Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2018
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 965 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
560
Mixed:
167
Negative:
238
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
NuMysticMay 27, 2018
Went in with significantly lowered expectations and left wondering what the heck critics are complaining about. It wasn't a dramatic masterpiece, I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish. While Force Awakens and Last Jedi were farWent in with significantly lowered expectations and left wondering what the heck critics are complaining about. It wasn't a dramatic masterpiece, I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish. While Force Awakens and Last Jedi were far more polished, I had much bigger narrative and directorial issues with both than I did Solo. I thought the fan service peppered throughout was handled impeccably, Alden Ehrenreich did an uncanny job capturing young Harrison Ford's mannerisms as Solo, and Glover was superb as Lando. If you're a fan of the original trilogy do not let the polarizing views dissuade you from seeing this on a big screen and judge for yourself. Expand
33 of 54 users found this helpful3321
All this user's reviews
8
joobyMay 27, 2018
I was actually pretty impressed with Solo. It had a number satisfying action sequences and the backstory kind-of fit with what I had always imagined for the character. Ron Howard is a solid if somewhat unsurprising director.

Above all I love
I was actually pretty impressed with Solo. It had a number satisfying action sequences and the backstory kind-of fit with what I had always imagined for the character. Ron Howard is a solid if somewhat unsurprising director.

Above all I love the way the Star Wars Story films continue to explore seemingly marginal characters like the Stormtroopers or droids or wookies and expands on their lives in sometimes surprising ways.
Expand
28 of 47 users found this helpful2819
All this user's reviews
8
defdog99May 27, 2018
This is the style of movie The Last Jedi should have been -- not an experimental Rian comedy ruining canon. Dark and Action packed. All that news about "Glover" stealing the show or being pansexual, are moot. He was a small supportingThis is the style of movie The Last Jedi should have been -- not an experimental Rian comedy ruining canon. Dark and Action packed. All that news about "Glover" stealing the show or being pansexual, are moot. He was a small supporting character. Great job Ron Howard! Expand
29 of 49 users found this helpful2920
All this user's reviews
9
StomyProMay 27, 2018
I was really conflicted about Solo: A Star Wars Story. On one hand I hate the direction Disney is taking the franchise and absolutely despise the Sequel films. But if I'm to punish movies I don't like then its only fair I praise movies I doI was really conflicted about Solo: A Star Wars Story. On one hand I hate the direction Disney is taking the franchise and absolutely despise the Sequel films. But if I'm to punish movies I don't like then its only fair I praise movies I do like. And I did have a really great time with this flick.

It really is a Heist/Gangster film in a Space Opera setting. We see brilliant shots of the Corellian Slums, a muddy warzone on Mimban, and some really excellent sequences of the Falcon in space.

The humor was much more subtle and appropriate than anything from the sequel films. The characters, though a little one-dimensional at times make much more sense. The empire is portrayed as vast and intimidating whilst also not having infinite reach. Callbacks and references to the other films and to the EU (surprisingly enough) occur often but they rarely stand out as forced.

While the future of the franchise is pretty much a lost cause post-Endor, both of the side-stories have managed to seriously impress me despite extremely low expectations. If you're boycotting Disney for the travesties they've committed with Episodes 7 & 8 then I can understand not wanting to see another Disney-produced film. This idea cuts both ways however, if Lucasfilm start making Star Wars movies you actually like and you don't see them, it'll send the message that people really do want the adventures of MaRey Sue vs Cry-lo Ren and the Hitler Youth repeated every year for all time. Be consistent, or you'll never get the Star Wars universe you want to see.
Expand
31 of 54 users found this helpful3123
All this user's reviews
7
TestTrakMay 27, 2018
Solo: A Star Wars Story is the first real Star Wars film to open up to an entirely different type of premise for the movie franchise. Unlike the original and new films, Solo is not about some huge war or battle that will change the fate ofSolo: A Star Wars Story is the first real Star Wars film to open up to an entirely different type of premise for the movie franchise. Unlike the original and new films, Solo is not about some huge war or battle that will change the fate of the galaxy forever no, it's about a small time thief and his new allies doing a job, and it works. The movie does what most other Star Wars films fail to do and that is stand independently without the other films to back it up. This helps possible newcomers to the series but also means the story and adventure isn't pulled in too many directions.
Most characters were interesting despite a few we didn't get to know too well, and well acted. The sound design and sets were amazing like any other Star Wars film and the trademark use of practical effects worked very well. The film balanced action and dialog well enough but there were some segments where characters simply made odd choices in what seemed to be a rushed scene simply done to not drag the movie's run time. That being said I felt that the movie's climax came almost too soon and was replaced with an unimportant segment that made sense just should've come earlier in the film.
Solo is not the average Star Wars film which works. Though it was fun for the time being I don't see myself re watching it over and over even as a Star Wars fan. Which is not the movie's fault as it didn't need an over the top space brawl at the end. It knew what story it wanted to tell and it told it well.
Expand
29 of 51 users found this helpful2922
All this user's reviews
10
thedoghouserMay 27, 2018
the critics are WILLING this to be the failure the production shenanigans suggest - BUT it is a quiet gem that is closer to the original concept of a star wars movie than The Last Jedi was ... It deserves to receive strong word of mouth - andthe critics are WILLING this to be the failure the production shenanigans suggest - BUT it is a quiet gem that is closer to the original concept of a star wars movie than The Last Jedi was ... It deserves to receive strong word of mouth - and Alden probably had the most unenviable task of filling Harrison Ford's boots, which he achieved with great skill and conviction! Expand
34 of 60 users found this helpful3426
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1May 27, 2018
Probably the most fun SW film in terms of jokes. Action and special effects were great. Visually, this was one of the better-looking films. Yeah, Aldenreich is no Ford, but he is a likable lead. The best part is the relationship between himProbably the most fun SW film in terms of jokes. Action and special effects were great. Visually, this was one of the better-looking films. Yeah, Aldenreich is no Ford, but he is a likable lead. The best part is the relationship between him and Chewie, totally natural. Also, this is probably the first time Chewbacca has been fully utilized. As practically everyone else has said, Glover is a terrific Lando Calrissian. The younger version of him is even more delightuflly egotistical. The MVP of new characters is Han's robot co-pilot. I won't spoil too much about her, but she may the most unique droid in Star Wars.

I liked this but I do rank it behind the other recent SW films. (Though definitely leaps above the prequel trilogy.) The film does contain an overglut of characters and set changes. The ending is a bit subdued, too. There is one part of this film that will confuse those who never watched the Clone Wars and Star Wars Rebels cartoon series. I mean I give the writers credit for maintaining the continuity of the canon, but it is at the disadvantage of the casual viewer. Lastly, the biggest problem of the film is how darkly shot most of the film is. The lighting doesn't even match the tone.
Expand
27 of 48 users found this helpful2721
All this user's reviews
7
MendorasMay 27, 2018
I think it's a solid action movie with a generic storyline and a slightly pale lead actor. Occasionally the charisma of Harrison Ford shines through, but only for brief moments. In contrast, Star Wars drips from every pore of the movie. TheI think it's a solid action movie with a generic storyline and a slightly pale lead actor. Occasionally the charisma of Harrison Ford shines through, but only for brief moments. In contrast, Star Wars drips from every pore of the movie. The worlds are very well implemented and have that filthy and worn look one would expect from a Star Wars movie, especially in the Underworld. The humor was decent and did not always work, the fan service and the easter eggs were well dosed. The emotional moments usually do not work, because one is missing the reference to the figures. In addition, the film lacks tension, but that's the problem with a prequel. We know who will survive in any case. The supporting roles were very well staffed, especially Donald Glover stands out. I just had a problem with Emilia Clarke - she works in GoT, but here she did not make a good impression. For me, there was only one really disturbing and completely unnecessary scene - how Han Solo got its name. Facepalm. All in all, I had fun and was well entertained, I did not expect anything more, so I am satisfied with the movie. After one-time seeing I feel in any case better than after Episode 8. Expand
23 of 41 users found this helpful2318
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleMay 26, 2018
The acting in this film is so much more "human" and fun than any of the other recent Star Wars flicks. Sure, the first 5 minutes are terribly boring, but it redeems itself. Phoebe Waller-Bridge as the bot is amazing - seems everything sheThe acting in this film is so much more "human" and fun than any of the other recent Star Wars flicks. Sure, the first 5 minutes are terribly boring, but it redeems itself. Phoebe Waller-Bridge as the bot is amazing - seems everything she touches these days (Fleabag, Killing Eve) turns to gold. Woody is great, Lando is solid. Only that super tall worm-looking thing toward the beginning is utterly ridiculous - on the order of Jar Jar Binks. Expand
28 of 50 users found this helpful2822
All this user's reviews
8
LaloInTheMovieMay 26, 2018
I liked Han Solo movie, it's not the best Star Wars movie (obviously) but it was fun and interesting to know han solo 's past; the movie has some issues but still is OK and entertained.
29 of 52 users found this helpful2923
All this user's reviews
8
catiflam88May 27, 2018
i can not understand why people hate that movie , for me is better than rogue one for example and better than episode 7 and 8 , watching the movie i felt humanity , friendship and love like in the old movies , the acting is quite good , thei can not understand why people hate that movie , for me is better than rogue one for example and better than episode 7 and 8 , watching the movie i felt humanity , friendship and love like in the old movies , the acting is quite good , the boy who plays the role of han solo is not that bad , i only hate the lando actor the rest ok . i really enjoyed the movie Expand
26 of 47 users found this helpful2621
All this user's reviews
9
addabisMay 27, 2018
I had mixed expectations, after TLJ set the new bottom for Star Wars, but this for me is, at least after I've seen it once, very, very good movie. Even though I was skeptical about the main actor initially, Alden Ehrenreich proved to fit theI had mixed expectations, after TLJ set the new bottom for Star Wars, but this for me is, at least after I've seen it once, very, very good movie. Even though I was skeptical about the main actor initially, Alden Ehrenreich proved to fit the Han Solo character very well. Other actors and their respective characters were also great. It's just sad that spin-off films are much better than the main series. Expand
26 of 47 users found this helpful2621
All this user's reviews
10
ArchangelXv1May 27, 2018
With all of the bandwagon hate going on due to the way The Last Jedi played out as well as the treatment of beloved characters, the fans have it in for this movie.

How wrong they are. This movie is one of the best Star Wars films I've seen
With all of the bandwagon hate going on due to the way The Last Jedi played out as well as the treatment of beloved characters, the fans have it in for this movie.

How wrong they are. This movie is one of the best Star Wars films I've seen in a long while. I enjoyed it more than Rogue One (For real, it was a downer). In fact, the past three SW movies have been complete downers as we've seen characters killed off one-by-one, again and again. It's been pretty depressing.

I think we needed this movie. It was fun. It was thrilling. It had that classic SW feel, and man, the aliens were incredibly well done as well as the sets and the effects.

The cast is spot-on as well, and although I never thought anybody else could be Han, Alden Ehrenreich did a dang good job. Lando? Okay, Glover was chanelling Billy Dee pretty much. Chewie was finally more than just big hairy window dressing, and the rest of the characters did a bang up job with their respective roles.

Man. I just cannot explain how happy I was walking out of the theater. And that reveal at the end? I can't wait for the sequel.

Do yourself a favor if you're a SW fan and ignore the fan hate. They are completely wrong. See Solo, and save this movie. It's worth it.
Expand
34 of 62 users found this helpful3428
All this user's reviews
9
MinijunkieMay 26, 2018
Awesome movie - fun, entertaining and had that Star Wars spirit that I found lacking in Rogue One (which I enjoyed far less, although the final battle is great). I wish they had gone with a brighter color palette - the movie is very dim andAwesome movie - fun, entertaining and had that Star Wars spirit that I found lacking in Rogue One (which I enjoyed far less, although the final battle is great). I wish they had gone with a brighter color palette - the movie is very dim and desaturated. But it did not disappoint. Most of the negative scores seem to be people getting weird about SJW stuff. That was minimal in the movie and did not detract from it at all. Expand
29 of 53 users found this helpful2924
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewthemovMay 27, 2018
This movie was a lot better than expected. People are judging poorly without even watching movie. GREAT movie!
29 of 53 users found this helpful2924
All this user's reviews
9
RobbieNMay 27, 2018
The movie was a nice surprise. Went in with no expectations (learnt that from the last Jedi). A Solo movie was always hard to do. Alden did an oke job, but was miscast imho.
24 of 44 users found this helpful2420
All this user's reviews
0
SuperMax156May 25, 2018
Star Wars died the moment Disney took it over. Everything they do after that is just another nail in the coffin. This is like the modern Star Trek films, it is fan fiction with cos-play actors. Worst of all is the SJW droid and the mincingStar Wars died the moment Disney took it over. Everything they do after that is just another nail in the coffin. This is like the modern Star Trek films, it is fan fiction with cos-play actors. Worst of all is the SJW droid and the mincing Lando. Just more cultural vandalism from the evil empire that is Disney. Keep your money. Expand
84 of 155 users found this helpful8471
All this user's reviews
3
RenegateMay 25, 2018
Han shot first, but Lucasfilm keeps missing the target lately. You have one job.
67 of 124 users found this helpful6757
All this user's reviews
9
merijnjMay 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (87/100)
Wow, I've never seen a fanbase THIS toxic. Not a single review that is under a 6 has valid arguments to why this movie was ''bad''. The only thing I'm seeing is: Kathleen Kennedy ruined Star Wars, SJW Propaganda and Disney ruining Star Wars. So lets get to why I liked it. Solo: A Star Wars Story is something new and refreshing. It's so much better than I expected. The story is amazing, Jon and Lawrence Kasdan have done an amazing job. Despite the movie having a directorial change it still feels very coherent and well put together. The movie was great fun all around. SPOILERS AHEAD. The reveal of Darth Maul (Sam Witwer/Ray Park) was surprising and it felt right. He fits right into the story and I really want to see those other 2 Solo movies to find out what happens next with the Crimson Dawn. The surprises of Beckett (Woody Harrelson) and Qi'ra (Emilia Clarke) turning on Han (Alden Ehrenreich) was an amazing twist. Alden Ehrenreich (Han Solo) is not what I expected, I expected it to be bad. He was great in the role as Han Solo and Lando was also excellently played by Donald Glover. Overall I was less divisive about Solo: A Star Wars Story than The Last Jedi and it was a very fun movie in general. Score by John Powell was also great, especially Enfys Nest's/the Savareen's theme.
Expand
34 of 63 users found this helpful3429
All this user's reviews
7
AvodeskormMay 26, 2018
Aw yeah... no lightsaber battles(or magic powers), no large-scale 'wars', just small-scale interactions and encounters between characters. Boredom begone!
(I'm not a huge fan of Star Wars)
Other Star Wars films typically become extremely
Aw yeah... no lightsaber battles(or magic powers), no large-scale 'wars', just small-scale interactions and encounters between characters. Boredom begone!
(I'm not a huge fan of Star Wars)
Other Star Wars films typically become extremely boring with just explosions and lasers filling the screen. If more Star Wars films contained more smaller scaled emotionally charged battles between characters (like VaderVsLuke, Obi-WanVsAnakin), I could get behind more of them. Solo: A Star Wars Story brings the franchise a step closer to the best aspects of Star Wars. Now my rankings for the films are: EmpireSB > RevengeotS > SOLO. BOOYAH.
Expand
28 of 52 users found this helpful2824
All this user's reviews
10
DebtanMay 27, 2018
It was a really fun and enjoyable movie! I had a great time. Probably one of the top 3 Star Wars movies for me.

Unlike the darker and more desperate tone of other recent Star Wars movies, this one had a fun and hopeful air about it. Alden
It was a really fun and enjoyable movie! I had a great time. Probably one of the top 3 Star Wars movies for me.

Unlike the darker and more desperate tone of other recent Star Wars movies, this one had a fun and hopeful air about it. Alden was not like Ford at all but his portrayal of young Han was so earnest that I was completely won over by the end of the first speeder scene. His chemistry with Qi'ra was so real and touching. And Donald Glover was beyond perfect as Lando. Overall it's such a breath of fresh air for the franchise and I can't wait for the sequel, fingers crossed.
Expand
29 of 54 users found this helpful2925
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticMay 27, 2018
There isn't much in the way of new or different story telling, but I had a good time watching Solo. The performances were all good and Ron Howard steered the ship to a safe landing even if you desiring something a little bolder. B+
22 of 41 users found this helpful2219
All this user's reviews
7
silencerMay 27, 2018
Retcons galore. It's a decent heist / origin story but they really went overboard with references and retcons.
Oh, the two major "plot twists" don't make any sense (blond girl and ending, yep, you heard me). I guess Emilia Clarke was promised
Retcons galore. It's a decent heist / origin story but they really went overboard with references and retcons.
Oh, the two major "plot twists" don't make any sense (blond girl and ending, yep, you heard me). I guess Emilia Clarke was promised a sequel...
Expand
23 of 43 users found this helpful2320
All this user's reviews
9
JediMosEisleyMay 27, 2018
This is great character movie. If you have not been exposed to a Star Wars film, go for this one. For fans, there may be some challenges as this is not the typical Star Wars film.
23 of 43 users found this helpful2320
All this user's reviews
3
hellpittMay 25, 2018
We heard about the problems during all the production, the directors, acting problems....I expected a disaster...and Disney didn't let me down...it was the disaster I was expecting and more.... I won't spoil the whole movie here guys, I willWe heard about the problems during all the production, the directors, acting problems....I expected a disaster...and Disney didn't let me down...it was the disaster I was expecting and more.... I won't spoil the whole movie here guys, I will describe it fast... no music, feels flat, was boring, people in the cinema were tired and had a tired face at the end, L3-37 was annoying as hell, the 12 parsecs kessel run was destroyed, the characters were underdeveloped, boring, bad acting, the characters did not followed their traits, Solo was ok, Lando became Gayer by the minute, the rest of the characters blended in the background, Woody was incredible Flat and Sad...what a waste of character, the movie doesn't feel like star wars, was a heist movie without any action nor stakes .... I strongly don't recommend the movie guys....wait for it to come out on Netflix and watch it on a rainy, sad, lonely day were there is absolutely nothing to watch. Expand
81 of 152 users found this helpful8171
All this user's reviews
1
boothcraigMay 25, 2018
So bad. Chewy is the only bright side. Glover shows hints of Lando. Ehrenreich is a sad Solo. His constant attempt at trying to do the Solo smile seems like he saw one picture and that its. L337, the droid, I wanted to dismantle and bury itSo bad. Chewy is the only bright side. Glover shows hints of Lando. Ehrenreich is a sad Solo. His constant attempt at trying to do the Solo smile seems like he saw one picture and that its. L337, the droid, I wanted to dismantle and bury it like they did E.T. Atari game.
Clarke, was a waste of space. Worst than Terminator:Genesis. And another thing they recycled almost the entire music score from New Hope and Empire. Oh the fly through intro crawl, was cool.
Expand
68 of 128 users found this helpful6860
All this user's reviews
9
Reviewer1138May 26, 2018
As someone who despises The Last Jedi, I really loved this move. I went in with low expectations thanks to TLJ. I didn't watch any of the Solo trailers and I didn't read any news about the movie beforehand. This movie was made for theAs someone who despises The Last Jedi, I really loved this move. I went in with low expectations thanks to TLJ. I didn't watch any of the Solo trailers and I didn't read any news about the movie beforehand. This movie was made for the existing Star Wars fanbase and I enjoyed it because of that. I felt like TLJ was made to gather a new Star Wars fanbase while letting the past die, killing it if it has to.

I have always had a difficult time figuring out exactly what it is about Star Wars that I love so much. There are so many elements to the movies, I'm not sure I can put my finger on just one of them. If I had to choose, I would say the movie's ability to take me to a galaxy far, far away is the core element. The Last Jedi didn't do that for me, but Solo did. I love the feeling of wonder and fantasy. The "lived in" environment, full of used machinery and living spaces, is ever present. We get a better feel for how the Empire has truly permeated its presence throughout the galaxy. We get to see how lawlessness reigns in some galactic territories. We get to see new and familiar alien species. We get to see planets that are mentioned in previous Star Wars films, but not seen in a movie until now. For the most part, I felt like I was in the Star Wars universe throughout this film. No, the film isn't perfect, but that's true of all the previous Star Wars films so far. I didn't feel like this movie was trashing Star Wars, it was merely building on what already exists. Considering the setbacks Lucasfilm faced during production, I think this movie turned out quite well. I never really wanted a movie about Han Solo, but I'm happy with what we got.
Expand
35 of 66 users found this helpful3531
All this user's reviews
9
countvoxMay 25, 2018
As someone who was skeptical of this film, Solo left me with a big smile on my face. It's such a fun ride filled with great plot twists, characters, and a lot more. It's a nice balance of new and old, so it sits just right with any Star WarsAs someone who was skeptical of this film, Solo left me with a big smile on my face. It's such a fun ride filled with great plot twists, characters, and a lot more. It's a nice balance of new and old, so it sits just right with any Star Wars fan. There's some parts that drag, but overall the movie is just something you don't wanna take your eyes off of. The casting (as many people have been worried about) is pretty spot on and lives up to its expectations. Solo: A Star Wars Story, despite its production troubles and "unnecessary" purposes, lives up to be a great Star Wars movie that I warmly welcome to the franchise. Expand
41 of 78 users found this helpful4137
All this user's reviews
2
thebagginsMay 25, 2018
Nothing can save this movie, not even Chewie. I mean how do you stuff these movies up so much? The history and back story are all there and yet... garbage! Don't wast your money on this movie as it's below mediocre and unfortunatelyNothing can save this movie, not even Chewie. I mean how do you stuff these movies up so much? The history and back story are all there and yet... garbage! Don't wast your money on this movie as it's below mediocre and unfortunately borderline b-grade :( Oh yeah, and the fake review... 10/10 ffs. How much do those reviews cost disney? Edit: Adding that there is a JarJar type character in the form of an annoying droid you want to shut up and die within the first 10 sec of seeing "her" on screen. Expand
84 of 160 users found this helpful8476
All this user's reviews
7
eljonMay 27, 2018
I actually liked this movie a lot but it do has its flaws. For one the script is kinda off since it just doesn't feel special. Its simple but its not unique and there are times in the film where the plot just feels messy and some of theI actually liked this movie a lot but it do has its flaws. For one the script is kinda off since it just doesn't feel special. Its simple but its not unique and there are times in the film where the plot just feels messy and some of the characters are just there for no reason. It feels like the movie is just there, it may be a fun ride but at the end there's nothing new to it. For one, this movie is better than the TLJ and I suggest that you watch it because it's actually good. It may not be a masterpiece,but it's a fun ride and some of the scenes are just really well executed. Some criticise the pacing but I could say its fine. So overall this movie is just good but not great. But this is just my opinion. Expand
21 of 40 users found this helpful2119
All this user's reviews
9
GameCompletersMay 26, 2018
As a Star Wars fan this is one of my favourite movies. Han, Lando and Chewie are awesome. There is also a surprise for all the fans in the last 10 minutes of the film. Favourite movie i have watched this year in 2018. 100% Worth seeing if youAs a Star Wars fan this is one of my favourite movies. Han, Lando and Chewie are awesome. There is also a surprise for all the fans in the last 10 minutes of the film. Favourite movie i have watched this year in 2018. 100% Worth seeing if you like Star Wars Expand
21 of 40 users found this helpful2119
All this user's reviews
8
drewdoppMay 26, 2018
By no means perfect, but a way better movie than people are giving it credit for.
21 of 40 users found this helpful2119
All this user's reviews
10
PupitoMay 26, 2018
Solo is the best Lucasfilm production since 1989’s Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade and the best Star Wars movie since 1983’s Return of the Jedi. Bravo to the Kasdan family, Ron Howard and the entire team!
32 of 61 users found this helpful3229
All this user's reviews
8
vgmkyleMay 27, 2018
What was the point of it? To be a tear jerker? Not really. To make me laugh? It did that off and on. I think they were trying to justify killing him in Force Awakens; sometimes it worked and other times the films devices didn't come through.What was the point of it? To be a tear jerker? Not really. To make me laugh? It did that off and on. I think they were trying to justify killing him in Force Awakens; sometimes it worked and other times the films devices didn't come through. But to say it's a catastrophic failure? I don't think it's that at all. Just not Star Wars perfected. Expand
23 of 44 users found this helpful2321
All this user's reviews
7
Creeper3455May 27, 2018
"Oh,look! Another Star Wars movie. Unite the angry Fanbase and give them a notepad to write everything wrong with it so that they'll make their own rant! (and to give CinemaSins a run for their buck)”
This is how most of this so called
"Oh,look! Another Star Wars movie. Unite the angry Fanbase and give them a notepad to write everything wrong with it so that they'll make their own rant! (and to give CinemaSins a run for their buck)”
This is how most of this so called “Fanbase” works,whenever one of these movies comes out (*POP* I liked Last Jedi).
But when we talk about Solo A Star Wars Story,I can say that it was a fun ride,aside from the Development Hell this movie went through. Going into it,I was expecting a Heist Movie with the same veins of a Steven Soderbergh one,and it was that,with some haunting places,a John Powell score that never disappoints and (almost) great casting.
You may want to cool down your expectations if you want to see a good story with the big spectacle we usually expect from a franchise like Star Wars.
From beginning to end,it just felt like a great big action sequence (of 2h15) that takes place in several places with a story that's easy enough to follow,given that the movie doesn't know when to spend its time on either the friendship between Solo and Chewie or the big heist with Woody Harrelson as Beckett.
Speaking of the actors,I thought Alden Ehrenrich could have been good as Solo...If the script didn't give him some of the most cringey Fanbase moments of all time.
“I hate you” “I know”
Although the secondary cast was a better ensemble than I thought it was going to be.
Emilia Clarke as Qi’ Ra? Good!
Jon Favreau as Rio? Kind of annoying,but still good.
Paul Bettany as Evil Vision? Boy...
But Childish Gambino AKA Donald Glover as Lando Carlissian STEALS the movie.
Not only that,but also the massive wonderment of a score by John Powell that, just like Ice Age The Meltdown and Robots,makes it for another standout that carries the movie,accompanied by a courageous theme by John Williams.
Oh,and big special effects and one of the greatest title card appearances of all-time (Thor Ragnarok and Guardians Of The Galaxy BEWARE).
You can call this the “Fun Star Wars” if you go into it with the right amount of expectations. Don't expect an Empire Strikes Back,but also don't expect a Rogue One,although a better movie than the prequels you can. All in all,sure,never tell him the odds...At some point.
Expand
23 of 44 users found this helpful2321
All this user's reviews
8
octopusinksMay 27, 2018
Why is no one mentioning short ticket sales because of TLJ backlash?? Its not Star Wars fatigue. I really enjoyed this movie. I am disappointed to see all the 1's and 0's. As someone who hated TLJ, and have no further interest in theWhy is no one mentioning short ticket sales because of TLJ backlash?? Its not Star Wars fatigue. I really enjoyed this movie. I am disappointed to see all the 1's and 0's. As someone who hated TLJ, and have no further interest in the trilogy, these stand alone movies are what I am now looking forward to. I thought the story, action, and acting were all great. My two issues with the film were: A) it was really dark in the beginning and difficult to see at times B) The new droid with the non stop PC remarks reminded me of TLJ. And I don't want anything to EVER remind me of the last jedi again. Expand
23 of 44 users found this helpful2321
All this user's reviews
8
NolanLundgaardMay 27, 2018
Solo, unfortunately, had a bit of a slow start and was pretty predictable. On the other hand, this was a fun story that provided more background to Han, Chewie, and Lando. While not nearly as good as some of the other Star Wars films, SoloSolo, unfortunately, had a bit of a slow start and was pretty predictable. On the other hand, this was a fun story that provided more background to Han, Chewie, and Lando. While not nearly as good as some of the other Star Wars films, Solo still managed to give a good plot and surprisingly good acting (we missed you as Han, Harrison Ford). However, I give kudos to Ehrenreich for the amazing job playing the galaxy’s most likable smuggler. All in all, Solo was a nice movie that wasn’t bad, although it felt like it was a little too long. Expand
23 of 44 users found this helpful2321
All this user's reviews
10
connortgreeneMay 27, 2018
Although Solo experienced many problems during production, Solo was a very satisfying movie and is the best one since Disney bought Lucasfilm, and definitely better than the Prequels. Although Solo is not the biggest opening of the summer,Although Solo experienced many problems during production, Solo was a very satisfying movie and is the best one since Disney bought Lucasfilm, and definitely better than the Prequels. Although Solo is not the biggest opening of the summer, and definitely won't measure up to movies like Infinity War and Deadpool, it is still a movie worth seeing, with spectacular acting, a quick-paced and well-written plot, and a surprising reveal at the end. Expand
23 of 44 users found this helpful2321
All this user's reviews
2
lemonyMay 25, 2018
Another terrible Star Wars entry by Disney. I think Rogue One was a fluke because that was the only Disney Star Wars that wasn't terrible. I honestly miss George Lucas owning Star Wars because despite the prequels being a mess, they are atAnother terrible Star Wars entry by Disney. I think Rogue One was a fluke because that was the only Disney Star Wars that wasn't terrible. I honestly miss George Lucas owning Star Wars because despite the prequels being a mess, they are at least watchable compared to the Disney travesties. Expand
61 of 117 users found this helpful6156
All this user's reviews
2
nkukMay 25, 2018
The film is bland, soulless and full of cringeworthy facepalm moments. Its a total disappointment, I think Disney has been lowering expectations so much in the hope that better than a disaster is seen as a good film. Its not. Its a movieThe film is bland, soulless and full of cringeworthy facepalm moments. Its a total disappointment, I think Disney has been lowering expectations so much in the hope that better than a disaster is seen as a good film. Its not. Its a movie no-one asked for and the results are predictable, safe, dull and full of unnecessary toxic political correctness. This film is a shameful cash grab, it belongs in the trash compactor. Expand
63 of 121 users found this helpful6358
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesMay 26, 2018
It isn’t anywhere near as ambitious as THE LAST JEDI, comforting as THE FORCE AWAKENS or great at giving us closure to storylines like ROGUE ONE, but for what it had to do, and all it had working against it, I’d say things turned out alright.
27 of 52 users found this helpful2725
All this user's reviews
9
seanreneauMay 26, 2018
Solo is great fun original trilogy Star Wars fun! Alden Ehrenrich is Han Solo. Donald Glover is Lando. There are great action scenes and a twist that leaves you wondering where they are going to go next.
28 of 54 users found this helpful2826
All this user's reviews
10
AdamCMMay 26, 2018
Overall a well made and fun movie. I’m excited for the future of Star Wars.
29 of 56 users found this helpful2927
All this user's reviews
7
scoutcomfortMay 25, 2018
Short Take: A fun space Western that's all about the fight sequences. It's unlike any of the other Star Wars movies, and I like it like that.

Long Take: Solo is unlike any of the other Star Wars movies. There are no lightsaber duels or light
Short Take: A fun space Western that's all about the fight sequences. It's unlike any of the other Star Wars movies, and I like it like that.

Long Take: Solo is unlike any of the other Star Wars movies. There are no lightsaber duels or light vs dark. None of the fights' outcomes could be Galaxy changing. For me, it's refreshing. It's a true Western complete with forbidden love, gun fights, and a train robbery. Instead of the women sitting idly at bay like most Westerns, they're kicks** here. Honestly, one of my favorite parts of the whole movie were the female characters and how intergal their roles were in this story. I wasn't super pleased with Aldren and Emilia's (Han and Qi'ah) performance in the first third of the movie. The second third was good, nothing exceptional but far from bad. The performances in last third were great! Han really became the loveable character we know from the original trilogy. Qi'ah was unexpected and a complete delight. Really the last third was great as a whole. The action sequences were well choreographed and there was twists and turns abound. The last third made me *want* a Solo trilogy. We know where Han eventually ends up, but we don't know what happens next. There are tie ins to the original story in the movie that go beyond Chewie and Han meeting and the Millennium Falcon in all her glory. Some issues I had with it was the cinematography. It wasn't bad per say, but I wasn't in love. The script itself was too bland at times. The pacing was also odd. Some parts seemed like they were dragging on for ages. Some of the supporting characters were not well developed. The actors did well with what they had, it just wasn't enough (I'm looking at you Val and Rio). While I love the idea of a female droid, L3 was annoying in the majority of her scenes; Lando's eyerolls were very apropos. These negative aspects keep me from scoring the movie higher than a seven. I caught myself grinning from time to time because this is a fun summer movie. I was a skeptic going in, but "Solo: A Star Wars Story" was a pleasant surprise.
Expand
31 of 60 users found this helpful3129
All this user's reviews
1
Ender71May 25, 2018
Flat, predictable, and annoying. The references to tot are unbelievably overboard. Politics and weird sexuality unnecessarily shoved in the movie. Han was ok, but still felt like cosplay. I keep seeing many reviews saying "leave yourFlat, predictable, and annoying. The references to tot are unbelievably overboard. Politics and weird sexuality unnecessarily shoved in the movie. Han was ok, but still felt like cosplay. I keep seeing many reviews saying "leave your expectations at the door and you'll like it" WHY??? This is star wars, not a clable movie with generic adventure space man. We expect exciting rich stories and characters, and this film does not deliver. Expand
64 of 124 users found this helpful6460
All this user's reviews
0
mark8J4May 25, 2018
Bad film.
Classic commercial film made to make money.
Total disappointment

I will not give more money to Disney

Canon disney, no thanks
Yes, old canon lucas (i.e. before 2014)
68 of 132 users found this helpful6864
All this user's reviews
0
BabeRuthless38May 25, 2018
Easily the most lame and pointless Star wars movie I've ever seen, and yes, I've seen Last Jedi.

Han Solo is supposed to be a cool, roguish, ladykilling scoundrel, but this movie turns him into a cheesy clown (and don't even get me started
Easily the most lame and pointless Star wars movie I've ever seen, and yes, I've seen Last Jedi.

Han Solo is supposed to be a cool, roguish, ladykilling scoundrel, but this movie turns him into a cheesy clown (and don't even get me started on how they treat Lando). The plot is dull and loaded with fanservice, as usual for Disney. They really are determined to squeeze every nickel out of this franchise until it's a pathetic joke, and judging from this movie they are well on their way down that road.
Expand
58 of 113 users found this helpful5855
All this user's reviews
1
FlipOakTreeMay 25, 2018
Better than Last Jedi, but then again everything is. Just a souless cashgrab nonetheless. Star Wars is dead.
58 of 113 users found this helpful5855
All this user's reviews
1
JakeSkywalkerMay 25, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall very boring and unnecessary story. The new droid is hilariously bad in the same vein as Rose from TLJ. Darth Maul shoe horned in for no good reason. Kessel Run left meaningless due to a "Shortcut". Unfortunately more of the same "new age" Star Wars. Not much to see here for the original fans. Expand
62 of 121 users found this helpful6259
All this user's reviews
10
NaliadeArniseMay 27, 2018
Not great, but very good. Best thing - characters: even side characters had development and make much of impression. Action is truly fantastic. Enjoyed very much.
22 of 43 users found this helpful2221
All this user's reviews
10
melwilliamsMay 27, 2018
We loved it, we thought he was credible , believable & entertaining . A must see !
27 of 53 users found this helpful2726
All this user's reviews
7
lager96May 25, 2018
Many people would like you to think Solo is a bad movie but it's not. Solo is a good Star Wars movie but nothing special. The moments that work in this film really work and the moments that don't work really don't work. There are a fewMany people would like you to think Solo is a bad movie but it's not. Solo is a good Star Wars movie but nothing special. The moments that work in this film really work and the moments that don't work really don't work. There are a few moments that stand out but a lot of this film forgettable. Alden Ehrenreich is a good Han Solo, as long as you don't expect him to be Harrison Ford. Emilia Clark is good in the role and Paul Bettany is good as the villain (even though he isn't in the movie for a majority of the runtime). Donald Glover is the most memorable out of the entire cast and steals the show in every scene. There is one big surprise in this film but unfortunately it feels like a setup for another film or a sequel. In any case, the surprise was amazing and I can't wait to see what they do next. There are a lot of small moments that make this an above average movie but there are too many small missteps to make this a great Star Wars film. If your a Star Wars fan it's worth seeing, if not, you can probably wait until it's released on Blu-Ray. Expand
29 of 57 users found this helpful2928
All this user's reviews
10
maNgo-5May 26, 2018
IMO this was not only without a doubt the best Disney SW-movie, it was one of the best SW-movies ever. I watched the movie with a group friends who have been of SW-geeks since the early 80'ies, and we all felt the same. I totally hated theIMO this was not only without a doubt the best Disney SW-movie, it was one of the best SW-movies ever. I watched the movie with a group friends who have been of SW-geeks since the early 80'ies, and we all felt the same. I totally hated the Disney movies (except for Rogue One, which I found kind of okay [but the actors and screenplay kind of sucked]). But this movie was simply brilliant (and I totally thought that none could ever replace Harrison Ford as Han Solo -- turns out I was wrong). Expand
29 of 57 users found this helpful2928
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24May 25, 2018
Well, then. Consider me pleasantly surprised. Because, when I heard of the many production woes and trials that occurred along the way in crafting this film, I was sure the final product would be tired, boring, and devoid of meaning. AndWell, then. Consider me pleasantly surprised. Because, when I heard of the many production woes and trials that occurred along the way in crafting this film, I was sure the final product would be tired, boring, and devoid of meaning. And though it would still take a lot to convince me that this movie absolutely needed to happen, it's most certainly not boring or tired. In fact, director Ron Howard's "Solo: A Star Wars Story" is - at times - The rip-roaring, smooth-talking space actioner I was hoping it could be. And aside from a few head-scratcher creative choices here and there, I think it works overall as a film. Expand
30 of 59 users found this helpful3029
All this user's reviews
3
blackermambaMay 25, 2018
Too long of a build up for too little of a payoff. Movie suffers from poor casting, eclectic storytelling, and unwanted political overtones. Not the worst star wars movie you will ever see, but close. If you choose to see it, be warned thatToo long of a build up for too little of a payoff. Movie suffers from poor casting, eclectic storytelling, and unwanted political overtones. Not the worst star wars movie you will ever see, but close. If you choose to see it, be warned that it will feel like gold panning for entertainment. Expand
61 of 120 users found this helpful6159
All this user's reviews
1
BrucecampbellMay 25, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You are here probably wondering if Han Solo got emasculated and ruined as a character even more. The answer is a resounding yes. His name now has a origin that is lamer than anything you could imagine. He is alone when he signs up for the Empire, says his name is Han so the Empire names him Han Solo. He gets bossed around most of the movie by women, there is a disturbing dong to dong shower scene with Han and Chewbacca (no I 'm not kidding). The new droid is a fem1nist from hell and the most annoying thing ever seen in Star Wars and Lando who gets more feminine throughout the movie loves it. Basically this is just another Kathleen Kennedy propaganda film where they strategically try to remove any masculinity from legacy characters. All women in the movie are more masculine than Han. They are all more intelligent and more confident than Han. Oh and yes there is a Darth Maul cameo that has no resolution and it's comical when he fired up a lightsaber for no reason. Enfys Nest is a 16 year old girl rebel who is basically Rey without the force, so even more ridiculous. Avoid if you liked Star Wars. Go see if you hate men and hated the original Star Wars and are glad to endorse the destruction of the franchise. Also highly recommended for kids if you want to damage your son and give him low self esteem. The only reason I didn't rate it a zero is most of these review sites consider scores like that "trolling". It deserves a 0 though. Star Wars is simply dead. Read the Thrawn Trilogy instead and just give up on Disney Star Wars. Expand
57 of 114 users found this helpful5757
All this user's reviews
0
JennyKat570May 25, 2018
LOL remember when a new Star Wars movie was a major cultural event, with people lining up and getting excited for it? This is the first time I've ever seen a Star Wars movie arrive and most of the public doesn't even seem aware of it. It's aLOL remember when a new Star Wars movie was a major cultural event, with people lining up and getting excited for it? This is the first time I've ever seen a Star Wars movie arrive and most of the public doesn't even seem aware of it. It's a total "meh, I guess maybe I'll see it, though I'd rather go see Avengers again".

And well it should be, considering that this is quite possibly the worst Star Wars Disney has made yet (though Last Jedi is tough competition for that title). Han has none of the edgy cool that made people love him in 1977, he spends most of the movie being bullied by shrill women. Lando swishes and sashays through every scene, totally unlike the cool dude from Empire Strikes Back. The Kessel Run story gets wrecked too through the use of a lame "shortcut". No surprise this movie had a very troubled production and had to be almost entire re-shot, though it looks like it didn't help that much.

Anyway, skip it and watch it on Netflix, if at all.
Expand
52 of 104 users found this helpful5252
All this user's reviews
7
Agent314May 25, 2018
Solo is an enjoyable film despite not being a great film. There seems to be an agenda of hate surrounding Star Wars films today, and this bias is pretty evident in user reviews across many sites. We remember Star Wars films from our youthSolo is an enjoyable film despite not being a great film. There seems to be an agenda of hate surrounding Star Wars films today, and this bias is pretty evident in user reviews across many sites. We remember Star Wars films from our youth and rate today's films through a lens of nostalgia that can rarely be matched. Everyone wants the next film to be better than the last. Put it all in perspective and just enjoy some good characters, spectacular effects, and a few surprises. The Star Wars hallmark of strange, humorous aliens in hilarious situations is intact.

Of Alden Ehrenreich, well, he is not Harrison Ford any more than Roger Moore was Sean Connery. He does a fine job, and that, more than anything, is the issue. The role demands something very special, and Ehrenreich only hits that mark occasionally. But to say that his performance ruins the film is hyperbole in the extreme. Just more hater talk. And Emilia Clarke??? WOW...She is fantastic. Thandie Newton is under utilized in the extreme but in a way that only makes sense if you really pay attention later in the film. Pay attention to dialogue...

In the end, Solo is solid. Judged on its own, solo if you will, It's great, non-stop fun. In the franchise of Star Wars it pales against the brilliance of TESB or Rogue One, but then again, everything does.

You'll want more of Donny Glover and less of L3. And that is a very good thing.
Expand
35 of 70 users found this helpful3535
All this user's reviews
8
KYLEREILLYMay 25, 2018
So half of the audience reviews are people who haven’t seen the movie, but just “think this will be trash”. Or are boycotting because of reason x,y,x. Haters are gonna hate because they hate every time a Star Wars movie isn’t The EmpireSo half of the audience reviews are people who haven’t seen the movie, but just “think this will be trash”. Or are boycotting because of reason x,y,x. Haters are gonna hate because they hate every time a Star Wars movie isn’t The Empire Strikes Back, clearly the best of the lot, A film which people forget was assaulted by critics when it came out, is now the unattainable height by which all Star Wars movies are unfairly measured. Is this movie that good? Of course not, no movie is that good and never will be. Accept this fact and stop depriving yourself of the possibility of enjoyment. My goodness. Do you need to check your expectations at the door? You might if you are expecting Empire or a life-changing moment in your life. If on the other hand you are a person who can appreciate the good in something without all this absolutism...."Its the best ever" vs "It destroyed star wars and my life forever"...and you can just go see a movie in a universe you love, with characters you want to see. Then you have a great treat in store for you. And that is not to take anything away from this film. It works exceptionally well more often than not. This movie isn’t perfect, but it is a Star Wars movie to its core, probably more so than some of the new trilogy movies. I had so much fun at this movie. As I watched this movie I could feel my childhood self screaming with glee in my head while my adult self yipped with joy aloud. This movie succeeds in a lot of ways, most of them. For someone to say this movie is rotten is just laughable to me. The look of the movie alone is worth the price of admission. Fortunately you get so much more. This is the funniest Star Wars movie, but still a very action packed movie. I’ve heard some people say it had “slow” parts. I guess, but I think some of my favorite moments were just hanging out on the Falcon, shooting the breeze for a few minutes with these characters I love. The moments where i could just be allowed to float in this world without the story being crammed at me like sometimes it is in blockbuster movies, were wonderful. The beginning is a little rocky, but 15 mins in and it starts to find its footing. Halfway through the second act I felt like I was inside an expanded universe comic. It was really a fun time. I think this movie is going to age really well. It has some scenes in it which are the best of any SW movie, even the original trilogy. Don’t listen to the haters. This is a quality adventure that was really needed. I haven't had this much fun in a movie in a long time. One of my favorites immediately and it expands the universe in great ways. Expand
30 of 60 users found this helpful3030
All this user's reviews
10
reswin5May 26, 2018
This movie was awesome! this was one of the best movies of the year if not the best! better than the last jedi for sure!
29 of 58 users found this helpful2929
All this user's reviews
8
MWood919May 25, 2018
Okay, maybe this one is just for Star Wars fans or something, but I don't really believe that. This was, unexpectedly, one the most fun and exciting action/adventure movies I've seen in a LONG time. I don't know what people are complainingOkay, maybe this one is just for Star Wars fans or something, but I don't really believe that. This was, unexpectedly, one the most fun and exciting action/adventure movies I've seen in a LONG time. I don't know what people are complaining about but this movie had me shoveling the popcorn into my face, feelin' the feels, laughing - but only an APPROPRIATE amount, unlike other recent Star Wars movies that have packed in TOO MANY jokes - and applauding at the end. I'm not a huge fan of Alden Erinreich, but he did a rather good job with these giant shoes he had to fill, and although he's not how I pictured a young Han Solo, he didn't do a bad job at all. The tone felt right, the characters were believable, and the big set-piece/action sequences were perfect - never too long or over-bloated.

If you don't have fun at this movie, I think you probably hate "fun" in general... and I pity you.
Expand
27 of 54 users found this helpful2727
All this user's reviews
10
Promagic5May 26, 2018
This movie was amazing. I advise everyone sees it. It was my favorite star wars movie by far. it did what it intended to do perfectly! Go see this movie! It was the best movie of the year!
27 of 54 users found this helpful2727
All this user's reviews
10
reswin55May 26, 2018
This movie was incredible. see it now, walked out of the theatre as happy as ever. best star wars movie.
27 of 54 users found this helpful2727
All this user's reviews
8
shawnm7722May 25, 2018
Fun, fast paced, excellent fan service without being obnoxious. Great mix of pathos and popcorn
26 of 52 users found this helpful2626
All this user's reviews
10
sirsteveyMay 27, 2018
Action packed, adrenaline thrill ride. I would go back and see it again today if my heart could handle it. I argue that he plays a good Han Solo and show's the beginning of what made the man (Harrison Ford) Would go reserve a ticket for SoloAction packed, adrenaline thrill ride. I would go back and see it again today if my heart could handle it. I argue that he plays a good Han Solo and show's the beginning of what made the man (Harrison Ford) Would go reserve a ticket for Solo 2 right now. Expand
25 of 50 users found this helpful2525
All this user's reviews
10
foolish_mortalMay 27, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is good star wars. Ignore the haters. I think it might actually be the best of the Disney ones. There are heists (plural) and double crosses and lasers and space monsters. Sometimes in the middle of a heist, someone else appears and starts heisting the heist. Also Chewie tears someone's arms off, Han shoots first and the Millennium Falcon makes the Kessel Run in 12 parsecs. I don't know what else you want from a Han Solo origin story. Alden Ehrenreich doesn't look exactly like Harrison Ford but it's okay, you'll get over it. Expand
23 of 46 users found this helpful2323
All this user's reviews
10
ShannonmharpMay 27, 2018
This was an amazingly awesome fun loving movie!!! Action packed and full of laughs! This has become my all time favorite Star Wars movie! All of the characters nail their performances to a T! I will watch this movie several times in theThis was an amazingly awesome fun loving movie!!! Action packed and full of laughs! This has become my all time favorite Star Wars movie! All of the characters nail their performances to a T! I will watch this movie several times in the theater! Alden Ehrenreich absolutely makes you fall in love with Han Solo all over again! Ron Howard is puts forth his directorial genius to create an incredibly well rounded Star Wars adventure! These stand alone Star Wars stories just keep getting better and better!!! Thank you George Lucas for creating a universe we all love so very much!!!!! Expand
23 of 46 users found this helpful2323
All this user's reviews
10
SE-ApocalypseMay 26, 2018
Great Star Wars Western. Highly recommend. Fits the lore perfectly, brings so many legends references without drifting into distracting fan service.
22 of 44 users found this helpful2222
All this user's reviews
0
GuapoGrandeMay 25, 2018
I should've gone to see Deadpool 2 instead...

Solo is a boring, pointless movie that further confirms that Disney is just in this for the money, and is trying to pander to audiences with cheap nostalgia while simultaneously disrespecting and
I should've gone to see Deadpool 2 instead...

Solo is a boring, pointless movie that further confirms that Disney is just in this for the money, and is trying to pander to audiences with cheap nostalgia while simultaneously disrespecting and "deconstructing" everything that was good about the original movies. The guy playing Han is a total lightweight, Lando is a prancing fairy, and whats-her-name from Game of Thrones is just forgettable. The droid is worst of all though.

I'm calling it: no one who is a real Star Wars fan could possibly like this movie, or Disney
Expand
52 of 105 users found this helpful5253
All this user's reviews
10
MFCMay 27, 2018
I was not expecting much but I really liked this movie. I especially liked the actor who played Han Solo. Go see it and make up your own mind.
23 of 47 users found this helpful2324
All this user's reviews
2
Warbring3rMay 25, 2018
Snooze-fest, and I could not get over how badly miscast the main character was.
40 of 82 users found this helpful4042
All this user's reviews
0
EyZonMeMay 25, 2018
I really really hated this movie. Bloated and tedious. Nothing positive to say.
46 of 95 users found this helpful4649
All this user's reviews
10
thingdoeMay 26, 2018
I spent time reading all of the negative reviews of the film before watching it and I feel overall that most of the negative opinions did not ruin how much I enjoyed the movie. This movie was actually very fun. Solo is a fast paced originI spent time reading all of the negative reviews of the film before watching it and I feel overall that most of the negative opinions did not ruin how much I enjoyed the movie. This movie was actually very fun. Solo is a fast paced origin story with good acting and exciting action sequences. It feels very Star Wars but told in the format of a gangster Heist film. There were some very flat sequences but they didn't detract from the pace of the film overall. I would recommend viewing it with an open perspective and try to have fun. Expand
29 of 60 users found this helpful2931
All this user's reviews
0
Iserlohn14May 25, 2018
Hated it. After the dumpster fire that was Last Jedi, I would've skipped this one if friends hadn't pestered me to go. I can no longer enjoy anything with the Star Wars name after the way Disney is injecting whiny SJW talking points intoHated it. After the dumpster fire that was Last Jedi, I would've skipped this one if friends hadn't pestered me to go. I can no longer enjoy anything with the Star Wars name after the way Disney is injecting whiny SJW talking points into these movies while draining of everything cool, funny, and classic.

As far as I'm concerned there will only ever be 3 TRUE Star Wars movies, and the Thrawn Trilogy are the true sequels!
Expand
46 of 96 users found this helpful4650
All this user's reviews
10
jesssargexMay 27, 2018
Really enjoyed the film, lots of fun, great film for the star wars fans both old and new.
23 of 48 users found this helpful2325
All this user's reviews
4
MattyiceMay 25, 2018
Simply put, Solo is more of a product than a film. While well made, acted, and written, the film feels overwhelmingly unnecessary. It puts together Star Wars’ 4th straight and uninnovative “crew/ensemble story”, has poor pacing, and, asideSimply put, Solo is more of a product than a film. While well made, acted, and written, the film feels overwhelmingly unnecessary. It puts together Star Wars’ 4th straight and uninnovative “crew/ensemble story”, has poor pacing, and, aside from a decent action set piece (the train battle), it is just boring, predictable, and pointless. Finally, the stakes are next to none since we know who lives and dies or at least becomes relevant. Overall, this movie should have never been greenlit in favor of better solo (no pun intended) movies for other great characters. The film is purely peripheral for diehard Star Wars fans and not worth it for casual fans and moviegoers. Expand
32 of 67 users found this helpful3235
All this user's reviews
2
Sythe_GMay 25, 2018
It's not as bad as The Last Jedi, but not as good as Rogue One. It's really not worth the money. Just wait until it's on Netflix.
41 of 86 users found this helpful4145
All this user's reviews
0
HyzenflayMay 25, 2018
Really generic movie, and since The Last Jedi left such a bad taste in my mouth, I couldn't stomach this movie. We walked out halfway, so I had to give it a zero. It was so boring. Disney has a mountain of good material from the EU, butReally generic movie, and since The Last Jedi left such a bad taste in my mouth, I couldn't stomach this movie. We walked out halfway, so I had to give it a zero. It was so boring. Disney has a mountain of good material from the EU, but instead they churn out this garbage. Tragic Expand
45 of 95 users found this helpful4550
All this user's reviews
1
rtoaleMay 25, 2018
Another SJW disaster. While Kathleen Kennedy is in charge of Lucasfilm, they will never see another cent from me. Disney’s Star Wars make the prequels look like the Godfather trilogy.
36 of 76 users found this helpful3640
All this user's reviews
1
SherwnMay 25, 2018
Terrible film. I had to create an account to voice my displeasure over this.
Emasculated, boring Han Solo looked like a 5-5 inch Alden Ehrenreich bobblehead doll.
And Lando is a pansexual with a sexual fetish for female droids, which doesn't
Terrible film. I had to create an account to voice my displeasure over this.
Emasculated, boring Han Solo looked like a 5-5 inch Alden Ehrenreich bobblehead doll.

And Lando is a pansexual with a sexual fetish for female droids, which doesn't make any sense, because in Empire he was either indifferent to droids or he hated them. He LIKED WOMEN! What's wrong with Lando liking women?

Then Chewie gets in the shower naked with Han.

The kids are never seeing this. Ron Howard you did a terrible job. I bet Lord and Miller would have made a much better movie.
Expand
42 of 89 users found this helpful4247
All this user's reviews
1
JlarMay 25, 2018
So for some reason my review got deleted and my account login changed. Again this movie sucked. Save your money.
33 of 70 users found this helpful3337
All this user's reviews
8
BrazMay 25, 2018
Solo is good but not great. Alden nails it in the second half of this movie and was better than expected
33 of 70 users found this helpful3337
All this user's reviews
2
KrustbagMay 25, 2018
Bad movie, Don't waste your money. Climax is underwhelming, and the scenes with L3-37 are jarring, they don't fit the plot, and make the film unwatchable. If all the L3-37 scenes were removed, it might be an ok movie.
33 of 70 users found this helpful3337
All this user's reviews
0
silkLRMay 25, 2018
Solo ... passe direct 10eme dans mon classement Star Wars en avant dernier juste avant le spécial noël ...

Rarement vu une réalisation aussi inconsistante, faignante, des éclairages sombres pour cacher la misère, des scènes entières avec une
Solo ... passe direct 10eme dans mon classement Star Wars en avant dernier juste avant le spécial noël ...

Rarement vu une réalisation aussi inconsistante, faignante, des éclairages sombres pour cacher la misère, des scènes entières avec une mise au point mal réglée, l'acteur du rôle titre à le charisme d'une huitre, la musique est composée au kilomètre (et pour la VF le son est mal étalonné), les dialogues sont plats.

Le scénario ne sauve rien, il est attendu et servi avec lourdeur.

Je n'ai pas connu un ennui tel depuis l'épisode 2, mais là ce n'est pas 10 minutes de pellicule gâchée à ce rouler dans la prairie mais 2H (sur les 2H20) à jeter...

De ce film à garder, quelques décors, quelques nouvelles races extraterrestres.
Expand
40 of 85 users found this helpful4045
All this user's reviews
0
Huberto76May 26, 2018
They have turned Star Wars into a political hot mess. I could barely finish whating it!
31 of 66 users found this helpful3135
All this user's reviews
1
AndrudisMay 25, 2018
Below mediocre at best. Shame to see great franchise to fall this low. Even is you are SW fan, you can safely ignore this one and lose nothing
38 of 81 users found this helpful3843
All this user's reviews
8
ShadowsenpaiMay 26, 2018
As a long time star wars fan I really enjoyed it, I think Alden made a fantastic young Han solo and seeing the Kessel run on screen is just amazing, it's something I dreamt of seeing for years, it's not a perfect movie by any means but it isAs a long time star wars fan I really enjoyed it, I think Alden made a fantastic young Han solo and seeing the Kessel run on screen is just amazing, it's something I dreamt of seeing for years, it's not a perfect movie by any means but it is a fun one at that and is easily worth 2 hours of your time. Expand
30 of 64 users found this helpful3034
All this user's reviews
3
Soloson1May 25, 2018
The issue is not in acting surprisingly but in the story arch and character development. Huge flaws and questions raised for both the newcomer and die hard that are not necessary to the story. Way too many references that do not add to theThe issue is not in acting surprisingly but in the story arch and character development. Huge flaws and questions raised for both the newcomer and die hard that are not necessary to the story. Way too many references that do not add to the story and just make it look like a desperate attempt to legitimize the film Expand
36 of 77 users found this helpful3641
All this user's reviews
2
klonopenMay 25, 2018
Super disappointing. I went in with moderate expectations, but I can't believe they did such a poor job with the story. I've loved all the other new Star Wars films. Because character development was so lacking, the action was totallySuper disappointing. I went in with moderate expectations, but I can't believe they did such a poor job with the story. I've loved all the other new Star Wars films. Because character development was so lacking, the action was totally hollow. Winks and nods to the original trilogy can't save a bad film. Pitiful. Expand
35 of 75 users found this helpful3540
All this user's reviews
1
johndewittMay 25, 2018
HORRIBLE. Absolutely horrible. Star wars is now a gigantic stage to put a political agenda on, and we all know exactly which view Hollywood is paying for. Do NOT see this movie if you love Star Wars, because this certainly is not Star Wars.HORRIBLE. Absolutely horrible. Star wars is now a gigantic stage to put a political agenda on, and we all know exactly which view Hollywood is paying for. Do NOT see this movie if you love Star Wars, because this certainly is not Star Wars. Fire Kathleen Kennedy and Make Star Wars Great Again! Expand
34 of 73 users found this helpful3439
All this user's reviews
7
bkristmanMay 25, 2018
I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised with the film. It is the origin story of Solo,Chewy and Lando with both characters being well portrayed.
The film is rather simplistic but the plot is decent and there are some
I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised with the film. It is the origin story of Solo,Chewy and Lando with both characters being well portrayed.
The film is rather simplistic but the plot is decent and there are some good action set pieces.
One character that really stands out is Solo's gang leader's pilot droid who steals all the scenes she is in and is quite funny.
Woody harrelson plays the Ringleader straight without eccentricities which was good.
The villain was very weak .
This episode reminded me a bit of the old Firefly tv show with same kind of ships and blasters. Worth seeing .
Expand
27 of 58 users found this helpful2731
All this user's reviews
1
yorkperryMay 25, 2018
Kathleen Kennedy it's ruining the franchise. Hope to see the Miller/Lord cut. It may be more intersting.
39 of 84 users found this helpful3945
All this user's reviews
0
mickrussomMay 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the movie solo-soylo, is god damned horrible. L3-37 is horrific. its like a fake western mixed in with oceans 11 garbage heist movie. its to bad i thank god i snuck from another movie that ended into a not-even-full theater to watch this tripe so as not to give darth kathleen money. do NOT waste your cash on this garbage, its drek, drivel crap. Expand
31 of 67 users found this helpful3136
All this user's reviews
3
SWEEPtheLEG175May 25, 2018
The head of LucasFilm has to go. This felt like they made this movie for a new ride at Disneyland.
31 of 67 users found this helpful3136
All this user's reviews
1
MMurphyMay 25, 2018
Well, at least it wasn't as bad as TLJ. Definitely not worth $10, though. Save your money, and watch it on cable for free in a few years, if you watch it at all.
29 of 63 users found this helpful2934
All this user's reviews
9
tenofswordsMay 26, 2018
a great fun movie for the real fans, plenty of easter eggs for the nerds like me, fantastic visuals
29 of 63 users found this helpful2934
All this user's reviews
10
CatfoxMay 27, 2018
Got a big pleasure, watching it. Intresting, dynamic and entertaining. Good expansion of SW universe. Has true Star Wars spirit! Best impressions.
23 of 50 users found this helpful2327
All this user's reviews
7
TheBraveFencerMay 26, 2018
This movie stumbles quite a bit at the beginning and end, but overall I still considered it a serviceable star wars story. When they're embracing the "space cowboy" theme is when the movie soars, while all the Star Wars baggage (rebels,This movie stumbles quite a bit at the beginning and end, but overall I still considered it a serviceable star wars story. When they're embracing the "space cowboy" theme is when the movie soars, while all the Star Wars baggage (rebels, lightsabers, hopeful messaging) stops the film in its tracks when they pop up.

If the energy of the train heist was kept throughout, it would've got a much higher score from me.
Expand
23 of 50 users found this helpful2327
All this user's reviews
7
halllllooMay 26, 2018
Solo: A Star Wars Story schafft es nicht ganz das Gefühl eines Star Wars Films aufrechtzuhalten. Vorallem im ersten Teil des Films ist es nur schwer mit den Charakteren mitzufühlen. Dies bessert sich jedoch im zweiten Teil. DieSolo: A Star Wars Story schafft es nicht ganz das Gefühl eines Star Wars Films aufrechtzuhalten. Vorallem im ersten Teil des Films ist es nur schwer mit den Charakteren mitzufühlen. Dies bessert sich jedoch im zweiten Teil. Die Schauspielleistungen sind solide, obwohl es vorher sehr viel Kritik, vorallem über Alden Ehrenreich gab. Was der Film gut macht ist, dass er es schafft sehr schöne Bilder einzufangen und auch das CGI kann sich sehen lassen. Am Ende kann man sagen, dass ein Fan des Star Wars Franchises bei diesem Film sehr gut unterhalten wird und eine gute Zeit im Kino hat. Expand
23 of 50 users found this helpful2327
All this user's reviews
1
charredrelikMay 26, 2018
Wow you young people are so lucky we had to wait years for good films to come out and now you get one every week! And if we wanted to watch a good movie in the meantime we watched the old versions of great ones, you know ones made by qualityWow you young people are so lucky we had to wait years for good films to come out and now you get one every week! And if we wanted to watch a good movie in the meantime we watched the old versions of great ones, you know ones made by quality filmmakers who needed a GOOD NEW story to make a new one. Yes I am imbittered about present day movies ruining past great ones.and not white sexist or whatever. Just a dude who wants to see a good movie, which by the way Disney used to make. Expand
27 of 59 users found this helpful2732
All this user's reviews