Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Aug 13, 2018
    100
    Nearer My God establishes itself as emo's first definitive document on digital-age despair.
  2. Aug 10, 2018
    91
    It’s as impressive as it is expansive, a perfect showcase for modern emo’s elasticity.
  3. Aug 23, 2018
    90
    Nearer My God is daring, flamboyant and consistently thrilling. It won’t make Foxing the biggest band in the world, but it probably should.
  4. 90
    Foxing’s giant leap takes them away from their emo upbringing and should place them among contemporaries like Portugal. The Man, Alt-J and Glass Animals. They’ve risked everything for this album and their desire for something greater. I’m calling it now: Foxing’s Nearer My God is the album of the year.
  5. Aug 13, 2018
    80
    Plenty of artists put their every fiber of being into a record, but there’s rarely the overt drive to exceed one’s greatness that’s so insistent, it threatens to earn indie rock's most unintentionally revealing slight: try-hard. For most bands, it's an epithet. On Nearer My God, Foxing flaunt it like an Olympic gold medal.
  6. 80
    There are no bad songs on the record, just ones in which fewer ideas work.
  7. Kerrang!
    Aug 9, 2018
    80
    It's a softly stirring soundtrack for a drift into somewhere deep, immersive and dreamy. [11 Aug 2018, p.71]
  8. Aug 9, 2018
    70
    It's Foxing in a new shape, a first-hand witness of the evolution of a band that were really good just the way they were. While these changes may not be welcome with open arms, the thoughtfulness and artistry deserves a round of applause.
  9. Aug 15, 2018
    65
    Pick things apart, and it’s a fine addition to the St. Louis band’s catalogue--there are several songs here that will catalyze their already electric live show.
  10. Aug 10, 2018
    60
    While Nearer My God isn’t always successful, the imagination behind it is more than enough to give it your time.
  11. Uncut
    Aug 9, 2018
    60
    We can enjoy Foxing's prophecies of impending doom, particularly when they're clothed in Animal Collective harmonies, U2 bombast and even avant-garde R&B. [Sep 2018, p.29]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Aug 13, 2018
    10
    Listening to this on good headphones I was hooked from the start. The details, textures, songwriting and lyrics are all great.

    Maybe I'm
    Listening to this on good headphones I was hooked from the start. The details, textures, songwriting and lyrics are all great.

    Maybe I'm just at the right point for this to hit home really hard but it is the kind of album that resonates with me all day after my first listen on my morning commute and makes me look forward to spending time with it again on the way home.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    ____ I’m listening to the album for the third time in a day and I understand that these guys impressed me clearly.
    ​____ First hooked the
    ____ I’m listening to the album for the third time in a day and I understand that these guys impressed me clearly.
    ​____ First hooked the first two tracks. Then at the end everything mixed up in a heap, since each composition is very musical and vocal rich, has its climaxes and knocking down rhythm. It seemed that all this is one big musical venegret. However, certainly delicious. And with each subsequent audition, unexpected sides of the compositions opened and the album played with new colors and shades.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2018
    10
    This album is one of the many that are part of the “emo revival” that I think are far more impressive than almost any other modern indieThis album is one of the many that are part of the “emo revival” that I think are far more impressive than almost any other modern indie albums. These bands (Hotelier, TWIABP, etc) are innovating in ways that bands like The National, The War on Drugs, and Mac Demarco never have. The songs can be catchy, but rarely follow an obvious pop structure, and frequently use unusual sounds and textures perfectly. Full Review »