BH Tilt | Release Date: June 1, 2018
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DirigiblePulpJun 1, 2018
This film is basically "Robocop" meets "Death Wish", with less satire than the former and more humor than the latter. And it's a B movie blast. An unrelenting pace, fantastic fight choreography that doesn't skimp on the gleeful blood andThis film is basically "Robocop" meets "Death Wish", with less satire than the former and more humor than the latter. And it's a B movie blast. An unrelenting pace, fantastic fight choreography that doesn't skimp on the gleeful blood and gore, and never not fun or interesting to look at. Yeah some of the one-liner dialogue as delivered by Logan Marshall-Green feels a bit forced and the plot isn't exactly clever or unique, but damn it, it all works and it makes it's own beautiful alchemy out of a bunch of borrowed parts. This is cheap genre filmmaking done damn right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJun 6, 2018
In a future world where autonomous vehicles are common, one mechanic (Logan Marshall Green) still restores classic cars. When his wife is brutally murdered and he's left a quadriplegic, a tech inventor implants a chip that gives him extensiveIn a future world where autonomous vehicles are common, one mechanic (Logan Marshall Green) still restores classic cars. When his wife is brutally murdered and he's left a quadriplegic, a tech inventor implants a chip that gives him extensive cyber abilities. Heard that before, but this film offers a different take. Sure, technology is taking over, but the revenge element brings a more personal approach with some violent encounters. While the writing isn't especially original. the concept and it's execution make for a compelling futuristic adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TryASummersaultJun 3, 2018
9.4/10 A massively original, intelligent, and futuristic sci/fi that puts 90% of big budget films to shame. Considering this was made for humble 5 million with Whannell teaming up with Blumhouse, its visuals look near flawless and the story9.4/10 A massively original, intelligent, and futuristic sci/fi that puts 90% of big budget films to shame. Considering this was made for humble 5 million with Whannell teaming up with Blumhouse, its visuals look near flawless and the story is incredibly captivating. The Realistic futurism in the props, set pieces, vehicles, and all of the other vastly complex technology is astounding. Whannell's color schemes and sleek lighting patterns flourish with impeccable camerawork and the action is brutally clever and intensifies at lightning speed. The story is insanely well written and utterly engrossing with Logan Marshall Green showing his extremely underrated acting versatility once again and when the ending hits, it hits hard and effectively out of left field. The soundtrack was perfectly bizarre and matched the futuristic theme incredibly maybe even more than Blade Runner 2049. Leigh Whannell proves once again his writing and directing is vibrantly detailed with outstanding striking visuals, and thoroughly engrossing storylines that defy hollywood standards with sheer experimental genius and ambition. He is going to finally get some deserved recognition for this amazing accomplishment, and I predict this will become a film that many will remember for its visceral smart tech sci fi approach, and might be a spot on prediction of what's to come with our increased smart tech society. If we aren't careful stem/technology will take over the world and this film portrays that immaculately with style and substance to the highest degree. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jun 2, 2018
Aside from its slightly misguided ending, I had an absolute blast with writer/ditector Leigh Whannell's "Upgrade," a ruthless, grimy, and thought-provoking sci-fi actioner with a terrifically multifaceted lead performance from Logan MarshallAside from its slightly misguided ending, I had an absolute blast with writer/ditector Leigh Whannell's "Upgrade," a ruthless, grimy, and thought-provoking sci-fi actioner with a terrifically multifaceted lead performance from Logan Marshall Green. For a film with such a small budget, Whannell pinches those pennies as effectively as one would hope, especially for a film set in the -- presumably -- distant future. The production design, the cinematography, the fight choreography; all of it is top notch. I mean the first action scene alone is worth the price of admission. What a welcomed surprise from everyone involved. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 1, 2018
The commericals made Upgrade look like merely a sci-fi action/revenge flick, which it kind of is, but there was more to it than I expected. I'm glad I saw this.

The film contains tight directing, acting, and music as well as some creative
The commericals made Upgrade look like merely a sci-fi action/revenge flick, which it kind of is, but there was more to it than I expected. I'm glad I saw this.

The film contains tight directing, acting, and music as well as some creative kills. I was very impressed with some of the futuristic decor in this. The plot is fluid and competently handled. Though some parts are predictable, the movie really did play against expectations in one part I won't give away, and overall the film does a good job of surprising.

The film does get darker than I expected, but I understand where the filmmakers were going and credit them for taking risks.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kushberryGJun 4, 2018
The world building was good. The lead actor was great, the rest of the acting was decent. The action was awesome. The story was interesting. The ending was unsatisfying. All in all the movie was very original and very entertaining. I willThe world building was good. The lead actor was great, the rest of the acting was decent. The action was awesome. The story was interesting. The ending was unsatisfying. All in all the movie was very original and very entertaining. I will probably go see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MexicaraguanJun 12, 2018
Loved this movie! Non over the top sci fi thriller taking place in the near future. Concept of it involves augmentation following crippling injury, very well put together action sequences that are fantastically gory, yet very realistic. EvenLoved this movie! Non over the top sci fi thriller taking place in the near future. Concept of it involves augmentation following crippling injury, very well put together action sequences that are fantastically gory, yet very realistic. Even includes heart felt moments for the protagonist as he struggles to accept that he has lost use of his body for the rest of his life. And a surprising twist in the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HipsterDufusJun 3, 2018
It wasn't until it was getting close to the end that the story finally came together. In the first half I found myself tearing the picture apart with what I thought were blaring holes in the plot. The hand to hand action combat was reallyIt wasn't until it was getting close to the end that the story finally came together. In the first half I found myself tearing the picture apart with what I thought were blaring holes in the plot. The hand to hand action combat was really well done, and entertaining. The story s a typical revenge tale. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
imdoingmypartJun 1, 2018
I find myself suffering from the condition currently known as “superhero fatigue.” It almost feels ungrateful for me to reject this wave of consistently entertaining and often charming action films, generally filled with playful banter andI find myself suffering from the condition currently known as “superhero fatigue.” It almost feels ungrateful for me to reject this wave of consistently entertaining and often charming action films, generally filled with playful banter and genuinely funny gags, but it’s gotten to the point of total predictability and the reoccurring post-credits question of “did I gain anything from watching this?” I guess it’s a more general fatigue; Star Wars, Jurassic World, Ocean’s 8, and countless others fall under the same category. Perhaps it’s more of a “summer fatigue” defined by A-list stars, big budgets, and, most importantly, safe and unimaginative stories.

Then we have Upgrade, a film that focuses entirely on a thrilling catalyst, stunning visuals, and physical performances – in lieu of any creative dialogue. At one point, I questioned if this production is a Verhoeven-inspired satire, since I often thought of Robocop both in story and in character interaction. In reflection, Upgrade does take a different path, but that is not to say that the film fails in its tone and purpose.

The film opens (after a unique opening credits sequence, I must add) with an entirely generic sci-fi scene: a man works on an old hot-rod in a futuristic society. The man’s wife comes home, and the two exchange painfully simple and flat dialogue that exposes a stale idea: some people embrace new technology, and some people reject it. Our protagonist even says something along the lines of “you see a new computer chip, I see ten people out of a job.” At that point, hope is all but lost for this film.

Out of nowhere, Upgrade picks up and does not stop. Tedious moments of forced interaction are replaced with strife and mystery. Genuine moments of physical comedy and tense action appear. The dialogue never becomes Shakespeare, but the film starts to feel more like James Cameron and less like Michael Bay. After the first twenty minutes, I was prepared to give Upgrade an undivided thumbs down. Forty minutes in, I was wondering if it was even the same film.

I cannot treat Upgrade like a sci-fi masterpiece. I cannot forgive its painful first act. I doubt that this film will resist the void of forgotten action flicks. But Upgrade’s second and third acts provide some of the best entertainment of 2018 so far and manage to offer the audience an escape from summer fatigue.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Jun 2, 2018
It's pretty been there done that in terms of someone receiving superhuman/cyborg abilities after being seriously injured/beaten. And while it does have its cool and interesting moments, I simply felt it to be a bit too generic for my likingIt's pretty been there done that in terms of someone receiving superhuman/cyborg abilities after being seriously injured/beaten. And while it does have its cool and interesting moments, I simply felt it to be a bit too generic for my liking and the ending felt like a rather rushed copout to me. Overall, like I said, some cool moments and fun to be had, but not really enough to help it stand out from other similar films. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
MetaflixJun 1, 2018
'Upgrade' is a hybrid action/comedy/horror flick written and directed by Leigh Whannell, who previously brought us the highly successful 'Saw' and 'Insidious' franchises.

It stars Logan Marshall-Green, who shall forever be known as Tom
'Upgrade' is a hybrid action/comedy/horror flick written and directed by Leigh Whannell, who previously brought us the highly successful 'Saw' and 'Insidious' franchises.

It stars Logan Marshall-Green, who shall forever be known as Tom Hardy's doppelganger (seriously--compare photos), opposite Betty Gabriel, a rising star famous for her turn in the breakout hit 'Get Out.'

While the acting and overall concept are both quite remarkable, there's an unmistakable clunkiness to the film, alternating between the dialogue, blocking, and editing. However, the cinematography is superb, especially on such a low budget, and the action sequences when the bio-mechanical aspect of the film are fully utilized simply aren't to be missed.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
timjimlimJun 8, 2018
I went into this movie really wanting to like it. The reviews were positive, and I love a good action film, and I love being able to support independent / non-studio films. However, throughout the film, I couldn't help thinking "This movie isI went into this movie really wanting to like it. The reviews were positive, and I love a good action film, and I love being able to support independent / non-studio films. However, throughout the film, I couldn't help thinking "This movie is way too long..." only to realize it was only 95 minutes. For an action movie, I couldn't believe how bored and uninterested I was with the entire movie. Granted, the action sequences were pretty awesome, but other than the few bursts of action, I did not enjoy any aspect of the film. The writing was so contrived and dull, the plot points were predictable and formulaic, and unfortunately the acting was also so very sub par. For an actor turned director like Leigh, I thought there would be an effort to give the actors a time to shine, but I was definitely lacking any moment of real connection with anyone on screen. Also, I was so very aware of the lack of diversity, given that the one relevant character of color was the female detective who was given very little through the entire movie. I just remained uninterested the entire way through. I could see how this is an enjoyable summer action movie, given that it was what the intention was for the film, but I feel like there was such a lack of character, I left the movie feeling like I wasted 95 minutes of my life. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
norseJun 5, 2018
Well execute new take on the next gen human story. I like the dynamic of the movie a whole lot, even though it has a few moments that are somewhat cliche.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Unmerciful_1Jun 5, 2018
Have you even wondered what James O'Barr's "The Crow" would be like if it traded in it's gothic poerty for a copy of William Gibson's Neuromancer? In my opinion it would be Leigh Whannell's UPGRADE. While the first 15 minutes of the moviesHave you even wondered what James O'Barr's "The Crow" would be like if it traded in it's gothic poerty for a copy of William Gibson's Neuromancer? In my opinion it would be Leigh Whannell's UPGRADE. While the first 15 minutes of the movies slow pace and seemingly scattershot plot points may have you running for the door, those that stick with the film are rewarded with a visually striking film that carefully balances a timely socially conscious cyber punk narrative with a gritty tale of revenge. At the heart of the film is a debate about what we're willing to give up as a society for the coveinence afforded to us by articficial inteligence. Our present see's us concerned how much personal privacy we're willing to exchange for the convenience of gps guidance, social networking, predictive texting, and automated scheduling. Upgrade's future asks what paraplegic Grey Trace might have to sacrifice to an AI for a functional body, and a chance for revenge. His Privacy? Almost certainly. His humanity and free will? Quite possibly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JPG127Jun 2, 2018
It's nice to see cyber punk making somewhat of a comeback. This was pretty much the previews in a good way. The film tells a story and does not get off track. The only real problem is this did not really have a budget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKJun 6, 2018
“Upgrade” is not a very original film, but I enjoyed it, even though I kept thinking, “just like Blade Runner” and “just like 2001” and “just like Alien.” I think what saved this movie was the strong cast, including Logan Marshall-Greene, who“Upgrade” is not a very original film, but I enjoyed it, even though I kept thinking, “just like Blade Runner” and “just like 2001” and “just like Alien.” I think what saved this movie was the strong cast, including Logan Marshall-Greene, who played the lead character Grey Tracy, and includes the actor-voiced STEM (the “upgrade” implant), the excellent actress who played the tireless cop who pursued Tracy, and many other very minor characters – like the strange hacker who helps Tracy reboot STEM. Finally, the writer and director Leigh Whannel deserves credit for keeping the film moving at a hectic pace -- without confusing the audience. Crazy as it is, this movie is great fun and kept me interested. Never a dull moment Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LatinCritic13Jun 21, 2018
After seeing Upgrade on the big screen, it’s safe to say that this sci-fi film totally kicks ass all around! There’s not much to say about this film, but this film is the dystopian future version of John Wick and Blade Runner combined.After seeing Upgrade on the big screen, it’s safe to say that this sci-fi film totally kicks ass all around! There’s not much to say about this film, but this film is the dystopian future version of John Wick and Blade Runner combined. Nonetheless, it could be a sci-fi body horror neo-noire cult classic in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jess_HillJun 17, 2018
A unique visual aesthetic combined with some astonishingly visceral violence makes for a compelling action film that is both fun and disturbing. Whilst the pacing is more tempered than I was expecting, the set design and cinematography areA unique visual aesthetic combined with some astonishingly visceral violence makes for a compelling action film that is both fun and disturbing. Whilst the pacing is more tempered than I was expecting, the set design and cinematography are accomplished, and the performances are solid all round. An enjoyable science fiction bloodbath well worth your time. 8.55/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gazzeberJun 10, 2018
Upgrade is a film that went beyond my expectations. Great fight scenes that supported a solid, although overused, plot. The ending was quite the surprise also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Jun 4, 2018
Upgrade is set in a futuristic world and follows a man named Grey, who is attacked by a group of men and left paralyzed. His wife was killed in the attack. He is left unable to do anything himself and he essentially becomes a broken man:Upgrade is set in a futuristic world and follows a man named Grey, who is attacked by a group of men and left paralyzed. His wife was killed in the attack. He is left unable to do anything himself and he essentially becomes a broken man: angry over the lack of progress in his wife's murder case and frustrated with life in general. He even tries to kill himself at one point. Eventually, a billionaire who Trey restored a car for offers to provide him with a chip, called STEM, that will allow him to walk again. Grey rejects this offer at first, but he eventually gets the chip implanted. He then goes on a quest for revenge. I'm always curious to see how Blumhouse's non-horror movies fair, because it's harder to produce them for the small budget that Blumhouse typically works with. And, man, they produced a very solid movie considering the budget. However, there are some problems that hold it back from being one of the best movies of the summer. The action in this movie is great. It has a John Wick feel to it, but it's more hand-to-hand combat than gun play, and every time STEM takes over for Grey the moves are very precise, which made the scenes even more fun to watch. Unfortunately, I feel like I got shorted a bit in the action department. If there was a couple of more action sequences, I think I would have liked the film even more. But I walked out wanting more action than what I got. The story is much better than I expected, but it does drag a bit in the beginning when everything is getting set up. But, despite the beginning being slow, it does make us care for Grey, which is a good thing considering this is essentially a revenge tale. If I didn't care about him, I wouldn't really care if he got his revenge or not. Also, I was very satisfied with the ending. The dialogue is a bit painful at times, which seems to be a bit of a staple in most Blumhouse films. Luckily, this movie doesn't rely too much on having strong dialogue. The acting is good for the most part, but the real star of this movie is STEM, which is the chip that is implanted in Grey. Being able to hear him talk to Grey and watch his "character" progress is the most interesting part of the movie. Overall, Upgrade provides entertainment without completely sacrificing a complex story, and it makes the most of its small budget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews