liked the first season, definitely watch this right away. Or if you're in the need for a good laugh about teenagers discovering life and puberty, give it a watch I'd say Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2018
    9
    It is a little hard to figure out the demographic they're aiming for with Big Mouth. It is obviously an "adult cartoon", but while that phrase is usually employed (with a few notable exceptions like Bojack) to mean that the target audience is straight teenage boys. With Big Mouth it's different, the show effectively provides an image of puberty that is effectively intersectional. It showsIt is a little hard to figure out the demographic they're aiming for with Big Mouth. It is obviously an "adult cartoon", but while that phrase is usually employed (with a few notable exceptions like Bojack) to mean that the target audience is straight teenage boys. With Big Mouth it's different, the show effectively provides an image of puberty that is effectively intersectional. It shows an perhaps grossly unflinching look at puberty, and then waxes on just enough nostalgia to make it a fond look back at our collective formative years whoever we may be. But this isn't the audience either, or at least not the whole audience, as season two makes very clear, Big Mouth is aware that it will be watched be young adolescents, with their parents' permission or not, and makes sure to provide an entire episode teaching its younger viewers about safe sex and planned parenthood. Overall the show does a massively good job at managing to be crude while still driving home important lessons of healthy sexual behavior, with the characters' bad behaviours never going unpunished...oh, and of course, it is hilariously funny. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2018
    9
    This second season improves vastly on the first season by explaining a lot of the lore.
  6. Oct 14, 2018
    9
    Way better than 1st season. All previously season defects like excess of non-sense Netflix propaganda and underdeveloped characters came out after this season fixed it. More themes like self-esteem, sexuality and LGBT, feminism, teenager shame, family relationship, use of drugs, rebellion and depression are approached, making this season even more complete and even more conscious.Way better than 1st season. All previously season defects like excess of non-sense Netflix propaganda and underdeveloped characters came out after this season fixed it. More themes like self-esteem, sexuality and LGBT, feminism, teenager shame, family relationship, use of drugs, rebellion and depression are approached, making this season even more complete and even more conscious. Characters that was boring before, now were better worked. This season is more hillarious too, it's difficulty not chucke at least once in each episode. A giant step for series. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2018
    8
    Season 2 of Big Mouth has a lot more going for it, especially in terms of fleshing out a character to represent teen anxiety. Overall well done and I enjoy the show more now that the characters are fleshed out.
  8. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    OMG. I really enjoyed season 1, but season 2 is even better. A terrific, original show that doesn’t miss a beat and is shockingly hilarious from beginning to end. Nick Kroll is a comedic genius,
  9. Oct 11, 2018
    0
    The show continues to be distateful. Non of the characters are likeable and the art style is atrocious. The comedy never hits. I don’t have a problem with graphic comedy, but only when its done right. Big Mouth, does not do it right.
  10. Oct 11, 2018
    9
    I gave the previous season of 'Big Mouth' a 7/10, but this season is better. I think that it was more engaging throughout the 10 episodes and between episodes, I felt an urgency about finishing the season as soon as possible that I don't usually feel about TV shows (especially Adult Animation). I think that both seasons are worth checking out, they're both funny and contain very human storylines.
  11. Oct 7, 2018
    3
    The second season of Big Mouth is a big, over hyped, disappointment. Most of the characters no longer feel like they are genuine and there is way too much focus on coach Steve.
  12. Oct 11, 2018
    7
    Second season is less credible, less funny and generally it is... Worse. Big Mouth was huge surprise for me, but this? i'm feeling like i've saw already everything.
  13. Oct 6, 2018
    6
    Maybe educational? I do not think so, make more jokes and have some weird moments. Overall it's a comedy that somehow pleases you, plus it does not make you cling to watching other times for example.
  14. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    Puberty, Animated. It's the best idea ever. Who hasn't been through these things? Unapologetic-ally raunchy, funny and incredibly empathetic. The voice acting delivers!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Jack Hamilton
    Oct 15, 2018
    90
    In its second season, Big Mouth, unlike junior high, has only gotten better.
  2. Reviewed by: A. Cydney Hayes
    Oct 10, 2018
    100
    Nearly all of Big Mouth’s main characters are multi-dimensional in all ways except their animation, but season 2 reveals Jessi to be possibly the most substantive.
  3. Reviewed by: Dave Trumbore
    Oct 8, 2018
    100
    Big Mouth Season 2 cuts uncomfortably close to the quick at times and really makes you feel like you’re reliving your own adolescence. Luckily, the show is sweet enough to take some of the sting out of the close-to-home moments, but earnest enough to make you feel a real connection with these poor unfortunate characters.