Distant Sky: Live in Copenhagen [EP] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The four-track EP from the alternative rock band features songs recorded in October 2017 at Copenhagen's Royal Arena.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 19, 2018
    The Distant Sky EP is what happens when a lone wolf suddenly needs to reach out and touch. It’s the chaotic scream around loosing a child. It’s a careful help me into the darkness. It’s an invitation to come closer, to hold hands--at last, be close to our St Nick. And it’s fucking glorious. It could have done with a better mix, though.
  2. Oct 19, 2018
    Just this performance of Jubilee Street is worth the price of this EP. While on record, the song simmers to a boil, live, it explodes. Cave sings like a man possessed as the band rips through the tune behind him. Both From Her to Eternity and The Mercy Seat hit as forcefully as they did when first released.
  3. Oct 19, 2018
    Delivered in a soft whisper, with the most minimal of supporting musical infrastructure compared to its studio counterpart, ['Distant Sky'] is immediately tender and transcendent, but devoid of all hope, the addition of Danish soprano singer Else Torp's stirring vocal enough to render even the hardest-hearted individual a bawling mess.
  4. Oct 19, 2018
    You can hear the energy build as “Jubilee Street” twirls into a mess of melody and noise, with Cave bashing a piano at the end, and both the discordant “From Her to Eternity” and “The Mercy Street” both show the singer’s intensity. The standout here, though, is the title track, a poignant Skeleton Tree ballad about learning to let go that showcases Danish singer Else Torp’s gorgeous and moving soprano. It stays with you.