Joe Strummer 001 Image

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The two-disc compilation of the work of Joe Strummer outside of The Clash features 20 remastered and restored songs by Peter J. Moore as well as 12 previously unreleased tracks.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 9, 2018
    Joe Strummer 001 is bursting with endearing, heartbreakingly excellent stories and songs about and by a guy with an endless passion to create and affect change. Here's hoping this series continues.
  2. 90
    By compiling these often difficult to find sides, we get an intimate glimpse into talents of Joe Strummer many haven’t heard before. If anything it makes his untimely 2002 death at just age 50 even more tragic. But at least we have his music, and the stunning 001 is a near perfect summation of it.
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    What’s here is an excellent start. This collection gives a sense of the scope of Strummer’s career, and the passion with which he pursued it.
  4. Sep 27, 2018
    A mischievous balladeer with a spicier bag of ingredients than most folk heroes, Joe Strummer was a one-off. There’s little doubt he left his mark, but his more personal work is perhaps still overlooked in favour of his iconic punk fare. This intriguing set will go some way towards correcting that.
  5. Sep 28, 2018
    This is hardly the last word on Joe Strummer's music outside the Clash, but Joe Strummer 001 should convince any doubters that the man never stopped being a talent to be reckoned with, regardless of the size of his audience.
  6. Q Magazine
    Sep 27, 2018
    A fascinating insight into Joe's mind and the last days of The Clash. [Nov 2018, p.115]
  7. Sep 27, 2018
    001 is at its best when collecting material made just before Strummer's death, including a duet with Johnny Cash on Bob Marley's Redemption Song and the heartbreaking folk rag of Silver & Gold.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 1, 2018
    This album released after his death is filled with incredible songs and paints a picture that is truly beautiful.
  2. Dec 1, 2018
    With 2 CDs and 2 Hours or so of music, this is a fabulous Joe Strummer collection. Comprehensive post Clash retrospective but maintains highWith 2 CDs and 2 Hours or so of music, this is a fabulous Joe Strummer collection. Comprehensive post Clash retrospective but maintains high quality levels throughout. Strummer covered an incredibly wide range of music styles throughout his career and the best of this work is showcased here. This is a must for fans of The Clash. "The Cool Impossible", "Trash City", "Coma Girl" and "London Is Burning" are mandatory listening. A collection that does the the great man justice. Expand