Amazon Studios | Release Date: September 21, 2018
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 13 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
5
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
WonderZOct 9, 2018
This movie is phenomenal. One of the best I've seen this year. It was genuine and emotional, and will leave you crying in all the best ways. I would recommend watching it with boxxy software to anyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
craigmeaselOct 5, 2018
Life Itself centers on a couple (Oscar Isaac and Olivia Wilde) that lead a multi generational love story spanning both decades and continents, from the streets of New York to the Spanish countryside, and are all connected by a single event.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
tropicAcesSep 21, 2018
Emotionally manipulative yet completely deprived of any actual feelings, this film has dialogue that no human has ever even conceived of saying, such as “I love you but I may not be equipped to be loved this much”. Barf.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
RyanGimesonSep 27, 2018
I'm giving this a 10 because the performances and dialogue in this film are of consistently high quality, and because these low reviews are ridiculous. People keep saying their emotions feel fake; no they do not, and if you still don't buyI'm giving this a 10 because the performances and dialogue in this film are of consistently high quality, and because these low reviews are ridiculous. People keep saying their emotions feel fake; no they do not, and if you still don't buy the authenticity, that would be because they're actors playing characters, not real people. Seriously though Olivia Cooke is BRILLIANT in this same with Oscar Isaac and Antonio Banderas. I get it if this isn't ur thing the philosophical approach this film takes can be overbearing for some people but I thought it made for a well crafted screenplay complemented by gorgeous cinematography and stunningly real characters. A little predictable for sure, but it has a real, beating heart. I'm gonna remember this film for a while. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
joanalperinSep 21, 2018
Stage and Cinema Film Review: LIFE ITSELF (directed by Dan Fogelman)
by JOAN ALPERIN on SEPTEMBER 18, 2018
A CELEBRATION OF LIFE ITSELF Writer/director Dan Fogelman is currently represented on TV with his creation This Is Us, which follows
Stage and Cinema Film Review: LIFE ITSELF (directed by Dan Fogelman)
by JOAN ALPERIN on SEPTEMBER 18, 2018

A CELEBRATION OF LIFE ITSELF
Writer/director Dan Fogelman is currently represented on TV with his creation This Is Us, which follows two parents and their three children, born on the same day as their father. Now entering its third season, the NBC show takes place in the present but also utilizes flashbacks so we see how events in the past shape who the characters are today.

In Life Itself – which opens in cinemas this week — Fogelman uses a similar technique, but now weaves together a story that concerns multiple couples over numerous generations and how they are all connected by one event.

It begins with Will (excellent Oscar Isaac) and Abby (Olivia Wilde), who are first shown at a college party, where Will says he’s “just waiting for the right moment” to ask her out. “Because when I ask you out, there’s not going to be any turning back for me.” At one point, he becomes the narrator of his story informing us that “he loves her like a stalker.”
We then find a disheveled Will at the office of his shrink (Annette Bening), where he relates that it’s strange to think about how a completely random moment would shape an entire life. Then it’s back to Abby and Will, now madly in love, married and pregnant.

Fate will link them to Dylan (Olivia Cooke) a troubled young woman trying to find her way in the world, and her grandfather Irwin (Mandy Patinkin). Then it’s off to Spain where we meet a rich plantation owner, Mr. Saccione (the wonderful Antonio Banderas), his plantation manager Javier (Sergio Peris-Mencheta), and Javier’s wife Isabel (Laia Costa) and their son Rodrigo (Alex Monner). It’s their poignant story that will take one of them back to where the film began — the streets of New York City.

Spanning decades as well as continents, the film explores the human condition and all its complications: love, family, tragedy, joy, fate and — in the end — life itself. While some may see this tearjerker as manipulative, I absolutely loved every second of it, my favorite of the year so far.



Life Itself
Amazon Studios
U.S.A. | 117 minutes | rated R
in wide release September 21, 2018
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DufreshestSep 27, 2018
Life Itself tries to be tricky by playing around with death and a theme the film reveals concerning unreliable narrators. I think the film gets better with time. The film seems to be saying without love, there is nothing, though if oneLife Itself tries to be tricky by playing around with death and a theme the film reveals concerning unreliable narrators. I think the film gets better with time. The film seems to be saying without love, there is nothing, though if one persists in their life, they will find everlasting love; Life Itself makes love the ever connecting fabric between the dead and the living.

I always like to remember as a part of the audience I am agreeing to view the content as-is in comparison to its full potential (which helps fulfill my critiquing) and if I want to view different forms of content then I should create or seek them. The film as-is is decent though leaves me as an audience member with the assignment of listening to Bob Dylan's return project to potentially fully grasp the essence of the film (if Bob Dylan really contributes to it as much as the film makes it seem). Life Itself is not meant to be a serious film (you have to experience the narrating for yourself) though deals with serious situations. 

The film shows that dialogue really affects actors and must be written well for effective scenes in film. Life Itself is showing life without expectations and relays life as uncontrollable in a great mysteriousness. I mean, yeah… death is our only guarantee (as far as I think anyone knows so far, that's all anyone knows of life that really isn't life, it's post life?).
Overall Grade: C+

 - K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JackusBlackusSep 28, 2018
In short, the film is watchable and even enjoyable in some respects due to good individual performances and good dialogue; however, I found it to difficult to remain engaged for several reasons.

First, the various stories seem unrelated with
In short, the film is watchable and even enjoyable in some respects due to good individual performances and good dialogue; however, I found it to difficult to remain engaged for several reasons.

First, the various stories seem unrelated with only minor interactions. The transitions are abrupt, ending one story and then moving onto the next. While the plot ties them all together in the end, waiting for it takes some effort.

Second, all of the stories are centered around tragedy and I just stopped caring at some point.

Third, with the amount of time spent on the "unreliable narrator" device in the beginning, I expected (or even hoped for) it to play a significant role in the movie, but it doesn't. Sure, there is a little twist in the end that ties it all together, but it is ineffective and unimportant.

Finally, the resolution at the end that ties everything together was a disappointment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews