Warner Bros. | Release Date: September 28, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
6
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SEROJSep 29, 2018
I liked the overall idea behind the plot but i think Warner Bros has failed to deliver the animation thats worth 80mil dollars. If you have any children though - don't miss it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
fachrulfebrianOct 8, 2018
ceritanya menghibur sekali sampai bikin saya ngakak, tetapi sayang endingnya kurang kuat ceritanya, Jadi kelihatan kalau agak maksa. Tetapi ada pesan tersendiri buat sebagai orang tua dan anak anak
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HappyspellingOct 11, 2018
This movie is good, but that doesn't mean it didn't have problems. I did laugh a couple of times, but most of the jokes weren't very funny. This might be the best movie this year so far, even though I gave this a 7/10... (I also likedThis movie is good, but that doesn't mean it didn't have problems. I did laugh a couple of times, but most of the jokes weren't very funny. This might be the best movie this year so far, even though I gave this a 7/10... (I also liked Incredibles 2 but I probably also give it a 7/10) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
WonderZOct 4, 2018
Smallfoot is a children's movie, and in that capacity I can't say it doesn't work. It lays out its story, delivers some jokes, has some songs, and then ends happily. My son and I got pleasure watching it with boxxy software.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NaveenGOct 6, 2018
Review of Smallfoot
While we were growing we’ve seen so many fictional movies which revolve around aliens and superheroes. All these movies were based on our perception about foreign objects. This movie is about how Yetis look at humans.
Review of Smallfoot
While we were growing we’ve seen so many fictional movies which revolve around aliens and superheroes. All these movies were based on our perception about foreign objects. This movie is about how Yetis look at humans. It’s about how they, out of the fear of humans, create their own world at the top of the mountains where they knew humans couldn’t come because they couldn’t survive there. It is a fiction but has got a lot of realistic day to day things to teach us. First thing that it teaches us elders is about the responsibility towards our families. The Stonekeeper, who is also the leader of the clan, has been able to protect the village from humans for many years. Not only that, he has also been able to create such a mechanism that the village is completely cut-off from humans. Firstly, he made the villagers believe that their mountain was placed on a floating cloud. He also made them create the clouds through steam which they never knew they did. All they knew was that they were feeding the elephants holding the clouds. He made them believe in many such superstitions just to keep them away from danger. His only motive was to be ‘better safe than sorry’.
Percy, the human teaches us about integrity. Initially, he was tempted to create fake news about the Yetis with the help of his co-worker Brenda but later when he experienced the truth about them, he stood for them. He could’ve used all the media that he had on his phone to become rich, but he chose to delete them making people believe that the whole ‘Yeti’ thing was a hoax. He also teaches us about taking a stand for our friends.
Migo teaches us that the stones (our perceptions and assumptions) are not always right. We always need to dig deeper and find the truth even when it doesn’t look true and a lie is sometimes so evidently true. When the Stonekeeper showed him the visuals of how humans harmed Yetis in the past, it was quite evident to Migo because his first encounter with a human (Percy) too was not too friendly. However, he forced himself not to believe what he saw and continued pursuing the truth. Meechee, Kolka and Gwangi teach us about teamwork and confidentiality.
The most important lesson that I personally learnt is from Fleem, the pessimist. The best part is when he is counting the pros and cons before jumping off the cliff when the rest of his friends have already jumped. I hadn’t realized this until I watched it in the movie how important it is to take some major decisions thoughtfully. I personally have made many mistakes in taking hasty decisions.
Smallfoot is not just for kids. It has a much deeper meaning and learning even for adults. It teaches us integrity, responsibility, the passion of finding the truth and taking a stand for our friends.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
L0rd_DaniilOct 6, 2018
This cartoon is a great example of what is created for children, but makes their parents think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryOct 7, 2018
Life is happy for a village of Bigfoot creatures living in seclusion high in the mountains, until one of them (voiced by Channing Tatum) discovers a human (James Corden). Same thing with this animated film, it bounds out of the gate with aLife is happy for a village of Bigfoot creatures living in seclusion high in the mountains, until one of them (voiced by Channing Tatum) discovers a human (James Corden). Same thing with this animated film, it bounds out of the gate with a bouncy song and lots of physical comedy. When the titular character starts to complicate the story, the fun starts to dip, while messages of acceptance move to the fore. None of the characters, including expected zany supporting roles are especially memorable. The remaining musical numbers aren't as inventive or catchy. Even though there's plenty of energy, the level of fun never really returns, but there's probably sufficient entertainment value for young audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewOct 4, 2018
When I first saw the trailers to both The LEGO Movie and Zootopia, each to me looked childish with humor practically designed to annoy me, then once seeing them respectively after the overwhelming praise came in, wow: the incredible comedicWhen I first saw the trailers to both The LEGO Movie and Zootopia, each to me looked childish with humor practically designed to annoy me, then once seeing them respectively after the overwhelming praise came in, wow: the incredible comedic depth of The LEGO Movie blew me away, while Zootopia easily became my favorite movie of 2016! I was so impressed by how both communicated deep political themes in a fashion that kids can understand, something more animated films need to pay more attention to.

How does that relate to Smallfoot? Well, from the trailer alone, I expected surface-level substance made just for kids and nobody else, and the finished product is in fact a bit more than that. While not better than The LEGO Movie or Zootopia, the Warner Animation Group still provide surprisingly deep social commentary about border control, abuse of the working class, communication with differences, and even past religious influence on an economic climate.

The pale blue yeti colony upon a Himalayan mountaintop are not like the rising and setting sun they worship, they follow a strict belief system written on stone tablets; if it’s not written in stone (literally), it’s false. Yes, even if it means the stones say a yak’s anus created their mountain which giant mammoths hold up on their backs, they believe it. These folks are under the rule of a Stonekeeper who wears these laws. Those rough ancient stones make the Stonekeeper appear clung to past ideas that weigh him down, along with every worker who labor for nothing but to cover up a big political lie that could explain why there’s more clouds in the sky. That doesn’t make this land any more believable unfortunately: within this ice-behemoth utopia, the mammoths are dogs and the snails are lamps, which proves nothing more than servitude for the convenience of gags over common sense, much like any computer animation studio that isn’t Disney or Pixar.

Anyhow, the main character of the story, Migo, has a father who holds a crucial duty of headbutting a giant gong via slingshot morning after morning to wake the giant snail (sun) in the sky. His head is flattened from continual gong striking—a hazardous old tradition that Migo will someday assume. That’s why he feels a calling to something greater, something new, something that… starts with a slow-motion pratfall when he slips on snow. Yeah… there’s still a lot of cheap humor that makes the first two acts a little tedious. The blandness of the feature gets to be a bit more noticeable once Migo meets a human named Percy, or the mythical “smallfoot.” A language barrier prevents proper communication between these two as an attempt to drive the film’s heart, although not enough boosts their bond to the extent of WALL-E and EVE.

At least the architecture of rock murals influenced by the yetis’ mythological beliefs give some extra meaning in the visuals, including a yellow butterfly (representing new thinking) frozen inside a blue icicle (representing old thinking) focused on during one musical number. Yes, there’s numerous dull songs scattered throughout as if an attempt to rip off Disney, none of which are a “Circle of Life” or “Hakuna Matata” kind of deal. The staging of these songs is unimaginative too, as Percy at one point leads a love song surrounded by YouTube videos against blackness, which just looks forced. Also, the Stonekeeper raps, which doesn’t make sense considering he would have no way of knowing what such a music genre is. As much as the artists try to convey a love for nature, it can’t lift a story dragged by a constantly quick pace.

Though the well-done animation itself does masterfully blow Migo’s hair to a thick blizzard that blankets the view, much more attractive than anything similar from twenty years ago. Plus, the facial expressions are just right, unhidden and memorable to enhance some nice laughs scattered throughout. One of the more notable examples includes a toilet paper roll dubbed a “scroll of invisible wisdom,” plenty funny enough to sustain excitement. But those genuinely funny moments are far from consistent, as the poor directorial pacing ends numerous jokes way too soon for an effective punchline. The direction suffers a bit too from the painful slapstick that defies physics: Migo’s rubbery body survives falling 500 feet then getting sandwiched between two rock pillars. Yeah, it’s a cartoon, but such a lack of care in establishing real danger removes all tension.

That’s really the whole kit-and-kaboodle of Smallfoot: despite how its main human character plans to fake yeti sightings for the sake of viewers, there’s still the other useless plot devices, such as a dead mother, that stop this butterfly from fully emerging from its chrysalis. Therefore, the harmless entertainment will keep the kids entertained, with just enough depth to make the parents not tear their hair out; and that’s the truth.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Player2-WaterOct 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. E-Value: 8
Acting: 8
Plot: 8

Migo (Tatum) is a Yeti who lived in a hidden village in the mountains above the clouds. While learning how to ring a gong from his father in the morning (by catapulting and hitting the gong with the head), he missed the gong and flew out of the village. Out there, he discovered a human pilot (who crashed his plane) which he and the Yetis called them ‘smallfoot’ as the Yetis believed they are just a legend.

Unable to prove the existence of a human (or smallfoot) to the Yetis in his village, the village chief, Stonekeeper, banished him until he can come to his senses. With the help of the Stonekeeper’s daughter, Meechee (Zendaya) and her secret group which she led called Smallfoot Evidentiary Society, they helped him go down below the clouds to bring a human up to the village to prove their existence and end his banishment.

At a local town, Percy Patterson (Corden) is a wildlife documentary filmmaker; saw an opportunity after he learnt the existence of the Yetis from the human pilot who crashed his plane earlier. Hoping to revive his career, he begins his quest to look for Yetis until he sees Migo in town with his own eyes. With a human meeting a Yeti in public, the comical, misunderstanding and misadventures starts here.

Although this movie may not be as hype as Disney or Pixar movies, this movie is still fun and enjoyable for younger viewers. The plot of the movie is simple to understand and not a rocket science. The songs in this movie are quite nice and I can see that the cast put some efforts in singing which I totally enjoyed it. There are many funny moments in the movie that can tickle your bone, especially with scenes involving a ‘communication’ between human and Yeti.

While the movie does not exactly utilise a big bad villain, it also means that not every movies intended for younger viewers must have a big bad villain. As long as the story is good and well executed, the lack of big bad villain can be overlook. If you are planning to take your children for some weekend family activity, give this movie a shot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mark_OOct 12, 2018
This was a fun movie to see... My son and I really enjoyed it! It was a good and unique story which kept our interest throughout. Characters were very well developed and endearing to the audience. Just a fun ride! Definitely will watch itThis was a fun movie to see... My son and I really enjoyed it! It was a good and unique story which kept our interest throughout. Characters were very well developed and endearing to the audience. Just a fun ride! Definitely will watch it again using boxxy software. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
xjvjvxOct 19, 2018
"Small foot" has nothing you want in a children's musical.The songs are cheesy, the story is an awful plot. And could be a offence to any religious groups.You do not want to go and spend a lot of money on this film. Once you finally get"Small foot" has nothing you want in a children's musical.The songs are cheesy, the story is an awful plot. And could be a offence to any religious groups.You do not want to go and spend a lot of money on this film. Once you finally get closer into the movie its boring right there. The movie has a lot of good actors,singers,ext. But they don't deliver the juiciness you want. So saying that it is trying to be a Disney musical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews