Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2018
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
42
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
imthenoobJan 7, 2019
Bale carries the movie, Simple as that. He does a fantastic job as Chaney but Vice just fails to impress. It's a very straight-forward bio-epic that kind of glances over various parts of Chaney's life. The only other stand out part would beBale carries the movie, Simple as that. He does a fantastic job as Chaney but Vice just fails to impress. It's a very straight-forward bio-epic that kind of glances over various parts of Chaney's life. The only other stand out part would be the great narration by Jesse Plemons. Aside from that, Vice doesn't do anything out the ordinary and it fails to keep you entertained and invested. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingJan 15, 2019
Lightning doesn't strike twice for director Adam McKay. To its credit, "Vice" boasts an interesting premise, and Christian Bale is phenomenal as Vice President Dick Cheney. However, the film's scattershot editing, tone, as well as theLightning doesn't strike twice for director Adam McKay. To its credit, "Vice" boasts an interesting premise, and Christian Bale is phenomenal as Vice President Dick Cheney. However, the film's scattershot editing, tone, as well as the feeling that events are being ticked off rather than deeply explored is what brings this biopic down. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Jan 3, 2019
Adam McKay (Anchorman, The Big Short) writes and directs, and Christian Bale completely transforms himself in order to portray Vice President Dick Cheney, shaving his hair and gaining over 40 lbs. for the role. He's practicallyAdam McKay (Anchorman, The Big Short) writes and directs, and Christian Bale completely transforms himself in order to portray Vice President Dick Cheney, shaving his hair and gaining over 40 lbs. for the role. He's practically unrecognizable, and his performance is easily the film's biggest highlight, with some strong supporting turns from Amy Adams as Lynne Cheney, Steve Carell as Don Rumsfeld, and Sam Rockwell as George W. Bush. The rest of the film, however, is a little all over the place, both in terms of story and politics. While there are some genuinely funny moments to be found in the film, the rest consists of plenty of left-wing and liberal biases (a scene at the end of the film even pokes fun at this) and really only focuses strictly on that point of view, which I guess should've been expected, considering it is a film told from Cheney's point of view. The film's story also jumps around quite a bit from year to year, making the flow of the film feel not very fluid. Overall, it's the performances that really make the film, and there are a handful of clever and funny moments, but the film's editing, inconsistent narrative structure, and left-wing and liberal biases that really only offer one side/point of view limited the film's impact for me, which like I said, is understandable since it's a film about Cheney, but I still hoped for slightly more and was slightly let down in the process. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jan 5, 2019
Adam McKay's second foray into serious filmmaking dodges the milder attributes of its predecessor -- "The Big Short" -- in favor of an approach that one could argue is a bit of a cinematic tirade. Now, whether or not that tirade is warrantedAdam McKay's second foray into serious filmmaking dodges the milder attributes of its predecessor -- "The Big Short" -- in favor of an approach that one could argue is a bit of a cinematic tirade. Now, whether or not that tirade is warranted may depend on your political background -- something I don't necessarily want to get into here. But I'll say this much; "Vice's" biggest drawback may be the fact that it doesn't really wish to seek an audience other than the one it'll most assuredly pocket. The movie is a bit of a political finger-wagging towards those in favor of or even ambivalent towards the figures depicted. Still, Bale's evocation is nothing short of astounding, and it is good to get some kind of take nowadays, instead of the watered down, apolitical cardboard we'd get from a more mainstream version of this material. I just wish it was a little less hysterical. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
LegendaryLassJan 7, 2019
Vice walks a difficult line... is it shedding light on the life and rise to power of Cheney or is it mocking him? The intention seems to be "both" but ultimately the film feels like it's making light of really troubling history and people inVice walks a difficult line... is it shedding light on the life and rise to power of Cheney or is it mocking him? The intention seems to be "both" but ultimately the film feels like it's making light of really troubling history and people in power. Scathing and snarky are not a good mix and McKay is over-reaching with his personal voice, adding no particular insight or depth to any of the precedings of this monstrous administration. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
MattyiceJan 10, 2019
While entertaining and funny at some points, Vice ends up being a lot more messy than McKay's first foray into intellectual film in The Big Short. The acting from Bale, Adams, and Rockwell, amongst others, is superb and easily the best partWhile entertaining and funny at some points, Vice ends up being a lot more messy than McKay's first foray into intellectual film in The Big Short. The acting from Bale, Adams, and Rockwell, amongst others, is superb and easily the best part of this film. However, its cinematography and tone is all over the place and often comes off as pretentious and non-sensical. In addition, the film should've cut a lot of its first half fluff and put greater focus on Cheney's time in the Bush White House, where most of the action and the best action happens. While there are moments of promise, McKay's sophomore effort comes across as a more juvenile and unfocused attack on a fascinating man, of which Bale compared to the devil. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondDec 26, 2018
This is the classic case of expectations. Come off of The Big Short, the critics and I were expecting something much more. It's not a bad movie, but it's FAR from being one of the better films of the year, like The Big Short was. What wasThis is the classic case of expectations. Come off of The Big Short, the critics and I were expecting something much more. It's not a bad movie, but it's FAR from being one of the better films of the year, like The Big Short was. What was particularly galling was the "made up" sequence at the end when Dick Chaney apparently "blessed" Liz Chaney's coming out against gay marriage. Which was totally contrary to Chaney's public statements on the subject. Bit of a hack job there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
richardradJan 21, 2019
Despite a fantastic performance by Christian Bale, "Vice" is a mess. At times the film is funny, but overall "Vice" is a smug, dull, one-sided lecture, suitable only for people who already loathe Dick Cheney. If you came to this film askingDespite a fantastic performance by Christian Bale, "Vice" is a mess. At times the film is funny, but overall "Vice" is a smug, dull, one-sided lecture, suitable only for people who already loathe Dick Cheney. If you came to this film asking how and why George W. Bush's Vice President was able to amass so much power, there are virtually no insights other than cartoonish depictions of the man, and his collaborators. Great movies about politics start conversations and provide fresh insights. This film, which is full of noise and cheap shots, does neither. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BbpfankuchDec 26, 2018
Took my family of five and we all felt it fell short as a comedy. The acting was amazing. I’ll give you that. The contents made me feel uncomfortable with how liberally slanted it was, and I’m a liberal.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
MarkHReviewsJan 1, 2019
The most telling moment in “Vice” occurs early on. After landing an internship in Congress and falling under the spell of Donald Rumsfeld (Steve Carell), Dick Cheney (Christian Bale) plaintively inquires of his mentor, “… but what do weThe most telling moment in “Vice” occurs early on. After landing an internship in Congress and falling under the spell of Donald Rumsfeld (Steve Carell), Dick Cheney (Christian Bale) plaintively inquires of his mentor, “… but what do we believe?” The implication that Cheney has no belief system of his own is jarring; that Rumsfeld’s response is to laugh hysterically and slam the door in Cheney’s face is even more devastating. We are forewarned that this is a film about gaining and using power.

The film follows the ascent of Dick Cheney from his low point in 1963 – a Yale dropout who has dissolved into a drunken laborer stringing telephone wire in Wyoming. In short order, Cheney is whipped into shape by his wife Lynne (Amy Adams). After securing his internship, Cheney works himself into positions in the Nixon and Ford administrations. He then serves five terms as Wyoming’s single congressman (1979-1989) before becoming Secretary of Defense for George H.W. Bush (1989-1993) and eventually Vice President under George W. Bush.

What’s absent from this film is any theory, or even speculation, about what motivates Cheney and his drive for power. By the time, Cheney has become Secretary of Defense, he has fully embraced a Hobbesian world view – all people are selfish and self-serving, best ruled by an absolute monarch (which explains his obsession with “the unitary executive”). But there’s no real discussion about how he arrived at this perspective. After informing the viewer in the opening credits that, because of Cheney’s secretive nature, the film is filled with speculation, writer/director Adam McKay fails to address Cheney’s internal motivation in any meaningful way. That Cheney is so unapologetic for his decisions in the film’s final scene makes this lack of exploration a glaring oversight.

“Vice” is a scathing take-down of the man who brought us the war in Iraq. McKay’s further explanation of how incestuously the core characters are intertwined (Antonin Scalia, Rumsfeld’s evolving roles) is illuminating. And along the way, there are theatrical flourishes that make this movie soar. The alternative life scenario for Cheney in the middle of film, accompanied by its own closing credits is priceless. Jesse Plemmons (excellent in the 2015 installment of the “Fargo” TV series) as narrator adds exposition and acerbic commentary that provide impetus to the story. For those who loved the rhythm and texture of “The Big Short” (one of McKay’s earlier writer/director efforts), there are some similarly inspired digressions, although none rise to the excellence of Margot Robbie in a bubble bath, drinking champagne and explaining the financial underpinnings of subprime mortgages.

The cast is first-rate, although many seem to have been cast primarily for their visual similarity to the person they portray. Bale, as usual, fully immerses in his character, taking on an eerie physical similarity to Cheney and spot-on delivery of Cheney’s speech pattern. Carell’s Rumsfeld is convincingly charming, profane and amoral. Sam Rockwell (George W. Bush) is simply amazing – dynamically conveying W’s impulsive, erratic, “oh, wow!” world view. Tyler Perry as Colin Powell is the only truly curious choice.

One wonders about the intended audience for “Vice.” Most adults have a general familiarity with Cheney. Those who already hold W. and Cheney in disdain will simply have their views reinforced – although some of the details in this movie may cause them to foam at the mouth. The film is so brutally unflattering that it will alienate those on the political right. However, in a world of “fake news” and “alternative facts,” it’s nice to explore characters who can be so transparently, unabashedly wrong.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
moviecritic68Jan 2, 2019
I only kept this out of the red due to acting performances. Once again the liberal Hollywood elites & critics are salivating all over themselves creating a film which does its best to pummel Cheney's whole personal & political life. Just lookI only kept this out of the red due to acting performances. Once again the liberal Hollywood elites & critics are salivating all over themselves creating a film which does its best to pummel Cheney's whole personal & political life. Just look at the producers and it tells you all you need to know. Bottom line liberal fellowship will praise it and conservatives will see it as a opinionated propaganda film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsJan 6, 2019
Adam McKay presents a powerful, vitriolic, absurd, at times surreal, at times Shakespearean, and ultimately honest look at Vice President Dick Cheney. The script has a unique and powerful voice that sometimes lacks in consistency, but neverAdam McKay presents a powerful, vitriolic, absurd, at times surreal, at times Shakespearean, and ultimately honest look at Vice President Dick Cheney. The script has a unique and powerful voice that sometimes lacks in consistency, but never lets up on the humor or somber insight in the life of a truly heartless man. Christian Bale gives some of the best acting in his career, and he really vanishes into the role of Dick Cheney. Amy Adams plays his Lady Macbeth-esque wife, and she gives a potent supporting performance. The rest of the ensemble cast shine brightly in their roles, particularly Sam Rockwell and Steve Carrell. Fans of political thrillers and satire will find a lot to enjoy here. If political movies were hamburgers, Vice is a steak. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
preciouskikiJan 6, 2019
Highly entertaining, fun, and informative, "Vice" is the best movie I've seen in quite awhile (and I see a lot of movies).
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
ccjacobs94Dec 27, 2018
The best part of this film is Christian Bale's performance as Chene. The biggest flaw is absolutely the selective perspective the movie presents. It's a shame the team behind this movie presented the vice president in such a blatantly skewedThe best part of this film is Christian Bale's performance as Chene. The biggest flaw is absolutely the selective perspective the movie presents. It's a shame the team behind this movie presented the vice president in such a blatantly skewed perspective. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasDec 27, 2018
Three of us went and were highly entertained with words and actions instead of special effects. One of us is Republican the other two are Democrats. It takes a powerful personality who can take charge and no one wants to challenge him sinceThree of us went and were highly entertained with words and actions instead of special effects. One of us is Republican the other two are Democrats. It takes a powerful personality who can take charge and no one wants to challenge him since the president didn’t. We really can’t have people in government that are like that, but we do, despite the government rules that are supposed to be followed. Using Cheney’s exact words makes this movie believable. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
ThomassJan 4, 2019
Atrocious. Black comedy is always tricky. This attempt is so heavy handed, so unfunny, I felt embarrassed for the actors.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
SwesalJan 11, 2019
Came in not seeing any trailers, or previews, but knowing that it was written, directed and produced by Adam McKay, who was heavily involved in my favorite movie "The Big Short".

Perhaps it is just because I don't care about politics at
Came in not seeing any trailers, or previews, but knowing that it was written, directed and produced by Adam McKay, who was heavily involved in my favorite movie "The Big Short".

Perhaps it is just because I don't care about politics at all, but it is kinda the job of the writer, and director of the movie to make an interesting story to a wide audience regardless of the subject, and it fails miserably. I mean I am not that interested it the financial world ether, but I loved The Big Short, which I think is why I am so disappointed, I came in wanting to love this movie also. It is simply to awful, and so boring, and I don't even understand why it was called a comedy(I don't think I laughed at all), again like complete trash. The only thing good I can say about it is, Christian Bale is clearly a great actor.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKDec 25, 2018
I just watched this very interesting film from the second row of a packed theater where the audience was dead silent (no talking or snoring) on Christmas Day. I have to admit that I was more fascinated by the acting than the story, which wasI just watched this very interesting film from the second row of a packed theater where the audience was dead silent (no talking or snoring) on Christmas Day. I have to admit that I was more fascinated by the acting than the story, which was close to flawless (especially Christian Bale [who was unrecognizable as anyone but Cheney] and Sam Rockwell). I also don’t think the film was partisan (left or right) but stuck to the basic story. I am not about to say “the facts” since I am not sure they will ever be completely knowable. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
nagavedulaDec 26, 2018
It is very easy to make a movie about dick cheney where you treat it as a rags to riches success story and end it with "too much power corrupts absolutely" type cautionary message. But Adam McKay takes a very nuanced and talented approach toIt is very easy to make a movie about dick cheney where you treat it as a rags to riches success story and end it with "too much power corrupts absolutely" type cautionary message. But Adam McKay takes a very nuanced and talented approach to this story and makes the movie awesome.

Oscars for ACTOR, supporting actress, EDITING, screenplay, MAKE UP and picture. A masterpiece in storytelling.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
4
ProteusDec 25, 2018
Probably the worst blend of comedy and drama ever. Some great comedic moments. Potential for great dramatic moments. Horrible combination of the 2. Great acting. Compare Vice to a movie like American Hustle which put comedy and drama togetherProbably the worst blend of comedy and drama ever. Some great comedic moments. Potential for great dramatic moments. Horrible combination of the 2. Great acting. Compare Vice to a movie like American Hustle which put comedy and drama together perfectly. Vice is entertaining and very very disappointing. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
2
DeathloopDec 31, 2018
Almost entirely propaganda based on incredibly loose "facts" as they refer to them in the film.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jan 7, 2019
This film didn't end up being what I expected or what I wanted. It is a film well done but nothing memorable, except the fabulous performance of Christian Bale.

Adam McKay wasn't able to replicate what he achieved in The Big Short but it
This film didn't end up being what I expected or what I wanted. It is a film well done but nothing memorable, except the fabulous performance of Christian Bale.

Adam McKay wasn't able to replicate what he achieved in The Big Short but it seems that his career is now focused on other types of stories and not comedies, which is good.

But if there was something that this film made me think a lot, was the monologue of Jack Nicholson in A Few Good Men. A general who extols the importance of the military and people like him and the things they do in the name of national security.
Something very similar to the final monologue of this film. Which would undoubtedly be more difficult to judge if it were only in the name of national security, but if something has often been put in evidence about the White House is that monetary interests always go before anything.

And the mid-credits scene? Words are unnecessary.

Watch it if you have the opportunity, it's not a bad film. You will not be wasting your time but definitely in the end, I admit it, it will be very forgettable.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
RtheomDec 27, 2018
It was a bit too long at 2+ hours, and it didn't give us any new information that we didn't already know, but the acting was dang near amazing. This movie was very obviously not intended to give us a new view of Cheney, but rather to put theIt was a bit too long at 2+ hours, and it didn't give us any new information that we didn't already know, but the acting was dang near amazing. This movie was very obviously not intended to give us a new view of Cheney, but rather to put the information related to him and his dealings down for the purposes of preserving it in perpetuity. You won't come out of this movie feeling any different about him, for better or worse, but it is entertaining and impressive to see just how well the actors got the fine quirks and ticks of the actual people down. A fine film, but easy enough to wait until it come out online to see it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
sadsnailJan 8, 2019
I love movies. All kinds of movies. Always have but this is the first time I have written any kind of review on one. I often look to metacritic for quality opinions on films I've enjoyed or detested. Until today I thought you had to actuallyI love movies. All kinds of movies. Always have but this is the first time I have written any kind of review on one. I often look to metacritic for quality opinions on films I've enjoyed or detested. Until today I thought you had to actually be a some kind of critic to write a review but when I saw the low scores for this wonderfully told story I quickly realized anyone can add their two cents so that's why I'm taking the time. It seems those who rated this film below 50 were looking for a comedy and seem surprised Cheney didn't have a flute solo to rival Ron Burgundy. Really, what were you expecting? I can laugh at Adam McKay's earlier work though I really feel he has hit his stride with The Big Short and Vice. I left the cinema feeling I had seen the best film of 2018 and there many I haven't watched. For me this is an important film. This is a film everyone should see and a film that deftly portrays Cheney and America as it was in the recent past and how we are living with the results of, largely, Cheney's direction. Like the Big Short, these are stories that are about life right now and many people need it to be presented in his way to actually absorb the truth. As Cheney said to Rummy in the film when he became Vice, something to the effect of, "we have to do things with a soft touch". While the movie had many inventively comic moments such as the early credits, and Shakespearean soliloquy it has a deeply important meaning If feel that here McKay offered his message with a soft touch. It was measured and as they stated in the beginning I felt they did their expletive best. Cheney had many moments that painted him in a sympathetic human light while at the same time his actions and are revealed in a light of truth that I'd imagine many Americans would not have realized are deeply heinous. Bravo McKay! Keep up the great work. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TrevorsViewJan 10, 2019
Much like how the quiet man seeks satisfaction from his own perishable fate, Vice gives a temporary sense of thrill about one who committed his entire life to claiming fame. The feature declares in the prologue that those involved did theirMuch like how the quiet man seeks satisfaction from his own perishable fate, Vice gives a temporary sense of thrill about one who committed his entire life to claiming fame. The feature declares in the prologue that those involved did their ‘effing best to stay true to the real story… sure. Research proves otherwise. Look up some articles about the real Dick Cheney in your spare time: a little research should prove those producers wrong.

The director, Adam McKay, returns to the same narrative approach he used in his Academy Award winner three years back, The Big Short, except now, the excessive racket drowns out any point addressed. In fact, any point made seems intentionally blocked so you overlook its lies.

McKay jumps around the timeline randomly, which buffers complex relationships to selfish action movie clichés, but at least Independence Day understood that civilization must stop aliens together, unlike this movie which holds back necessary prominence of communication between countries. The public doesn’t need more movies that throw excessive noise around simultaneously, but a somber tale amongst the shrill media, especially when it’s about powerful men as corrupt as Dick Cheney.

That very man is played by Christian Bale (who just won a Golden Globe for this role) beneath distractingly bad makeup, which doesn’t matter a whole lot as the actor beneath those obvious prosthetics understands the script’s jokily serious satirical style. Bale appropriately looks ready to murder despite working a “nothing” job, his authority screams when he watches a house fly around Lynne Cheney’s rants, then again around Bush. As events creep closer to the end credits, his performance turns more cuckoo than the clock draining out a heartrate beep that signals when it is time for Dick to get a heart implant.

Yet the annoying static of that heart monitor won’t shut up as it tracks how hot your pulse gets watching this. Most fathers of today’s kids will want to throw on earmuffs to stop their blood from boiling, because these fake people use a congressional board game illustration/fascism propaganda to silence democrats. Most mothers will dislike this product because of Amy Adams… just… yikes! Her portrayal of Mrs. Lynne Cheney is way too soft!

In fact, some viewers will feel injustice done for the way they’re depicted on screen. A nauseating camera “crops” the cinematic versions of the Cheney couple put on by Adams and Bale, possibly not to match the mockumentary filmmaking style, but more to block out the bad CGI effects that came from production problems. Thus, you don’t get the maximum impact of this man who changed history without anyone aware of his ghostly existence.

Cheney keeps the same lips of a swine and eyes of a poltergeist—a controlled harsh pig with lipstick immobilizing his speech, a Christmas ham after revenge against the butchers taking credit for the delectable flavor. The problem is that none of that strong addictive bacon flavor is detectable to the taste buds, just the fatty parts left behind. Maybe if Dick talked a little more about his own health over the film’s long timeline, his actual hopes and dreams could give us clear reason to care? Then that way, McKay could’ve focused less on trying to land a gut-punch, and more on ensuring that Mr. and Mrs. Cheney reciting poetry before bed isn’t boring to watch.

Frankly, Adam McKay was the wrong choice to write the screenplay due to his lack of extreme sincerity in grasping human change. He resorts to instead creating a testosterone biopic focused on Cheney’s smoking gun that bloomed up a mushroom cloud seen from Tokyo. Consequently, the women actors’ efforts to stand out look like mice to be trampled upon by the men.

Yet for every mousey performance, it’s all made up for in the way Sam Rockwell breathes a truthful depiction of George W. Bush. Rockwell contrasts the quick beat of an ironic commercial interrupted by 9/11 footage, and does so with a slow, humane face. It almost makes his arguments about climate change reasonable! He mutters words humbly, like the real Bush, making a priestly presence the perfect counterbalance to the way Cheney sees an opportunity amongst everyone’s fear to the 9/11 attacks. Meanwhile, musical composer Nicholas Britell (The Big Short, Moonlight) gives each scene a genre based on the energy present, forcing a more intent listening ear for President Bush’s speech beyond the poltergeist’s interference…

…interference of your capacity to get something useful out of this film, that is. Instead of wanting to be just like Dick Cheney, listen to those higher! Listen to those lesser! Don’t rely on the evil pressed from Vice’s great big lies, a mock-up that only worships itself.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticDec 25, 2018
A film that does a masterful job of delving into the mind of Dick Cheney his motivations and fears. We see all his warts and triumphs. The supporting cast are all good from Sam Rockwell as GWB to Steve Carrell as Rummy and even Tyler Perry asA film that does a masterful job of delving into the mind of Dick Cheney his motivations and fears. We see all his warts and triumphs. The supporting cast are all good from Sam Rockwell as GWB to Steve Carrell as Rummy and even Tyler Perry as Colin Powell, but this film belongs to Bale. Overall a low 9 an A. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
Mitchell0617Dec 30, 2018
The movie was all over the place. Funny at times, but extremely boring. Waste of money.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
JediMosEisleyDec 25, 2018
The film has large gaps in facts and is heavily partisan, and tries to be humorous, but it falls flat every time. How can any film name virtually every president over the last 40 years and not mention Clinton?
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
sassymahDec 25, 2018
Vice is a modern masterpiece. It is the incendiary, insightful, informative, incisive, and illuminating movie of our times. I am struggling to summarize how I feel about this profound polemic that is educational and essential viewing forVice is a modern masterpiece. It is the incendiary, insightful, informative, incisive, and illuminating movie of our times. I am struggling to summarize how I feel about this profound polemic that is educational and essential viewing for everyone. It is sad and disturbing that certain biased people are trying to malign this movie over a misguided agenda and I know the smear campaign is substantial. The film's controversial and unsettling essence is rooted in truth. It is a metacritical analysis/interpretation of the past, indictment of the present, and a cautionary tale for the future. We do get a comprehensive dissection of a megalomaniac's exploitation of the unitary executive theory.

The writing is exceptional and this film defies categorization. It is just as much as a tragedy, horror story, drama, than it is a dark comedy. Christian Bale blew me away. He is phenomenal in this role. Amy Adams gives a nuanced, extraordinary, and strong performance. The entire ensemble is impressive which includes Steve Carell, Sam Rockwell, and Tyler Perry. This film has more substance, intelligence, complexity, depth, and value than the majority of the other highly critically acclaimed movies this year. This movie deserves Oscar nominations across the board from editing to original score to cinematography. It is a landmark film that is a brilliant companion piece to The Big Short.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
aboammarDec 25, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful film A mix between drama and humor Performance beyond description I think Christian Bale will get the Oscar and Amy Adams will offer her best performance The beautiful script of Adam McKay and the output is beyond description Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryDec 27, 2018
Writer/director Adam McKay uses the same approach to storytelling that he did for The Big Short. Here are excerpts from that review:

This feels like a Michael Moore documentary with reenactments by a great cast. Director Adam McKay has
Writer/director Adam McKay uses the same approach to storytelling that he did for The Big Short. Here are excerpts from that review:

This feels like a Michael Moore documentary with reenactments by a great cast. Director Adam McKay has utilized several cinematic tools to tell a complex and confusing story: entertaining montages, snappy editing, quick scenes and clever comedy. The short-attention-span pacing and McKay’s wildly creative approach (with those absorbing performances) make the film entertaining and ultimately infuriating.

All of this applies to this film. as he takes on Dick Cheney (Christian Bale). He starts with his formative years and moves thru his career to the crucial powers that he wielded as Vice President during the Bush administration. Bale has made a remarkable visual transformation and on top of that, the performance is creepily compelling. The rest of the cast nails it too, often looking surprisingly like their real-life counterparts. This is a piece of masterful storytelling that will shed light on one of recent history’s most Machiavellian personalities. NOTE: Stay thru the early credits for a final scene that brings it all home.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
pdw123Dec 28, 2018
If you have Adam McKay as writer/director/etc. with majority creative control over any film, particularly a political one, count me in from now on! The way this is bringing out the right wing trolls plus the Wall Street Journal and otherIf you have Adam McKay as writer/director/etc. with majority creative control over any film, particularly a political one, count me in from now on! The way this is bringing out the right wing trolls plus the Wall Street Journal and other rags of that ilk is not surprising, although the 2 different opinions on Vox are certainly confounding?! This one of the most brilliant landmark films of the last 10 yrs. along with The Big Short. The acting, casting, story, writing should be up for many AA awards plus best picture. And, where is the most important review here which should be The Intercept? Although mainly an independent news organization, they probably had the best film review of anyone, since they have all the facts straight here. To some of the folks griping about Bill Clinton? I think McKay should actually tackle Bubba as a next major project, along with Bale who can just play anybody (although Sam Rockwell and Carell were some of the best casting decisions ever!) Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
k4r274Dec 26, 2018
Another absolutely slanderous movie from the Hollywood liberals. And you guys wonder why our nation is so divided. MORE FAKE STORIES. Some of you won't stop until we have no more nation because you continue to show no respect for ourAnother absolutely slanderous movie from the Hollywood liberals. And you guys wonder why our nation is so divided. MORE FAKE STORIES. Some of you won't stop until we have no more nation because you continue to show no respect for our country or our leaders that WE put in office. All of you must have forgot about September 11th. I haven't. USMC Vietnam Veteran. Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantDec 25, 2018
Director Adam McKay's latest is a decent film, though, admittedly, not as good as I was hoping it would be (and definitely not on par with his previous work, "The Big Short"). This biopic about former "president" Dick Cheney featuresDirector Adam McKay's latest is a decent film, though, admittedly, not as good as I was hoping it would be (and definitely not on par with his previous work, "The Big Short"). This biopic about former "president" Dick Cheney features excellent performances by Christian Bale, Steve Carell and Sam Rockwell, though the overall production tries to do too much and gets a little too bogged down in the minutiae of American politics, causing some sequences to become a little snoozy. Also, McKay's attempts at incorporating asides of an analogous nature -- clever though they may be -- don't work quite as well as they did in his predecessor work. And then there's the humor, which only lands about 50% of the time, another disappointment. Still, this picture is nevertheless better than a lot of the other commercial releases out there; it's just unfortunate that it doesn't quite come up to the standards set by the filmmakers earlier offering. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Dec 30, 2018
This is a very entertaining film to watch. Adam McKay was able to take what could be a fairly boring and drawn out story and made it into something quite enthralling. Unfortunately, although it's well shot, pretty dang funny at times, andThis is a very entertaining film to watch. Adam McKay was able to take what could be a fairly boring and drawn out story and made it into something quite enthralling. Unfortunately, although it's well shot, pretty dang funny at times, and interesting, there are several issues that hold this film back from being the Oscar contender that it could have been. The pacing is odd and at times feels clunky with the flashbacks and different timelines, there were several scenes left in this film that could have been cut but weren't which led to a much longer runtime than necessary, and some of the humor doesn't necessarily come across as I think McKay intended it to. Further, the scene that plays right after the first line of credits made me cringe, and it left a bad taste in my mouth which ultimately hurt my viewing experience. In the end, the positives outweigh the negatives, but there was far more potential here than what we got. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryDec 30, 2018
“Vice” is a biodrama and history of the life and career of Dick Cheney, Congressman from Wyoming, and more notably the Vice-President under President George W. Bush.
The film was written and directed by Adam McKay and stars Christian Bale in
“Vice” is a biodrama and history of the life and career of Dick Cheney, Congressman from Wyoming, and more notably the Vice-President under President George W. Bush.
The film was written and directed by Adam McKay and stars Christian Bale in the title role with Amy Adams as his wife, Lynne Vincent Cheney. Also appearing in the film
is Steve Carell (as Donald Rumsfeld) and Sam Rockwell (as George W). This is the story of a partnership between an iron willed wife and an ambitious husband who, together, forged their way from average beginnings to the inner workings of their nation’s decision making process. Those interested more in our country’s recent history than pure film making will get more from this experience than the average viewer. That being said, one must acknowledge the “Meryl Streep” ability of Mr. Bale to transform himself, both physically and professionally,into the essence of the character he portrays. He succeeds so well that in what are obvious recreations of real events, the moviegoer could well believe that the real Mr. Cheney was actually in the scene. There is no question that the writer/director has a definite point of view but, in spite of that, he is able to portray his lead subject with a mixed sense of loyalty to his country and a fierce dedication to his wife and family, indeed the complex traits of a very complicated public servant. I give the film an ratin for, despite its 2 hour and 25 minute running time, the audience is never bored or without interest with what it is appearing on the screen and, after all, isn’t that what film making is all about.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
josephtlallyDec 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam McKay’s new film is specifically made to fuel the current political wildfire. At its climax, it attempts to slip one by the average audience member, albeit less tactfully, by flashing us with images of migrant children at our nations border and the California wildfires peppered between dramatic bombings of Iraq. Only one of those is related in any direct way to former Vice President Dick Cheney, the protagonist/antagonist of the film. This was the most outrageous moment of the film, aside from McKay momentarily assaulting us with blurry close-up shots of people’s eyes, which can be attributed to his flashy style. Aside from those complaints, I quite liked the film.
McKay makes me laugh, and somehow manages to make me think more deeply about ruthless pragmatism at the same time. He also makes me think about how the most seemingly inconsequential and uninteresting bureaucracies can destroy lives; how government tyranny can permeate under our noses; how executive authority has changed over the recent decades; and how a monumental tragedy can create an existential crisis that changes the way millions of people think about the world. The most poignant of moments was in the finale, when President Bush, portrayed by Sam Rockwell, shakes his leg in anxiety as he announces our invasion of Iraq to the nation. The film then cuts to someone shaking their leg in fear with their family as the bombs begin to fall. The acting is incredible, and Christian Bale looks uncannily similar to Dick Cheney, as he masterfully captures the mannerisms of an almost ghostly figure to people younger than 25 years old. I would wager that 95% of people my age do not even know who Dick Cheney is. They should see this movie, and I am confident they will at least be entertained, and maybe they will look up more information on who this man is. Hopefully, they will reach the same conclusions as I did; that Dick Cheney set in motion a horrific response to a horrific act. At the end of the movie, Cheney breaks the fourth wall and tells the audience his justification, without apology, for his actions. There are certainly monsters in this world, and they should be dealt with. However, there are many signs that point to Cheney being one of them.
This brings me to the central question the film poses, and this may have been unintentional, but nonetheless, it was apparent to me. At what point is pragmatism immoral, and will the inevitable progression of governmental power in the name of pragmatism eventually lead to tyranny? This film says it already has, and makes the claim it will become worse. I think both sides of our current political bareknuckle fight can agree that the endless expansion of executive authority has already damaged our reputation as a country, has caused death and destruction, and will lead to more tragedy. Even though Dick Cheney probably does care about his family more than his political dynasty and George W. Bush is certainly more than just a bumbling idiot, I think Vice poses important questions that we should all strive to answer.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeJan 7, 2019
Conspired To Doom.

Vice McKay's avant-garde vision of the controversial political debate may or may not be accurate but scoffing off the strings, the film, the independent project, shows passion and talent blending in for cherishing few
Conspired To Doom.

Vice

McKay's avant-garde vision of the controversial political debate may or may not be accurate but scoffing off the strings, the film, the independent project, shows passion and talent blending in for cherishing few laughs. On humor, it is very hard to beat McKay, weaving out the too-much-political jibber-jabber into a nail biting drama is his first and foremost job, that he makes sure he excels at. There are husbandry gags so witty and hilarious that it mocks the genre itself, when felt to divert the shady or speculative part of the plot to a big extravagant of puppet (literally!), he uses a theme of equivalency medium to communicate on layman terms.

Like when Bale schemes his way up with banal theories of puppets in White House or an eerie homage to Shakespeare or a climatic first act that is nailed down to the credits. McKay's ferocious commitment and confident on his script, is what illuminates it on a much larger scale. The political climate which the film is dipped into isn't just left to inspire or create awareness for the current political climate control, but as an individual persona that Bale is cloaked of, fiddles on where to draw the margin of good or bad as a singular being.

As far as the structure is concerned, it is pretty much basics, Bale climbs his way up to the ladder by pushing off one or two and being challenged ethically before he ends up losing not only himself but things much more precious to him. The narration is not only meticulous but also funny and fresh to follow, in fact, it may resemble somewhat to Stone's Any Given Sunday, but fortunately the humorisc editing and direction tactics helps McKay stay on the safer side of the coin. Bale being hyped by the media and fans for his bizarre physical transformation clears out any speculations of his choice in our minds within first few minutes.

His depressed, overly thought out and dodgy character that he maps out on screen, has a perspective of his own. He seems more Chaney than Chaney himself. Plastering a half grin on his face and speaking with less opened mouth as much as possible, he may not be able to melt you down but he sure can ooze power to a point where you might start getting afraid of him. And the characters that writhes around him, including Carell as the sort-of-mentor role has very little do along with Rockwell as the Bush, who too is a victim of a similar infection.

The only challenging and competitive character against Bale is Adams as the backbone of his, has done an amazing work as his supporter. What the film fumbles upon is having the ability to transact from one sequence to another, there is no flow to the storytelling, no matter how hard McKay convinces you with his camera work. One of the best bit of the film is the narrator whose mysterious appearances keeps you intrigued into this one big speech. Vice should have been a general phenomenon, instead it is Bale's film, from head to toe.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesDec 25, 2018
There’s a good movie buried somewhere in here, but just like “The Big Short,” McKay the director gets in the way of McKay the screenwriter. The tone and pacing are all over the place, and by the end McKay tries to act like Cheney was doingThere’s a good movie buried somewhere in here, but just like “The Big Short,” McKay the director gets in the way of McKay the screenwriter. The tone and pacing are all over the place, and by the end McKay tries to act like Cheney was doing what he did out of love for America, except the first two hours do nothing but paint him as an oligarch. Bale is great and Carell is fun, though. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
jhepDec 26, 2018
Another JAW-DROPPING ACHIEVEMENT from Adam McKay. A film to match his wildly original “The Big Short” of three years back. McKay has learned to trust his talent and his wacky inspirations and hunches so completely that the result isAnother JAW-DROPPING ACHIEVEMENT from Adam McKay. A film to match his wildly original “The Big Short” of three years back. McKay has learned to trust his talent and his wacky inspirations and hunches so completely that the result is cinematic story-telling magic and take-no-prisoners devastating social and political satire !….And what a cast he has assembled here- Bale, Adams, Carell and Rockwell DAZZLE you with their talent and the sheer ease and exuberance with which they display it. We’re talking people who have completely mastered their craft and are a total joy to watch……The result of all this is that “Vice” emerges as is a chilling cinematic achievement-cum-cautionary tale whose alternate title might well be “Escape From the Planet of the Over-Reaching Munchkins” !!…..and to anyone reading this who’s thinking “Ya. Okay. But tell us how you really feel”… I say I LIKED this movie ! Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
tomfrenkelDec 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fantastic casting with total immersion into their characters by Bale, Sam Rockwell, and the ever fascinating Eddie Marson. I loved it so much I didn't even leave in the middle to hit the bathroom :-) Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
DavidofOregonJan 20, 2019
What of Vice? Well, first off Christian Bale is amazing. If this guy doesn’t win best actor for his portrayal- the world will have lost its meaning (dramatic, I know). Second, Amy Adams is equally amazing. I don’t know who the real lifeWhat of Vice? Well, first off Christian Bale is amazing. If this guy doesn’t win best actor for his portrayal- the world will have lost its meaning (dramatic, I know). Second, Amy Adams is equally amazing. I don’t know who the real life Lynn Cheney was but Amy Adams’ portrayal brings real sense to the real Dick Cheney story because she fills in that weird void as to why a guy with zero personality would have any success in Washington. Bravo! Lastly, there’s art to this movie. It’s not a movie designed to slam the right, though I know many republicans will probably feel this way watching this movie. No- this movie slams Washington. It’s a movie that tells us we’re not all that special, Americans are people and like any other people group in this often confusing world, the people we elect have problems. Dick Cheney was one big walking mess. But this is really emphasized well because of the tone this movie strikes. This movie tells us that Washington is about insiders and climbing the ladder. Period. Forget nobility and championing American ideals. No. Washington is about winning and gathering in or consolidating power. And in this respect, this movie is brilliant. It blows the lid off of what all Washington insiders do not want the general public to know. And what is it they don’t won’t us knowing? Play the game just right and anyone - regardless how mediocre they are- can make the top, can grab hold of this power. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
katezoeJan 23, 2019
Very depressing movie showing the start of the Republican takeover of American values. Cringe worthy history of this country. Despicable!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
flubossFeb 20, 2019
How to give the biggest warmonger a nice image? With a script that's the opposite of the truth. Its sad to see all the hard work for this piece of "art" turning into a pure piece of propaganda. If all the diologues were accurate, people wouldHow to give the biggest warmonger a nice image? With a script that's the opposite of the truth. Its sad to see all the hard work for this piece of "art" turning into a pure piece of propaganda. If all the diologues were accurate, people would lose faith in their government immediately. It's also sad to see all these good actors who sell their craft for this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
rowlandsJan 10, 2019
McKay is a very artsy filmmaker, which is definitely not my style of film. However, this film has worthy performances, especially Christian Bale's, which is on its way to win that Oscar. Overall, not a great film to watch, but above average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
frankrog29Jan 14, 2019
I agree with James Berardinelli of ReelViews in that this movie feels pointless because it simply rehashes events that have long been a matter of public record. I was a young adult in the early 2000s but I already knew about almost everythingI agree with James Berardinelli of ReelViews in that this movie feels pointless because it simply rehashes events that have long been a matter of public record. I was a young adult in the early 2000s but I already knew about almost everything that Vice depicts way before watching it. I did not know about Dick Cheney's earlier political career, but those parts were also quite boring and pointless. Perhaps Vice is a good film for people who were too young to be aware of U.S. and world events in the early 2000s. I would give Vice a 6.5 but, since the acting is quite good, I'll round it up to a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Jan 16, 2019
Vice tells the story of how Dick Cheney quietly became the most powerful man in the world as Vice President to George W. Bush. If there was ever a movie to make you fear American politics more than House of Cards ever could then Vice is theVice tells the story of how Dick Cheney quietly became the most powerful man in the world as Vice President to George W. Bush. If there was ever a movie to make you fear American politics more than House of Cards ever could then Vice is the movie for you. It's terrifying and even if only a fraction of it is actually true it's still terrifying. 

You can never really tell with these "based on true events" Oscar bait pictures but the acting alone in Vice from absolutely everyone (yes even you Carell) is excellent. Bale doesn't disappoint, his performance will send chills down your spine and shock you to your core. You can clearly see the effort he made to become Dick Cheney so somebody give him an Oscar before he has a heart attack. Amy Adams is perfection and Sam Rockwell is hilarious as George W. Bush, for all the right reasons. I honestly would have liked to see more of him. The narration was a great way to move the story along and took the time to explain some of the more technical political terms which was very much necessary. A well made film for the most part but the choppy storyline hopping around the place was doing my head in and at times I found myself zoning in and out which is the last thing you want to do during this kind of film. The less you know about Vice the better, if like me you might not be overly familiar with everything that went on during Bush's presidency it will be worth it for the shock value. It was an interesting decision for Adam McKay to make Vice as a comedy. Sure not all the jokes worked but its got it's moments. Yet I couldn't help but feel in someone else's hands (Armando Iannucci) this could have been better. Having said that it's still worth your time. Recommended. 
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LewisDannyJan 23, 2019
The acting carries this movie; Bale, Adams and especially Steve Carrell (masterful performance of Rumsfeld) are the saving grace of a film that has tonal issues that The Big Short NEVER had. So much inaccuracy of factual events, and strangeThe acting carries this movie; Bale, Adams and especially Steve Carrell (masterful performance of Rumsfeld) are the saving grace of a film that has tonal issues that The Big Short NEVER had. So much inaccuracy of factual events, and strange pacing mean there is little to recommend this film. Easily one of the highly-talented Adam McKay's worst films by a significant margin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MetaflixJan 25, 2019
Writer-director Adam McKay did a superb job illuminating the root of the financial crisis in 'The Big Short,' but his depiction of Dick Cheney's life in 'Vice' is far less cohesive, made all the more diluted by the constant cutaways thatWriter-director Adam McKay did a superb job illuminating the root of the financial crisis in 'The Big Short,' but his depiction of Dick Cheney's life in 'Vice' is far less cohesive, made all the more diluted by the constant cutaways that often seemed shoe-horned into the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AdamBeamJan 26, 2019
A movie that is practically carried on the shoulders of one actor, while the others do an admirable job like Adams, Rockwell, Carrel,they're all led by Christian Bale's showstopping performance as former VP Dick Cheney. With one of Bale'sA movie that is practically carried on the shoulders of one actor, while the others do an admirable job like Adams, Rockwell, Carrel,they're all led by Christian Bale's showstopping performance as former VP Dick Cheney. With one of Bale's most impressive physical transformations, looking nearly identical to that of Cheney, he becomes the man personality wise as well. I also enjoy that while the movie paints Cheney as the bad guy, they do admit that a lot of what they do is merely speculation, as they know that very little is known about Cheney and his activities in office. However the movie is hurt by some very weird choices, especially in the narrative. The movie is randomly interrupted by random scenes and some very obnoxious editing choices, as well as a narrator character that really doesn't serve any other purpose then explaining all the political talk and one joke towards the end, as well as inconsistently placing him into some random points in the movie. Overall the movie is just kind of confused in what it wants to be, but is really held together by the glue of Bale's performance, which I cannot praise enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
IsaacJJan 27, 2019
The story of America’s most infamous vice president, wager of the War on Terror Dick Cheney, is approached with bold satire here by writer-director Adam McKay. Vice acknowledges from the beginning the secretive nature of Dick Cheney and howThe story of America’s most infamous vice president, wager of the War on Terror Dick Cheney, is approached with bold satire here by writer-director Adam McKay. Vice acknowledges from the beginning the secretive nature of Dick Cheney and how conjecture is perhaps needed to colour in the edges. Nevertheless, this is a ferociously entertaining film, that lampoons its subject with flashy comedy and stylistic gags. Christian Bale leads as Cheney, caked in impressive makeup. Beneath the prosthetics, however, Bale delivers a stand-out performance, deadly in its quietness and oozing with callous bureaucracy (the actor thanking Satan for inspiration in his Golden Globe acceptance speech is not unfounded). We watch the events of Cheney’s life unfold; his unexpected rise from delinquency to vice presidency is told in a biopic that is pleasingly unconventional. Vice is narrated almost like a staid Michael Moore documentary, but is also unfailingly nihilistic, combining the grounded political history within amusing gags. Similarities can be made with McKay’s previous film, The Big Short, which also approaches its weighty subject with a cynical mockery that you can’t help but grin at. The deeper impact of this film is certainly undermined by the comedy (which at points is almost too light hearted), but Vice still gives a telling nod to the state of politics today without losing its biting humour.
Vice breezes nicely through a sizeable run time, snapping from frame to frame with a manic energy. The structural choices are somewhat zany, but usually add to the film’s eccentricity. McKay’s writing is unfocused at points and the narrative is far from tight-knit, though this is never at the expense of entertainment. Fourth wall breaks and a memorable scene where the characters break into Shakespearean iambic pentameter are just examples from a film that is wonderfully weird, yet never to the point of ridiculousness. Stylistic ticks like these are less ubiquitous in a final act that relies just a little too much on narration. Though Vice is carried by Christian Bale, Amy Adams looms with stony determination as the Lady Macbeth-esque Lynne and Steve Carrell’s Donald Rumsfeld is as slimy as he is energetic (Sam Rockwell’s Oscar-nominated George W Bush, in contrast, feels a little bit Saturday Night Live). Nicholas’ Britell’s score is luscious and pacey and Greig Fraser’s cinematography is as slick as it is shocking (shots of Cheney’s comfortable White House meetings snap unsettlingly quickly to flashes of the brutal torture he authorises). Vice is not perfect, its wackiness occasionally verging on messiness, but it remains a fervid and clever biopic, that uncovers the career of one of America’s most reticent yet power hungry politicians with delightfully bruising derision.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
shermyJan 28, 2019
The visual conversion of Bale to Chaney was certainly a masterpiece. But the resultant character had zero screen personality. A boring emptiness. If that is what Cheney is really like, I would have preferred that the central character beThe visual conversion of Bale to Chaney was certainly a masterpiece. But the resultant character had zero screen personality. A boring emptiness. If that is what Cheney is really like, I would have preferred that the central character be George W. or Rumsfeld, both of whom had substantial personalities. Even Lynne Chaney would have been a better choice.

I'm a big fan of Bale, and to see him mummified by the Cheney persona was a disappointment. The role could have be played with less bother by any chubby actor who could monotone grunt very short sentences.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
movieseeerJan 30, 2019
VICE DONE

Christmas was less than it’s parts with Hollywood tripping, studio execs must have been on Coke or Crack to come up with this holiday lineup. Mary Poppins? Another Sherlock Holmes comedy? Psyche drama Welcome To Marwen (a
VICE DONE

Christmas was less than it’s parts with Hollywood tripping, studio execs must have been on Coke or Crack to come up with this holiday lineup. Mary Poppins? Another Sherlock Holmes comedy? Psyche drama Welcome To Marwen (a disaster). Auto-Stupid-Bots this time the Bumble Bee as a VW Bug (even a 3 year old would Vomit!) Mortal Engines the newest foolery from the ‘Peter Jackson’ crew of idiots (everyone hated it!) from Jackson the most overrated man in Hollywood. So Vice about Dick Cheney on Christmas Day gives you an idea of how creatively inept Hollywood studios have become lately.

Be that as it may Vice is at first, at least, fairly interesting stuff as Christian Bale and his cast of Hollywood Democrats, there are not Republican movie stars, attempt to portray Cheney as the real threat behind the Presidency. Sad to say though that ultimately it’s the same old show we’ve seen too many times. Iraq gets the last half an hour and it’s dull, dull, dull stuff. Everything we’ve all already seen, 11 years ago, not like Hitler was there! After we lost our so called Towers I suppose we needed to kill 600,000 Islamic fighters to even up the score, is what it looks like. We ‘lost’ 4,000 soldiers, so it doesn’t really feel like a war. Imagine if it were China or the USSR, so it was the usual ‘safe’ response from our Administration back then. Vice President Cheney is not all that visible in the film, Bale plays him fairly I’d say, probably hoping to show the quiet ‘villainy’ of Dick, which Bale recently compared (on the Golden Globes) to Satan and such, it’s all funny stuff from our famous movie star stuffed shirts, who these days endlessly look for another Democrat to return the nation to its usual quiet death slumber. Cheney actually comes off as rather humanitarian as his ‘gay’ daughter Mary is not thrown out but embraced by the Cheney family.

5.5 Out Of 10

Way too long. Way too. The performers are very good but the meat of the matter is lacking in so many directions. Skip this Christmas Turkey!

#CLAYSMOVIEREVIEWS #movie #movies #film #films
#cinema #instamovie #instamovies
#moviefan #moviereview #review
#critic #filmcritic #critical #moviecritic
#rated #cinema #reviews #moviereviews #VICE #DICKCHENEY
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EstebaanJan 30, 2019
Se desespera Adam McKay por introducir chistes forzados para que el espectador no deje de ver la película. Destaco únicamente a Christian Bale que nos vuelve a maravillar con su actuación.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ahmedaiman1999Feb 3, 2019
Vice is an ostentatious, smug, heavy-handed and oversimplified intentional mess that's, nonetheless, highly entertaining, if not constantly engaging, movie littered with terrific performances from its star-studded cast.

(6.5/10)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Bertaut1Feb 5, 2019
Pretty enjoyable, very funny, but doesn't tell us anything we didn't already know

Ostensibly a biopic of former Vice President Dick Cheney, Adam McKay's Vice argues that he was actually the de facto President, with Georeg W. Bush taking a
Pretty enjoyable, very funny, but doesn't tell us anything we didn't already know

Ostensibly a biopic of former Vice President Dick Cheney, Adam McKay's Vice argues that he was actually the de facto President, with Georeg W. Bush taking a back seat, particularly in the globally crucial years from 2001-2003. Very much a political satire, Vice eschews conventional narrative structure, breaks the fourth wall regularly, intercuts shots of fly-fishing and animals hunting into the middle of tense plot-heavy dialogue scenes, features several self-reflexive references to itself, has a false ending, and has a scene in which characters speak in iambic pentameter. However, although there are many individual moments of brilliance, the film is unsure if it's a straightforward biopic or an excoriating satire, ultimately finding a kind of ideological middle ground that mixes comedy with pathos, not always successfully.

Vice presents Cheney as devoid of ideology, with a Zelig-esque ability to alter his manner so as to best deal with whomever it is in whose company he finds himself. He has no interest in attaining power so as to influence policy or stimulate ideological change, he is obsessed only with power-for-power's sake. One telling scene sees him ask Donald Rusmfeld, "what do we believe?", only to be met with laughter. He's also portrayed as a mercenary; a chilling scene sees him give his daughter Liz permission to condemn gay marriage, despite his other daughter, Mary, being married to a woman.

As with The Big Short, Vice is aesthetically audacious, cut in the manner of Oliver Stone's "horizontal editing" from his 90s films. For example, as Chaney attempts to manipulate Bush into agreeing to give him more power, there are intercepts of fly-fishing. In another scene, when Cheney first learns of the Unitary Executive Theory, the film cuts to a lion bringing down a gazelle. For me though, some of the most effective editing is more conventional. One example is as Bush declares war on Iraq, the camera tilts down to show his leg is shaking. The film then cuts to a shot of an Iraqi civilian's leg shaking as the bombs begin to drop.

Also similar to The Big Short is the film's sense of humour, with a tone of irreverence established from the very beginning, as the opening legend claims "we did our f---king best." A particularly sardonic scene comes about an hour in, as the film fake ends, positing that Cheney turned down the offer of VP in 2000; as the Cheneys gather around a family barbeque, triumphant music swells, and the closing credits start to roll, only for the movie to interrupt itself, pointing out that that's not what happened. It's a very meta technique, and one which suggests that had Cheney not returned in 2000, the world could have had this happy ending.

Another very funny sequence sees Cheney and his wife speaking in blank verse, after the narrator points out, "We can't just snap into a Shakespearean soliloquy that dramatises every feeling and emotion." In another scene, a waiter reads from a menu that features various forms of Cheney-endorsed torture. There is also a hilarious mid-credit scene, which sees a focus group descend into chaos when a conservative calls a liberal a "libtard", prompting a mass brawl, whilst two young girls ignore it so as to speculate about the new Fast & the Furious film.

For all that, however, Vice isn't a patch on The Big Short, for a number of reasons. For example, whereas in The Big Short, the self-reflexive narrative structure worked to the film's advantage, providing a way into the complex story, here it has the exact opposite effect, oftentimes distracting from McKay's thematic concerns. The most egregious problem is that the film fails to give any kind of interiority to Cheney. Is he an ideologically-weak opportunist? Is he an evil megalomaniac fuelled by a deeper purpose? Could it all really have been about power? And if the film is arguing this isn't that to downplay his agency? The argument that it was all because of power really does next-to-nothing to help explain the man. And in any case, if we accept this, then surely he warrants serious moral scrutiny, not a self-reflexive and, at times, self-congratulatory narrative.

Positing Cheney as a man who was power-mad and little else, Vice remains always on the outside, trying to listen through the wall, never managing to open the door and expose his actual inner workings. The comedy and structural experimentation make it entertaining as a film, but it tells us very little about Cheney that we didn't already know. Strip away the artifice, and you'll find it doesn't have a huge amount to say. Never attaining the scale of tragedy to which it clearly aspires, the film functions instead to remind critics of Bush's cabinet why they became critics of Bush's cabinet. In the end, rather than exposing Cheney's dark soul, the film argues that he doesn't have one. And that is a far less interesting thesis.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SyklatFeb 6, 2019
Filmde çok hassas bir konu çok gevşek bir dille anlatılmaya çalışılmış bu durum normal şartlar altında çok fazla eleştireceğim bir durum olabilirdi ancak filmin kurgusal anlatımında Sergey Eisenstein'in kurgu kuramı sıkça görülüyor. Böyle birFilmde çok hassas bir konu çok gevşek bir dille anlatılmaya çalışılmış bu durum normal şartlar altında çok fazla eleştireceğim bir durum olabilirdi ancak filmin kurgusal anlatımında Sergey Eisenstein'in kurgu kuramı sıkça görülüyor. Böyle bir durumda McKay hali hazırda tezatlık yapmak istiyorken bu durum çok da göze batmıyor açıkçası. Filmdeki bir çok alt-metin ve bir çok gönderme saygıyı fazlasıyla hakediyor bence. Ayrıca Christian Bale'in film için 45 kilo almasını da görmezden gelemeyeceğim. Biyografi tarzındaki filmde genellikle düşüncelerini filme aktaran yönetmen bazen de neredeyse bir belgesel izliyormuşsunuz gibi objektif kalmaya çalışmış. Açıkçası filmin sonunda Dick Cheney'e söz veren McKay'in; George Orwell'in hayvan çiftliğini yazdıktan sonra Domuz Napoleon'un (Stalin) patlamada yere yatmasının eleştirilmesi üzerine diğer baskılarda Napoleon'un olanı biteni ayakta takip etmesi şeklinde düzeltilmesine benzetiyorum. Bazı konularda belgeselcilik oynamaya gerek yok, olan olmuş zaten. Kaldı ki Amerika Birleşik Devletleri'nin tutumunun hala daha değişmediği gün gibi ortada. Yine de Vice'ın iyi bir film olduğunu söyleyebilirim, en azından filmin kurgusu görülmeye değer bence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AxeTFeb 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good but over-rated in the dopey media! Yes Christian Bale is great and worthy of the praise, as is the surprisingly creative energetic stylistic filmmaking and form it takes. At the same time that form is sloppy and uneven going naturalistic at times, broad comedy at others with its slacker humor randomly transposed on the serious content while obvious big jokes (Dick shooting friend on hunting trip) are glossed over and totally blown. Sloppy too with period flaws (texts were not in wide use in the U.S. until 2004).

Note to Mr. writer/director: Whatever Cheney's sins, his final monologue to camera is the most truthful bit of your movie, ironically. You are not being cleverly transparent and even handed by ending with it, but actually foiling your own liberal bias. It's good you included that bit of truth, it just doesn't fit the film you just made! Then far worse you idiotically blemish the entire film with your dumb over-the-top contrived focus group slapstick about "facts" button. Fool, facts are many and usually interpretive and of course selective, ESPECIALLY in a highly editorialized just over two hour movie! Oliver Stone who's done far more, far better similar fare would never stoop to such SNL style antics, but that's to be expected based on your past work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeFeb 23, 2019
Mi película preferida de los Oscar, no entiendo la baja puntuación cuando la actuación de Bale es impresionante y la historia es super entretenida.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Vitor007Feb 24, 2019
In a general context, Vice comes with a different proposal, never losing its conservative side, very well portrayed, but its exaggerated speed (for many) and simplicity at various times is remarkable. The film not only deepens in the story ofIn a general context, Vice comes with a different proposal, never losing its conservative side, very well portrayed, but its exaggerated speed (for many) and simplicity at various times is remarkable. The film not only deepens in the story of Dick Cheney, but as the Republicans built their government, also addressing the consequences of it. Christian Bale does a beautiful performance, having a very well-directed characterization, as Amy Adams. His genre of "comedy" goes unnoticed, always presenting a more serious side of history. The way the film develops is not the best, but it makes the audience come out without much doubt. 7.4/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AndremaxFeb 24, 2019
Median acting and plot, most of the movie when isn't funny, it's deadly boring. Not even Christian Bale (about acting and the amazing makeup) could save this movie. One moment or another movie has interesting moments, which doesn't makesMedian acting and plot, most of the movie when isn't funny, it's deadly boring. Not even Christian Bale (about acting and the amazing makeup) could save this movie. One moment or another movie has interesting moments, which doesn't makes compensate two and a half hour lost in pure boredom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BerikFeb 24, 2019
Astonishing, terrifying and eyeopening. Vice is an incredibly entertaining movie to watch, but also reveals the true darkness that most citizens don't know about. So Dick Cheney. We get a look at how this man worked himself up the ladder ofAstonishing, terrifying and eyeopening. Vice is an incredibly entertaining movie to watch, but also reveals the true darkness that most citizens don't know about. So Dick Cheney. We get a look at how this man worked himself up the ladder of bureaucracy and became one of the most influencial shadow figures of the 21st century. What we find is a (typical) republican capitalist who is in love with the idea of the Unitary Executive Theory. The President cannot commit any illegal acts, so any thing the President does is deemed legal. A terrifing misuse of power.

We see the backstory of Dick Cheney, his roadblocks and decisions. We see him implement them by using his shadow power to lie to world about the collaboration between Zaqawi with Al-Quada to justify an invasion of Irak, thus creating the future IS. All to get oil as Harlington would increase in value by 500% following these events. Corruption.

In some very smart bits we see more aspects of the Republican party, such as the lack of ideology but a hunger for power, the unrealistic expectation of unsustainable growth and the willingness to lie and deceit for it to the bone. We see some of the long term problems like the pushback against firearms control, sustainable energy and the increase of military suicide.

The actors: Very well done by everyone. Christian Bale takes the spot as Dick Cheney, supported by Amy Adams and Steve Carrel.

An astonishing movie in my opinion. I give it a 10/10. I can recommend this movie for anyone who likes movies like 'The Big Short' that reveal a story behind world events.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
d0vla11Feb 26, 2019
High quality movie definitely, sometimes it could get boring - but the second half gets fast-paced and keeps your attention until the end of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AJGo85Feb 27, 2019
“I want you to be my Vice.”

Comedic writer-director Adam McKay tries, and fails, to bring the same energy and insight from his Oscar nominated examination of the 2008 financial crisis, The Big Short, to the most notorious vice president
“I want you to be my Vice.”

Comedic writer-director Adam McKay tries, and fails, to bring the same energy and insight from his Oscar nominated examination of the 2008 financial crisis, The Big Short, to the most notorious vice president since Aaron Burr. Vice is the story of the rise to power of Dick Cheney and how he changed the executive branch’s use of power forever and for the worse. The film opens with a title card informing the audience that this is an attempt to tell the story of the most secretive figure in recent American political history which is a difficult thing to try. It’s not a good sign when before the movie even begins it apologizes for itself.

Christian Bale plays Dick Cheney and we see him first as an aimless drunk in Wyoming in the 1960’s that, spurred on by his wife Lynne (Amy Adams), cleans up his act and becomes the right-hand man of Donald Rumsfeld (Steve Carell) during the Nixon and Ford presidencies. Watching him enjoy his quiet accumulation of power and the satisfaction and status it brings during the 70’s and 80’s is the most interesting segment of the movie. Once the film hits the W. Bush years when Cheney acted behind the scenes to increase his own personal power and wealth Vice should hit its stride, but instead it goes on autopilot and plays like a tired collection of Cheney’s greatest hits. Vice is very angry at Dick Cheney and condemns him plenty for his actions but that is like picking low hanging, blatantly obvious fruit.

Christian Bale is great as Dick Cheney. The strength of his performance is, naturally, from his skills and talent as an actor, not just from the makeup he is under and the weight he gained for the role. He speaks with that low growl I remember so well from the W. Bush years and imitates perfectly the small laugh and smile Cheney would sometimes let slip. Cheney was not much of a public speaker or campaigner so his wife Lynne steps up and rallies people to her husband’s cause. This is where Amy Adams gets to step out from the bland role of “wife of a biopic subject” to be an active player and interesting character. Bale is nominated for Best Actor and that is no surprise. Amy Adams has earned a Best Supporting Actress nomination, but she played essentially the same character, and played her better, in The Master. Sam Rockwell, in full goofball mode, plays George W. Bush and though he's barely in the movie, Rockwell has picked up a Supporting Actor nomination. The life of Cheney is narrated by Jesse Plemons playing an average American and Iraq War veteran who says he’s related to Dick Cheney... in a way. When we find out how he’s related to Cheney it causes cringes and eye rolls. In The Big Short McKay used a hyperactive and self-aware filmmaking style to excite and engage the audience about a pretty boring and convoluted subject: the stock market and investment banking. He used cameos from stars like Anthony Bourdain and Selena Gomez to explain complex financial ideas and practices using clever and easy to understand metaphors. There is nothing complicated about how Cheney grows and abuses power. He asks a lawyer if what he wants to do is okay. The lawyer says yes. There’s nothing hard to follow there but McKay has the narrator hold our hands through it anyway.

Cheney’s final actions in the movie are meant to play like a final heartless betrayal signifying that he is beyond all hope of redemption, but Vice never presented him as someone with anywhere to fall from. That would only happen with a movie that attempted insight into its subject’s emotions and motivations and even dared us to sympathize with the unlikeable main character. In Nixon, Oliver Stone built up audience sympathies for Nixon and then let him squander and betray those sympathies making his fall all the more tragic even though you rooted for him to fail. With Nixon, Stone posed the question: What does it profit a man to gain the world if he loses his soul? (this Bible quote actually appears at the beginning of that film). In Vice, McKay forgot to ask any questions, attempt any insight, or speculate on motivations. This movie has only one message: this Dick Cheney is one bad dude. If you were born before the year 2000, you don’t need a movie to tell you that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
drammarMar 14, 2019
vice indeed.
with friends like that, who needs enemies?
turning everything to **** as they walk along
good luck with the next war
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews