Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    90
    The epic length of Our Raw Heart requires patience. While it unfolds slowly, the reward is big. It's shot through with musical invention and a clarity that makes it the new high-water mark in this trio's oeuvre.
  2. The Wire
    Jul 26, 2018
    80
    “Ablaze”, “Beauty In Falling Leaves” and the monumental title track attain a state of angelic transcendence before crashing solidly back to earth with “The Screen”, a stone cold falling meteor of a song that leaves a crater in its wake, and is probably the heaviest piece of music they have yet produced. [Aug 2018, p.59]
  3. Jun 26, 2018
    80
    Overall, Our Raw Heart is a truly encompassing journey that requires multiple listens to unfold itself (much like any YOB album). There’s anger, frustration and melancholy to be found, still, at the end you’re left with a sense of relief.
  4. Jun 20, 2018
    80
    Our Raw Heart is a crushing and stirring doom metal affair, a cathartic album created after guitarist and vocalist Mike Scheidt suffered a severe episode of diverticulitis early last year. It shines with a rare beauty. The music ebbs and flows from ballad-like meditations reminiscent of Earth to the caustic sludge of Yob’s early records.
  5. Jun 8, 2018
    80
    The band has spun joy out of its frontman’s gnarliest experience, making metal that sounds sensuous, bellicose, and jubilant at once.
  6. Jun 7, 2018
    80
    It’s a record by a mature band, setting itself to a serious task. The fact that it’s so effective--that Our Raw Heart can move you from one mood to another, and leave you feeling larger--is testament to the earnestness of their art.
  7. Jun 7, 2018
    80
    Overall, this is YOB in their purest form. No tricks, no gimmicks, and of course, no bullshit. YOB is comfortable in their own skin, and making their most honest music to date with Our Raw Heart.
  8. Kerrang!
    Jun 7, 2018
    80
    The cloud of heaviness that hangs over the whole thing is matched only by the emotion on display, and the momements of beauty once again reveal YOB to be not just another doom outfit, but one of the finest heavy bands on earth. [9 Jun 2018, p.55
  9. Jul 20, 2018
    70
    The songs do not cohere with the same kind of symmetry as those on Clearing the Path to Ascend did--four songs, four sides, one musical and philosophical path upwards--but the band's three musicians have history and an evident chemistry that clearly affords them creative flexibility without sacrificing consistency.
  10. Jun 7, 2018
    70
    Our Raw Heart is a gushing affirmation of self. ... The feel-good deathbed record of the summer.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 15, 2018
    10
    Another Masterpiece. Mike is a spiritual guru which transcends through the lyrics... Crushing riffs and mood swings within the album are Yob'sAnother Masterpiece. Mike is a spiritual guru which transcends through the lyrics... Crushing riffs and mood swings within the album are Yob's trade mark. I've been a fan since day one and they just never cease to surprise me. Each album is evolving into what i promulgate is the best 3 Trio DooM band on the planet. Had a conversation with mike after a concert and he is a very deep esoteric man and shines a light on those who are near him. So happy you survived this near death experience and came out with this new sonic piece. Full Review »