Warner Bros. | Release Date: June 8, 2018
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 341 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
136
Mixed:
101
Negative:
104
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
miccaelJun 8, 2018
Disappointing. Nothing new. Change cast's gender, change cash to jewels. Dialogues are boring. WTF was Corden doing there? His nose is everywhere nowadays, getting annoying. Feels like fangirls made this movie. It does not feel like uniqueDisappointing. Nothing new. Change cast's gender, change cash to jewels. Dialogues are boring. WTF was Corden doing there? His nose is everywhere nowadays, getting annoying. Feels like fangirls made this movie. It does not feel like unique movie. Sure, everyone looks good, generally fun, but we have seen heist movie how many times now?
Movie is not good as original, no intense moments like original. The ending part was weirdly made so you go "oh wait, it's not over?" ...
Better script was NEEDED here! Actresses are good, don't get me wrong, but this would have been same review no matter the gender of actors.
Expand
15 of 19 users found this helpful154
All this user's reviews
3
SankyaJun 9, 2018
This could have been fun and creative but instead it is boring and formulaic. Even Ocean's 12 and 13, which were not that good, had more spark and felt more genuine than this movie. It's a shame because this cast had a lot of potential andThis could have been fun and creative but instead it is boring and formulaic. Even Ocean's 12 and 13, which were not that good, had more spark and felt more genuine than this movie. It's a shame because this cast had a lot of potential and would have had more chemistry if they had better dialogue to work with. Expand
18 of 23 users found this helpful185
All this user's reviews
2
TomHugJun 9, 2018
A snoozefest. Zero chemistry between Bullock and Blanchett. You know when Anne Hathaway seems to be the most down-to-earth and funny character, you've got problems. I wanted to like this, since I liked the other Ocean's films. But frankly itA snoozefest. Zero chemistry between Bullock and Blanchett. You know when Anne Hathaway seems to be the most down-to-earth and funny character, you've got problems. I wanted to like this, since I liked the other Ocean's films. But frankly it was pretty boring. Pluses: some laughs when James Cordon's character appears. There is marginally interesting plot twist later in the story. Expand
25 of 32 users found this helpful257
All this user's reviews
1
alleeJun 8, 2018
they movie tried. but Im not a critic so I dont have to sit through a 2 hour movie and pretend that I liked this film.
24 of 32 users found this helpful248
All this user's reviews
0
SuperMax156Jun 9, 2018
Yeah, what can you say about this, its got great actresses and all, but it is just so lifeless and by the numbers. It is almost as if it was made for political rather than artistic reasons.
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
0
Zisis151Jun 10, 2018
Another gender swap movie trying to show equality and how "empowered" women are.. It belongs in the garbage bin along with the people it caters to.
18 of 29 users found this helpful1811
All this user's reviews
8
CTHReviewsJul 14, 2018
Not a great movie, but a fun heist film with fun twists and turns. Love the costume designing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
eagleeyevikingSep 28, 2018
While "Ocean's 8" is sporadically entertaining, light throughout, and has a few chuckle-worthy moments, it's execution by Gary Ross is absolutely lifeless. It focuses too much on creating a low-pressure & lighthearted mood, that it forgets toWhile "Ocean's 8" is sporadically entertaining, light throughout, and has a few chuckle-worthy moments, it's execution by Gary Ross is absolutely lifeless. It focuses too much on creating a low-pressure & lighthearted mood, that it forgets to include a strong motive to steal, a compelling villain, or any tension whatsoever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
PipeCAug 4, 2018
The new progeny of Ocean's teamed up with Gary Ross loses the jackpot by prioritizing scenic glamour and abusive fidelity. This criminal would-be new series was one of the first in the uncontrollable avalanche of reboots/spin-offs/remakesThe new progeny of Ocean's teamed up with Gary Ross loses the jackpot by prioritizing scenic glamour and abusive fidelity. This criminal would-be new series was one of the first in the uncontrollable avalanche of reboots/spin-offs/remakes coming from old-school classics and modern jewels strategically refocused on a female cast. A couple of years ago, when this news reached the ears of the cagey fanatics, a maelstrom of opinions began a still-latent debate about the pros and cons of making films on one-time used bases, creative recycling. This controversy got worse just when the name of the director in control came out: Gary Ross. The "The Hunger Games" filmmaker doesn't have the same experience or vigor behind the cameras as Soderbergh - just compare and contrast the quantity and quality of their films, - and that's clear in his newest movie realizing how much he based on the original trilogy to bring forward his vision and not lose control in the path of this simple, transient story. His ability as a narrator is enough to keep the idea on track, but the originals' dynamic pace and narrative precision are missed. That's why Ross, who is credited as screenwriter alongside Olivia Milch, doesn't give interesting additions to enrich this thieving universe suitably, however, there's a slight improvement with respect to the sequels thanks to its effortless, fine development, getting a pretty cool and manageable trip. The film aims to exalt the clan of women through customary feats and challenges, but does the opposite because handles elements that undeniably pigeonhole most of these ladies in the tiresome gender bromide as the terrible flicks it avoided to become: the MET Gala, designer dresses not as extravagant as expected, a multi-million dollar diamond necklace as the bull's eye and stereotypes of every culture spilled over the supporting characters. Although said setting works, it distorts one of the strongest justifications for this cinematic update.

One of the biggest issues is that these intrepid thieves have practically the way free, there are no defined antagonists, actually, there is not one, neither James Corden's role manages to stay in that place and makes difficult to build true suspense and anxiety before an event that can change the course of the game, even when things get rough, the most dangerous enemies are two irrelevant FBI agents. It's a mildly amusing experience, to tell the truth, the story would lack comical spark if it were not for a couple of supporting characters and a few especial diverting situations. We're in front of a film that focuses its strengths fully on the plotting and execution of the robbery, although it doesn't get it too well.

The cinematography of Eigil Bryld gives the illusion repeatedly of being a kind of extended advertisement for the most famous museums, shops, and cities, since there is enough material focusing on brands, paintings, sculptures, and buildings, neglecting the mise-en-scène of the core story by trying to give a supposedly clever context. There are plenty of glamour and style in the performance of the film, especially in certain costumes designed for the recreation of the MET-special attention to a museum room showcasing the royalty's relics and jewelry over a moat, a particularly beautiful setting, - however, taking into account the endless visual opportunities that could be expressed on the most important gala-event in America with a different theme, it never makes an accurate use of this great potential because no designs are exhibited with the expected dimensions. Daniel Pemberton's soundtrack plays by the rules as for the original melodies and despite he uses a few ones in his score, he applies small variations that fit well, while his own compositions extol the scenes thanks to the idiosyncratic rhythm, harmony and pace of the most traditional heist movies, no doubt, Pemberton did a great job for this half-baked flick. "Ocean's 8" by Gary Ross is an entertaining, hard-to-avoid Hollywood heist film starring an all-star all-female cast that might have worked better as a standalone movie, nevertheless, this is a spin-off of the hit Steven Soderbergh trilogy that dilates the abusive use of some features that were attractive and groundbreaking at that time but today simply don't convince absolutely. The performances are a pleasure, even with the well-worn material to adapt, the script is laconic in its purposes and lightweight in the execution of itself, the direction by Ross gets to set up a moderately-glamorous summer film that satisfies the undemanding viewers running away from the sunniest days of the summer. If Warner Bros. has in mind to build a new franchise on these capable Ocean's, it must shake the scheme up and implement new and different moves to create its own criminal world, not one living under the shadow of Clooney's Danny Ocean.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeJul 25, 2018
There just seems to be a trend whenever it comes to a random classic film and the new crew femalizing it. Ghostbusters had this trend in 2016 and it was so bad. What makes Ocean's 8 different though? They averted problems that 2016'sThere just seems to be a trend whenever it comes to a random classic film and the new crew femalizing it. Ghostbusters had this trend in 2016 and it was so bad. What makes Ocean's 8 different though? They averted problems that 2016's Ghostbusters had. Call me crazy, but I find this one a lot better as there's actually more effort put onto it. What I actually mean by effort is that Ocean's 8 is basically a femalized version of Ocean's Eleven. Same film, different gender. Please fix this problem for the next femalized take of a classic movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Therno3456Jul 10, 2018
The movie feels like a linear compilation of events, none atypical. If it wasn't for the infatuation I had developed for the cast and their solutions for the problems they faced the review would be a straight up 2. But the characters andThe movie feels like a linear compilation of events, none atypical. If it wasn't for the infatuation I had developed for the cast and their solutions for the problems they faced the review would be a straight up 2. But the characters and their interactions aside the dilemmas of their heist were fun to follow and watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Slovenly_MuseAug 25, 2018
The stellar performances (especially Hathaway) elevate this to a 7/10 for me, but this cast exceeded by far the material they were given to work with. A good con makes the impossible look easy. This one made what should have beenThe stellar performances (especially Hathaway) elevate this to a 7/10 for me, but this cast exceeded by far the material they were given to work with. A good con makes the impossible look easy. This one made what should have been straightforward seem unnecessarily difficult, through a thin script that seemed to WANT to be the "feel-good, girl-power" movie critics feared, rather than the truly layered and dynamic heist movie it deserved to be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
neldotJun 11, 2018
Disappointing and boring. There is no real challenge to overcome, there is no sense of danger, and no chemistry between the female protagonists. The movie just goes by, with some funny moments from time to time. But a mediocre action, even ifDisappointing and boring. There is no real challenge to overcome, there is no sense of danger, and no chemistry between the female protagonists. The movie just goes by, with some funny moments from time to time. But a mediocre action, even if rather funny, movie, is really not enough to stand out for this franchise. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
3
s3cret_stangJun 16, 2018
Boring, terrible writing, mediocre story. I went with a date and she even shrugged at the ending. In comparison to Clooney ocean 11 it sucks in every way. There was 0 acting chemistry and barely any humor. Shame on the studio for trying toBoring, terrible writing, mediocre story. I went with a date and she even shrugged at the ending. In comparison to Clooney ocean 11 it sucks in every way. There was 0 acting chemistry and barely any humor. Shame on the studio for trying to catch the sjw wave. Shame on **** critics for not pointing out how terrible of a movie it was and how the 'all star cast" was sooooo bland. Shame on anyone who gave this trash a positive review. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesJun 9, 2018
It’s nothing special, and its big twist is inadvertently spoiled in the marketing, but the cast is too great for this to be a total disappointment. If you like the OCEAN films or any of these ladies, it’s a good time at the movies.
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
1
ryguJun 15, 2018
Just another copy/paste inserting women into a movie to satisfy the SJW crowd. Not funny, not original, not exciting at all. I wouldn't even recommend watching it for free.
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
4
ProteusJun 9, 2018
Takes coasting to a new level. This is like watching Lebron James dribble twice and make a layup.
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
2
skobbJun 15, 2018
No good. The basic message is: It's OK to steal if you get away with it. Of course, the film makers would argue that their job is to entertain, not to deliver a statement about the right way to live. I guess there is a market for that kind ofNo good. The basic message is: It's OK to steal if you get away with it. Of course, the film makers would argue that their job is to entertain, not to deliver a statement about the right way to live. I guess there is a market for that kind of product, but I'm not in it.

Also: So many characters were crammed into the plot that none of them had TIME to develop.

And finally: I'm amazed that the Met and Cartier were willing to lend their names to this implausible story.
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
5
GrantD243Jun 13, 2018
I like heist movies. I like them quite a bit, actually, but it is a hard genre to make something that hasn't been done before. American Animals, I feel like, succeeded in doing a different kind of heist movie. Ocean's 8, however, is nothingI like heist movies. I like them quite a bit, actually, but it is a hard genre to make something that hasn't been done before. American Animals, I feel like, succeeded in doing a different kind of heist movie. Ocean's 8, however, is nothing special, at all. It's nothing new, and honestly it was not even as entertaining as I was hoping it would be.

Story: The story of Ocean's 8 follows Debbie Ocean as she gets released from prison and reveals that she's been planning a heist for several years. She then gathers a crew to execute the heist. There is some fun to be had here, as one of the most fun parts of heist movies is when the characters are planning and preparing for the heist. However, it all seems so, so easy. Anytime the characters hit a snag, or run into something that may be a problem, it's not really a problem. They brush it off and almost instantly have a solution that works. There is never a feeling that the heist won't work out, or that some road block may cause a real problem for anyone involved. There are also several attempts at humor, but most of it fell flat. My showing wasn't sold out, but it was fairly full and there were maybe two moments when the audience collectively chuckled. It also doesn't help that apart from the set up...I honestly didn't find this movie as fun as I expected to. The actual heist is somewhat entertaining, but nothing special, and the rest of the third act (after the heist sequence is over) is honestly kind of boring. Acting: Everyone involved does a great job, which is almost a given these days in most major releases.. Unsurprisingly, Sandra Bullock is the standout among the main crew. Overall: Ocean's 8 is fine, I guess. Some people will enjoy it, some won't. It is cool that they had an all-female cast, but apart from that this movie is nothing to write home about.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
ValdiBJun 12, 2018
Ocean’s 8 is a fun heist flick, but it’s not as criminally terrific as Ocean’s 11. The casts’ chemistry is gr8. Anne Hathaway stole the show playing... what society expects her to act in real life and Helena Bonham Carter delivers on theOcean’s 8 is a fun heist flick, but it’s not as criminally terrific as Ocean’s 11. The casts’ chemistry is gr8. Anne Hathaway stole the show playing... what society expects her to act in real life and Helena Bonham Carter delivers on the humor, despite the occasional accent slips. In spite of this, the movie’s direction robs the excitement out of a promising yet stylish premise. Still, if you're looking for a more comedic approach to the Ocean franchise, this would be a breath of fresh air. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
foxgroveJun 27, 2018
The cast is the draw here and once you've said that you've exhausted all other possible interest in a film that gets by on a robbery. The robbery of an audience getting any entertainment value for their money. This is just a female cash in onThe cast is the draw here and once you've said that you've exhausted all other possible interest in a film that gets by on a robbery. The robbery of an audience getting any entertainment value for their money. This is just a female cash in on an already limited and indifferent franchise. The cast surprisingly underwhelm. I really never thought I would find Cate Blanchett this dull. Anne Hathaway is the acting thief here really seeming to enjoy herself, and the film always livens up when she is on screen. However, that doesn't mean there will be an Academy Award waiting. The performance is strident, not subtle! The film itself is dull for the first hour, boring even. The robbery of the necklace is well executed, but credibility in all areas is such an issue that this temporary respite from disdain is just that. James Cordon is surprisingly good as the fraud investigator, but his screen time is short and can't possibly save a film that is already lost. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
bionica_Jun 23, 2018
gostei bastante. o filme NÃO É UM REMAKE, MAS SIM UM SPIN OFF da franquia ocean's. ele é despretensioso e tem um único objetivo que é entreteter e ser divertido
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
thedaywalkerJun 23, 2018
This is a very enjoyable movie. Love it or hate it, you cannot deny the talent in it.

Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway and the rest of the cast do a great job, with a very shy script. Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock) makes for a
This is a very enjoyable movie. Love it or hate it, you cannot deny the talent in it.

Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway and the rest of the cast do a great job, with a very shy script. Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock) makes for a likable character, but the rest of the team didn't feel natural to me

The chemistry between all of them was great, i guess the big problem i have with this movie is, the lack of stakes, as in, they don't really look like they're scared of what's going to happen if it goes wrong, and the movie doesn't make any attempts to keep you guessing.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Jul 7, 2018
Ocean's Eight does an admirable job of both duplicating the formula of the original Ocean's Thirteen while doing its own thing. I've heard complaints from other online critics that the thieves in this don't have a real antagonist or majorOcean's Eight does an admirable job of both duplicating the formula of the original Ocean's Thirteen while doing its own thing. I've heard complaints from other online critics that the thieves in this don't have a real antagonist or major obstacles to their plan. I concede that but I feel that they're expecting this too much to be like Thirteen. Eight has more of a journey-than-destination vibe to it. It's funnier than the previous trilogy. It also feels like there is more emphasis on the characters, each with a distinctive personality and excellently acted by the all-star cast. Visually, the film lacks the dynamism of the previous trilogy's editing and camera work. Not to say the film is badly directed. The setting of the Met Gala is one of the film's highlights. The outfits and decorations for the event are basically visual porn and a fitting equivalent to the glamorous casino setting.

Personally, I found Eight to be entertaining, even if it isn't as ambitious as Thirteen.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
IndecisivePandaJun 20, 2018
Ocean's 8 was so beautifully written and by far of my favorites films released this year. The film had a multitude of twists and turns along with much humor. I was worried how critics would react to an all female cast, but I think these womenOcean's 8 was so beautifully written and by far of my favorites films released this year. The film had a multitude of twists and turns along with much humor. I was worried how critics would react to an all female cast, but I think these women delivered a phenomenal and memorable performance. They proved them wrong and showed that this movie was worth watching! I definitely think Ocean's 8 stands out on it's own from the others and is a must see for newcomers and fans of the originals! It's definitely a film you could watch over and over and I will be picking this one up when it's released on Blu-Ray. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
CmdrRJun 9, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you love this cast, you'll like this movie. I wish I could use the word 'love' twice. Truth is, though, this is a movie that never even tries to scribble outside the lines. They plan a heist. They conduct a heist. Aside from some not terribly interesting setbacks, everything goes according to plan. Worse, you get only a tiny amount of humor, mostly from James Cordon. I can forgive the plot holes -- and there are a bunch, but I can't understand all the missed opportunities. Two of the main characters have slept with the same guy and hate him. We get NOT ONE word or exchanged glance. ??? Also -- WHY did they kill Danny Ocean? OK, he 'might' not be dead, but that will only mean something when they make the inevitable cross-over film. For now, they used his death (yeah, it's faked so no spoiler alert call here) as a framing device. Why?? By what right do you kill off the hero of three movies? Not since Captain Kirk... or Superman... or Han Solo... Oh wait, I just answered my own question. This film is formula, right down to the flying box wipes. I'd laugh my balls off if they'd stuck in Frank Sinatra just to see if the audience was still awake. Alas, there's nothing daring here. It's just a movie with women we like. I guess that's fine... but, it could have been so much more. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
1
yerubandiJun 11, 2018
i really did not care if the movie was made up all girls or boys, but the story line so pathetic. if you know how to count the seven actress + Anne, the plot is pretty much open. All we could see was tons of make up. its okay to be natural,i really did not care if the movie was made up all girls or boys, but the story line so pathetic. if you know how to count the seven actress + Anne, the plot is pretty much open. All we could see was tons of make up. its okay to be natural, not every where make up is necessary. Only one worth watching in the movie was Rihanna. how could a special locked magnet fall off into the water fountain. no cameras captured it? Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeJun 8, 2018
a familiar heist with undercooked characters..

Ocean's Eight A spin-off like such shouldn't assume that the clock is going to resume ticking but instead will have to work from zero and even work harder considering the expectations it has to
a familiar heist with undercooked characters..

Ocean's Eight

A spin-off like such shouldn't assume that the clock is going to resume ticking but instead will have to work from zero and even work harder considering the expectations it has to satisfy. The camera work is appreciative and is shot beautifully too where its rich costume design makes it worth along with the up beating sound department that elevates its momentum. The enthusiasm and passion towards the project is clearly visible but the "fan-struck" charge isn't enough to feed off the audience for almost two hours. The characters depicted in here, are raw, chalky and taken from a typical heist genre features that never move pasts its dull sub-plot. The screenplay keeps the audience engaged but the most part of it, is the star power which isn't utilized to its best but left up to fate and charm. Gary Ross; the director, is quite convincing and stays true to the tone of the franchise with his decent execution skills but fails to create the anticipated impact on screen. Anne Hathaway is flat out hilarious in her portrayal of a bratty celebrity but other than that, the cast (Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Sarah Paulson and Helena Bonham Carter) is surprisingly enjoying a bit much to keep the crisp alive or factor in effectively and the primary reason would be the range and space which isn't much to explore. The stakes projected in here never communicates with the audience as the work behind it is somewhere lost in its self-created scrutiny and the urge to hold the cards up the sleeve until the final act arrives. Considering the strength and the potential of the cast, it seems like a swing and a miss on terms of originality and craft as the makers seems distracted by the commercial aspects of it. Ocean's Eight is a familiar heist with undercooked characters that is pretentious than it is feasible for the makers, actors and the audience.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
StellenJun 16, 2018
Completely bland and forgettable. It relies entirely on the pulling power of its stars, but is badly let down by the writing.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
1
ArogvatJun 18, 2018
Boring. Boring. Disappointing. This is real femwashing stupidity in screenplay.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
ubeguysmileyJun 17, 2018
Like the gender-flipped “Ghostbusters” before it, this movie lacks any real substance and character development. While there are moments that are enjoyable, the movie seems like it is trying to make a point that the "female version" can beLike the gender-flipped “Ghostbusters” before it, this movie lacks any real substance and character development. While there are moments that are enjoyable, the movie seems like it is trying to make a point that the "female version" can be just as good. Sadly it does not do this.

If this was not an "Ocean's" movie, but an original script, it would be absolutely panned, but seeing as it is a "female reboot" of course it will collect it's modicum of glory for waving the flag of feminism.

Stop making these reboots, sequels, prequels, and additional stories. Make a genuinely enjoyable, original, movie that will stand, or fall on it's actual merits. Not because it is a female remake of a successful movie franchise.

Watch it on stream, don't waste money going to the movies for this.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
MysticDingoJun 18, 2018
This is just another hollywood attempt at "Hey! Lets take a classic movie and flip the casts gender!!!" It's pure pc propaganda. The only reason that I'm giving it a 2 is because I don't trust these ratings sites algorithms to take 0's andThis is just another hollywood attempt at "Hey! Lets take a classic movie and flip the casts gender!!!" It's pure pc propaganda. The only reason that I'm giving it a 2 is because I don't trust these ratings sites algorithms to take 0's and 1's into account. They may be getting smarter though and will stop dropping any score below 5. . . Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
floppyjabjabJun 19, 2018
I could say whatever but really you know it's just a SJW feminist agenda. Don't even bother unless you actually hate yourself
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
joeyabukiJun 19, 2018
Enjoyable movie. Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock) wants to steal a 150 million dollar Cartier necklace at a museum during a dinner, so she gets out of jail and reunites with Lou (Cate Blanchett); they recruit a bunch of female thieves andEnjoyable movie. Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock) wants to steal a 150 million dollar Cartier necklace at a museum during a dinner, so she gets out of jail and reunites with Lou (Cate Blanchett); they recruit a bunch of female thieves and execute a very well planned strategy by Ocean and finally do it; when you think the movie is going to end, there is a twist and continues, so the movie doen't know when to end. 100% recommended. I want to watch a sequel right now. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
seanr06Jun 24, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yeah, what can you say about this, its got great actresses and all, but it is just so lifeless and by the numbers. It is almost as if it was made for political rather than artistic reasons. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
AndrudisJun 22, 2018
Would not recommend spend time on this movie. Plot and screenplay is mediocre at best. Looks like cheap remake of original "Ocean's 11" made just to grab some money from fans of original movie. Not worth it
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
FatalBrushJun 28, 2018
Although the movie had quite a strong cast, it failed to surprise. Some scenes were funny, the plot was sometimes creative and interesting. However, something was missing and thus I didn't really get caught by this movie. I'd say it's a movieAlthough the movie had quite a strong cast, it failed to surprise. Some scenes were funny, the plot was sometimes creative and interesting. However, something was missing and thus I didn't really get caught by this movie. I'd say it's a movie one could watch in an otherwise boring evening but it's not worth going to the cinema. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
SurgicalpumpJun 24, 2018
great propaganda, terrible movie shouldn’t have ever been made. Cast whining about bad reviews
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
EvanSJun 12, 2018
I would pay to watch this ensemble read a phone book for 90 minutes, but really this a hugely missed opportunity with serious lack of connection and chemistry and humor between these women and a workaday script that just move the mechanics ofI would pay to watch this ensemble read a phone book for 90 minutes, but really this a hugely missed opportunity with serious lack of connection and chemistry and humor between these women and a workaday script that just move the mechanics of the job. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJun 13, 2018
Sandra Bullock plays the mastermind behind an elaborate plot to snatch a diamond necklace right off the neck of its wearer at the Met Gala. She assembles a team that includes Cate Blanchett, Helena Bonham Carter, Rihanna, Mindy Kaling andSandra Bullock plays the mastermind behind an elaborate plot to snatch a diamond necklace right off the neck of its wearer at the Met Gala. She assembles a team that includes Cate Blanchett, Helena Bonham Carter, Rihanna, Mindy Kaling and Sara Paulson. While it's an interesting group, there's not a lot of amusing interactions or clever characterizations. This is more about the mechanizations of the heist than enjoying the personalities. The exception is Anne Hathaway, who seems to be relishing playing against type, as the self-absorbed movie-star who wears the jewels. There's lots of glamour (several of the women look over made up), some beautiful locations and a few dozen cameos (many of whom I didn't recognize). It's adequately entertaining, but not as sharp or smart as the earlier versions. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticSep 15, 2018
Fine is the best way to describe Ocean's 8, just fine. The cast all come to play and the story is pretty basic. It's never boring and for a one time watch it's enjoyable. Overall middle to high 6 a B-.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksJul 1, 2018
Though Sandy B and Cate Blanchett do an excellent job in this film, the script is far too safe and dull to make this movie interesting and the cast lacks the charisma of the original franchise.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
justwibiAug 19, 2018
it's not bad. just... to smooth... thanks God the ensemble cast was incredible!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
eli_fjrJun 26, 2018
No style/flair or intrigue that made the original great. Sandra Bullock, not sure she works as lead. 6/10.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DubeauAug 29, 2018
Ocean 8 was a fair movie. The acting was the strong point and the characters are well defined. The story was weaker. I mean the humor was not that great. The editing was too conventional and broke the pace at several occasions. Maybe the filmOcean 8 was a fair movie. The acting was the strong point and the characters are well defined. The story was weaker. I mean the humor was not that great. The editing was too conventional and broke the pace at several occasions. Maybe the film lacks hardship in doing the heist. It doesn't have any romance or love interest in it. I give it a 62%. It felt uninspired but the acting did save the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jun 30, 2018
So Hereditary has received the same reaction that films like It Comes At Night and The Witch received from the so-called "mainstream audience".
It was to be expected and it doesn't surprise me in the least.
But it does have reaffirmed to me
So Hereditary has received the same reaction that films like It Comes At Night and The Witch received from the so-called "mainstream audience".
It was to be expected and it doesn't surprise me in the least.

But it does have reaffirmed to me something that I've been considering for quite some time now and it's that these mainstream audiences believe that horror means mutilated bodies, gallons of blood and multiple jump scares.

Let's be honest it isn't for nothing that a franchise like Saw had so many sequels. It was practically porn gore but it leaves in evidence another interesting aspect of those audiences. They like to watch people die at a safe distance and especially knowing that nothing happened once they leave the movie theater.

Hereditary is indeed a horror film, but it's not a frontal horror film. Hereditary bases almost all its argument on the power of suggestion. What is hidden in the dark is there to stalk and torment you not to jump and kill you immediately.

Although the plot is nothing special and in the final part it gets lost a bit, the truth is that the film is pretty solid.

This film belongs entirely to Toni Collette because she's really good, intense and dark and she also carries pretty much the whole narrative. Some people talk about Alex Wolff's performance but I found him too frustranting and dumb.

The young Milly Shapiro makes her film debut and while she ends up playing a small role, she's disturbing enough to leave a big impression on you.

The truth is that I did enjoyed Hereditary. I don't think it's a horror masterpiece but I think it's one of the best bets that has come in years of a genre that is in terrible conditions.

In the end all verdicts or opinions will probably depend a lot of people expectations of what they wanted to see or what horror is to them but I've gotta say that if you get disappointed, is perfectly fine but as I've always said judge the film for what it is and not for what you expected it to be.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TomSarramAug 9, 2018
Not a bad movie and it's actually pretty clever and funny on some parts. Never really got too boring, and the scene at the start with Sandra Bullock in the hotel was brilliant.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JokohamaJul 1, 2018
Feel like a fancy fashion movie, great for girl. Cast are good but the story seems weak, the heist is shallow compared to the original "Ocean's".
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
BradleyJordanJul 8, 2018
I’m going to disagree with the critics and users on this movie. I like movies with lots of strong women, and the movie also had many interesting with unexpected twists. I’m not usually a big fan for this type of movie, but this one reallyI’m going to disagree with the critics and users on this movie. I like movies with lots of strong women, and the movie also had many interesting with unexpected twists. I’m not usually a big fan for this type of movie, but this one really won me over. I went with a group of about 8 guys and everybody seemed entertained with the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
benskylerhillJun 9, 2018
An uneven but mostly enjoyable summer flick, Ocean’s 8 is a well-written comedy but fails to serve as a consistently engaging, thrilling heist film.

It’s a charming and witty movie thanks to its characters that are all well-established as
An uneven but mostly enjoyable summer flick, Ocean’s 8 is a well-written comedy but fails to serve as a consistently engaging, thrilling heist film.

It’s a charming and witty movie thanks to its characters that are all well-established as unique individuals with fun, quirky personalities and skills. The script capitalises on this and incorporates fast-paced humour that never gets old because the hilarity is always as different as it’s characters.

But this is where the film’s success about stops. Like most heist movies, Ocean’s 8 sets up various problems for the thieves as things start to go wrong with the plan or the actual heist. But rather than expanding on these plot points to build thrills and suspense, the story resolves every single issue that comes up in a matter of seconds. This completely deflates any sense of tension and also makes the characters less interesting because the protagonists can get out of anything with incredible ease while the antagonists come across as unfathomably stupid and gullible.

Ocean’s 8 is good enough to be a welcome addition to the franchise it builds upon. It’s funny and entertaining and is well-directed and acted. But it’s clumsily conceived, half-baked plot makes it a mostly forgettable, average crime film.

Story: 1
Acting: 7.5
Script: 8
Visuals/Sound: 7
Entertainment Value: 6.5

OVERALL SCORE: 6/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DufreshestJun 28, 2018
Ocean's 8: Why Re-hash?

Cinematography: 6/10 There are some stiff camera motions throughout the film. At times, I feel like the camera work can be a lot simpler and still bring about the sought after effects- perhaps even better. Costume
Ocean's 8: Why Re-hash?

Cinematography: 6/10 There are some stiff camera motions throughout the film. At times, I feel like the camera work can be a lot simpler and still bring about the sought after effects- perhaps even better.

Costume Design: 8.912/10 Fashion is a key component in Ocean's 8. Everyone is set to dress well. It's one of the most important parts of the finale and the film overall. 

Film Editing: 6/10 I feel as though a few scenes could have been replaced with other scenes. I'm not even talking about complicated scenes either. To name an example, 9 Ball does the same motion in back-to-back scenes (with her eye glasses during the scene with the projector). To me, that feels like it should be a one-time moment before engaging another angle of the scene with a different motion.

Make-up and Hair-styling: 8.912/10 There's no way of getting around the fashion appeal Ocean's 8 is meant to have - even 9 Ball comes through fresh in the end. 

Sound Editing: 8.1/10 As a stand alone process, the sound editing works very well. In conjunction with the film, I find the sound editing to work better during interior scenes than exterior scenes. Am I the only one thinking of the Seinfeld theme song during the film? 

Visual Effects: 6/10 I find myself thinking of Spy Kids during a lot of the high tech glasses scenes instead of focusing on the point of the glasses.

Story: 5.498/10 Impetus. Impetus. Impetus. Why isn't Lou attempting to make Debbie Ocean a criminal again? The story feels like everyone is re-meeting each other to think of creating another Ocean's film then shares the footage of their thinking process as though a daydream. I do not find the story as immersive or clever as the other Ocean films. Why does Ocean's 8 feel like a reminiscing of the Ocean's series from a person thinking of placing primarily females in thieving roles? 

Acting: 7/10 There's a strong inconsistency throughout the film which is wild because each acting partner reaches a very achievable high point which I think each of them is capable of maintaining throughout the film. That's a beauty of the Ocean films prior- the consistency of the acting and tones. At times, I find certain elements of the acting to be snarky and imbalanced. 

Personal: One of my friend's doesn't understand my excitement watching a trailer of Ocean's 8. I'm preparing to meet a cast of all women with no re-hashes from the past. The Toussaint is not the Bellagio, the MGM Grand, and the Mirage. There is no Terry Benedict. There is no Le Marque. There is no Night Fox. Honestly, there should never be lasers in an Ocean's film again after Night Fox. I don't mean to sound harsher than my ratings. I just feel like Ocean's 8 is attempting to fill faces and old spaces instead of creating an entirely different Ocean's film. Now I'm going to research famous female thieves. 

Overall: 7.053/10

-K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
FranklyFrankSep 15, 2018
Everything just goes smoothly for the protagonists, whose heist is so simple it's boring. Several characters could have been antagonists (e.g. Hathaway, Armitage, Cordon, the security team) - but nope. I have no idea why the writers didn'tEverything just goes smoothly for the protagonists, whose heist is so simple it's boring. Several characters could have been antagonists (e.g. Hathaway, Armitage, Cordon, the security team) - but nope. I have no idea why the writers didn't even have a plot-twist. I kept expecting something to happen, but it all just goes according to plan.

By no means a bad film - the acting, glitzy vibe & cast change were good (& it was better than Oceans 12). However, this is perhaps the perfect example of a 'mediocre' film.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Costs1129Jun 19, 2018
My wife apologized for choosing this for our date night. The good news? I get to pick the next 3 months of date night movies. All in all the 2 hours of no plot and misplaced lines was worth hearing my wife admit she was wrong. Lol
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
weirdassmediaAug 13, 2018
Yikes it bombed again

Your review must be at least 75 characters long. Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
Minh18121999Jul 6, 2018
Beside its stellar cast and good cinematography,this movie was ass.The story was so boring and uninteresting that it falied miserably as a heist movie,the franchise should have stopped after Ocean's Thirteen
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
CriticalJobJun 24, 2018
A breath of fresh air for those tired of the all consuming selection of thrillers and horror movies. The combination of the all-star cast is brilliant. Enjoy!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
channel2Jul 2, 2018
Good movie, not great, but funny, plus Rihanna feature it's cool, not big deal, but good
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Vicious43Jun 25, 2018
Acting was very poor. Premise really dragged down the film and a couple of the actors are racist.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
JPKJun 22, 2018
It's Decent Fun
While The Script Has It's Issues, It's Still A Fun Time With Some Really Good Performances From The Cast.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
LogangJun 20, 2018
A very bad movie, not good just a reboot with a feminist makeover and failed hard 0/10
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
ninadJun 25, 2018
They should have called me to direct it. Sandra and Kate's makeup was gross. They could have all been beautiful, natural, real and themselves. Rihanna should have been a nightclub singer, the casting was dumb. So fundamentally there was noThey should have called me to direct it. Sandra and Kate's makeup was gross. They could have all been beautiful, natural, real and themselves. Rihanna should have been a nightclub singer, the casting was dumb. So fundamentally there was no energy and no chemistry. Imagine if this was the first ocean's movie everyone would have left after the popcorn was finished. Ninad Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
RamicaniJul 3, 2018
"I liked the other Ocean movie. The kind of humor this trailer has is the same
With eight women working for 11 men, this is a good and funny movie worth seeing with boxxy software ...a pleasant fun"
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
KRC161412_1Aug 20, 2018
NOthing happening, actors are old retiered actors, supper boring movie. I want my time and mony back
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
AcaciaJun 14, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie and found all the cast members to be very fun to watch. Some of the people I saw the movie with thought it was kind of slow at the beginning. That didn’t bother me at all. I found all the planning and attentionI really enjoyed this movie and found all the cast members to be very fun to watch. Some of the people I saw the movie with thought it was kind of slow at the beginning. That didn’t bother me at all. I found all the planning and attention to detail to be pretty interesting. And, once the plan was in motion, I was very caught up in it. Very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
0
equilibriumJul 27, 2018
I prefer to say no to the internet feminazis.

Enjoy this new ghostbusters flop...

Next time you want an all female movie, please, do a porn movie
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
kmac72Jun 21, 2018
The plot and characters partially mirror the Ocean's 11 revamp, but this female addition to the canon is its own woman: strong, layered, stylish, highly intelligent, and emotionally compelling. The events of the last 10 mins are crammed in,The plot and characters partially mirror the Ocean's 11 revamp, but this female addition to the canon is its own woman: strong, layered, stylish, highly intelligent, and emotionally compelling. The events of the last 10 mins are crammed in, too rushed and should have been integrated better, but the characters and script are top notch. Fun, very good to look at, and its nuances stay in the mind for longer than you'd expect. Outstanding cast all round, though Rihanna was underused. Really enjoyed the casual but effective use of other languages, and the sheer intelligence of the film. Quibbles: if Lou said she would walk, why didn't she? Needed a scene to explain that away. Claude's accent slipped far more than Rose's did. And if a woman was wearing the jewels, surely Cartier would have had the sense to employ a female security guard, ex-Mossad or not? A bit dim of the men, there. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
FerCasalJun 27, 2018
First of all, I want to clear that I'm in favour of intelligent strong female lead characters, I love Alien and Aliens (Sigourney Weaver), the new Tomb Raider (Alicia Vikander), MCU and Lucy (Scarlett Johansson), Edge of Tomorrow (EmilyFirst of all, I want to clear that I'm in favour of intelligent strong female lead characters, I love Alien and Aliens (Sigourney Weaver), the new Tomb Raider (Alicia Vikander), MCU and Lucy (Scarlett Johansson), Edge of Tomorrow (Emily Blunt), Thor: Ragnarok (Cate Blanchett), just to name the firsts movies that comes to my mind, but this stupid SJW's new trend of trying to remake old classics, cult movies or just old movies with an all-female cast is unbearable, but the main point is not even about the all-female cast, the point is that they're traying to do it making real awful stupid movies, It's just that simple, if they do it with excellent stories and performances I support it, but this it's not the case at all (The same as the 2016's Ghostbusters and the new Star Wars movies, except Rogue One which I loved and validates my point), please, enough is enough. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
lyraterraJun 13, 2018
It was a fun movie. Not mind-blowing, but few movies are. It was an enjoyable two hours and worth the 9 dollars.
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJun 12, 2018
I thought the critics were a little tough on this one. It has the same level of fun as the original Ocean's 11 - it's only lacking a true bad character you can root against. The supporting cast is truly top notch.
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
6
GinaKJun 18, 2018
Where is Hugh Grant when we need him? The buildup to the robbery and even the robbery itself was routine, and its complexity and the scenes shot inside and right outside the Met Museum in perfect weather were all that kept me interested (theWhere is Hugh Grant when we need him? The buildup to the robbery and even the robbery itself was routine, and its complexity and the scenes shot inside and right outside the Met Museum in perfect weather were all that kept me interested (the script lacked wit and the direction and sadly the gowns were lackluster – perhaps the biggest highlight of the Met Gala is the parade of wonderful clothes). But once the robbery was over, the “twist” arrived, and James Corden joined the cast, things got much more interesting. This film should have been better – and it needed more of everything that makes a comedy work – included perhaps a dash of farce or at least of “hectic.” Disappointing. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
finnmccool1985Jun 21, 2018
Take films that were made with male protagonists, and make them women. Do the same thing with race, sexuality. Instead of just making new creative films/franchises with these same groups of people, celebrating actual diversity, they decide toTake films that were made with male protagonists, and make them women. Do the same thing with race, sexuality. Instead of just making new creative films/franchises with these same groups of people, celebrating actual diversity, they decide to turn once loved franchises into obnoxious propaganda. Not too long before folks get tired of being force-fed this nonsense and begin boycotting businesses that help promote this crap. The sooner the better. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
Popcorn55Jun 24, 2018
A fine entertaining popcorn movie for a summer weekend. Nobody gets shot or killed, and lots and lots of glitzy fashion, bling and style, not to mention eye candy! Sandra Bullock is always fun, and while not entirely believable, the rest ofA fine entertaining popcorn movie for a summer weekend. Nobody gets shot or killed, and lots and lots of glitzy fashion, bling and style, not to mention eye candy! Sandra Bullock is always fun, and while not entirely believable, the rest of these rather wholesome and middle-class badgirls are an engaging crew. Credibility wears thin in places, but hey--it's a tall tale, not a documentary fercrissakes. Whaddya expect?? The all-business guys at Cartier are one of the high points of the film, kudos for their faultlessly executed supporting roles. And that sure is a big heavy vault door they have there! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
bfeddersJun 9, 2018
The chemistry between Sandy and Cate alone make the film worth seeing. Add to that some great cameos and a serviceable plot -- and Rihanna! -- and you have a summer hit. Chew your popcorn loudly and you won't notice the fact that the otherThe chemistry between Sandy and Cate alone make the film worth seeing. Add to that some great cameos and a serviceable plot -- and Rihanna! -- and you have a summer hit. Chew your popcorn loudly and you won't notice the fact that the other Ocean's films got better writing and directing. Sequel please -- and with Greta Gerwig, how 'bout? Expand
7 of 43 users found this helpful736
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinJun 8, 2018
In 1979 Cindi Lauper sang "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" and in "Ocean's 8" they do and, as an added benefit, so does the audience. The first "Ocean's 11" took place in 1960 and the remake in 2001 so it only took 58 years for the females toIn 1979 Cindi Lauper sang "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" and in "Ocean's 8" they do and, as an added benefit, so does the audience. The first "Ocean's 11" took place in 1960 and the remake in 2001 so it only took 58 years for the females to have their own caper. As the other Ocean films, this revolves around a heist, in this case of a diamond necklace worth over $150 million and, as in those films you really don't have to follow all the ins and outs of the heist. Sit back, relax, enjoy watching the women, leave your logic at the door and don't nick-pick at the holes in the story or wonder at some scenes that never would have been in the male versions.

All 8 women have a particular job to do regarding the heist though one who has not been recruited figures what is going on and joins in. The heist takes place at the Metropolitan Museum of Art yearly Gala to raise funds where the stage, movie and social stars attend dressed to the nines and costumer Sarah Edwards does a great job of putting the stars in outstanding, mostly hug fitting, evening gowns. Aside from filming at the Metropolitan, we get to go into the Plaza Hotel, Bergdorf Goodman's department store along with Cartier's jewelry store including their underground vault. Also, there are famous people making cameos throughout the movie.

Regarding the stars, Cate Blanchett makes the biggest impression followed by a funny turn by Awkwafina and I wish she had loaned some of her playfulness to Sandra Bullock who gives a straight and unplayful performance which doesn't belong in an "Ocean's" movie. On the other hand, Helena Bonham Carter goes too far with her character. Anne Hathaway plays a vain movie star to the nth degree while Mindy Kaling, Sarah Paulson and Rihanna all come through with just the right attitudes and performances.

Along with the women, there are two major roles by men one being Richard Armitage and the other James Corden The latter offers a few laughs as an insurance adjuster and the former as 'eye candy'. The problem is that Armitage's role/story in the movie is one that never would have been allowed in any of the other Ocean films with a woman being the eye candy and the aim of revenge.

Oh, one spoiler, Danny Ocean (George Clooney) is dead but you find that out at the beginning.

"Ocean's 8" is the second movie within 2 weeks, the other being "Book Club", that focused on women being the stars and delivering the goods. In both, you know what to expect walking in and you aren't disappointed but now it is time to give us a movie, or movies, starring casts of women where men are the followers or eye candy or are 'just' the husbands, boyfriends, etc.
Expand
4 of 27 users found this helpful423
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantJun 10, 2018
Fun, fun, fun -- that's what drives this entertaining heist romp with a stellar, all-female cast. The story admittedly has its plot shortcomings, and certain characters aren't as fully developed as they could be, but the overall package isFun, fun, fun -- that's what drives this entertaining heist romp with a stellar, all-female cast. The story admittedly has its plot shortcomings, and certain characters aren't as fully developed as they could be, but the overall package is amusing, briskly paced and flat-out enjoyable. If for no other reason, see it for the fine performances of Anne Hathaway and Helena Bonham Carter. Now this is summer entertainment! Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
9
BUTCHYPIEJun 8, 2018
This latest installment in the franchise really adds a new flavor of fun. I'm a fan of heist movies, and this is now one of my favorites. Great performances, some fun plot twists, and a lot of the playing-on-a-trope moments that make theThis latest installment in the franchise really adds a new flavor of fun. I'm a fan of heist movies, and this is now one of my favorites. Great performances, some fun plot twists, and a lot of the playing-on-a-trope moments that make the Oceans movies fun. I want to see these ladies again, maybe mixed with some of the other stars from previous films. tl;dr Fun thriller, excellent heist film, sexy actors at their prime, everything I want in an Oceans movie. Expand
4 of 33 users found this helpful429
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jun 9, 2018
While it's by no means overtly poor or even mediocre in quality, Gary Ross's "Ocean's Eight" -- like a lot of recent spin-off films, I've noticed -- still never really cemented its worth with me. Did this movie really need to happen the wayWhile it's by no means overtly poor or even mediocre in quality, Gary Ross's "Ocean's Eight" -- like a lot of recent spin-off films, I've noticed -- still never really cemented its worth with me. Did this movie really need to happen the way it did? Did we need a spin-off of an already solid franchise? Was this a calculated move on the part of tone deaf studio execs looking to capitalize on the current political climate? Depending on who you are, the answers may vary, but looking at the actual film we're presented with, there's nothing particularly awful or fantastic about it. The performances, the plot, the stakes, the look - they're all just fine in the end. Nothing special in either direction. This movie's just fine. Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
2
EmpireNOJul 30, 2018
I tried to have an open mind going to watch this movie. It was a huge dissapointment. There is so much that is bad in this movie I won't even go into it. I can't recommend this to anyone.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
BenardenJul 4, 2018
More akin to "Girls Having Lunch" than an "Oceans" movie, this dull, scriptless, lackluster mess wanders about wasting our time.
This is supposed to be a caper movie; smart dialogue, snappy camera work, always moving forward, keeping you off
More akin to "Girls Having Lunch" than an "Oceans" movie, this dull, scriptless, lackluster mess wanders about wasting our time.
This is supposed to be a caper movie; smart dialogue, snappy camera work, always moving forward, keeping you off balance; Entertaining. Why wasn't there a decent script? why such lackluster, passive directing? Why the anemic camera work and editing. The cast tried, and I really wanted it to suceed, but it's like watching Jellyfish race. After an hour I left. I did ask for my money back, trying to recoup my loss of a full hour of summertime wasted.
- Avoid !-
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
TimW001Jun 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Acting certainly was not an issue. The talent and potential was huge in this film.
It had a four part film of getting out of prison, getting the band back together, the heist, and the epilogue. But in this film the first three of those were clustered together. You never got a solid footing of where we were in the story. The heist scene lacked any suspense. It went off pretty smooth. They overcame any issues quite simply and without any problems. The fourth part of the film is finally when it started ticking properly, and became interesting. This is where the investigation began and also they stole additional stuff. The last 30 minutes of this movie was great.

I'm progressive and I am for all women casts. But is it not sexist to have a bunch of women stealing jewelry? Couldn't be stealing from a bank or casino, nope, necklaces.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Jun 24, 2018
Alright hands up who wanted another Ocean's movie? Who asked for this because I sure didn't. Hollywood's answer to diversity is to remake everything with an all female cast, oh sure that will fix everything won't it. Oceans Eleven isAlright hands up who wanted another Ocean's movie? Who asked for this because I sure didn't. Hollywood's answer to diversity is to remake everything with an all female cast, oh sure that will fix everything won't it. Oceans Eleven is forgettable enough as it is to warrant two sequels and now this remake/spinoff, Ocean's Eight. Only this time you've got an all female lead cause it's 2018 and that's the popular thing to do now. I don't have a problem with this, they're all good actors (not you Rihanna) and the have good chemistry together but aside from that Oceans Eight was shockingly boring and very pointless. It's a heist movie without the suspense and not helped by the fact that it felt endless. Almost as long as the Mamma Mia two trailer that ran before it.

Sandra Bullock and friends decide to pull off a seemingly impossible heist at New York City's annual Met Gala. Step by step it felt unbearably formulaic, like it was simply following a guide and tried to distract us with all these stylish party scenes from how little action and substance there was. I'm surprised a heist movie could be this dull with very few laughs. Ocean's Eleven was bland and now Ocean's Eight is the same movie, just as bland but with the addition of James Corden for some reason and without George Clooney. Recommended to all the fans of the Ocean franchise, for everyone else it's skippable.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Xan_RyilAug 29, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A cast which could triumph the screen was put to a wasted work.
Ocean’s 8 starts with a promise to offer something spectacular but then it focusses too much on introducing characters one by one and following its predecessor instead of layering out its own trap. Ocean movies hardly get intimate with the characters but what they did have in common was a good heist in the end with a twist. While 8 offers the twist but not the good heist which makes the twist fall flat. All the jokes, moves and twists are very much predictable. One who has seen the trailer might be able to deduce whole plot. Only job to be done was of stylists and costume designers, which they did the best. Every member of the cast looked stunning and somehow performed to satisfaction. While many subsidiary characters were unrelateable, Cate Blanchet was signed to a role which had no use throughout the movie. She played equivalent part to that of Brad Pitt, but where role of Rusty was that of volatile, her character was lost and somewhat over shadowed by Sandra Bullock.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
BenW91NEJun 20, 2018
Yes they got a lot of big names..but the suspense, action, drama... don't add at all its just felt like a rehash of a rehash. 3/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TVBugSep 16, 2018
Oceans 8 doesn't try to convince you that it's anything other than what it is, a great, funny, and fun romp. This film was a blast from beginning to end. Very well acted. I can't help but think that the haters who underrate Oceans 8 are mysoginist.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
6r1zzlyJun 20, 2018
I have fallen asleep many times during this bore-fest. It was like a retirement project for old and not so pretty lately ladies. I don't recommend this movie to anybody alive, or with taste or who don't have gerontophilia.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
mitokioAug 22, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ha, ha. It's advertised as women working together to perform a heist, but the twist at the end is that a man is used for the major heist. Which the two "boss" women don't tell the other's on their team about. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
AndrewBurgeSep 5, 2018
As lavish, opulent and stylish as 'Hereditary' is scary. Gary Ross's 'Ocean's Eight' might not be as feminist as you might think, but also not that different in personality despite having its heist crew composed of all women led by DebbieAs lavish, opulent and stylish as 'Hereditary' is scary. Gary Ross's 'Ocean's Eight' might not be as feminist as you might think, but also not that different in personality despite having its heist crew composed of all women led by Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock) and her friend and confidant Lou (Cate Blanchett).

So, another film, another heist. This time, the culprits attempt to rob a necklace worth hundreds of millions of dollars. Problem is, that is locked in a vault. Luckily, Debbie has many friends, how convenient. She hires fashion designer Rose Weil (Helena Bonham Carter) to dress a celebrity, Daphne Kluger (Anne Hathaway), for the annual New York Met Gala and insists that she wears the necklace. At the ceremony, they will steal it. Neat! You can imagine a lot can go wrong but not much does, really. Sure, there are thrills, but this film harbors an idealistic and satisfactory cause. Also, there is a revenge plot which almost feels like a feminine angry release, but, perhaps, I am going a bit too far here.

Fortunately, what it lacks in shock, 'Ocean's Eight' makes up for in style. The pacing is great, apart from some awkward occasions where it attempts to make its side-characters relevant. Which brings us to a double-edged sword. The personalities of the crew which Debbie builds are definitely interesting from the Jamaican hacker Nine Ball, real name... Nine Ball (Rihanna) to the concerned mother Tammy (Sarah Paulson) and somewhere in between an Asian sleight-of-hand Constance (Awkwafina a.k.a. Nora Lum). Unfortunately, their personalities don't feel feminine or different from anything we've seen before. Anne Hathaway's performance though is really funny. You could say she plays a parody of herself and while she has a snob and ignorant celeb posse, is really fun to watch her.

As it is this film. Enjoyable and satisfactory, it kinda feels like a showcase ride. Many issues that rise along are solved at an idealistic pace, not to mention the way in which they scan the necklace using some sort of technological mumbo-jumbo in some glasses, loading screen included, of course. It is definitely flawed, but at least you feel cool watching it. I mean, come on, there are cameos from Heidi Klum, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova and Desiigner of all people.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
StavNeuseJul 22, 2018
Honestly, Sandra Bullock wasn't great, the plot incredibly unrealistic, and the cast simply annoying. I mean why does there always have to be that character who hacks computers, that annoying character, the dumb character, the one who chewsHonestly, Sandra Bullock wasn't great, the plot incredibly unrealistic, and the cast simply annoying. I mean why does there always have to be that character who hacks computers, that annoying character, the dumb character, the one who chews gum, and the leader. I'm just sick and tired of these type of movies, aren't you? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
kanavkohli95Jun 20, 2018
Same ludicrous concept, Whats with the feminist agenda pushing?? Can't we just focus on making a good movie? you can only go far with a movie based on some political agenda. i would love this to be a good movie, sadly it was too shallow andSame ludicrous concept, Whats with the feminist agenda pushing?? Can't we just focus on making a good movie? you can only go far with a movie based on some political agenda. i would love this to be a good movie, sadly it was too shallow and cannot match up to the series expectations we had. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Vitor007Sep 2, 2018
We all know, there is no perfect crime, but it is impossible not to get excited with Sandra Bullock being a criminal. Of course, not all the performances of the actresses leave us convinced, but leads to a view that the franchise has managedWe all know, there is no perfect crime, but it is impossible not to get excited with Sandra Bullock being a criminal. Of course, not all the performances of the actresses leave us convinced, but leads to a view that the franchise has managed to conclude reasonably. Innocent, but powerful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
maningreySep 17, 2018
I love ocean's film series and that is quite good and maybe better at least than ocean's 12.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EludiumQ36Sep 29, 2018
I'm a dude and this was definitely written for women. They enjoy themselves the most when they're dressing to the 9s, sporting high-end jewelry, and being all international. It was a fairly boring premise, too, since the characters wereI'm a dude and this was definitely written for women. They enjoy themselves the most when they're dressing to the 9s, sporting high-end jewelry, and being all international. It was a fairly boring premise, too, since the characters were basically just gender-opposites of the men's version. In other words, the women were uncharacteristically suave, calm, and debonaire - and that's just too bizarre to accept. Plus, Debbie Ocean was pulling a two-fer job just like her now dead brother Danny. So, boring and derivative. Writer/Director Gary Ross obviously preferred the familiar to being original so everyone loses when you play it safe like that, and that helps explain why its w/w BO was less than all the other Ocean's movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsOct 13, 2018
An ok movie,but given that the whole premise and most of the movie is really similar to first Ocean's movies, it just feels like they are almost reusing the same plot, just with women. I mean I could give it a higher rating, but as it doesAn ok movie,but given that the whole premise and most of the movie is really similar to first Ocean's movies, it just feels like they are almost reusing the same plot, just with women. I mean I could give it a higher rating, but as it does not bring many new things to the table, I think it falls down a bit in the rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mrdollarJun 27, 2018
Very boring and low energy movie to begin with. It has nothing to do about all women actors, as the creators claim. Crime theme is not compatible with bad acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WonderZNov 1, 2018
Not a great movie, but a fun heist film. The story line hits all the expected punches. But, perhaps, that's just it, no surprises here but you will still enjoy the movie ride. Love the costume designing. Would advise watching it with boxxy software.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
eddy1337Nov 3, 2018
I made an account just so I can give this movie a 0/10. It has none of the charm of the previous ones, making you question every action they take and wonder why they went through so much trouble for something that could be done in fiveI made an account just so I can give this movie a 0/10. It has none of the charm of the previous ones, making you question every action they take and wonder why they went through so much trouble for something that could be done in five minutes; it's like a bad horror movie whose sole purpose is to promote all-female casts. Life is precious, don't waste it on this utter garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews