• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Elephants on Acid Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth full-length studio release for the California hip-hop group was produced by DJ Muggs.
Buy On

Top Track

Reefer Man
Lala lalala lalala lala lalala Lala lalala lalala lala lalala Far and wide High and low Close your eyes We up in smoke Swim the sky Here we go Round... See the rest of the song lyrics

No trailers available at this moment.

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mojo
    Oct 3, 2018
    Elephants On Acid finds Cypress Hill not only recapturing the dynamism and urgency of their early-90s heyday, but also taking that energy somewhere completely new. [Nov 2018, p.84]
  2. 80
    While many of these 21 tracks (interludes abound) sound familiar--tunes like Pass the Knife share considerable bongwater with Cypress Hill’s 90s heyday--innovations do liven up the Hill’s central theme.
  3. The Wire
    Oct 9, 2018
    It's not so much a return to first principals as a 3D reboot of the homicidal stoner aesthetic established between 1991-1995 with Cypress Hill, Black Sunday and Temples Of Boom. [Nov 2018, p.52]
  4. Sep 27, 2018
    Ultimately, superfans might be polarized by the experimental musings of Elephants on Acid, but those with some distance will find this curiously assembled collection pleasantly puzzling in its layers of trippy appeal. Something this unexpected from such an established act can't help but feel refreshing.
  5. Oct 11, 2018
    With Elephants on Acid they often sacrifice, clearly by choice, catchiness for a more avant-garde complexity. There is a fantastic set of songs awaiting murkily on Elephants on Acid, and for Cypress Hill's intended audience here--the true fans--it's sure to be a joy unearthing them.
  6. Sep 28, 2018
    Elephants On Acid is far from perfect, and at points its short tracks sound like sketches that could have been fleshed out more. But it is a worthy addition to their discography, and shows development of their signature sound.
  7. 40
    Elephants on Acid is a frustrating listen, flitting between the unbeatable glory of Cypress Hill’s 90s and the eventual journey into middling experimental rap that followed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 28, 2018
    This is pure hip-hop, if you are used to listen popular beats like pushing buttons, this is NOT for you. Cypress Hill scored, and big one. WeThis is pure hip-hop, if you are used to listen popular beats like pushing buttons, this is NOT for you. Cypress Hill scored, and big one. We living in a new era of open minds, the organic sounds of the whole new album is amazing. Please sit back and pop up the volume, the trip its gonna be awesome. The atmosphere of darkness and hallucinations the will hit you in the face like thousands elephants running wild. I liked the contrast of the B Real and Sen Dog voices, add to this the hand of Muggs. This **** is a Classic Master Piece. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2018
    Focused and interesting front to back. Elephants On Acid is both fresh and nostalgic. Balanced and well executed. Great album.