Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 5 out of 47

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 30, 2018
    7
    It's fine. It feels like they're trying to make up for what they knew was a lackluster season 4 and just kinda got too scarred, so they eked this one out as a quiet apology. As a fan of the show, I guess I'll take it, but I can't recommend someone join the series on this alone. It plays everything way too safe and you're left with something that feels just a little too artificial for theIt's fine. It feels like they're trying to make up for what they knew was a lackluster season 4 and just kinda got too scarred, so they eked this one out as a quiet apology. As a fan of the show, I guess I'll take it, but I can't recommend someone join the series on this alone. It plays everything way too safe and you're left with something that feels just a little too artificial for the raw truth of the Bluths. Expand
  2. May 30, 2018
    7
    it's entertaining no doubt but as funny goes lacks plenty in my taste, too much exaggerated physical comedy.
  3. Jun 28, 2018
    4
    S5 is a disappointment all around. Doesn't come close to the humor and quality of the first three seasons. It's almost a shame that it got picked up by Netflix, since it tarnishes things a bit. If you're new to the series, stop at Season 3.
  4. May 30, 2018
    2
    I love Arrested Development. I really wanted to like season 5. I even liked season 4 more than most. Sadly, this latest (last?) season was just awful. The biggest failing was the lack of laughs. There was just so little funny in this is. I could forgive the terrible blue/green screening, I could forgive the weird Lindsay story arc, I could forgive all the loose ends from season 4I love Arrested Development. I really wanted to like season 5. I even liked season 4 more than most. Sadly, this latest (last?) season was just awful. The biggest failing was the lack of laughs. There was just so little funny in this is. I could forgive the terrible blue/green screening, I could forgive the weird Lindsay story arc, I could forgive all the loose ends from season 4 they had to fix but the lack of anything resembling comedy is inexcusable. I know die hard fans like me will watch it anyway so to them I say, "it's going to be a slog, with 3-4 laughs... sorry." To the non die hards and new comers, please, please skip this. Expand
  5. May 30, 2018
    8
    The first couple episodes take awhile to get going, and I found myself asking if Season 5 had been a huge mistake. Thankfully, things slowly begin to pick up steam, and by Episode 6-7 Arrested Development has returned to what made it so great in the first place. Hopefully the second half of this season continues that trend. As with all Arrested Development episodes, these haveThe first couple episodes take awhile to get going, and I found myself asking if Season 5 had been a huge mistake. Thankfully, things slowly begin to pick up steam, and by Episode 6-7 Arrested Development has returned to what made it so great in the first place. Hopefully the second half of this season continues that trend. As with all Arrested Development episodes, these have tremendous re-watch value, and you'll find yourself catching jokes you missed the first time around. Expand
  6. May 31, 2018
    9
    This season takes a small while to get going but in my opinion it gets good regardless. I love Arrested Development and feel that the show never lets me down. My biggest problem is that Tobias feels out of place due to Lindsay being gone, but I still enjoy him.
  7. May 31, 2018
    9
    Smart, fresh, creative, and funny as ever, with enough throwbacks to the glory days of the first 3 seasons to inspire a warm sense of nostalgia. Then again, I’m also one of the seeming few who actually relished the 4th season for its innovative (and, in my view, brilliant) approach.

    The show goes back to its roots in season 5 with more linear storytelling and is much less experimental
    Smart, fresh, creative, and funny as ever, with enough throwbacks to the glory days of the first 3 seasons to inspire a warm sense of nostalgia. Then again, I’m also one of the seeming few who actually relished the 4th season for its innovative (and, in my view, brilliant) approach.

    The show goes back to its roots in season 5 with more linear storytelling and is much less experimental in its structure, which should keep the traditionalists happy. However, it seems that the producers just now realized how far ahead of the curve the show has ALWAYS been, and have bowed to recent audience pressure to rein that in a bit ... which is disappointing in some respects, but entirely understandable and arguably a wise choice, given the outcry after season 4. The result is a more familiar format and an homage to the way things used to be. As a result, season 5 can feel overtly cautious in some places, at least in comparison to seasons past, but I find that this does not make the show any less intelligent, funny, or enjoyable.

    Having read many of the critical reviews of season 5, I think the show has become a victim of its own success and some viewers’ unrealistic expectations. If you’re tuning in expecting everything to be the way it was in 2003, then you’re likely to be disappointed. No matter how cautious the writing, it is not the same series. Not only are the actors visibly older (and jarringly so, in some cases), but both the times and the nature of television have changed in the intervening 15 years. We, as viewers, have also changed and are watching these programs through a different, more mature, and morally enlightened lens (#metoo).

    So viewers of season 5 must be realistic. The show simply cannot be the same as it was, nor should it be. My advice is to go in with an open mind and enjoy season 5 for what it is: the fun, outlandish, and undeniably unique continuation of a story of a wealthy family who lost everything, and the one son who had no choice but to keep them all together.
    Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2018
    10
    I think that they have managed to recreate the atmosphere of the first seasons extremely well. Yes it's weird and some bits even look poorly produced but at the end of the day this all adds to the show and what it is. Really incredible they managed to get everyone back as well. If your a fan then you will enjoy it for sure.
  9. Jun 2, 2018
    3
    I'm not impressed...

    Season 1 & 2 were great. In season 3, the show started showing signs of age. Season 4 was watchable but totally forgettable. Season 5 is hardly watchable. There are way too many in jokes about previous seasons, there is too much narration, and the story is too disjointed constantly jumping backwards and forwards from character to character. The Mexican
    I'm not impressed...

    Season 1 & 2 were great.
    In season 3, the show started showing signs of age.
    Season 4 was watchable but totally forgettable.
    Season 5 is hardly watchable.

    There are way too many in jokes about previous seasons, there is too much narration, and the story is too disjointed constantly jumping backwards and forwards from character to character.

    The Mexican Romney family is awful. Doing something intentionally stupid doesn't make it smart, somehow. The first MRF (mentally retarded female) story line in the third season was the beginning of the end for me. The new MRF stoy line is much, much worse. It makes no sense. They're just cashing in on something from an earlier season. And, maybe that's the point. Maybe this is super hip or super meta television and "I just don't get it," but - in my opinion - it used to be better than that.

    The whole Rebel Alley story line doesn't work. It didn't work in season four and it doesn't work in season five.

    The show is too self-refential. I'm tired of hearing about Lucille Austero and her vertigo and Stan Sitwell and his alopecia... The longer the show goes on, the more references there are per episode. It's so incestuous now, it's exhausting.

    TV shows do this when they run out of ideas... They milk old jokes for as long as they can, until people stop watching.

    I keep thinking I'm judging it to harshly because I have too high standards, on account of it being Arrested Development, but it's not that. I feel compelled to watch it, out of loyalty. But, honestly, I'd rather this season wasn't produced. I don't pause it when I leave the room. I find myself zoning out repeatedly, throughout scenes... And this is coming from a fan of the show.

    I think Hurwitz is a bit of a one hit wonder.

    Running Wilde wasn't very good (maybe better than season 5 of AD) and Lady Dynamite was absolute garbage. Running Wilde also repeated a lot of themes and character templates from Arrested Development.

    The language jokes have gotten beyond stale. In the fourth season, the show was making fun of itself with all the Dr. Seuss stuff. Now, in the fifth season, it is no longer self aware and we have to endure those awful word gags for another year.

    "I don't read," instead of, "I don't, Reed."
    It's like a bad Abbot and Costello routine.
    Expand
  10. Jun 16, 2018
    7
    It's funny again! The back-to-basics approach taken with season 5 restores a lot of the show's original magic. The shorter running-time makes things much more digestible, the characters are no longer so spread out, the Bluths actually get to spend time together, and everything is no longer so overblown. These first eight episodes have proven themselves able to make up for a lot of theIt's funny again! The back-to-basics approach taken with season 5 restores a lot of the show's original magic. The shorter running-time makes things much more digestible, the characters are no longer so spread out, the Bluths actually get to spend time together, and everything is no longer so overblown. These first eight episodes have proven themselves able to make up for a lot of the mistakes made with season 4.

    Some issues are still hanging around though. For one thing the ginormous plot left unfinished in our last divisive Netflix outing with the Bluths is still hanging around and needed to be dealt with. The first few episodes have a lot of ground to cover and recapping to be done in order to move forward. As a result the story can feel a bit convoluted and messy. The more it branches off into the new stuff, the better the season gets. It's just that it's not quite possible for Arrested Development to completely bury everything from season 4 yet. No matter how much it, and we, are ready to.

    Then there's the sad truth that Lindsay once again gets the short end of the stick. After having her character butchered in season 4, she is left in a sort of limbo as her appearance here is practically nonexistent. Portia de Rossi is largely, if not completely, green-screened into every one of her character's scenes before quickly being ushered out of the door unceremoniously. Leaving us to wonder what the plans are for Lindsay and if we'll ever see her return to her former glory. Maybe in the next half of the season she'll be given more to do or just be written out of the show entirely. The latter might not be that bad an option as I was surprised to find myself not missing her that much. Plus, didn't Portia retire? No need for her to make this one exception if they have nothing for her to do and she can't even be onscreen with everyone in the first place.

    All that aside though, my enthusiasm for the show moving forward has been greatly restored. The smaller scale plot is amusing and it was great to see the Bluths all connected again (minus Lindsay) and messing with each other's lives. Will Arnett gives his best turn yet as Gob and Alia Shawkat's costume antics make her character more entertaining than ever. The laughs just keep coming and kept me engaged in the face of several plot holes. The next eight episodes will obviously play a large role in determining whether or not season 5 is an overall success, but you can take comfort in knowing that what's already been released will remind you why you fell in love with the show in the first place.
    Expand
  11. Jun 1, 2018
    6
    (First Half of Season) Judging by the way they attempt to wrap up all of season fours lingering plot points as quickly as possible it seems the creators of Arrested Development are as desperate to forget its original revival as many fans seem to be. In all honesty the first two episodes are a little confusing and, even more worryingly, not particularly interesting or funny.

    Once the
    (First Half of Season) Judging by the way they attempt to wrap up all of season fours lingering plot points as quickly as possible it seems the creators of Arrested Development are as desperate to forget its original revival as many fans seem to be. In all honesty the first two episodes are a little confusing and, even more worryingly, not particularly interesting or funny.

    Once the full cast gets together (aside from Portia di Rossi, who is strangely green screened into her few scenes) things start to pick up and there are even glimpses of what made the show so great during its original run. Unfortunately the show still lacks the consistent sharpness and edge that made it such a cult favourite in the first place. There’s still another 8 episodes to come, so maybe it’ll get back to its best, but it looks unlikely we’ll ever see the old Arrested Development again.
    Expand
  12. Jun 3, 2018
    6
    Michael Cera grew up.
    This actually feels like a chunk of the problems with this shows last 2 seasons. Much of the original comedy of the show was based around George Michael. Now that character is supposed to be a Man, but doesnt look it, and isnt a comedy character now.
    It took 2 painful at times episodes full of over narration before we got the family together and we got some comedy.
    Michael Cera grew up.
    This actually feels like a chunk of the problems with this shows last 2 seasons. Much of the original comedy of the show was based around George Michael. Now that character is supposed to be a Man, but doesnt look it, and isnt a comedy character now.
    It took 2 painful at times episodes full of over narration before we got the family together and we got some comedy. Then its instantly followed up by a long awkward dull conversation in a hallway with George Michael and his father which instantly killed the momentum.
    Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2018
    7
    This season is slightly better than season 4, slightly. There again is too much exposition and due to Portia Di Rossi's retirement from acting after filming five episodes, her presence is truly missed. Basically Arrested Development is fine but should have stopped after season 3.
  14. Jun 25, 2018
    7
    I think it's clear by now that there is no way the creators, writers, directors, and even the cast can replicate the magic of the original run of the show, and while there are some clear low marks with the show, such as some duds with the story lines and jokes, often dragging on when they weren't that funny to begin with, as well as some cheap Donald Trump jabs that are just lazy, overallI think it's clear by now that there is no way the creators, writers, directors, and even the cast can replicate the magic of the original run of the show, and while there are some clear low marks with the show, such as some duds with the story lines and jokes, often dragging on when they weren't that funny to begin with, as well as some cheap Donald Trump jabs that are just lazy, overall I found it to be enjoyable personally. Seeing everyone back to the show and on screen together is fun since they are all passionate about this show and there are some great jokes here and there. I can't really say much since I just feel that it's enjoyable in an okay sense. Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2018
    7
    Season 5 is way better then the last season. The actors are together. Cera has a bigger part this time and it's for the best. The character of Joe is not very good. His lines were confusing to say the least. It kind of ruins the humour every time he intervenes. Buster became more of a static character this time around. There are a couple of surprises, one made for a good episode with Cera.Season 5 is way better then the last season. The actors are together. Cera has a bigger part this time and it's for the best. The character of Joe is not very good. His lines were confusing to say the least. It kind of ruins the humour every time he intervenes. Buster became more of a static character this time around. There are a couple of surprises, one made for a good episode with Cera. I give it a 72%. Overall more solid and aligned with the first 3 seasons...and Howard, the show did lack wide shots. Expand
  16. Jun 2, 2018
    6
    I was looking forward to this. Sure I laughed but it felt average compared to some of its previous seasons. Also finding out it was 2 parts was a big let down. Similar to season 4 its an ok watch. Feels like it's gone downhill
  17. Aug 4, 2018
    4
    Watching the first five episodes of Arrested Development Season 5 is like individually cutting off all five of my left fingers, with time in-between to contemplate just why I was exactly doing this, only to be told that just one more finger will make me finally see the true meaning of this activity.

    I'm starting to feel like some fans are in serious denial. If seeing Jason Bateman on
    Watching the first five episodes of Arrested Development Season 5 is like individually cutting off all five of my left fingers, with time in-between to contemplate just why I was exactly doing this, only to be told that just one more finger will make me finally see the true meaning of this activity.

    I'm starting to feel like some fans are in serious denial. If seeing Jason Bateman on the screen is enough to make you forget about how terrible what you're watching is, then you're going to love this season. If not, I'd just stay away.
    Expand
  18. Aug 5, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The new season is everything that season 4 failed to be: A nostalgic experience involving the finest jokes from the show and some brand new storylines, definitely is worth watching.
    GOOD: Maeby, George Michael, Gob, Buster, Lucille one.
    BAD: The lack of Lindsay and George Sr Transparent joke
    Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2018
    9
    Great to see this classic show return! better than season 4 for sure , great cast , only problem is Jeffrey Tambor creates a awkard feeling with is sexual arrasment accusations and temper issues , he should have been removed .
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 5, 2018
    75
    It's all packed with inside jokes and callbacks of inside jokes. This one's for the fans.
  2. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    May 31, 2018
    75
    Forget the tortuous Season 4; this time, the Netflix reboot is actually funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    May 29, 2018
    70
    To its credit, season 5 seems to know what went wrong before and works hard to correct it.