Ascot Elite Entertainment Group | Release Date: June 8, 2018
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
5
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TVJerryJun 8, 2018
Jodie Foster plays the doctor/nurse at a secret hospital for criminals in future LA. This film is dark: the style, the subject and the outlook. Foster plays crusty and troubled, while working with a strong cast that includes Sterling K.Jodie Foster plays the doctor/nurse at a secret hospital for criminals in future LA. This film is dark: the style, the subject and the outlook. Foster plays crusty and troubled, while working with a strong cast that includes Sterling K. Brown, Dave Bautista and Jeff Goldblum. The story is primarily about her interactions with this group of mostly unlikable and often unpleasant crooks until the climax adds a violent element. Bleak and mostly mean, this drama is also original in its concept and unusual in its approach. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 8, 2018
This was fun.

I really liked the setup of this. Hotel Artemis takes place in the near future where corporations run the show in a secret underworld hospital with a minimal staff during a riot. It's an interesting setup, with dangers both in
This was fun.

I really liked the setup of this. Hotel Artemis takes place in the near future where corporations run the show in a secret underworld hospital with a minimal staff during a riot. It's an interesting setup, with dangers both in and outside the hotel/hospital. The best part of the film is how it is visually realized: the semi-futuristic technology, riot-torn LA and the run-down but extravagant Hotel Artemis look great. The excellent cast, including Dave Bautista, Jodie Foster, and Sterling K. Brown, all really elevate the material.

The plot and action move along smoothly, but there are no big surprises. The setup is more inventive than the execution. It's a Quentin Tarantion-esque many players-on-the-field-type criminal thriller. However, unlike Tarantino films there are no big surprises in this. Still, a fun ride, though.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MovieCriticManJun 10, 2018
This movie is a waste of time. Clearly someone thought that they could capitalize on the John Wick series and pretend to make it their own. I want to punch myself in the face for watching this garbage. Don't bother spending a penny on this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJun 13, 2018
Hotel Artemis is dark (both physically and thematically) and claustrophobic. The cast is completely believable, and the film allows Jodie Foster to show what a great actress she still is, even though “The Nurse” is the opposite in age andHotel Artemis is dark (both physically and thematically) and claustrophobic. The cast is completely believable, and the film allows Jodie Foster to show what a great actress she still is, even though “The Nurse” is the opposite in age and attitude of Clarice Starling. If you are a movie buff, this film is worth your time, even though I certainly would not call it a great success – just interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
gazzeberJun 10, 2018
Hotel Artemis was an original film that met my expectations. It did it's job of laying the groundwork for potential sequel(s). Although, this film was somewhat lacking with it's storytelling. I don't know anymore about the hotel or its guestsHotel Artemis was an original film that met my expectations. It did it's job of laying the groundwork for potential sequel(s). Although, this film was somewhat lacking with it's storytelling. I don't know anymore about the hotel or its guests coming out of the theater than I did going in. I do look forward to any sequels or spinoffs to Hotel Artemis because the potential is there. *P.S. - don't go into this film thinking that your going to see "John Wick" style action and/or plot. You WILL be disappointed.* Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
garethvkJun 26, 2018
Los Angeles of 2028 is a riot laden area where Martial Law is the norm and brutality is a way of life. Amidst this setting, the Hotel Artemis is open for business.. The Artemis is not your typical hotel as it provides emergency medicalLos Angeles of 2028 is a riot laden area where Martial Law is the norm and brutality is a way of life. Amidst this setting, the Hotel Artemis is open for business.. The Artemis is not your typical hotel as it provides emergency medical services to members who engage in criminal activities.

The Nurse (Jodie Foster) runs the facility and with the help of her massive Orderly Everest (Dave Bautista), they ensure that only members get admitted and follow the rules as well as receive state of the art care while in the facility. Guests at the facility are giving names based on the suite in which they are assigned which involve geographical locales and there are a very strict set of rules they must follow such as no guns, bombs, killing other guests, and so on.
The Hotel Artemis is not a simple stitch and bandage facility as they offer advanced medical services such as Nanites, replacement organ printing, robotic A.I. medical treatment and other services which in 2018 seem like Science Fiction.
Enter Waikiki (Sterling K. Brown), who has tried to leave his criminal past behind him yet was savvy enough to keep paying his membership fees at the Artemis all the while. He and his brother have been injured in a heist and with the city under a deadly riot, they make their way to the Artemis to get treatment and hide out from the chaos outside.
Thanks to their services, the hotel is rarely empty and an Arms Dealer named Acapulco (Charlie Day), and an assassin named Nice (Sofia Boutella), are also in residence. The fact that Nice and Waikiki have a past association makes things a bit interesting as guests are always mindful of those around them even though the strict rules of membership exist to ward off any threats or danger to the guests or staff.
Complications arise when the near capacity hotel is informed that the Wolf King of L.A. (Jeff Goldblum) is en- route. The Nurse opts to follow the rules of first come first served and in doing so enrages his son (Zachary Quinto), who decided to barricade the Hotel to make sure nobody gets in before his father, who incidentally owns the facility.
As if this was not enough of a complication, a police officer from troubled past of The Nurse arrives begging for help which sets a very dangerous chain of events into motion.
The film is a very fresh and entertaining story filled with interesting characters, strong performances, and just enough action to keep the film moving along but yet keeping the focus as a character based drama.

First time Director Drew Pearce gets the most of his cast and has used his script to create a very entertaining and unique film that is well worth a watch. It is so nice to see Jodie Foster showing us once again that she is one of the most gifted actresses of our time as the two-time Oscar winner goes all in to portray a very damaged and troubled character who for what she lacks in glamour; more than makes up for with a determined strength.

I hope this film is a success as I would love to see more stories from the Hotel as I really enjoyed the film from start to finish.
4 stars out of 5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Jul 23, 2018
Look I know everyone is waiting for Mission Impossible: Fallout but that doesn't mean you have to starve yourself of your latest action movie fix. So why not check out Hotel Artemis and I promise you won't be disappointed. Hotel Artemis isLook I know everyone is waiting for Mission Impossible: Fallout but that doesn't mean you have to starve yourself of your latest action movie fix. So why not check out Hotel Artemis and I promise you won't be disappointed. Hotel Artemis is the predictable and entertaining action movie we need right now.

Set in a near future Los Angeles during an extreme mass riot, Sterling K. Brown and his brother, Brian Tyree Henry run into some trouble and get themselves checked into the mythical Hotel Artemis. Sure it basically takes the hotel idea from John Wick, only this time it's a secret hospital for criminals. Members only of course and complete with its own set of rules. No killing the other patients etc. Meet Jodi Foster as the nurse, throw in Dave Bautista and Jeff Goldblum for good measure and you're good to go. It wastes no time getting started, builds on the increasing atmosphere and the impending feeling that everything is spiraling out of control. You don't have to do a whole lot of thinking for this one. It's short, to the point and skips the excessive plotsplaining. Everything an action movie should be, over the top fun with just the right amount of dark humour. Highly entertaining and highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SteveinAZJun 14, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie. It's harder & harder to find films that aren't sequels & I thought this was original and kept me interested throughout. Interesting characters, interesting plot. Definitely worth your $$. I recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
skobbJun 20, 2018
Basically, a disappointment. I really wanted to like this show. The premise seemed interesting, and who can resist performances by Jodie and Jeff? But alas, the cool idea was wasted on throw-away characters like the arms salesman and FrenchBasically, a disappointment. I really wanted to like this show. The premise seemed interesting, and who can resist performances by Jodie and Jeff? But alas, the cool idea was wasted on throw-away characters like the arms salesman and French contract killer. The attractive set design couldn't save a weak script. Gratuitous violence just made it worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Jun 12, 2018
Hotel Artemis is an enjoyable crime thriller that's set in the future and takes place entirely in a hotel that acts as a hospital for criminals. There are a few rules that The Nurse (Jodie Foster) requires everyone to follow, and a person hasHotel Artemis is an enjoyable crime thriller that's set in the future and takes place entirely in a hotel that acts as a hospital for criminals. There are a few rules that The Nurse (Jodie Foster) requires everyone to follow, and a person has to have a membership to get fixed up, but otherwise she doesn't care what the person does for a living or how bad they are, she'll still fix them up. The story follows her as she embarks on what should be a typical night at the Artemis, but it slowly starts to spin out of control as the night drags on. There is a B-Story that deals with a corporation charging money for access to water, which has caused riots to break out around L.A., but I found it to be severely underdeveloped. It served its purpose, but that's it. There definitely could have been a little bit more exploration into it. The main story isn't incredible, but I was entertained the entire time...although it did leave me wanting a little bit more. As for the action....when it happens, it's great. But I wouldn't go into this film expecting a lot of action because there isn't a ton of it. Most of it revolves around The Nurse fixing up patients and dealing with dilemmas. I will say that I did enjoy how subtle the futuristic technology she uses to work on patients is. All of it actually seems somewhat realistic and similar to what we may very well have access to in the future. Given the short runtime (just a hair over 90 minutes), it's hard for the entire cast to get enough screen time to properly develop. I found myself very invested in Jodie Foster's character, but I didn't really care about any of the others, especially when the end came. Also, I figured Jeff Goldblum would have a much, much bigger role in this film, but he's in it for maybe five minutes or so, which was a disappointment. Overall, I had a good time watching Hotel Artemis. It entertained me, despite the flaws it may have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ErinMcGowanJul 2, 2018
Gorgeously filmed! But I did not catch the mood of the film, I was not horrified, I did not feel it.
I'll rewatch later using boxxy software ...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bertaut1Aug 3, 2018
Hotel Artemis is a film which doesn't do a great deal wrong. However, it is also a film which doesn't do a great deal right. It just kind of hangs in mid-air, with clichéd characters acting in clichéd ways and having clichéd conversations.Hotel Artemis is a film which doesn't do a great deal wrong. However, it is also a film which doesn't do a great deal right. It just kind of hangs in mid-air, with clichéd characters acting in clichéd ways and having clichéd conversations. And then it ends. It's not actually about anything. It's also predictable, and all surface, with precious little substance. It looks pretty though.

In 2028, riots are tearing Los Angeles apart. The film takes place primarily in the eponymous Hotel Artemis, a secret hospital for criminals in the heart of the city. The motley crew of characters, many of whom are known only by the name of the room in which they're staying, include Waikiki (Sterling K. Brown) and his brother Honolulu (Brian Tyree Henry), bank robbers who have been involved in a shootout with police; Nice (Sofia Boutella), an assassin who "only kills important people", and just so happens to be Waikiki's ex-girlfriend; and Acapulco (a spectacularly miscast Charlie Day), a weapons dealer and all round weasel. Also present are The Wolf King (Jeff Goldblum), Los Angeles's most feared gangster, who also finances the hospital, his incompetent son, Crosby (Zachery Quinto), and Morgan (Jenny Slate), a cop injured in the riots. The hospital is run by "Nurse" (Jodie Foster), an agoraphobic alcoholic haunted by visions of her past, with porter duties handled by Everest (Dave Bautista). The hospital functions because all guests must adhere to a rigid set of rules, the first of which is "don't kill the other patients", and a strict no weapons policy.

Sounds pretty interesting doesn't it? It's not. The dialogue is awful, the narrative beats can be seen coming a mile away, and the characters are all architypes, with only Nurse really fleshed out to any degree. There's the loud-mouth snivelling weapons dealer, the gorgeous but oh-so-deadly assassin, the criminal kingpin and his screw-up son who just wants to be like dad, the skilled bank robber who spends most of his time trying to get himself out of the trouble caused by his unreliable brother, and the tough-as-old-boots medical professional who just wants to help people when in actual fact, she's beyond help herself. The premise may be reasonably interesting, but, in his debut feature, writer/director Drew Pearce undermines it by populating the milieu with cardboard cut-outs instead of characters. True, most of the actors give it their all (Bautista in particular gives a performance far superior to the material he has to work with), but there's just no substance here, no depth. There are simply too many clichés at every level to be able to overlook them.

Yes, it's an original(ish) idea made with a small(ish) budget, which is exactly what we need more of these days, when every second film is a CGI-infested remake, comic book adaptation, or sequel (or a CGI-infested remake of a sequel to a comic book adaptation). However, an original idea is all very well and good, but it can only take you so far; the execution has to be there as well, and this is where Hotel Artemis falls down. It's simply not an especially well-made film. Pearce does a reasonably good job with the directorial side of things, as aesthetically, the hotel is really intriguing, with a nice use of primary colours and a well-conceived juxtaposition of modern technology and 3D printers with retro décor and secret passages. In terms of plot, however, there's just nothing to latch onto or get your teeth into. None of the characters really do or say anything very interesting, and a half-hour into the film, as it became increasingly apparent that none of them were going to be developed to any great degree, I just stopped caring.

5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews