Entertainment Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: January 11, 2019
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 46 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
20
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TryASummersaultJan 13, 2019
5.6/10 An extremely scattered, rushed, and illogical VOD caliber amalgamation of recycled synthetic/cloning sci/fi concepts somehow on a robust 30 million dollar budget. I really wonder how this was made for a whopping 30m budget and turned5.6/10 An extremely scattered, rushed, and illogical VOD caliber amalgamation of recycled synthetic/cloning sci/fi concepts somehow on a robust 30 million dollar budget. I really wonder how this was made for a whopping 30m budget and turned out so laughably mediocre especially with Keanu Reeves involved. It truly plays out like a VOD type 3m budget film with some awful acting, messy plotting, dull dialogue, and worst of all abhorrent mid 90s like CGI. While the intro abruptly intrigues somewhat with an ambitious enough sequence of events, it unravels into ridiculous yet watchable territory quickly. Most of the film drags on until an insane conclusion which at least swings for the fence with some exciting moments albeit nonsensical. Overall it's a very forgettable film that doesn't deliver much ultimately, that happens to have Keanu in it. If you're a fan of Keanu, it's worth watching but don't expect much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Compi24Jan 12, 2019
In traditional January movie fashion, Jeffrey Nachmanoff's "Replicas" is nearly unwatchable, featuring some of the worst acting and visual effects you'll see all year (Yes, already). It's a movie that's tied together with just enoughIn traditional January movie fashion, Jeffrey Nachmanoff's "Replicas" is nearly unwatchable, featuring some of the worst acting and visual effects you'll see all year (Yes, already). It's a movie that's tied together with just enough coherence and competence to keep you in your seat, but not enough freshness, logic, or common sense to prevent you from becoming aware of just how awful the movie is that you're watching. Truly terrible in nearly every regard. A sure-fire "must avoid." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DubeauJan 26, 2019
Replicas had a good idea to start with. The story has many holes in it. Almost everything takes shortcuts. The science, the absence of 4 persons for 17 days, the police, the bad guys. The acting is pretty ordinary. The best performances comesReplicas had a good idea to start with. The story has many holes in it. Almost everything takes shortcuts. The science, the absence of 4 persons for 17 days, the police, the bad guys. The acting is pretty ordinary. The best performances comes from the youngest actors. The plot's big revelation comes totally flat. I give it 48%. The kind of film you will forget tomorrow. That's why I am writing this review...before I forget about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondJan 11, 2019
No, it's not an ultra-sophisticated sci-fi flick, but what it's got in spades is FUN! Keanu is in top form, and I love Alice Eve in it. It explores and plays out a variety of interesting cloning and brain mapping scenarios, and it's grippingNo, it's not an ultra-sophisticated sci-fi flick, but what it's got in spades is FUN! Keanu is in top form, and I love Alice Eve in it. It explores and plays out a variety of interesting cloning and brain mapping scenarios, and it's gripping in a way that so many of these big, dumb Marvel and DC flicks are not. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Jk9785Jan 17, 2019
Did you really expect anything else? With "Replicas", we have an unbelievably stupid sci-fi flick with some of Keanu's worst acting ever (and that's saying a lot). It's unintentionally hilarious and just everything was horrible. It's theDid you really expect anything else? With "Replicas", we have an unbelievably stupid sci-fi flick with some of Keanu's worst acting ever (and that's saying a lot). It's unintentionally hilarious and just everything was horrible. It's the worst film of 2019, and at the time of writing, it's only 17 January. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
qbaseJan 14, 2019
H ταινία θέλει να έχει μια ωραία ιδέα και να καταφέρει να ενσωματώσει πλοκή και δράση, ωστόσο καταλήγει να αποτελεί μια ανούσια προσπάθεια που καταλήγει αντιγράφει πολλά από το είδος και να μην εστιάζει τελικά πουθενά.H ταινία θέλει να έχει μια ωραία ιδέα και να καταφέρει να ενσωματώσει πλοκή και δράση, ωστόσο καταλήγει να αποτελεί μια ανούσια προσπάθεια που καταλήγει αντιγράφει πολλά από το είδος και να μην εστιάζει τελικά πουθενά.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
JoeCoolMar 23, 2019
Keanu just doesn't seem to be made to play a scientist, he thrives in an action environment. The original idea of the story might hold some interesting possibilities but with the glaring holes, it's just not there yet. Semi-watchable, neverKeanu just doesn't seem to be made to play a scientist, he thrives in an action environment. The original idea of the story might hold some interesting possibilities but with the glaring holes, it's just not there yet. Semi-watchable, never at any point really good or believable. Exciting for a while. A 3 is too harsh, semi-watchable after all but the holes in the story really stop this from being any good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
moviemitch96Feb 5, 2019
Yes, I'm well aware of how late I am getting around to this, but I wasn't even planning on checking this one out after the reviews that it got, but reluctantly tagged along with a friend who wanted to check it out at the dollar theater. And IYes, I'm well aware of how late I am getting around to this, but I wasn't even planning on checking this one out after the reviews that it got, but reluctantly tagged along with a friend who wanted to check it out at the dollar theater. And I gotta say, while it wasn't terrible like I feared it would be, it's definitely the half-baked and uninspired sci-fi romp that the critics told us it was. With iffy effects, mediocre acting from all involved (including Keanu Reeves unfortunately), unintentionally humorous scenes, and countless sci-fi tropes and cliches thrown into one jumbled mess of a film, it's definitely easily forgettable and disposable. Overall, there are only a small handful of interesting moments, but obviously nowhere near enough to make up for the rest of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ferrydustJan 15, 2019
I'm glad I watched it. However. This story would have been better served by spanning it over several seasons of episodes; there is way way way too much going on. I'm a staunch sci-fi fan, yet ALL the scifi things justI'm glad I watched it. However. This story would have been better served by spanning it over several seasons of episodes; there is way way way too much going on. I'm a staunch sci-fi fan, yet ALL the scifi things just happened/progressed/clicked so quickly; the brilliance of scifi is how people respond and cope and grow (or not) in the face of crisis and change and opportunity and realization. Because so much was happening and the transitions so blisteringly fast, the human component was likewise skimmed. I'd watch the same type of film again, though couldn't commend it, and will remain sad that better justice wasn't done to the story, actors, and concepts by giving them a proper format rather than an ultra-abridged movie version. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HealingToolboxFeb 12, 2019
This critic perceived it as I did, a movie blundering into areas of values and morality--without anything to say. Only for the bored on Redbox.
Austin Chronicle - Richard Whittaker
Jan 14, 2019 St. John's script is the underlying bug in the
This critic perceived it as I did, a movie blundering into areas of values and morality--without anything to say. Only for the bored on Redbox.
Austin Chronicle - Richard Whittaker
Jan 14, 2019
St. John's script is the underlying bug in the code. Science fiction is at its best when it's a morality tale – especially when dealing with tech, such as brain mapping, that is seemingly within our grasp. Yet there's no moral or emotional weight to anything William does.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SSRJan 27, 2019
The premise is interesting, but numerous plot holes you can drive a lorry through, Keanu's usual odd wooden acting, and a cast that also weren't great. It was just about watchable to see where the chaos was going to end up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FlorentineJan 15, 2019
Don't understand the resentment of this movie. I enjoyed it from start to finish. There was no bad acting! I admit it was a bit unbelievable cloning three people in your basement, but let's give them a little poetic license. The techDon't understand the resentment of this movie. I enjoyed it from start to finish. There was no bad acting! I admit it was a bit unbelievable cloning three people in your basement, but let's give them a little poetic license. The tech stuff may have been wrong or inaccurate, but I'm too old to know if the tech was accurate or not. I just know I liked the movie. And, I almost didn't see it because of the bad ratings. I have enjoyed sci fi since I was a kid in the 1950s. I'm getting tired of the super hero movies.....now that's bad acting, writing and dialogue! Don't see any of them anymore. Don't believe good ratings for them.....not possible! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Live2RiseMar 5, 2019
It really does boggle my mind to see a film this messy, this incoherent, this lacking in substance and plot, so rampantly silly and so clueless in story direction this early in 2019. But this is what “Replicas” gives us and it’s the first bigIt really does boggle my mind to see a film this messy, this incoherent, this lacking in substance and plot, so rampantly silly and so clueless in story direction this early in 2019. But this is what “Replicas” gives us and it’s the first big steaming heap of feces this year has given us. It’s mundane, it’s carelessly stupid, the film is only funny when it’s unintentional, the acting is completely flat, the dialogue is just UGH, there’s no coherent direction due to the film not sticking to one story, so many gaping plot points and questions are shown and asked, none of which actually get answered or resolved, every attempt at forced emotion fails and if anything, Keanu Reeves is basically acting like a parody of himself in a half-assed performance, like how he was in the 80’s and 90’s. Speaking of 80’s and 90’s, I think that’s the best way to describe this movie: it’s a bad 80’s sci-fi flick, 90’s sci-fi flick released in the dumping grounds of January. And boy does it feel like it. Nothing in this film makes any sense. And you wanna know what also doesn’t make sense? The fact that this film has the audacity, the nerve to try and leave a cliffhanger for a potential sequel that’s never gonna see the light of day, it’s just—if this thing does get a sequel......I—

I have no words. I’m done.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Davrosdaleks1Jan 12, 2019
In Replicas, Keanu Reeves is a scientist working for a company in a South American country focusing on cloning and trying to preserve the human mind on a computer. This turns out to be super convenient as the scientist loses his wife and kidsIn Replicas, Keanu Reeves is a scientist working for a company in a South American country focusing on cloning and trying to preserve the human mind on a computer. This turns out to be super convenient as the scientist loses his wife and kids in a car crash. Grief-stricken, he clones their bodies and transfers their consciousnesses (as one does). What results is a surprisingly amateurish effort considering the lead.

The dialogue is pretty weak. People do things that don't feel natural. Weirdly enough, the movie explains certain things pretty thoroughly and interestingly, such as the whole lazarus/rebirth process, while other plot points are just revealed abruptly and sloppily.

The acting doesn't help things either. Keanu is on autopilot here. The guy who plays his boss is hit-and-miss. But it's Alice Eve (She's Out of my League; Star Trek into Darkness) who has the worst performance. She acts like an animatronic. (And yes this is even before the cloning. It isn't a something-went-wrong-type situation.) She has two facial expressions: slightly happy and slightly worried. On the plus side, Silicon Valley's Ben Middleditch is the only one who manages to make all the dialogue work. My hat off to him.

It's sad that this movie was botched so badly because the actual general story could have worked. The concepts they explore here are fun and fascinating. A lot of thought did go into how they brought the family back.

To it's credit, the film does look really good. It has excellent color use and picturesque filming locations.

Overall, this is a bad film, but I wouldn't say it was downright painful. I didn't leave regretting having watched it. If you like making fun of bad movies, then you might want to check this out. Otherwise, I can't recommend this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews