• Record Label: Famm.
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2018
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    94
    It’s a real album, with an arc and continuity. Lost & Found is one of those rare records that’s adventurous but can also appeal to that aunt or sister-in-law or Grammy voter who finds a new artist they like every 15 years.
  2. Jun 11, 2018
    90
    It is a first album that sounds like it came from an artist who has been doing this for years and years. ... Lost & Found is a revelation.
  3. Jun 8, 2018
    90
    With classically trained vocals, storytelling swagger and a knack for melodic invention, Lost & Found serves as both introduction and foundation. The debut offering is laden with contradictions: feels safe yet edgy, simple yet complex, ambitious yet relaxed.
  4. Jun 12, 2018
    81
    On Lost & Found, Smith is defining her own destiny. In the process, she confirms that she is special and rare, an asker of impossible but necessary questions.
  5. Jul 17, 2018
    80
    A powerful tool for repairing a broken heart and indicative of an even brighter future, Lost & Found is satisfying and promising at once.
  6. Jun 12, 2018
    80
    The album favours a downtempo pace, and Smith’s superstar potential is apparent on close-to-final song Tomorrow. But it’s the mid-album entry The One, with its swirling string arrangements and ambiguous tension between defiant lyrics and aching delivery, that suggests Smith’s ascent is far from over.
  7. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Ebbing and flowing with daydreams and a glossy but gritty pulse, Lost & Found is quietly, confidently remarkable.
  8. Jun 8, 2018
    80
    There’s a diversity of stylistic approach and yet a singularity of vision that few artists are able to combine so early on.
  9. Q Magazine
    Jun 8, 2018
    80
    Massiveness should be assured. [Summer 2018, p.114]
  10. 80
    Sometimes it is easy to forget that Lost & Found is Smith’s first LP. The sureness and creativity that exudes from each and every song disguises what some would call a lack of experience.
  11. Jun 8, 2018
    80
    While Lost & Found doesn’t feel like Jorja Smith’s magnum opus, it’s a brilliant first draft.
  12. 75
    As a whole, Lost & Found finds Jorja Smith making a name for herself with presence and poise. Throughout these 12 songs, she commands a mastery of various styles, with enough experiments to flesh out a varied, captivating album.
  13. Jun 21, 2018
    70
    Smith curated these tracks to showcase her insecurities to fans that will relate to the transparency of her work. Lost & Found is a strong foundation for the up-and-coming Smith and her R&B fused experiences. The gushing warmth of her emotion resonates into a digestible, easy listening album.
  14. Jun 12, 2018
    60
    At times, it's as if Smith's sheer vocal talent becomes a crutch that restrains her from treading into riskier musical terrain. A large part of the singer's allure derives from her vocal prowess, but she sacrifices invention here, letting the album fizzle out too quietly. Smith is at her best when she reinterprets classic R&B sounds and experiments with the color of her voice.
  15. Jun 8, 2018
    60
    Lost & Found is a well-paced album full of gentle vocals, catchy pop hooks and a playful relationship with the pains of youth, love and insecurity. Smith’s voice moves between arrestingly husky and overly nasal, with plenty of room to develop, but the sparse and uninspiring production doesn’t save the songs from feeling forgettable at times.
  16. Smith’s made the grade on this serviceable first record Lost & Found, and the path to her becoming Britain’s next global export is looking pretty clear. If only it was made to feel less of a drag.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. Jun 9, 2018
    8
    This is a strong album from Jorja Smith. Showing good and personal lyrics discussing rejection, and heartbreak. Smooth grooving songs and someThis is a strong album from Jorja Smith. Showing good and personal lyrics discussing rejection, and heartbreak. Smooth grooving songs and some very earnest and heart felt tracks here as well. It's nearly a flawless album. My only complaint is that as the album plays on it blends to much of the same sound. Same tempo on acoustic. For what the album is it's great, but I still wanted to hear more risk and more creativity. I definitely recommend this album a listen and I look forward to more music from her. Full Review »
  2. Jun 9, 2018
    10
    I started listening to Jorja earlier this year and I was instantly hooked, so I was ecstatic when she announced that she'd be dropping herI started listening to Jorja earlier this year and I was instantly hooked, so I was ecstatic when she announced that she'd be dropping her album real soon. I have to admit that I was a bit worried at first that the album might be disappointing, but I was captivated from the very first song. While there are a few songs on the album that have been previously released, they perfectly fit the feel of the album and feel fresh again. Definitely can't wait to see what Jorja's gonna to give us next. Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2018
    8
    Solid and enjoyable album! To be honest one of the best debut albums i have ever heard !