BH Tilt | Release Date: June 1, 2018
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
147
Mixed:
24
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
gazzeberJun 10, 2018
Upgrade is a film that went beyond my expectations. Great fight scenes that supported a solid, although overused, plot. The ending was quite the surprise also.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
kushberryGJun 4, 2018
The world building was good. The lead actor was great, the rest of the acting was decent. The action was awesome. The story was interesting. The ending was unsatisfying. All in all the movie was very original and very entertaining. I willThe world building was good. The lead actor was great, the rest of the acting was decent. The action was awesome. The story was interesting. The ending was unsatisfying. All in all the movie was very original and very entertaining. I will probably go see it again. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJun 6, 2018
In a future world where autonomous vehicles are common, one mechanic (Logan Marshall Green) still restores classic cars. When his wife is brutally murdered and he's left a quadriplegic, a tech inventor implants a chip that gives him extensiveIn a future world where autonomous vehicles are common, one mechanic (Logan Marshall Green) still restores classic cars. When his wife is brutally murdered and he's left a quadriplegic, a tech inventor implants a chip that gives him extensive cyber abilities. Heard that before, but this film offers a different take. Sure, technology is taking over, but the revenge element brings a more personal approach with some violent encounters. While the writing isn't especially original. the concept and it's execution make for a compelling futuristic adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MexicaraguanJun 12, 2018
Loved this movie! Non over the top sci fi thriller taking place in the near future. Concept of it involves augmentation following crippling injury, very well put together action sequences that are fantastically gory, yet very realistic. EvenLoved this movie! Non over the top sci fi thriller taking place in the near future. Concept of it involves augmentation following crippling injury, very well put together action sequences that are fantastically gory, yet very realistic. Even includes heart felt moments for the protagonist as he struggles to accept that he has lost use of his body for the rest of his life. And a surprising twist in the end. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
norseJun 5, 2018
Well execute new take on the next gen human story. I like the dynamic of the movie a whole lot, even though it has a few moments that are somewhat cliche.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
DirigiblePulpJun 1, 2018
This film is basically "Robocop" meets "Death Wish", with less satire than the former and more humor than the latter. And it's a B movie blast. An unrelenting pace, fantastic fight choreography that doesn't skimp on the gleeful blood andThis film is basically "Robocop" meets "Death Wish", with less satire than the former and more humor than the latter. And it's a B movie blast. An unrelenting pace, fantastic fight choreography that doesn't skimp on the gleeful blood and gore, and never not fun or interesting to look at. Yeah some of the one-liner dialogue as delivered by Logan Marshall-Green feels a bit forced and the plot isn't exactly clever or unique, but damn it, it all works and it makes it's own beautiful alchemy out of a bunch of borrowed parts. This is cheap genre filmmaking done damn right. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ndjn3979Jun 22, 2018
The entire storyline can be predicted within the first 15 minutes. But this is not the type of movie you watch for a deep story anyway. It is listed as a "Body Horror" movie, but is more of a subdued action flick. Overall, entertaining andThe entire storyline can be predicted within the first 15 minutes. But this is not the type of movie you watch for a deep story anyway. It is listed as a "Body Horror" movie, but is more of a subdued action flick. Overall, entertaining and worth watching. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Jess_HillJun 17, 2018
A unique visual aesthetic combined with some astonishingly visceral violence makes for a compelling action film that is both fun and disturbing. Whilst the pacing is more tempered than I was expecting, the set design and cinematography areA unique visual aesthetic combined with some astonishingly visceral violence makes for a compelling action film that is both fun and disturbing. Whilst the pacing is more tempered than I was expecting, the set design and cinematography are accomplished, and the performances are solid all round. An enjoyable science fiction bloodbath well worth your time. 8.55/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
HipsterDufusJun 3, 2018
It wasn't until it was getting close to the end that the story finally came together. In the first half I found myself tearing the picture apart with what I thought were blaring holes in the plot. The hand to hand action combat was reallyIt wasn't until it was getting close to the end that the story finally came together. In the first half I found myself tearing the picture apart with what I thought were blaring holes in the plot. The hand to hand action combat was really well done, and entertaining. The story s a typical revenge tale. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 1, 2018
The commericals made Upgrade look like merely a sci-fi action/revenge flick, which it kind of is, but there was more to it than I expected. I'm glad I saw this.

The film contains tight directing, acting, and music as well as some creative
The commericals made Upgrade look like merely a sci-fi action/revenge flick, which it kind of is, but there was more to it than I expected. I'm glad I saw this.

The film contains tight directing, acting, and music as well as some creative kills. I was very impressed with some of the futuristic decor in this. The plot is fluid and competently handled. Though some parts are predictable, the movie really did play against expectations in one part I won't give away, and overall the film does a good job of surprising.

The film does get darker than I expected, but I understand where the filmmakers were going and credit them for taking risks.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeAug 1, 2018
a genetic tale that breathes platitude methodology..

Upgrade 2 And A Half Out Of 5 Upgrade is a plot driven action feature that may resonate with the audience on emotional level but unfortunately emits an old textbook policy. The sci-fi
a genetic tale that breathes platitude methodology..

Upgrade

2 And A Half Out Of 5

Upgrade is a plot driven action feature that may resonate with the audience on emotional level but unfortunately emits an old textbook policy. The sci-fi theme of the feature seems untouched in here since despite of imputing various neat and slick technology, the world somehow feels one dimensional and bit under-cooked for it to hold the audience in its bubble. Whannell's world in here is predictable and unimpressive despite of having such a wide range where its single-minded characters (irony in that) fails to lure the audience in and care for them. The feature is not smart or groundbreaking but its sincerity and passion is something that travels unflinchingly to the viewers. The writing is blunt with seen-this-seen-that sequences but its gripping screenplay and fast paced tone helps one not only survive but thoroughly enjoy it. It is short on technical aspects like production design (it lacks essential budget), background score, cinematography and editing. Although the camera work is pleasing and appreciative along with the choreography of all the action sequence that are not only created smartly but performed brilliantly too. Leigh Whannell; the writer-director, has certainly improved on executing the dramatic sequence then last time (Insidious Chapter 3), but unfortunately that's not saying a lot. It falls flatly on face on terms of performance; especially by the protagonist Logan Marshall-Green and Betty Gabriel supporting him who had much bigger window than the antagonist for it isn't offered enough screen-time to create an anticipated impact, the performance is incompetent which is not feasible at all. Stunning art design and gut-wrenching action sequences are the only high points of the feature. Upgrade is a genetic tale that breathes platitude methodology and shallow ideology whose neither potential nor kinetic energy, is able to move past its wafer-thin concept.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
imdoingmypartJun 1, 2018
I find myself suffering from the condition currently known as “superhero fatigue.” It almost feels ungrateful for me to reject this wave of consistently entertaining and often charming action films, generally filled with playful banter andI find myself suffering from the condition currently known as “superhero fatigue.” It almost feels ungrateful for me to reject this wave of consistently entertaining and often charming action films, generally filled with playful banter and genuinely funny gags, but it’s gotten to the point of total predictability and the reoccurring post-credits question of “did I gain anything from watching this?” I guess it’s a more general fatigue; Star Wars, Jurassic World, Ocean’s 8, and countless others fall under the same category. Perhaps it’s more of a “summer fatigue” defined by A-list stars, big budgets, and, most importantly, safe and unimaginative stories.

Then we have Upgrade, a film that focuses entirely on a thrilling catalyst, stunning visuals, and physical performances – in lieu of any creative dialogue. At one point, I questioned if this production is a Verhoeven-inspired satire, since I often thought of Robocop both in story and in character interaction. In reflection, Upgrade does take a different path, but that is not to say that the film fails in its tone and purpose.

The film opens (after a unique opening credits sequence, I must add) with an entirely generic sci-fi scene: a man works on an old hot-rod in a futuristic society. The man’s wife comes home, and the two exchange painfully simple and flat dialogue that exposes a stale idea: some people embrace new technology, and some people reject it. Our protagonist even says something along the lines of “you see a new computer chip, I see ten people out of a job.” At that point, hope is all but lost for this film.

Out of nowhere, Upgrade picks up and does not stop. Tedious moments of forced interaction are replaced with strife and mystery. Genuine moments of physical comedy and tense action appear. The dialogue never becomes Shakespeare, but the film starts to feel more like James Cameron and less like Michael Bay. After the first twenty minutes, I was prepared to give Upgrade an undivided thumbs down. Forty minutes in, I was wondering if it was even the same film.

I cannot treat Upgrade like a sci-fi masterpiece. I cannot forgive its painful first act. I doubt that this film will resist the void of forgotten action flicks. But Upgrade’s second and third acts provide some of the best entertainment of 2018 so far and manage to offer the audience an escape from summer fatigue.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
TryASummersaultJun 3, 2018
9.4/10 A massively original, intelligent, and futuristic sci/fi that puts 90% of big budget films to shame. Considering this was made for humble 5 million with Whannell teaming up with Blumhouse, its visuals look near flawless and the story9.4/10 A massively original, intelligent, and futuristic sci/fi that puts 90% of big budget films to shame. Considering this was made for humble 5 million with Whannell teaming up with Blumhouse, its visuals look near flawless and the story is incredibly captivating. The Realistic futurism in the props, set pieces, vehicles, and all of the other vastly complex technology is astounding. Whannell's color schemes and sleek lighting patterns flourish with impeccable camerawork and the action is brutally clever and intensifies at lightning speed. The story is insanely well written and utterly engrossing with Logan Marshall Green showing his extremely underrated acting versatility once again and when the ending hits, it hits hard and effectively out of left field. The soundtrack was perfectly bizarre and matched the futuristic theme incredibly maybe even more than Blade Runner 2049. Leigh Whannell proves once again his writing and directing is vibrantly detailed with outstanding striking visuals, and thoroughly engrossing storylines that defy hollywood standards with sheer experimental genius and ambition. He is going to finally get some deserved recognition for this amazing accomplishment, and I predict this will become a film that many will remember for its visceral smart tech sci fi approach, and might be a spot on prediction of what's to come with our increased smart tech society. If we aren't careful stem/technology will take over the world and this film portrays that immaculately with style and substance to the highest degree. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jun 2, 2018
Aside from its slightly misguided ending, I had an absolute blast with writer/ditector Leigh Whannell's "Upgrade," a ruthless, grimy, and thought-provoking sci-fi actioner with a terrifically multifaceted lead performance from Logan MarshallAside from its slightly misguided ending, I had an absolute blast with writer/ditector Leigh Whannell's "Upgrade," a ruthless, grimy, and thought-provoking sci-fi actioner with a terrifically multifaceted lead performance from Logan Marshall Green. For a film with such a small budget, Whannell pinches those pennies as effectively as one would hope, especially for a film set in the -- presumably -- distant future. The production design, the cinematography, the fight choreography; all of it is top notch. I mean the first action scene alone is worth the price of admission. What a welcomed surprise from everyone involved. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Jun 2, 2018
It's pretty been there done that in terms of someone receiving superhuman/cyborg abilities after being seriously injured/beaten. And while it does have its cool and interesting moments, I simply felt it to be a bit too generic for my likingIt's pretty been there done that in terms of someone receiving superhuman/cyborg abilities after being seriously injured/beaten. And while it does have its cool and interesting moments, I simply felt it to be a bit too generic for my liking and the ending felt like a rather rushed copout to me. Overall, like I said, some cool moments and fun to be had, but not really enough to help it stand out from other similar films. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
timjimlimJun 8, 2018
I went into this movie really wanting to like it. The reviews were positive, and I love a good action film, and I love being able to support independent / non-studio films. However, throughout the film, I couldn't help thinking "This movie isI went into this movie really wanting to like it. The reviews were positive, and I love a good action film, and I love being able to support independent / non-studio films. However, throughout the film, I couldn't help thinking "This movie is way too long..." only to realize it was only 95 minutes. For an action movie, I couldn't believe how bored and uninterested I was with the entire movie. Granted, the action sequences were pretty awesome, but other than the few bursts of action, I did not enjoy any aspect of the film. The writing was so contrived and dull, the plot points were predictable and formulaic, and unfortunately the acting was also so very sub par. For an actor turned director like Leigh, I thought there would be an effort to give the actors a time to shine, but I was definitely lacking any moment of real connection with anyone on screen. Also, I was so very aware of the lack of diversity, given that the one relevant character of color was the female detective who was given very little through the entire movie. I just remained uninterested the entire way through. I could see how this is an enjoyable summer action movie, given that it was what the intention was for the film, but I feel like there was such a lack of character, I left the movie feeling like I wasted 95 minutes of my life. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
Unmerciful_1Jun 5, 2018
Have you even wondered what James O'Barr's "The Crow" would be like if it traded in it's gothic poerty for a copy of William Gibson's Neuromancer? In my opinion it would be Leigh Whannell's UPGRADE. While the first 15 minutes of the moviesHave you even wondered what James O'Barr's "The Crow" would be like if it traded in it's gothic poerty for a copy of William Gibson's Neuromancer? In my opinion it would be Leigh Whannell's UPGRADE. While the first 15 minutes of the movies slow pace and seemingly scattershot plot points may have you running for the door, those that stick with the film are rewarded with a visually striking film that carefully balances a timely socially conscious cyber punk narrative with a gritty tale of revenge. At the heart of the film is a debate about what we're willing to give up as a society for the coveinence afforded to us by articficial inteligence. Our present see's us concerned how much personal privacy we're willing to exchange for the convenience of gps guidance, social networking, predictive texting, and automated scheduling. Upgrade's future asks what paraplegic Grey Trace might have to sacrifice to an AI for a functional body, and a chance for revenge. His Privacy? Almost certainly. His humanity and free will? Quite possibly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JPG127Jun 2, 2018
It's nice to see cyber punk making somewhat of a comeback. This was pretty much the previews in a good way. The film tells a story and does not get off track. The only real problem is this did not really have a budget.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKJun 6, 2018
“Upgrade” is not a very original film, but I enjoyed it, even though I kept thinking, “just like Blade Runner” and “just like 2001” and “just like Alien.” I think what saved this movie was the strong cast, including Logan Marshall-Greene, who“Upgrade” is not a very original film, but I enjoyed it, even though I kept thinking, “just like Blade Runner” and “just like 2001” and “just like Alien.” I think what saved this movie was the strong cast, including Logan Marshall-Greene, who played the lead character Grey Tracy, and includes the actor-voiced STEM (the “upgrade” implant), the excellent actress who played the tireless cop who pursued Tracy, and many other very minor characters – like the strange hacker who helps Tracy reboot STEM. Finally, the writer and director Leigh Whannel deserves credit for keeping the film moving at a hectic pace -- without confusing the audience. Crazy as it is, this movie is great fun and kept me interested. Never a dull moment Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
LatinCritic13Jun 21, 2018
After seeing Upgrade on the big screen, it’s safe to say that this sci-fi film totally kicks ass all around! There’s not much to say about this film, but this film is the dystopian future version of John Wick and Blade Runner combined.After seeing Upgrade on the big screen, it’s safe to say that this sci-fi film totally kicks ass all around! There’s not much to say about this film, but this film is the dystopian future version of John Wick and Blade Runner combined. Nonetheless, it could be a sci-fi body horror neo-noire cult classic in the future. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
6r1zzlyAug 14, 2018
I didn't have so much fun watching a fight scene in a long time. Watch it now!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MetaflixJun 1, 2018
'Upgrade' is a hybrid action/comedy/horror flick written and directed by Leigh Whannell, who previously brought us the highly successful 'Saw' and 'Insidious' franchises.

It stars Logan Marshall-Green, who shall forever be known as Tom
'Upgrade' is a hybrid action/comedy/horror flick written and directed by Leigh Whannell, who previously brought us the highly successful 'Saw' and 'Insidious' franchises.

It stars Logan Marshall-Green, who shall forever be known as Tom Hardy's doppelganger (seriously--compare photos), opposite Betty Gabriel, a rising star famous for her turn in the breakout hit 'Get Out.'

While the acting and overall concept are both quite remarkable, there's an unmistakable clunkiness to the film, alternating between the dialogue, blocking, and editing. However, the cinematography is superb, especially on such a low budget, and the action sequences when the bio-mechanical aspect of the film are fully utilized simply aren't to be missed.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
hardcorekiddAug 7, 2018
A brutal mugging leaves Grey Trace paralyzed in the hospital and his beloved wife dead. A billionaire inventor soon offers Trace a cure -- an artificial intelligence implant called STEM that will enhance his body. Now able to walk, Grey findsA brutal mugging leaves Grey Trace paralyzed in the hospital and his beloved wife dead. A billionaire inventor soon offers Trace a cure -- an artificial intelligence implant called STEM that will enhance his body. Now able to walk, Grey finds that he also has superhuman strength and agility -- skills he uses to seek revenge against the thugs who destroyed his life. Like its augmented protagonist, Upgrade's old-fashioned innards get a high-tech boost -- one made even more powerful thanks to sharp humor and a solidly well-told story. I'll give Upgrade a B+. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Jun 4, 2018
Upgrade is set in a futuristic world and follows a man named Grey, who is attacked by a group of men and left paralyzed. His wife was killed in the attack. He is left unable to do anything himself and he essentially becomes a broken man:Upgrade is set in a futuristic world and follows a man named Grey, who is attacked by a group of men and left paralyzed. His wife was killed in the attack. He is left unable to do anything himself and he essentially becomes a broken man: angry over the lack of progress in his wife's murder case and frustrated with life in general. He even tries to kill himself at one point. Eventually, a billionaire who Trey restored a car for offers to provide him with a chip, called STEM, that will allow him to walk again. Grey rejects this offer at first, but he eventually gets the chip implanted. He then goes on a quest for revenge. I'm always curious to see how Blumhouse's non-horror movies fair, because it's harder to produce them for the small budget that Blumhouse typically works with. And, man, they produced a very solid movie considering the budget. However, there are some problems that hold it back from being one of the best movies of the summer. The action in this movie is great. It has a John Wick feel to it, but it's more hand-to-hand combat than gun play, and every time STEM takes over for Grey the moves are very precise, which made the scenes even more fun to watch. Unfortunately, I feel like I got shorted a bit in the action department. If there was a couple of more action sequences, I think I would have liked the film even more. But I walked out wanting more action than what I got. The story is much better than I expected, but it does drag a bit in the beginning when everything is getting set up. But, despite the beginning being slow, it does make us care for Grey, which is a good thing considering this is essentially a revenge tale. If I didn't care about him, I wouldn't really care if he got his revenge or not. Also, I was very satisfied with the ending. The dialogue is a bit painful at times, which seems to be a bit of a staple in most Blumhouse films. Luckily, this movie doesn't rely too much on having strong dialogue. The acting is good for the most part, but the real star of this movie is STEM, which is the chip that is implanted in Grey. Being able to hear him talk to Grey and watch his "character" progress is the most interesting part of the movie. Overall, Upgrade provides entertainment without completely sacrificing a complex story, and it makes the most of its small budget. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JakobkrossJul 26, 2018
What a great movie. It had all the elements of a real smart action/thriller/sci-fi.
The characters journey was perfect in every way. The mood and feel changes were riveting. The action was surprising and awe inspiring at the same time. And
What a great movie. It had all the elements of a real smart action/thriller/sci-fi.
The characters journey was perfect in every way. The mood and feel changes were riveting. The action was surprising and awe inspiring at the same time. And the conclusion! The underlying themes were brought together in the most masterful way I've seen in a while.
This is a cult, must see movie if ever there was one. I highly recommend it to anyone who's into action and psychological thrills.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DufreshestJul 7, 2018
Upgrade Review

Cinematography: 9.431/10 Solid. Costume Design: 8.932/10 As tricky as The Prestige. Film Editing: 9.625/10 Solid. Make-up and Hairstyling: 9.297/10 Solid. Sound Editing: 8.971/110 Creepy at times. Solid. Visual Effects:
Upgrade Review

Cinematography: 9.431/10 Solid.

Costume Design: 8.932/10 As tricky as The Prestige.

Film Editing: 9.625/10 Solid.

Make-up and Hairstyling: 9.297/10 Solid.

Sound Editing: 8.971/110 Creepy at times. Solid.

Visual Effects: 9.499/10 Solid.

Story: 9.512/10 Very-very well-done.

Acting: 9.389/10 The acting is consistent and solid throughout the film. Everyone flows so in tune with the development of the story.

Personal: Upgrade is a really good film. I’ve not a feeling about a film as such since Terminator II. There has to be a sequel to Upgrade because Jaime, Kai Bradley, leaves the story wide open for future developments and draws so many questions about the rest of the world Upgrade utilizes. I find Upgrade to be a very active and interesting film that continues drawing me from beginning to end. Plus — STEM. I’m not going to reveal any more about the story. This is a you-have-to-see-for-yourself type of film.

Overall: 9.332/10

-K.D.

If you’re into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.

P.S. Upgrade definitely reminds me of Ex-Machina and my appreciation for both films have grown since watching Upgrade.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mixal1Aug 20, 2018
WOW just WOW!
best sci-fi in 2018 so far. Much better then terminator/robocop movies. I want to see more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobAug 16, 2018
I love the premise, Whannell kills it as the director (making this low budget flick seem a lot more costly) and Logan plays a great lead role with a solid supporting cast. The movie does enough to keep you interested from start to finish withI love the premise, Whannell kills it as the director (making this low budget flick seem a lot more costly) and Logan plays a great lead role with a solid supporting cast. The movie does enough to keep you interested from start to finish with plenty of fun fight scenes and a solid plot. While it's not the most original story ever told, Upgrade has so much originality and good things going for it that you can overlook its shortcomings (abrupt ending, predictable plot). It's definitely worth the watch and I hope it makes a killing on home video, Where I'm sure it's bound to be a cult classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
C3realkillahSep 3, 2018
A great a sci-fi/thriller with a very believable setting and technology. Great action especially the incredible looking fight scenes which remind me of John wick. The story and characters were also really good and the story has someA great a sci-fi/thriller with a very believable setting and technology. Great action especially the incredible looking fight scenes which remind me of John wick. The story and characters were also really good and the story has some unexpected Revelations that had me gasp hard. Definitely worth a watch I loved everything about it. I hope if there is a sequel it continues on the critically acclaimed path because this could turn out to be an amazing series. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticSep 2, 2018
A solid sci-fi action film that has become a little over hyped. The action scenes are the best part of the film and I enjoyed the story for the most part. The problem comes with weak character development. You find yourself not caring aboutA solid sci-fi action film that has become a little over hyped. The action scenes are the best part of the film and I enjoyed the story for the most part. The problem comes with weak character development. You find yourself not caring about anyone except the lead. Overall a high 6 a B. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksSep 25, 2018
Upgrade is a pure dystopian Black Mirror-type film that works more than half the time. The problems are the pacing and rushed plot line which for the most is fairly obvious. Overall it is well shot but there are minor details that bother meUpgrade is a pure dystopian Black Mirror-type film that works more than half the time. The problems are the pacing and rushed plot line which for the most is fairly obvious. Overall it is well shot but there are minor details that bother me such as who cracks and puts all the glow sticks in a hallway during the chase scene? If the villains have nano-bots why not just use them all the time? Etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ScienceAdvisorOct 11, 2018
SciFi techno-magic, convienence, and implausiblility all collide in Upgrade. As the action picks up, the rest of the quality falls, relying on tropes due to a lack of creativity. The twist is so painfully obvious from the onset, you have toSciFi techno-magic, convienence, and implausiblility all collide in Upgrade. As the action picks up, the rest of the quality falls, relying on tropes due to a lack of creativity. The twist is so painfully obvious from the onset, you have to question why writer are allowed to direct without oversight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
papadrew7Aug 30, 2018
This was a fantastic movie with an original story that had awesome action scenes that didn't treat you like a child and let you see the bloody reality of gun fights. When other movies look away when someone gets their head blown off thisThis was a fantastic movie with an original story that had awesome action scenes that didn't treat you like a child and let you see the bloody reality of gun fights. When other movies look away when someone gets their head blown off this movie shows the pulpy details and it put a smile on my face. The story is also fantastic with a great morale tale to tell that I won't spoil. Enjoy the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MosquitozzzzzAug 16, 2018
Smart, interesting, high-tech, action, good and handsome actor, so on movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsOct 13, 2018
One of the best movies from 2018 that I have seen thus far. Interesting story and great acting. Some things did seem a bit predictable in the movie, but it still had plenty of twists. In a way it somehow reminded me of another movie of thisOne of the best movies from 2018 that I have seen thus far. Interesting story and great acting. Some things did seem a bit predictable in the movie, but it still had plenty of twists. In a way it somehow reminded me of another movie of this year - Venom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
deltagilbertSep 29, 2018
I loved this film. It's an absolute gem. Stop reading the reviews and watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pythag0rasSep 9, 2018
This movie rocks! The action scenes, the plot, the acting, the graphic visuals, everything. Only reason I dont give it a 10 is because 10 is perfect and nothing is perfect. But 9.8 for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ken_HeisenbergAug 28, 2018
Very orginal and dark futuristic vision. Geat plot and action scenes. Visuals are not of the "Ghost in a shell" rank but are quite OK. Enjoyable to the last minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Angel_SighJul 27, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've just finished watching it as I write this. It's a very dark film, and the early scenes, where the protagonist is reduced to a quadraplegic, are genuinely grim. It's pretty gory, and the fight scenes are fairly frequent, but while a lot of the reviews make it sound like the Matrix or similarly elegant films, the hand-to-hand combat is instead robotically efficient and deeply visceral, as during extreme moments the hero cedes control of his neocortex to an onboard computer chip, STEM, that acts as the protagonist's onboard, hyperviolent Alexa. Those fight scenes have a creepy, lurching quality as our hero is effectively puppeteered by STEM and with their jarring switches of camera angle throughout they're not entirely enjoyable to watch. What makes it hard to look away is the spectacle of a human being operating completely unconstrained by normal reaction times or the slowness of thought that makes human beings graceful but ineffective fighters. Seeing two humans both operated by STEM-like systems, going at one another full-tilt, is the film's high-point. It's genuinely unsettling, not for the violence but for the mathematical precision of it all. (If that's what proxy wars between countries will look like, with AI soldiers fighting each other instead of humans, it might end up being even scarier than warfare as it stands today.) It's a bit of a grindfest, with little light or humour, and the future world in which the film takes place is a little claustrophobic, probably due to budget constraints, but what elevates it above other films in the revenge genre is the brutal, ugly efficiency of the fight scenes and, more than that, the sinuous plot. It's got a kind of momentum that only increases as the film goes on, while the effectively minimal score throbs underneath. The aesthetic is like a very cheap Bladerunner but it conveys something of the griminess of what takes place. It's a grubby film all told, and it's not washed clean with a happy ending. There are no likeable characters, no-one really to root for beyond the protagonist, an actor from something I can't put my finger on, and who is instantly unlikeable but grows on you very mildly as you watch. So you're not going to skip out of the cinema afterwards. As I've said, it's the narrative that ends up elevating it. It keeps you guessing throughout, propels the hero forward with clean lines and clear motives, and finally, just when you expect a relatively straightforward, messy, unsatisfying conclusion, the whole film is pulled together at once by one of the most elegant moebius strip twists that I've seen in a very long time. It really is worth seeing for the the precision and beauty of the bow that's finally tied at the end. When the curtain was pulled back I just had to shake my head and laugh at the audacity of it all. TL:DR - come for the fight scenes, stay for the elegantly conceived narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tiparSep 8, 2018
A little long for my taste but the humor touches, Logan's hotness, and the fight scenes save the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Aug 15, 2018
Surprised by this interesting and well-executed mix of genres. The truth is that I did not expect something so well done considering it's only Leigh Whannell's second film in the director's chair and his debut wasn't the most graceful andSurprised by this interesting and well-executed mix of genres. The truth is that I did not expect something so well done considering it's only Leigh Whannell's second film in the director's chair and his debut wasn't the most graceful and also he's not a really good screenwriter, but hey, there's always the opportunity to grow and to make good things and ''Upgrade'' comes along to confirm it.

The story is not the most original and is also predictable but there are good pretty good action sequences and enough humor to cope with those problems.

Logan Marshall-Green is also not the most charismatic protagonist in the world but he does things well enough to carry out the film.

I wasn't quite happy with the ending, that is perhaps my biggest complaint alongside the generic music score but beyond that I can really recommend this work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GBG_JasonAug 21, 2018
We live in a day in age that generations past would only be able to dream of thanks to the wonders of modern technology. If someone had told a younger version your grandparents that in their lifetime we’d have self-driving cars and computersWe live in a day in age that generations past would only be able to dream of thanks to the wonders of modern technology. If someone had told a younger version your grandparents that in their lifetime we’d have self-driving cars and computers that fit into the palm of your hand, they probably would’ve had them committed to the nuthouse. These are ideas that have been part of science fiction for decades and have since become a reality. Knowing that, the premise of the futuristic film Upgrade doesn’t sound too far off, with its cybernetic-enhanced human beings.



The film follows Grey Trace, played by Logan Marshall-Green, a self-described technophobe that rebuilds classic cars for a living. After dropping off his newest masterpiece to a wealthy PC mogul, Grey and his wife are involved in a car accident turned murder that seems to be due to foul play on the part of the couple’s highly advanced self-driving car. This leaves Grey powerless as a quadriplegic and his wife dead. The previously mentioned mogul, Jeff Hadley played by Steve Danielsen, is the developer of the STEM microchip. Hadley claims that this device can learn and adapt to anything, organic or PC based, and improve on its basic structure.

Hadley offers Grey a once in a lifetime opportunity to repair his broken body by allowing him to have STEM inserted into his severed spinal cord, under one condition – he can tell no one about the procedure, as this isn’t approved by the FDA or whatever government division the film alludes too. The process is a success, and gives Grey the ability to walk again, with a strange side effect- STEM begins talking to him (voiced wonderfully by Simon Maiden), forcing his ear drums to vibrate at a frequency only he can hear. When given full control of his body, STEM turns Grey in to a super soldier, with lightning fast reflexes and a fighting ability that would give Neo a run for his money. Against Hadley’s request to lay low and keep quiet, Grey sets off on a path to solve the who’s and why’s behind his wife’s murder with his newfound friend.



The acting itself is respectable, with the majority of the cast bringing their best effort, but it feels as if the film would’ve been a bigger hit had more noteworthy actors (with better acting chops) stood in. Marshall-Green brings a decent performance; delivering a number of smartass one liners with so much ease he could give Deadpool a run for his money. The thing is, he doesn’t have the presence nor build that the lead character should bring to the table, looking more like a stunt double for Tom Hardy. Throughout the film I kept thinking that this would’ve been elevated from an epic straight to video title to a decent blockbuster film had they used a bigger name in his place. I’m only assuming that Hardy turned down the role because he wouldn’t have to hide his face.

The film provides some noteworthy action scenes, but sadly, not enough of them. I found myself losing interest with a few of the subplots, such as the police being hot on the trail of Grey after failing to solve his wife’s murder while the lowlifes in the area start dropping, or Grey’s life post-accident/pre STEM. The latter of these is simply depressing for long periods of time. Writer/Director Leigh Whannell tries to balance this with some comedy, primarily with the previously mentioned mid-fight quips and frequent jokes between Grey and STEM, which often work but fall back on STEM not getting sarcasm a little too often. The saving grace is Whannell’s background in horror which brings some nice thematic elements, particularly the chilling ending, that other director’s may have taken a pass on. There’s a fair amount of gore, with most of the battles ending in at least one uber-violent yet creative death scene.



The overall plot is fairly predictable, as I was able to pick apart the majority of it minutes into the film. At the end of the day, the movie comes across as a technologically upgraded version of Death Wish, with touches of many popular Sci-Fi films sprinkled in for good measure. The majority of the twists and turns end up being overly obvious way before they should have made an impact on the viewer. The single exception to this is the finale, which paints a spine tingling picture of where we may be headed as a society as well as setting up for a sequel or franchise.

Upgrade is by no means a bad film; had this been released as a straight to video title, it would likely (and may possibly) reach a cult status in no time. Even with its shortcomings, I look forward to seeing Whannell’s next effort, be it STEM and Grey related or otherwise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mark_OOct 11, 2018
A pretty small surprisingly cool action film. This seemed like a movie with a cool plot that is just too dumb and crashes and burns. But it was smart with a nice little twist at the end. And they went all in on the blood, which is cool. IfA pretty small surprisingly cool action film. This seemed like a movie with a cool plot that is just too dumb and crashes and burns. But it was smart with a nice little twist at the end. And they went all in on the blood, which is cool. If you're sci-fi fan highly recommend watching it with boxxy software. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sitlos1971Aug 30, 2018
This movie reminded me of watching movies as a kid where you were just along for the ride and enjoying the trip. It's not breaking any new ground but it's not trying to. I was thoroughly entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ignatius_vitoSep 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Smart movie, very smart. I didn't expected it before. And It has the strong messages about how human intelligence could kills humans trough artificial intelligence only if we can't control this world improvement. One thing from this movie that should be solved, what's Jamie(the hacker) mean when she's said "I can't let them win?". Tell your opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Raptor_HackerOct 18, 2018
Name: Upgrade
Release Date: June 1, 2018

My Rating: 9/10
Star Rating: ★★★★★★★★★
Enjoyability Rating: Awesometacular
Possible Points: 63/70
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews