Magick Songs Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 13th full-length release for the Nashville indie rock duo features contributions from Raconteurs/Dead Weather's Jack Lawrence, Bully's Reece Lazarus, Daddy Issues' Jenna Moynihan, and Kunal Prakash.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 12, 2018
    With the Pavementine rumble of “Camel Swallowed Whole” and the misty, cymbal-tapped post-rock surges of “Parachute,” JEFF the Brotherhood successfully indulge their growing fetish for off-kilter sonics while producing effortlessly tuneful, emotionally resonant songs.
  2. Oct 12, 2018
    Magick Songs provides a genuine journey, and that propulsion is enough to power JEFF the Brotherhood through the moments when they indulge in hazy pastiche, assembling a washed-out watercolor version of '70s sci-fi that was already a faded memory by the time of their birth.
  3. 60
    Sometimes, on Magick Songs, you may wish they would--there’s a little alienating insularity here, but it’s still inspiring to see the band follow their instincts.
  4. 60
    Listeners with liberal tastes and open ears will find enough quality music here to satisfy them for as long as it takes to plow through and absorb it all, which could be a while. Those new to the band will likely find their head spinning too quickly to grasp it all. But no one will complain it’s boring.