Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 4, 2018
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 32 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6
Mixed:
14
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TVJerryJul 10, 2018
The original movie in this series featured gripping action and a compelling concept: all crimes (including murder) are permitted one nite a year. The 2 sequels are pretty bad and this 3rd continues the slide in quality. It's set in the US,The original movie in this series featured gripping action and a compelling concept: all crimes (including murder) are permitted one nite a year. The 2 sequels are pretty bad and this 3rd continues the slide in quality. It's set in the US, where a new super-conservative party has come into power and announces the "experiment" to deal with growing national problems. This paranoid political premise drains even more life from the series. What I wrote in my review of the last one still applies: "Once again, the situations are absurd and the action is mostly dull and uninventive. Some of the auxiliary scenes are artistically shot or visually inventive, but that doesn’t elevate the quality. It’s not exciting. It’s not scary. It’s a disappointment." These films have just become an excuse for gratuitous violence. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
GrantD243Jul 6, 2018
I very much like the Purge franchise on a conceptual level. I think that the idea of the Purge offers up a very interesting premise that could be turned into some great movies. Unfortunately, though, the Purge movies (outside of the firstI very much like the Purge franchise on a conceptual level. I think that the idea of the Purge offers up a very interesting premise that could be turned into some great movies. Unfortunately, though, the Purge movies (outside of the first installment) have not been all that great. They've been decent flicks to watch if you're bored one afternoon or just want to eat some popcorn and watch people die, but that's about it. The story of this one follows the cast of characters on the night of the first Purge. Given this, I figured that the beginning of the movie would give us a somewhat detailed look at how the decision to have the Purge came about. We are kind of given that, I guess. We get an incredibly cringey interview at the beginning between a doctor and a potential Purge participator that basically gives us the origin of the name, and the rationale behind the decision to have it is explained as well. But after those little tidbits, the film dives straight into setting up the characters. I like a lot of the elements of The First Purge's story: how the New Founding Fathers' motivations factor into the experiment, how the people on the island initially act when the Purge starts, and how the Government gets involved later on. It did what a prequel should: add more to the movies that come after it in the timeline. However, this film tries to be so, so timely with its social commentary, and it gets to be a bit much at times. And that heavy handedness really brought down my enjoyment of the film more than I expected. Also, outside of the Government being a bit more involved this time around, The First Purge turns into just another Purge movie around the halfway point. There's some nice action, and some death, but otherwise it's nothing new. The concept here was good, the execution...not so much.

Characters: Dmitri (Y'lan Noel) is not only the best character in this film, but he's really the only character worth anything. He's the only one with any real depth, and it also helps that the actor portraying him has some real chops. All of the other main characters are completely two dimensional and are not particularly likable, either. I also have to say that I guess Blumhouse wanted to have as many crazy Purgers as possible in this film, but they are so over the top that they come off as people pretending to be crazy. One of the main "crazy" Purgers, Skeletor, is laughably bad. Without Dmitri, this cast would have been extremely weak. And, to top things off, Dmitri is a drug dealer...and he was the most likable character in the film despite not changing much by the end. That's something. Script: The writing for most of this film is horrendous. Extremely cheesy dialogue, but that's nothing new for the Purge franchise. Cinematography/Effects: Blumhouse is known for making decent looking movies on a super low budget, but I think that The First Purge may be their first film in a while that actually shows its low budget quite a bit. The sound effects are often recycled and sound like they came from a cheap sound pack, and some of the visual effects are downright terrible. If you see the film, watch for the blood effects in the scene that involves smoke grenades. It's not good. Cinematography wise, there's nothing special here, but it's decent. Overall: I was entertained by the action and most of the story of The First Purge, and I liked the character of Dmitri, but outside of those things this film is barely passable as a popcorn flick, even by my relatively low standards for Blumhouse movies.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondJul 5, 2018
I'd say the Metascore is just about right for this one, though I probably liked it more than most of the critics. The gang leader is excellent, and his ex-girlfriend is really good. I enjoyed the supporting cast of OGs. The weak point ofI'd say the Metascore is just about right for this one, though I probably liked it more than most of the critics. The gang leader is excellent, and his ex-girlfriend is really good. I enjoyed the supporting cast of OGs. The weak point of the story and the series is the band of nameless, faceless white dudes that are mostly all masked. Sometimes tough to figure whether they represent some Charlottesville-like white supremacists or a generalized menacing group. Bottom line - exploitation flick that's fun to sit through. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
DufreshestJul 5, 2018
The First Purge: An Elephant On the Table

Cinematography: 5.932/10 It's simple though not compelling. The acting and story are the films strong points.  Costume Design: 6.821/10 There's no way to avoid the significance of the outfits
The First Purge: An Elephant On the Table

Cinematography: 5.932/10 It's simple though not compelling. The acting and story are the films strong points. 

Costume Design: 6.821/10 There's no way to avoid the significance of the outfits parading the streets. There's a balance between the Carnivalesque and die-hard Purgers. Yet, what I find more important than the actual costume designs is from where these outfits arrive from and for which purpose each serves.
 
Film Editing: 6.312/10 Decent. The scenes are set up for its punches; the moments that draw the audience more into the story are set well and make for a more interesting project. Still - not every scene looks pretty and flows well though the acting and story helps elevate the film substantially. 

Make-up and Hair-styling: 4.901/10 Some of the people in the actual fights look to be in better condition than the bystanders. 

Sound Editing: 7.321/10 The beats with lyrical assistance are set well and engages the audience. Otherwise, there doesn't seem to be much else going on.

Visual Effects: 4.121/10 Seemingly forgotten. A snarky stab at technology. 

Story: 8.297/10 The First Purge is mainly compelling due to it's strategically set story, acting - and its punches (check Film Editing). The story presses against drugs and violence within impoverished communities by imbibing them within its core developments. Yet - the story greatly emphasizes seemingly debilitating circumstances are not of the low-income communities themselves but processes of the government which the government has to fix in tandem with communities suffering the effects of government processes the most. I think the actual story has a lot of strong points (more in Personal). 

Acting: 7.972/10 The acting elevates and fits the film. Dolores, Mugga, is hilarious: her role is set just right for the film. She's the only character that makes sense looking unscathed throughout the film. The sincerity of the acting is present which gives the film a necessary boost. 

Personal: I feel as though the film attempts to reveal covert organizations within America that affect communities of diverse demographics as well as low-income communities. The lack of specificity concerning organizations throughout the film leaves one to speculate them as mercenaries or members wearing attire blatantly representing particular groups in America. Beyond the film reminding me of The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Institutions: Fraternal organizations by Alvin J. Schmidt, The First Purge sets a firm stance against illegal activities within communities. The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates comes to mind as I watch Joivan Wade interacting with Freddy, Steve Harris, in the film concerning other opportunities available in their neighborhood besides slinging dope. The idea that communities have to help themselves as much as possible even without government assistance is ever present throughout The First Purge though The First Purge emphasizes that government assistance should not damper community growth for monetary gain. The First Purge focuses on sensible matters in a comical way which always finds disruption due to matters plaguing a community capable of existing happily though is unable to due to particularly draining aspects of society like addictions, overdraft fees, corrupt government practices, illicit activities, etc. A very strong subtle point is that illicit activities are already happening (as though certain individuals or organizations live like Purgers everyday though plainly or under the pretense of out-of-sight-out-of-mind) and (these certain individuals or - ) organizations are manipulating media outlets as well as societal behaviors through financial maneuvers to promote their agendas. One might assess The First Purge as overly packed or appropriately scanning: I think it has a lot for one to bring to the table to dissect (though leaves one with a lot of ground work to cover due to the lack of specificity in the film concerning specific types of situations available -  like the scene of brutality in a baseball field - the imagery is all one has to procure from).

Overall: 6.459/10

-K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
UnReelReviewsJul 7, 2018
The First purge is the actual prequel that people asked for but basically never got because this movie is trash. The First Purge was a movie excited for but unfortunately I was very disappointed. The biggest issue with this movie is that itThe First purge is the actual prequel that people asked for but basically never got because this movie is trash. The First Purge was a movie excited for but unfortunately I was very disappointed. The biggest issue with this movie is that it doesn't actually answer the question of how the first purge came to be. It opens like every other purge movie and we start with a bad montage of violence and rioting and then 10 minutes later we get the first annual purge is starting. The next big issue is the lead character, while though a compelling performance given the character he plays is completely uncomparable. There is no reason at all that we would want to route for this man and his friends because they are all basically bad people.

the action scenes in this movie are lazy and poorly made, the gun effects and sound designs sound like someone searched up gun noise online and made that the sound effect. The odd decision to use cgi blood also doesn't help because it always looks bad and looks like blood from an old 1980's shooter, where someone blood always sprays from the one part even when their shot somewhere else.

this movie is disappointing and is just another excuse to get more funds and is probably my least favourite of the bunch.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
ExShadowstrikerJul 11, 2018
The first purge was okay, and there's nothing wrong with that, it was entertaining, but never really captivating. You never really fall in love with any of the characters which means the stakes are never particularly high, it does a good jobThe first purge was okay, and there's nothing wrong with that, it was entertaining, but never really captivating. You never really fall in love with any of the characters which means the stakes are never particularly high, it does a good job at setting the picture for the world of the Purge movies but other than than it was okay. The plot was okay, the characters were okay. In short the entire experience was okay. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SuperDuperKanyeJul 11, 2018
Even through their trivial (and predictable) mistakes, this movie manages to make you care for the main characters through different intertwining story-lines. Without the typical silly scenes and filmography that litter this film as well asEven through their trivial (and predictable) mistakes, this movie manages to make you care for the main characters through different intertwining story-lines. Without the typical silly scenes and filmography that litter this film as well as the other Purge films, it would score higher. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ProteusJul 5, 2018
Purge. So get to it. Literally 1/2 an hour before anything happens. Advice: deliver on the title when you make a movie. Skyscraper - tall building. A Quiet Place - minimal sound. Isle of Dogs - Dogs on an Island. And Purge - Purge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Jul 10, 2018
James DeMonaco and Jason Blum bring us this fourth installment in the "Purge" franchise -- "The First Purge" -- a woefully stupid film that makes an unsophisticated attempt at trying something sophisticated; politics. Sociopolitics and horrorJames DeMonaco and Jason Blum bring us this fourth installment in the "Purge" franchise -- "The First Purge" -- a woefully stupid film that makes an unsophisticated attempt at trying something sophisticated; politics. Sociopolitics and horror don't always mix, and this film is no exception to that very simple fact. Any and all hopes that the creative team behind this film had to drive home some sort of relatable societal message is completely bogged down by the movie's lack of authenticity, logic, or character depth. And despite a couple of serviceable action scenes here and there, this is a largely forgettable effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Jul 8, 2018
It's purging season everyone. You've seen the Purge, you've seen the Purge two, you probably haven't seen the Purge three but now it's prequel time so buckle up for the very first Purge. Directed by Gerard McMurray and written by JohnIt's purging season everyone. You've seen the Purge, you've seen the Purge two, you probably haven't seen the Purge three but now it's prequel time so buckle up for the very first Purge. Directed by Gerard McMurray and written by John DeMonaco, the same guy who wrote all the other purge movies. Also starring a bunch of actors who I'm not bothering to name, it's a purge movie, do you really care who's in it? Crazy, masked, knife wielding psychopaths, innocent victims and the evil corporate suits, yep it's a purge movie alright.

The controversial experiment created by the new founding fathers of America (NFFA) is ready for a trial run in Staten Island. The experiment promises to reduce crime to below 1% for the rest of the year as long as people can release all their anger and rage in one night. Staying on the island for the purge is optional yet the majority simply couldn't afford to leave. On top of that, those who do stay are offered payment and others are strongly encouraged to participate with the promise of even more financial rewards depending on how much they participate. Very much taking advantage of the oppressed and marginalized. Participants must also wear tracking chips and high tech contacts for recording the first purge. They also make the wearer look like zombies, which adds to the horror theme, so bonus. Yet much to the disappointment of the NFFA the purge doesn't have the high level of participation expected at first. But when a whole group of new gangs show up and quickly escalate the purge it becomes apparent that this is more than just a sociological experiment.

Gives everything you expect from a purge movie, extreme violence, violence while wearing masks and an unnecessary amount of jump scares. Although I think most of them came from the same person. One dimensional characters in a mediocre film. When it finally gets going it's entertaining in the moment but very forgettable afterwards. I would say this should put an end to the purge franchise but if there's one thing these low budget horror movies can do successfully it's make a lot of money. Recommended for fans of the purge franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
whoischarlotteJul 9, 2018
I understand why they made a Purge prequel, it was interesting to see how it came to be. As predicted, it was politically driven. But the film itself was pretty dull and didn't remain interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
masscraftJul 15, 2018
Just like the last Purge movie, this is an extremely racially biased liberal hit piece. All the good guys are black or some other minority while all the bad guys are white. They even go so far as to put the white guys in KKK hoods andJust like the last Purge movie, this is an extremely racially biased liberal hit piece. All the good guys are black or some other minority while all the bad guys are white. They even go so far as to put the white guys in KKK hoods and pseudo-Nazi uniforms this time. The hero’s are a mix of brutal gang banger drug dealers "with good hearts" and others "held down by the man". The government that starts the Purge is the NFFA, supported by the NRA, of course. It’s a mountain of sick, twisted liberal garbage at a time when minority employment is at historic lows. Movies like this keep black people on the dependent democratic plantation and do nothing but stir the racial hatred magnified during the Obama regime. Garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews