• Record Label: BMG
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2018
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    So mature, so raw, her voice captured me, I'd like to think it's my mother giving me advice, saying what she has lived, and what she still wants. Beautiful and powerful album filled with emotional songs.
  2. Nov 4, 2018
    10
    Stunning and heart wrenching from start to finish; think it is better than Before the Poison, and that was pretty sensational
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    10
    Marianne continues to provide us with coherent and solid works. Music and novel texts that reinvent their own history in music. Incredible, but true, Marianne Faithfull far exceeds any of the female voices that today achieve recognition only with scandalous news and very little with creativity or musical risk. In her albums, her sensitivity to literature and art is perceived, inspiringMarianne continues to provide us with coherent and solid works. Music and novel texts that reinvent their own history in music. Incredible, but true, Marianne Faithfull far exceeds any of the female voices that today achieve recognition only with scandalous news and very little with creativity or musical risk. In her albums, her sensitivity to literature and art is perceived, inspiring ingredients that make a difference with today's music, whose success derives from marketing tricks and manipulation in the recording studio. I prefer a thousand times this naked and imperfect voice, but authentic and honest, that all the shiny and well packaged crap that comes to us today via Pitchfork and many other media. It is pleasing to have artists like Marianne in these times of artifice and in this monotonous desert of the current music industry. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Quite simply a stunning album. Faithfull is at her creative peak with this recording. Her voice is used to perfection, delivering an album of melencholic masterpieces. Dealing mainly with loss, paging and death - you'd be excused for thinking this would be a bleak album however it is full of hope and longing and with just enough verve in her delivery and the production to make this aQuite simply a stunning album. Faithfull is at her creative peak with this recording. Her voice is used to perfection, delivering an album of melencholic masterpieces. Dealing mainly with loss, paging and death - you'd be excused for thinking this would be a bleak album however it is full of hope and longing and with just enough verve in her delivery and the production to make this a listening delight. This is an album of someone that has lived a full life. "No Moon In Paris", "In My Particular Way" and "Loneliest Person" are all stand out tracks, that will help to ensure Marianne Faithfull is long remembered as one of the very best vocal interrupters every to step into a recording studio. This album is essential listening, in fact to my ears, it is the best album of the year (so far...). Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 7, 2018
    70
    There are also moments of tenderness (“No Moon at Night”) and vulnerability (“Misunderstanding,” “In My Own Particular Way”) that make it one of her most compelling albums to date.
  2. Nov 7, 2018
    85
    Negative Capability is sure to stand the test of time, much like its creator. Marianne Faithfull has delivered a searing late career masterstroke, as vital as any in her storied career.
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    70
    Negative Capability is a testament to her journey and what it has taught her, and it reminds us she's still a talent capable of drawing our attention.