Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 13, 2018
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RatedRexJun 13, 2018
It is time for black folks to stop supporting movies about gangsters, pimps, drug dealers and stereotypical ghetto life. There are a million uplifting stories out there. Let's use our talent and resources to promote better images and a moreIt is time for black folks to stop supporting movies about gangsters, pimps, drug dealers and stereotypical ghetto life. There are a million uplifting stories out there. Let's use our talent and resources to promote better images and a more positive message. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesJun 13, 2018
You’ve seen this story a hundred times, but it’s fine enough. For every decent performance there’s an over-the-top cartoon, for every entertaining action scene there’s one out of the “Zach Snyder needless slo-mo” school.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
DavidNotDave27Jun 21, 2018
Boring and uninspired, yet cocky in it's execution. This film is like a bland dish of food that has had a copious amount of salt added.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RelaxedmikeJun 16, 2018
I enjoyed the movie. Lots of action here. Hell people..Its only a movie. Somebody here goes on about promoting better black images. Fine, I'm all for that. But like I said..ITS A MOVIE. What part of this don't you understand? Movies are aboutI enjoyed the movie. Lots of action here. Hell people..Its only a movie. Somebody here goes on about promoting better black images. Fine, I'm all for that. But like I said..ITS A MOVIE. What part of this don't you understand? Movies are about enjoyment and entertainment. This movie was definitely entertaining. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
DufreshestJun 26, 2018
I always find it tough to watch a film like Superfly because the idea of the American Dream becomes ever present. I don't condone toxic (whether natural or unnatural) substance use, abuse, or the marketing (of any kind) for the aforementionedI always find it tough to watch a film like Superfly because the idea of the American Dream becomes ever present. I don't condone toxic (whether natural or unnatural) substance use, abuse, or the marketing (of any kind) for the aforementioned type of substances. Yet, it's always interesting having the conversations that ensue after watching a film like Blow, Scarface, Donnie Brasco, Swordfish, etc. especially concerning people not living super fly lives.

People are fighting hour-to-hour to make a living and there are so many opportunities available that people are not aware of which will greatly enhance their stance in life. No, I'm not talking about drug dealing unless you want to work in the pharmaceutical industry as a certified employee. I don't mean the previous sentence in a sarcastic sense either. Some might deem themselves certified street pharmacists. The real point is, a film like Superfly shows another side of the American Dream that proposes a potential reality for some - an actual out - from their paycheck-to-paycheck lifestyles. 

Let's be real. Some people have gone down a path of no return by choice. This is not an implication that all of these paths are wrong. In life, people have to make decisions about their life - confirmations in a sense. In many instances, these people are glorified and vilified. The glorification and vilification of these certain people magnifies them. Superfly superimposes these ideas well through some of the most important aspects of a child's life - a caring and present parent and social relations. Now, there is a huge area for conversation concerning the mothers and their sons in the film which I will not touch upon in the review. As one might already notice, entering the conversation of the American Dream might seem to take away from the rest of the review - but, it only makes Superfly so much more appealing. This is not the only film displaying the glorification and vilification of considerably corrupt behaviors in theaters.
 
How does one get super fly? There's already a statement about being Superfly in the beginning of the film which basically says, stick to what you're good at and get super fly investors (a bit of a sarcastic statement concerning the investors though an actual aspect to recognize of reality - even banks have investors - consumers being of the most important of them). The film looks good and its elements fit the story well. The only blatantly confusing aspect occurs in a final scene at Priest's home. Otherwise, the film resettles afterward, comes to a reasonable end, and leaves viewers with a dream fulfilled. The story telling works well especially with the narration from Trevor Jackson as Priest throughout. Plus - the film really touches on topics that certain communities are having trouble handling.

K.D.
 
Overall: 7.981/10


P.S. There are people that don't want to be super fly, and - there are people that will do anything to get super fly. There's nothing wrong with being rich, not flashy, and not famous. But - don't live a life that's aimless or negatively directed.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Co-OdysseyJul 9, 2018
A lot of racism is surrounding this film and people are trying harder than they should to make it out as controversial. As a straight white male who grew up in the hood, I gotta say nearly every white person criticizing this film forA lot of racism is surrounding this film and people are trying harder than they should to make it out as controversial. As a straight white male who grew up in the hood, I gotta say nearly every white person criticizing this film for "racism" is taking advantage of Metacritic and IMDB's rating systems. This film isn't the Revenant but if your review is worse than The Room, then your clearly incapable of having an honest opinion, that's not taste its just a lack of objective thought. This film isn't amazingly shot, but its a clean and cohesive action film with a badass protagonist. The soundtrack is also pretty kickin. Honestly there are so many white Americans who have been brainwashed into the world is against them and that somehow watching and enjoying a film like this is a "betrayal of their race". The reality is it's a harmless film with a small tad of social commentary. Its a solid between 7.5-8.0 depending on your tolerance cartoony action films. Giving it a ten because the film is simply not a 5.5, there are opinions then there is intolerance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJun 22, 2018
I remember reviewing the original 1972 version, which was a bit hit with a great soundtrack. A lot of the same elements from the original are back. The central character (Trevor Jackson) is a "good" drug dealer: He has integrity and is goodI remember reviewing the original 1972 version, which was a bit hit with a great soundtrack. A lot of the same elements from the original are back. The central character (Trevor Jackson) is a "good" drug dealer: He has integrity and is good to his crew. The plot centers around his effort to make one last score that'll get him out of the game. Meanwhile, there's plenty of cocaine, backstabbing, booty shaking, cool rides, rap music and gunplay…none of it especially original. The only notable innovation is that he has 2 girlfriends and they have a steamy (literally) 3-way in the shower. Otherwise, it's a predictable, bombastic gangsta flick without any directorial innovation or anything new added to the pedigree. And they don't even take advantage of the great songs from the original (all of "Pusher Man' plays, but no "Freddie's Dead" and only a quick nod to the original title song). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ErinMcGowanJul 2, 2018
Well I’ve just seen the movie on my boxxy software . It had violence, flashy men, half naked women, money, etc. It looks corny. Better to watch original Superfly from 1972!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
QhasiAug 31, 2018
Watching this film, I had no idea who Superfly was. The shock when I realised that he's a drug dealer. Shocked that this promising young actor would agree to portray this character.

From shows like Power to this film, I cannot understand the
Watching this film, I had no idea who Superfly was. The shock when I realised that he's a drug dealer. Shocked that this promising young actor would agree to portray this character.

From shows like Power to this film, I cannot understand the obsession with portraying black drug dealers as some sort of hero just because said criminal wants out of the game.

Say what you want about Tyler Perry, but at least his characters are good people. Very disappointed. I'm going to think twice the next time I watch a movie starring this lead actor. Only gave it a "1" because at least the production is fine.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
thillmanNov 13, 2018
Well black people upset because we had black panther and now we back to been gangsters. Well I couldn't cause I find this movie terrible. Heard this story like so many times that it's just ripping off of other gangsters film. Acting bad,Well black people upset because we had black panther and now we back to been gangsters. Well I couldn't cause I find this movie terrible. Heard this story like so many times that it's just ripping off of other gangsters film. Acting bad, action sequences over-the-top, the villains are dumb and bad CG. The best part of the movie is Jason Mitchell and Micheal K. Williams. Everything else is **** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews