Entertainment Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: January 11, 2019
4.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6
Mixed:
8
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
LamontRaymondJan 11, 2019
No, it's not an ultra-sophisticated sci-fi flick, but what it's got in spades is FUN! Keanu is in top form, and I love Alice Eve in it. It explores and plays out a variety of interesting cloning and brain mapping scenarios, and it's grippingNo, it's not an ultra-sophisticated sci-fi flick, but what it's got in spades is FUN! Keanu is in top form, and I love Alice Eve in it. It explores and plays out a variety of interesting cloning and brain mapping scenarios, and it's gripping in a way that so many of these big, dumb Marvel and DC flicks are not. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
TryASummersaultJan 13, 2019
5.6/10 An extremely scattered, rushed, and illogical VOD caliber amalgamation of recycled synthetic/cloning sci/fi concepts somehow on a robust 30 million dollar budget. I really wonder how this was made for a whopping 30m budget and turned5.6/10 An extremely scattered, rushed, and illogical VOD caliber amalgamation of recycled synthetic/cloning sci/fi concepts somehow on a robust 30 million dollar budget. I really wonder how this was made for a whopping 30m budget and turned out so laughably mediocre especially with Keanu Reeves involved. It truly plays out like a VOD type 3m budget film with some awful acting, messy plotting, dull dialogue, and worst of all abhorrent mid 90s like CGI. While the intro abruptly intrigues somewhat with an ambitious enough sequence of events, it unravels into ridiculous yet watchable territory quickly. Most of the film drags on until an insane conclusion which at least swings for the fence with some exciting moments albeit nonsensical. Overall it's a very forgettable film that doesn't deliver much ultimately, that happens to have Keanu in it. If you're a fan of Keanu, it's worth watching but don't expect much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Compi24Jan 12, 2019
In traditional January movie fashion, Jeffrey Nachmanoff's "Replicas" is nearly unwatchable, featuring some of the worst acting and visual effects you'll see all year (Yes, already). It's a movie that's tied together with just enoughIn traditional January movie fashion, Jeffrey Nachmanoff's "Replicas" is nearly unwatchable, featuring some of the worst acting and visual effects you'll see all year (Yes, already). It's a movie that's tied together with just enough coherence and competence to keep you in your seat, but not enough freshness, logic, or common sense to prevent you from becoming aware of just how awful the movie is that you're watching. Truly terrible in nearly every regard. A sure-fire "must avoid." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ferrydustJan 15, 2019
I'm glad I watched it. However. This story would have been better served by spanning it over several seasons of episodes; there is way way way too much going on. I'm a staunch sci-fi fan, yet ALL the scifi things justI'm glad I watched it. However. This story would have been better served by spanning it over several seasons of episodes; there is way way way too much going on. I'm a staunch sci-fi fan, yet ALL the scifi things just happened/progressed/clicked so quickly; the brilliance of scifi is how people respond and cope and grow (or not) in the face of crisis and change and opportunity and realization. Because so much was happening and the transitions so blisteringly fast, the human component was likewise skimmed. I'd watch the same type of film again, though couldn't commend it, and will remain sad that better justice wasn't done to the story, actors, and concepts by giving them a proper format rather than an ultra-abridged movie version. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FlorentineJan 15, 2019
Don't understand the resentment of this movie. I enjoyed it from start to finish. There was no bad acting! I admit it was a bit unbelievable cloning three people in your basement, but let's give them a little poetic license. The techDon't understand the resentment of this movie. I enjoyed it from start to finish. There was no bad acting! I admit it was a bit unbelievable cloning three people in your basement, but let's give them a little poetic license. The tech stuff may have been wrong or inaccurate, but I'm too old to know if the tech was accurate or not. I just know I liked the movie. And, I almost didn't see it because of the bad ratings. I have enjoyed sci fi since I was a kid in the 1950s. I'm getting tired of the super hero movies.....now that's bad acting, writing and dialogue! Don't see any of them anymore. Don't believe good ratings for them.....not possible! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Davrosdaleks1Jan 12, 2019
In Replicas, Keanu Reeves is a scientist working for a company in a South American country focusing on cloning and trying to preserve the human mind on a computer. This turns out to be super convenient as the scientist loses his wife and kidsIn Replicas, Keanu Reeves is a scientist working for a company in a South American country focusing on cloning and trying to preserve the human mind on a computer. This turns out to be super convenient as the scientist loses his wife and kids in a car crash. Grief-stricken, he clones their bodies and transfers their consciousnesses (as one does). What results is a surprisingly amateurish effort considering the lead.

The dialogue is pretty weak. People do things that don't feel natural. Weirdly enough, the movie explains certain things pretty thoroughly and interestingly, such as the whole lazarus/rebirth process, while other plot points are just revealed abruptly and sloppily.

The acting doesn't help things either. Keanu is on autopilot here. The guy who plays his boss is hit-and-miss. But it's Alice Eve (She's Out of my League; Star Trek into Darkness) who has the worst performance. She acts like an animatronic. (And yes this is even before the cloning. It isn't a something-went-wrong-type situation.) She has two facial expressions: slightly happy and slightly worried. On the plus side, Silicon Valley's Ben Middleditch is the only one who manages to make all the dialogue work. My hat off to him.

It's sad that this movie was botched so badly because the actual general story could have worked. The concepts they explore here are fun and fascinating. A lot of thought did go into how they brought the family back.

To it's credit, the film does look really good. It has excellent color use and picturesque filming locations.

Overall, this is a bad film, but I wouldn't say it was downright painful. I didn't leave regretting having watched it. If you like making fun of bad movies, then you might want to check this out. Otherwise, I can't recommend this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Jk9785Jan 17, 2019
Did you really expect anything else? With "Replicas", we have an unbelievably stupid sci-fi flick with some of Keanu's worst acting ever (and that's saying a lot). It's unintentionally hilarious and just everything was horrible. It's theDid you really expect anything else? With "Replicas", we have an unbelievably stupid sci-fi flick with some of Keanu's worst acting ever (and that's saying a lot). It's unintentionally hilarious and just everything was horrible. It's the worst film of 2019, and at the time of writing, it's only 17 January. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
qbaseJan 14, 2019
H ταινία θέλει να έχει μια ωραία ιδέα και να καταφέρει να ενσωματώσει πλοκή και δράση, ωστόσο καταλήγει να αποτελεί μια ανούσια προσπάθεια που καταλήγει αντιγράφει πολλά από το είδος και να μην εστιάζει τελικά πουθενά.H ταινία θέλει να έχει μια ωραία ιδέα και να καταφέρει να ενσωματώσει πλοκή και δράση, ωστόσο καταλήγει να αποτελεί μια ανούσια προσπάθεια που καταλήγει αντιγράφει πολλά από το είδος και να μην εστιάζει τελικά πουθενά.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews