Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 19, 2018
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
16
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
vancityboyOct 19, 2018
This is a fun thrillride that is worth seeing in theaters. It is not perfect, but is a major upswing from anything we've got in the recent past. Jamie Lee curtis holds her own in this exciting continuation and keeps the movie entertaining andThis is a fun thrillride that is worth seeing in theaters. It is not perfect, but is a major upswing from anything we've got in the recent past. Jamie Lee curtis holds her own in this exciting continuation and keeps the movie entertaining and gripping throughout. David Gordon Green did a great job with this film and I would highly recommend that if your a fan of quality horror to check this out. This movie gave me nightmares last night. Job well done. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksOct 20, 2018
Truthfully the best since the original. The latest Halloween works well mostly because it humanizes Michael Myers, he's a driven killer who is not supernatural, but simply a man. Jamie Lee Curtis becomes Linda Hamilton as she portrays theTruthfully the best since the original. The latest Halloween works well mostly because it humanizes Michael Myers, he's a driven killer who is not supernatural, but simply a man. Jamie Lee Curtis becomes Linda Hamilton as she portrays the emotional and broken Laurie Strode, dedicated in protecting her family at all costs. At times the film suffers from feeling like the horror sequel to Super Bad, but overall it works. Honestly, though I love the Halloween movies, I wouldn't mind if they ended on this note. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulOct 19, 2018
Ha superado con creces todas las expectativas que tenía desde el momento en que salió el primer tráiler hasta la fecha de estreno, esta a la altura de los clásicos slasher de antaño sin duda alguna, repleta de guiños a la película homónima deHa superado con creces todas las expectativas que tenía desde el momento en que salió el primer tráiler hasta la fecha de estreno, esta a la altura de los clásicos slasher de antaño sin duda alguna, repleta de guiños a la película homónima de 1978, los fans del terror y de la franquicia amarán esta película. En lo personal nunca en la vida había disfrutado de una película de terror en el cine como lo hice esta noche al 100% Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
scot2525Oct 19, 2018
Third best in the franchise and the best sequel since '81 HII. The film has some tense moments but nothing truly scary. The humor works well in context but seems to upset some fans. Slightly dissapointed with the new soundtrack as it feelsThird best in the franchise and the best sequel since '81 HII. The film has some tense moments but nothing truly scary. The humor works well in context but seems to upset some fans. Slightly dissapointed with the new soundtrack as it feels forced in a couple spots. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
dawsonvanb1028Oct 19, 2018
When I first heard that we would be getting a new sequel to the 1978 classic film, once again starring Jamie Lee Curtis and with John Carpenter on board, I began anticipating the release of this film. Now that it's finally out I can happilyWhen I first heard that we would be getting a new sequel to the 1978 classic film, once again starring Jamie Lee Curtis and with John Carpenter on board, I began anticipating the release of this film. Now that it's finally out I can happily say that Halloween (2018) Is a fantastic Halloween movie and is without a doubt in my mind the best sequel the series has had to date. There are many call backs to the original here, but whereas other series can really force them in (the pun there may have hinted at what I'm referring to) Halloween (2018) has them in ways that work as both fantastic fan service and great easter eggs. Jamie Lee Curtis is fantastic in this movie, playing a tougher, physically stronger version of Laurie but also very damaged and mentally scarred by the murders of her friends that has caused her to push aside her family. What surprised me about her performance was that she wasn't just a badass as we saw in the trailers, she is also very emotional and seeing that aspect of her in a PTSD like way, really made me feel for her. The supporting cast is mostly good such as Judy Greer as Laurie's daughter and Andi Matichak as her granddaughter Allison. Michael obviously returns and is not shying away when it comes to brutally murdering people. This film has the best kills in the whole series and unlike the original show tons of blood. You do have some typical teenager cliches, but they feel mostly at home considering the original was built all around them. The films does a great job with its cinematography, I loved the long tracking shots of Michael, they were very suspensful and were backed up by the amazing soundtrack. There is a twist near the end that is bothering a lot of people but I actually liked the twist besides one thing that happens in the scene. Otherwise the movie was absolutely fantastic and deserves all the praise it's getting. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondOct 19, 2018
Saw it twice in two nights, and I liked it MUCH better the second time for some reason. The call-outs (and reversals) from the first movie are great, and the Easter Eggs (Season of Witch Silver Shamrock masks) are fun. But Curtis isSaw it twice in two nights, and I liked it MUCH better the second time for some reason. The call-outs (and reversals) from the first movie are great, and the Easter Eggs (Season of Witch Silver Shamrock masks) are fun. But Curtis is phenomenal. I liked the Home Alone aspect of the film. The teenagers are extremely well-cast, especially the girl playing Strode's granddaughter. The dialogue among the teens is especially well-written, actually. The worst part of the film is the new doctor. He can't hold a candle to Donald Pleasance's Loomis. And those podcasters...ugh! Still, I had a great with this. Highly recommended. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Stephanie555Oct 20, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was highly anticipating this one. I couldn't wait to see Jamie Lee back in action. I have to say when word got out that they would be dismissing H 2 and H20 that was hard to understand. It just seems it made for a better story this go around on how she lives now with a fortress and guns galore, escaping to come after her 20 years ago and now waiting again for this go around. But that aside , I went in with nothing but positive mind set , ready to be blown away. Well.... it was good... but there were a lot of things that were just too much. He's in a sanitarium 40 years , silent w/o a word and on Halloween night they're going to transport him to somewhere else??? I mean I get it.. you have to get him out of the hospital somehow, but there's other ways. I didn't like the role of Laurie's daughter... she played the old role of "your crazy" "this isn't real" yada yada... too much. The movie should have been scarier , like the others. Too much comic relief for a movie of this caliber. The scares were lacking for me and I saw plenty of opportunities for lots of really good scares. The music however was on point and Michael's mask and killing was good. I just think it could have been better. Jamie Lee played a good role of course , but I think her character was also lacking. She needed more. It's still worth seeing without a doubt and I hope they make another one next year, probably that one will be without Jamie Lee but the series still has plenty of life it just needs to be the scare that we know it can be and the horror that all the other films of today want to be. Step it up on the next one guys... it's Halloween after all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Oct 19, 2018
Walked into this film a little hesitant, but darn did I find this to be the best Halloween film since the original.

Although the constant Halloween continuity reboots have gotten a bit draining, having only the first film count and Michael
Walked into this film a little hesitant, but darn did I find this to be the best Halloween film since the original.

Although the constant Halloween continuity reboots have gotten a bit draining, having only the first film count and Michael no longer being Laurie's brother returns Michael back to this random, inexplicable force of death. None of the other films, including maybe even the original, have stressed so much the unease of not knowing what makes him tick.

The tight camerawork also may come closest to the original to Michael more of a menacing thing than man. The scares are kept pretty varied as the direction for Michael's appearances and kills shift seamlessly between subtle and in-your-face. In an age when slashers have become predictable, this movie manages to surprise at points in its ferocity.

The film looks good in general with the whole thing having this 70s look that manages to utilize darkness without sacrificing color. The opening sequence is a very effective and weird-little variation on the original into. The classic music theme is back. The script does a surprisingly good job of delving into the emotional and psychological aftermath of Michael's killings. There is a lot of setup and exposition before Michael escapes, but the dialogue is so smooth, it isn't an issue. There are actually a few funny lines spread throughout.

I really liked Jamie Lee Curtis' performance as Laurie Strode even more than her portrayal in H20, and she was already pretty good in that. Here she is a half-crazed, survivalist grandma suffering from PSTD. Curtis easily switches between tough and tormented. Credit should also be given to Andi Matichak as the granddaughter. She gives a good job of playing the new young heroine, and I kind of wished she had more screentime.

Only big knitpick is that the authorities use movie logic here, and there is some suspension of disbelief in how they handle things.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
bimmybob2001Oct 20, 2018
not really one of "The BEST" Reboots, but it is a Decent one that Is good enough to warrant Good Attention
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wkallaoOct 19, 2018
After seeing this film, I realized how all the prior sequels missed the mark on everything. Those sequels missed dedication, passion and promise - three things that this film all included. Halloween (2018) isn't just a well made horror movie,After seeing this film, I realized how all the prior sequels missed the mark on everything. Those sequels missed dedication, passion and promise - three things that this film all included. Halloween (2018) isn't just a well made horror movie, it's a well made movie in every aspect. The cinematography is gorgeous, the lighting is eerie, the acting is phenomenal, the music is chilling...and it is scary!!!

In this film we follow Laurie (Jamie Lee Curtis) who has been suffering from PTSD for 40 years following her escape from Michael Myers back in 1978. This film does an impeccable job of portraying PTSD, and how Laurie's life has been derailed by it. The film follows Michael escaping after a bus crash, and in this film - Laurie is the one hunting him down. It is a unique twist that is well done.

This film is filled to the brim with incredible references to all prior films and is done so cleverly, they work! These allusions don't feel forced or like a gimmick. They are natural and work so well with the film. This film will keep you on the edge of your seat because for the first time in 40 years, we feel how scary and dangerous Michael is. From when we first see him in action., we know he isn't not here to mess around.

Aside from some necessary expositional dialogue, this film makes all its marks. It is a film done so well with such passion and dedication. David Gordon Green, Danny McBride and Jeff Fradley made an impossible to miss movie. Finally, a Halloween sequel that feels like a MOVIE. A true story you are invested in and can follow.

This is a MUST SEE film for all Halloween fans - and all horror fanatics, and anyone who just loves good movies! I viewed this film in a special screening, and the audience there screamed, laughed and cheered their way through it the entire thing. This will go down as one of the best horror films made, and even one of the best slashers too. This film is so well done, it doesn't only outdo all the sequels, it nearly outdoes the original. YES - it is that amazing of a film.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeOct 19, 2018
Forty years has passed since the original movie was released to theaters and what's shocking is that this Halloween has managed to scrap every single installment that came between the original and this real follow-up. What I like about thisForty years has passed since the original movie was released to theaters and what's shocking is that this Halloween has managed to scrap every single installment that came between the original and this real follow-up. What I like about this movie is that it actually acknowledges our timeline to make a pinpoint to the plot. Tropes and clichés aside, this Halloween movie is more than just a generic sequel or a failed remake to a very boring franchise. I think this could be the exact movie where the Halloween franchise can finally be redeemed after being treated with boring sequels and a terrible remake that no one wanted in the first place for so many years. Yeah, it suffers from common horror tropes and clichés, but at least you can tolerate it more than the other installments in this franchise. This movie also makes our two main characters, Michael Myers and Laurie Strode, feel relevant again even if they are still suffered from common horror tropes and clichés. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
WizberdOct 19, 2018
An Absolutely Good Slasher and a Perfect Halloween Movie, Jamie Lee Curtis slash the movie and Myers still absolutely Terryfing.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
chughes717Oct 19, 2018
If you're a fan of the series, you won't be disappointed. A lot of callbacks to the original and it has some interesting ideas of its' own as well. Will be interesting to see what happens with the franchise moving forward...
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
mikeydodoOct 20, 2018
Totally entertaining and watchable. It has some good scares, gore, camp and that old-style horror movie feel. packed theatre in los angeles... everyone seemed to enjoy! perfect movie to see this halloween season
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
VinrichOct 20, 2018
Pacing issues & not enough of Laurie.
Good but not great. A lot left to be desired.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Megajohn01Oct 19, 2018
By excising the unnecessary mythology that had been hamfisted into later installments/remakes and utilizing a back to basics approach, Halloween is the definitive sequel to the original 1978 film and a modern slasher classic
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
6
pomattovichOct 19, 2018
David Gordon Green’s response to the original film leans a bit too much on recreating it. Goes in some intriguing directions, & some disappointing ones. It hits the nostalgia button a few too many times. Jamie Lee is great, but is aDavid Gordon Green’s response to the original film leans a bit too much on recreating it. Goes in some intriguing directions, & some disappointing ones. It hits the nostalgia button a few too many times. Jamie Lee is great, but is a supporting character in her own movie. The Shape is outstanding, with a strong physical presence that still delivers chills, though rarely satisfying scares. At the end of the day, it’s still just a Halloween sequel, complete with a final girl and a bevy of dumb teenagers to mow through before the final confrontation that we came to see. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
rodrigoribeiro0Oct 19, 2018
The director David Gordon Green was smart enough to abandon every installment that came after the original and create a real sequel that would look “clean” and continue Carpenter’s story, which was effective for its level of creepiness andThe director David Gordon Green was smart enough to abandon every installment that came after the original and create a real sequel that would look “clean” and continue Carpenter’s story, which was effective for its level of creepiness and simplicity. “Halloween 2018” is a good film. It is well directed, it is well written, it has great acting and the pacing is slow like the original. The “life trauma and its impacts” theme is incredibly well crafted. The development of Laurie Strode’s character and her relationship with her daughter and granddaughter is fantastic.

As a movie, it is above most of the slashers out there. As a Halloween flick, well, this is the part that the movie has its victories and also fails in several ways. This installment delivers strong fan service to die hard fans. From its opening credits that pretty much use the same formula of the original to the scenes that pay homage to the whole franchise, the movie knows how to gain the hearts of the real fans. John Carpenter’s soundtrack and scores are the best in this. This is probably his best work yet.

But the biggest lesson Carpenter has taught us, which is “don’t show too much and keep in the shadows”, well this was truly abandoned in H2018. I felt like I was watching Michael kill people, one after the other, without any supporting tension. Any suspense. The addition of comedy also destroyed a lot of the good opportunities that the movie had to scare the **** out of us. With the exception of the 3rd act that is amazingly well written and has a scene that really made me fear Michael, the rest of the movie does not scare much. Overall you will realize that you are watching a good fun movie, that is not very scary and works better for die hard fans or for people who are easy to scare.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Oct 19, 2018
Released and set 40 years after the release/events of the iconic original slasher from 1978, this film does us all the great service of completely disregarding all of the unnecessary and not so great sequels to the original! That's right!Released and set 40 years after the release/events of the iconic original slasher from 1978, this film does us all the great service of completely disregarding all of the unnecessary and not so great sequels to the original! That's right! This is treated as a sequel to the very original film only (thank goodness!) The result is a frightening and bloody good time with Michael Myers for a new generation, with of course some clever winks and nods to the original as well. And I gotta say, watching three generations of Strodes (Laurie Strode, her daughter, and her granddaughter) going up against Michael Myers was pretty awesome to watch! Jamie Lee Curtis is better than ever as the older but certainly wiser Laurie Strode, and even Judy Greer as her daughter and newcomer Andi Matichak as her granddaughter both give strong performances. And it does have its campy moments, but what horror film doesn't nowadays? And besides, that's what makes it fun in a lot of ways as well! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
AxebrossiaOct 20, 2018
Killing list: Fan service, fan service, copy paste, fan service, fan service, copy paste and final confrotation with Laurie (Kind of Home Alone movie); GREAT! (the only great from the movie)
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
hcliffedOct 19, 2018
The ending was so meh, after so much buildup. This franchise is not confident that it can tell a good story. To remove all the sequels, but make this the third Halloween II, yet ironically, the third film to be subtly named "Halloween", itThe ending was so meh, after so much buildup. This franchise is not confident that it can tell a good story. To remove all the sequels, but make this the third Halloween II, yet ironically, the third film to be subtly named "Halloween", it would have been better to have just admitted to fans that it's Ha11oween. We've seen it all and done it all before. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
Puggyiscool123Oct 19, 2018
I'm a HUGE fan of the entire series. I even enjoy most of the objectively bad films to varying degrees. This film was fine. Looked great. JLC was excellent. "The Shape" was as menacing as ever. That being said, this is a flawed film. TheI'm a HUGE fan of the entire series. I even enjoy most of the objectively bad films to varying degrees. This film was fine. Looked great. JLC was excellent. "The Shape" was as menacing as ever. That being said, this is a flawed film. The flaws are two-fold, but inter-related. First, with the exception of Laurie, and, perhaps, a character with limited screen time--the supporting characters are neither compelling or memorable. Part of the problem is that it almost appears that this movie had a television series narrative as opposed to a feature film. There are too many characters and subplots to sustain any interest in either of the aforementioned. Eventually, you just want some of them to get killed off--to return the focus to Laurie and Michael. My second issue is that, as are many films in 2018, the male characters are, by and large, ineffectual boneheads--leaving Laurie as the only competent person in the film. I have no problem with JLC playing the hero--but rooting for male "good guys" to get killed so as to get them off the screen (because they are so annoying) is not optimal screenwriting. I think some of the review "
inflation" is due to the fact that to some extent, the film is "woke"--especially in a #metoo respect. In my estimation, the movie would have been a solid "8" if the male characters were written with a modicum of realism and empathy.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
AaronRadcliffOct 19, 2018
"We've been so deprived of a good Halloween movie for so long that we might look at this and consider it better than what it is. There's a couple laughs, but it isn't funny. There's some spooks, but it isn't scary. Rather than a bad sequel,"We've been so deprived of a good Halloween movie for so long that we might look at this and consider it better than what it is. There's a couple laughs, but it isn't funny. There's some spooks, but it isn't scary. Rather than a bad sequel, it feels like a less-than-stellar fan film." Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
mooviefanOct 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halloween! In 2018?! I was excited. Was being the operative word. I saw the movie at my earliest convenience and what I saw left a lot to be desired. The opening credits got me right in the zone - the rotted pumpkin clearly representing the poor Rob Zombie attempts and some of the other stinkers in the Halloween series. But that was all to be forgotten, the pumpkin was reborn and re-lit and the audience sat there with me, ready to digest whatever was in store for us. What was in store, was a poorly put together mish-mash of poor acting and poor script. Now granted, Jibrail Nantambu is a young actor but his role of Julian was so poor I thought I was watching an out-take. His delivery of lines was comically out of sync with what the script-writer had intended that it sounded like something that wouldn't have made the cut in a B-movie, yet, here it was. The premise of Michael being in a mental institution for the past 40 years seemed like a strange premise, but it was just about pulled off, although the way we got to the mental institution was lame - the journalists clearly were there for cannon-fodder. And this was the problem throughout - the cast just seemed to be there to kill. There wasn't anyone I really cared about. If you cast your mind back to earlier Halloween movies, you'll remember Bernard Garrett (Halloween II). Although his screen time was relatively short, I liked Bernard. Halloween has the stereotypical love-triangle thing going on which really felt like we haven't progressed in horror movies - or rather, we have (Saw didn't feel the need to add teenage love triangles into the mix). There are glimpses of hope - Michael Myres is as violent as ever and he's on a mission to kill. The music, threat and potential is there, but just as we head towards a good scene, the pacing moves from being too fast, to super slow...really, slow. There are a couple of twists and turns but one of them I wont spoil was in my opinion, an offense to fans of Loomis. One other thing that sticks in my mind (like the smell of a rotten egg) was that when Michael killed a cop, the police response was weaker than the response you'd get for posting a controversial tweet. The ending, which I wont spoil, was rather dull and a ultimately somewhat of a let-down considering the amount of advertising i'd seen for this movie. I wanted to love this movie - I even went as far as watching several of the other Halloween movies before this one, but I suspect the rating will drop as more people view this. Unfortunately, the pumpkin is still rotten and i'm not sure if this is a series than can be revived. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
JamesQOct 20, 2018
A welcome return to form for this franchise, although not without its own problems. Brings some novel themes to the slasher framework and Jamie Lee Curtis is fantastic; the "kill the teenagers" elements can take away from that main storylineA welcome return to form for this franchise, although not without its own problems. Brings some novel themes to the slasher framework and Jamie Lee Curtis is fantastic; the "kill the teenagers" elements can take away from that main storyline (and our main emotional investment in the film), but thankfully they are mainly handled with gory aplomb: well-shot suspense sequences, startling death scenes, a nice atmosphere of eerie calmness and in my opinion the best take on Michael Myers since the 1978 original. Curious to see it again, so that's a good sign. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
crankyermaOct 20, 2018
I'm a big fan of the franchise. Haven't looked forward to seeing a film in the theater like this in over a decade. That said, this "Halloween" kinda blew goats. The biggest problem is that the script didn't seem to have much drive from sceneI'm a big fan of the franchise. Haven't looked forward to seeing a film in the theater like this in over a decade. That said, this "Halloween" kinda blew goats. The biggest problem is that the script didn't seem to have much drive from scene to scene at times. There were no great dialogue moments. Laurie's character felt flat and kind've under defined. Add to that the misguided undercurrent of not feminism as much as misandry was a turn off as well. They do make it a point to show that even when you are best friends and have an emotional connection with a girl, if you are a fat or less than hot male and you try to kiss her, it's an offense worthy of a gruesome death. Love the sensitivity of the #metoo crowd. Good to know. "H2O" was a far better written and more entertaining film. As I left the theater (which was dead silent for the entire film) I couldn't help but compare my overall lack of enthusiasm for what I just sat through and the elation and total satisfaction I felt after viewing "H2O." This film was kind've a loser. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
augustwoOct 21, 2018
Halloween the original is my favorite all time scary movie. Maybe it's because I'm getting older but I was never scared during this film. The story is a little cheesy too. It's worth seeing just to hear the music but it did not meet my high hopes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Oct 20, 2018
Speaking only as someone who's seen mere parts of the first installment, I understand that my opinion on this eleventh entry may be a bit lacking in value or context, but my honest impression still stands; I thought this was a fantastic time.Speaking only as someone who's seen mere parts of the first installment, I understand that my opinion on this eleventh entry may be a bit lacking in value or context, but my honest impression still stands; I thought this was a fantastic time. A really great, post-modern premise fits snugly beside the solid atmosphere and air established by the methodical directorial stylings of David Gordon Green. The added benefit of having to witness one of Jamie Lee Curtis's best performances is also something of tremendous note. Overall, I had a blast watching "Halloween," and I hope this acts as a wakeup call to many other studio execs looking to cash in on nostalgic brand names. You can lean on the past as hard as you'd like, but it's the narrative and invention of the filmmakers at hand that'll really keep the people asking for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Oct 20, 2018
An entertaining reboot for a modern generation that still has the same paranoia and terror of the original. Halloween has plenty of suspense, scares, and comedy to keep you heart beating and you on the edge of your seat. An amazing horrorAn entertaining reboot for a modern generation that still has the same paranoia and terror of the original. Halloween has plenty of suspense, scares, and comedy to keep you heart beating and you on the edge of your seat. An amazing horror film for both the old and new generations to enjoy. Even older viewers will enjoy the little references and scene call backs to the first original! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TestTrakOct 21, 2018
While I'm not a huge fan of horror movies, I can definitely appreciate their place in the film industry. Unfortunately most horror movie classics, such as the 1978 Halloween, get repetitive after the fifth sequel. However this movie didn'tWhile I'm not a huge fan of horror movies, I can definitely appreciate their place in the film industry. Unfortunately most horror movie classics, such as the 1978 Halloween, get repetitive after the fifth sequel. However this movie didn't make me like I was watching the same slasher film it's a sequel to. It felt more like a homage to the defining moments of the other Halloween films (which there are plenty of callbacks to) and also managed to blend in modern film styles with that classic 70's horror vibe. Tense moments are accompanied by a perfect score again based on the original but given new life so that it didn't feel repetitive hearing certain cues again. Even the most minor of characters are given decent amounts of screen time before they are killed off, which gives more weight to them in the audience eyes. Michael still is a regular psychopath, but his movements suggest something uncanny about him. Especially during a five minute long-take where he stalks multiple people through a few home, uninterrupted by cuts. Only one story beat made little sense to me, or more it felt rushed and lost any potential. It did have a reason to happen, but still felt shoehorned in more than anything. This doesn't stop the film from being a perfect sequel/maybe reboot of the franchise in the modern age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HectOct 20, 2018
Halloween 2018 have a great moments but sadly the movie offers only a fan service with each killing, Halloween 2 is much better. I can`t take this the truly official canon from the franchice...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ladymontecarloOct 20, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I get the feeling some may not have actually watched Halloween 1978 via all the reviews on various sites. They seem to say this new Halloween is the "sequel" to the 1978 original and that Michael has been incarcerated ever since. Problem: Michael got away in the original Halloween. It would work if they called this movie Halloween 3, but the body count referred to would have to be higher than "5 people". It would be feasible considering Michael "burned to death" in Halloween 2 they could have captured him then since both movies occurred on the same night. Some critics have said there was closure by the end. I say, It was left wide open and there was absolutely no closure. There were way too many valleys/painfully slow moments. It could have been so much better than it was. Die hard Michael Myers fan here, but I couldn't disregard enough of this movie to keep it interesting for me. Way too much just didn't make sense or attempt to stay in line with how the story really went. You just have to imagine that there were no Halloween movies after the original 1978. Also, Michael would not have gotten away in the original's ending. I had such high hopes for this film, but personally, I walked away disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KyleAlvin17Oct 20, 2018
Halloween was the first movie I ever got on DVD when I was a kid, I have always been a fan. I must say this movie is the best I have seen in the franchise since the first two movies. I really appreciated it and I will probably appreciate itHalloween was the first movie I ever got on DVD when I was a kid, I have always been a fan. I must say this movie is the best I have seen in the franchise since the first two movies. I really appreciated it and I will probably appreciate it more as it sinks in. Great acting with emotion for a horror movie. It was as perfect as we could have hoped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MikeyIshOct 20, 2018
Absolutely amazing, best sequel ever and the atmosphere and soundtrack are really great too, loved it so much!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IronThroneQueenOct 21, 2018
I loved how it adapted to 2018 culture! Michael gave no damns about who he needed to kill. The reunion was chilling and exciting. Thank you Jamie Lee Curtis and Nick Castle!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews