• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Arthur Buck Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the collaboration between singer-songwriter Joseph Arthur and R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck was written while in Mexico.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 20, 2018
    Though it’s essentially a finely-crafted guitar pop record, Arthur Buck also finds room for enough angles, quirks and adroitly-employed electronica to keep it interesting and it rarely puts a foot wrong as a result.
  2. Jun 14, 2018
    Many of the tunes emerged after the duo’s chance meeting in Todos Santos, the Mexican town Buck calls his second home. This sense of discovery shines through the record’s layers of polish. Its immediacy makes Arthur Buck a rarity in 2018: a record that wears its messy heart, as pleased with its flaws as it is with its power.
  3. Jun 15, 2018
    The truth is this sounds less like a 50/50 collaboration than a Joseph Arthur album with Peter Buck pitching in. Which is not at all bad, of course; as usual, Arthur's lyrics are bold, clever, and incisive, his vocals are passionate and reveal just the right amount of drama, and the melodies are strong, with Buck adding an extra spoonful of melodic bounce.
  4. Mojo
    Jun 13, 2018
    The duo's valiant attempt to circumvent the buzz-kill of pre-meditation can only take them so far, however, and Arthur Buck is not without the odd dud. [Jul 2018, p.89]
  5. Q Magazine
    Jun 13, 2018
    Despite the relaxed setting, these songs have a restless urgency. [Summer 2018, p.106]
  6. 60
    The result is sometimes sublime, sometimes noisy and chaotic.
  7. Jun 14, 2018
    The two started jamming together and the songs evolved organically. Before the duo knew it, they had an album’s worth of songs. And that’s basically what the album sounds like--two guys of a certain age doing stuff they think is really cool that only winds up being cool to guys of a certain age.

See all 8 Critic Reviews