Ascot Elite Entertainment Group | Release Date: June 8, 2018
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 16 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
4
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TVJerryJun 8, 2018
Jodie Foster plays the doctor/nurse at a secret hospital for criminals in future LA. This film is dark: the style, the subject and the outlook. Foster plays crusty and troubled, while working with a strong cast that includes Sterling K.Jodie Foster plays the doctor/nurse at a secret hospital for criminals in future LA. This film is dark: the style, the subject and the outlook. Foster plays crusty and troubled, while working with a strong cast that includes Sterling K. Brown, Dave Bautista and Jeff Goldblum. The story is primarily about her interactions with this group of mostly unlikable and often unpleasant crooks until the climax adds a violent element. Bleak and mostly mean, this drama is also original in its concept and unusual in its approach. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 8, 2018
This was fun.

I really liked the setup of this. Hotel Artemis takes place in the near future where corporations run the show in a secret underworld hospital with a minimal staff during a riot. It's an interesting setup, with dangers both in
This was fun.

I really liked the setup of this. Hotel Artemis takes place in the near future where corporations run the show in a secret underworld hospital with a minimal staff during a riot. It's an interesting setup, with dangers both in and outside the hotel/hospital. The best part of the film is how it is visually realized: the semi-futuristic technology, riot-torn LA and the run-down but extravagant Hotel Artemis look great. The excellent cast, including Dave Bautista, Jodie Foster, and Sterling K. Brown, all really elevate the material.

The plot and action move along smoothly, but there are no big surprises. The setup is more inventive than the execution. It's a Quentin Tarantion-esque many players-on-the-field-type criminal thriller. However, unlike Tarantino films there are no big surprises in this. Still, a fun ride, though.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJun 13, 2018
Hotel Artemis is dark (both physically and thematically) and claustrophobic. The cast is completely believable, and the film allows Jodie Foster to show what a great actress she still is, even though “The Nurse” is the opposite in age andHotel Artemis is dark (both physically and thematically) and claustrophobic. The cast is completely believable, and the film allows Jodie Foster to show what a great actress she still is, even though “The Nurse” is the opposite in age and attitude of Clarice Starling. If you are a movie buff, this film is worth your time, even though I certainly would not call it a great success – just interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
gazzeberJun 10, 2018
Hotel Artemis was an original film that met my expectations. It did it's job of laying the groundwork for potential sequel(s). Although, this film was somewhat lacking with it's storytelling. I don't know anymore about the hotel or its guestsHotel Artemis was an original film that met my expectations. It did it's job of laying the groundwork for potential sequel(s). Although, this film was somewhat lacking with it's storytelling. I don't know anymore about the hotel or its guests coming out of the theater than I did going in. I do look forward to any sequels or spinoffs to Hotel Artemis because the potential is there. *P.S. - don't go into this film thinking that your going to see "John Wick" style action and/or plot. You WILL be disappointed.* Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MovieCriticManJun 10, 2018
This movie is a waste of time. Clearly someone thought that they could capitalize on the John Wick series and pretend to make it their own. I want to punch myself in the face for watching this garbage. Don't bother spending a penny on this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SteveinAZJun 14, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie. It's harder & harder to find films that aren't sequels & I thought this was original and kept me interested throughout. Interesting characters, interesting plot. Definitely worth your $$. I recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
skobbJun 20, 2018
Basically, a disappointment. I really wanted to like this show. The premise seemed interesting, and who can resist performances by Jodie and Jeff? But alas, the cool idea was wasted on throw-away characters like the arms salesman and FrenchBasically, a disappointment. I really wanted to like this show. The premise seemed interesting, and who can resist performances by Jodie and Jeff? But alas, the cool idea was wasted on throw-away characters like the arms salesman and French contract killer. The attractive set design couldn't save a weak script. Gratuitous violence just made it worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Jun 12, 2018
Hotel Artemis is an enjoyable crime thriller that's set in the future and takes place entirely in a hotel that acts as a hospital for criminals. There are a few rules that The Nurse (Jodie Foster) requires everyone to follow, and a person hasHotel Artemis is an enjoyable crime thriller that's set in the future and takes place entirely in a hotel that acts as a hospital for criminals. There are a few rules that The Nurse (Jodie Foster) requires everyone to follow, and a person has to have a membership to get fixed up, but otherwise she doesn't care what the person does for a living or how bad they are, she'll still fix them up. The story follows her as she embarks on what should be a typical night at the Artemis, but it slowly starts to spin out of control as the night drags on. There is a B-Story that deals with a corporation charging money for access to water, which has caused riots to break out around L.A., but I found it to be severely underdeveloped. It served its purpose, but that's it. There definitely could have been a little bit more exploration into it. The main story isn't incredible, but I was entertained the entire time...although it did leave me wanting a little bit more. As for the action....when it happens, it's great. But I wouldn't go into this film expecting a lot of action because there isn't a ton of it. Most of it revolves around The Nurse fixing up patients and dealing with dilemmas. I will say that I did enjoy how subtle the futuristic technology she uses to work on patients is. All of it actually seems somewhat realistic and similar to what we may very well have access to in the future. Given the short runtime (just a hair over 90 minutes), it's hard for the entire cast to get enough screen time to properly develop. I found myself very invested in Jodie Foster's character, but I didn't really care about any of the others, especially when the end came. Also, I figured Jeff Goldblum would have a much, much bigger role in this film, but he's in it for maybe five minutes or so, which was a disappointment. Overall, I had a good time watching Hotel Artemis. It entertained me, despite the flaws it may have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews