• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Reduxer Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): Thom Green, Gus Unger-Hamilton, Joe Newman
  • Summary: The Alchemist, Danny Brown, GoldLink, Hex, Kontra K, Little Simz, Lomepal, Paigey Cakey, PJ Sin Suela, Pusha T, Rejjie Snow, and Tuka are some of the artists who reimagined tracks from the British indie rock band's 2017 album Relaxer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 75
    Where the original lacked depth, these versions source it through the lens of a quasi 21-track double album with revived bass and energy that is the stuff of their live shows.
  2. Oct 10, 2018
    Overall, Reduxer is as pleasantly surprising as it is satisfying, offering an exciting counterpart for fans of Relaxer, while providing 11 fresh reasons to appreciate the original incarnations for those who might be less familiar.
  3. Oct 10, 2018
    Sometimes an all-encompassing desire to satisfy the album’s eccentric premise causes musical havoc. Alt-J have always revelled in a penchant for vocal distortion, frenzied percussion, cinematic strings, and reverberating synths - attributes they largely abandon in lieu of offering more traditional hip-hop elements. And sometimes it just doesn't work.
  4. Oct 10, 2018
    Not all of this experimentation works perfectly, as you might well expect, but the biggest disappointment has to be "House of the Rising Sun".
  5. Oct 18, 2018
    There are glimpses at what Alt-J may attempt in the future if they want to continue collaborating, and few would complain if that’s the case given the high points here, but at present, Reduxer is full of missteps from a band who seemingly can’t help themselves at this point.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 6, 2019
    It's not a bad album, by any means. But after hearing the original songs, the remixes are just kinda generic and not appealing.