STX Entertainment | Release Date: June 1, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
AugustKellerJun 4, 2018
Shallow characters in deep waters, Adrift is lost at sea. Centered around uninteresting people and their uninteresting relationship, this movie gets its audience from start to finish with the suspense of drying paint. To be fair, there areShallow characters in deep waters, Adrift is lost at sea. Centered around uninteresting people and their uninteresting relationship, this movie gets its audience from start to finish with the suspense of drying paint. To be fair, there are parts of Adrift that are surprisingly refreshing: an interesting plot development, a quality closing shot (pre-unnecessary epilogue) and immersive sound throughout the scenes on water. However, these refreshing moments are like islands dotting a vast ocean of mediocre romance.

Fundamental aspects of Adrift (such as dialogue and editing) are conducted in such obtuse and formulaic fashions that the film is doomed to be forgettable. Because its emotional connections never truly hit its viewers, the direction of Adrift lands somewhere between clumsy and inept. The sequence of scenes is arbitrary, the relationships are underdeveloped, and the clashing special effects undercut the tension. Adrift does make occasionally good efforts but, overall, it’s washed up.

Writing: 4/10
Direction: 2/10
Cinematography: 5/10
Acting: 5/10
Editing: 2/10
Sound: 7/10
Score/Soundtrack: 5/10
Production Design: 4/10
Casting: 5/10
Effects: 3/10

Overall Score: 4.4/10

Original Article: https://thefilmguys.blog/reviews/augusts-reviews/adrift-2018/
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKJun 4, 2018
This is the first time I have ever been at a movie where it didn’t bother me that someone took out this phone two rows in front of me and checked his messages. What a dull movie. How can you make the sea dull???? Kormakur manages. I thoughtThis is the first time I have ever been at a movie where it didn’t bother me that someone took out this phone two rows in front of me and checked his messages. What a dull movie. How can you make the sea dull???? Kormakur manages. I thought Sam Claflin was cute, but he didn’t make me feel sorry for him or care what happened to him. And I found Shailene Woodley totally unconvincing. I didn’t even believe her bad sunburn. You would think I would give this movie a “red” since I seem to hate it so much, but I’ll just give it a “yellow” for being dull and boring and pointless. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
Angieg123Jul 16, 2018
Went to see this film with my husband, cannot express how dissapointing it was. We found the film slow, far fetched in places and we could wait for it to end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
CanadianJul 19, 2018
This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The writing is so bad that the lead female character says all kinds of expressions that weren't even around in 1983 when the film is set (such as "sick" meaning something cool; cheesy;This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The writing is so bad that the lead female character says all kinds of expressions that weren't even around in 1983 when the film is set (such as "sick" meaning something cool; cheesy; fricking...) It's as if they want the film to be set in 2018 and can't be bothered to find out what expressions people used back then. There is zero chemistry between the two main characters. They barely knew each other and we're supposed to believe they have this incredible love? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJun 5, 2018
Although it looks like this movie will be an on-the-seas survival story (based on a true events), it's actually more a romance. Shailene Woodley is travelling the world one odd job at a time, when she meets a charming man with his own boatAlthough it looks like this movie will be an on-the-seas survival story (based on a true events), it's actually more a romance. Shailene Woodley is travelling the world one odd job at a time, when she meets a charming man with his own boat (Sam Claflin). They set out from Tahiti to San Diego, but run into a hurricane that leaves them injured and stranded. The filmmakers decided to tell this story in a constant back and forth between the events leading up to the catastrophe and the aftermath. This interesting approach makes any kind of momentum difficult, whether it's the destructive power of the storm or the strong bond of their love. Even though the endurance challenge has its moments and the romance is sufficiently sweet, the combination waters down the effect of both. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
benskylerhillJun 1, 2018
It’s difficult to watch Adrift and not see it as a combination of the primary aspects of other movies like All Is Lost, Into the Wild, etc. It’s a familiar formula, but this film benefits from strong performances and seamless storytellingIt’s difficult to watch Adrift and not see it as a combination of the primary aspects of other movies like All Is Lost, Into the Wild, etc. It’s a familiar formula, but this film benefits from strong performances and seamless storytelling methods; as a result, it turns out to be a surprisingly engaging, even thrilling, drama.

Without spoiling anything, Adrift makes use of nonlinear storytelling, frequently jumping back and forth between two timelines, and for the most part, it works. The vast majority of the transitions are acutely timed and serve to develop the characters and therefore boost the narrative. But there are some flashback scenes that feel out of place, almost as though they were shot simply to add a little variety while adding nothing to the story and detracting from the tone of desperation.

The dialogue is iffy, half of it being realistic and powerful and the other half being cheesy and unnecessary.

Another issue I had with this film was the soundtrack. It really doesn’t add anything to the film and some of the music feels out of place with the scenes it accompanies.

Shailene Woodley is really what gives Adrift the majority of its force. She gives this role everything that she has and it’s impossible to not feel the desperation and fear that she gives to the character of Tami. Sam Clafin also plays his character well, but his strength is less in the tense drama and more in the romantic scenes where his charisma serves to elevate them.

Adrift isn’t a movie you need to rush out to go see right now, but it’s certainly both charming and gripping enough to overshadow most of its flaws and make it worth a watch.

Story: 7.5
Acting: 8.5
Script: 6
Visuals/Sound: 6
Entertainment Value: 8

OVERALL SCORE: 7.2/10
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
judahjsnJun 1, 2018
Flawless and affecting movie. I loved it. Beautifully shot and acted. Very emotional.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeJul 25, 2018
Adrift takes the romantic-drama genre with a sudden drift-in-a-drift Pacific hurricane that comes out of nowhere to create the weakest plot I have ever seen in a romantic-drama film. No worries though, everything else makes it up for theAdrift takes the romantic-drama genre with a sudden drift-in-a-drift Pacific hurricane that comes out of nowhere to create the weakest plot I have ever seen in a romantic-drama film. No worries though, everything else makes it up for the absurdly weak plot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jul 22, 2018
Although it doesn't offer a story that surpasses the cliché, it's not a steamed up film.
It's a survival drama in the sea therefore you know what awaits you but the story is inspiring and moving enough and both the director and the main
Although it doesn't offer a story that surpasses the cliché, it's not a steamed up film.
It's a survival drama in the sea therefore you know what awaits you but the story is inspiring and moving enough and both the director and the main characters do a good job so that your attention doesn't decline.

Sam Claflin has a strong intervention but the film belongs to Shailene Woodley, also the drama is not always fully centered but it's solid and although I repeat it doesn't come to tell a new story, even though it's based on real events, I don't believe that if you see it, you'll end up disappointed. At least I wasn't
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BradleyJordanJul 8, 2018
Once again I’m surprised that the reviews gave this movie such mixed reviews. The movie kept my interest and I’m glad I gave this movie a try. Nothing to rush out to see, unless you want to see it on the big screen, but an decent movie toOnce again I’m surprised that the reviews gave this movie such mixed reviews. The movie kept my interest and I’m glad I gave this movie a try. Nothing to rush out to see, unless you want to see it on the big screen, but an decent movie to check out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
msdhonoJun 2, 2018
Exciting,erotic,engaging film about love,adventure with a truly empowered female lead. The writing captures a nonlinear story that adds interest and intrigue as the story unfolds. You will cry and gasp but emerge from the theater enriched andExciting,erotic,engaging film about love,adventure with a truly empowered female lead. The writing captures a nonlinear story that adds interest and intrigue as the story unfolds. You will cry and gasp but emerge from the theater enriched and entertained. See it! Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
BrettSiebenhaarJun 7, 2018
I really wanted to like this movie. Everything was good except one major part, Shailene Woodley. Sam Claflin on the other hand is an amazing, but underrated actor. He was this movies saving grace, besides the spectacular special effects!I really wanted to like this movie. Everything was good except one major part, Shailene Woodley. Sam Claflin on the other hand is an amazing, but underrated actor. He was this movies saving grace, besides the spectacular special effects! Back to Shailene, is she easy on the eyes, yes, but that doesn't make you a great actress. It was hard to believe the story that she was attempting to portray. There were a few highlights to what she did, but for the most part, it was hard to take her seriously and just believe that she was surviving 41 days at sea. I never felt the real connection that Tami (Shailene) and Richard (Sam) shared. It was almost as if there was no chemistry between the two. Again, Sam Claflin was amazing in this movie, and like I said, the special effects. For those two reasons, I would recommend this movie, but you have been warned about Shailene Woodley... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SistajaiJun 1, 2018
Amazing! Loved the romance, the adventure, and the courage displayed by the strong female heroine. Definitely a must-see!!
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
kelsieoJun 1, 2018
Such a wonderful story about love, fortitude, and resiliency. Our mind works in such beautiful and powerful ways and the Kandell brothers brought this to life!
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
toestonoseJun 2, 2018
For this old salt, you put a sailboat in a movie with an attractive young woman and I'm hooked. A lovely romantic survival story, based on real occurrences makes this film worth seeing.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
DufreshestJun 26, 2018
Adrift: A Tear Jerker
A tear trickles down the right side of my face after two successful attempts barring any tears from spilling from my swelling eyes. I'm sitting in seat F5 in theater eight in AMC's Essex Green Dine-In Theater watching
Adrift: A Tear Jerker
A tear trickles down the right side of my face after two successful attempts barring any tears from spilling from my swelling eyes. I'm sitting in seat F5 in theater eight in AMC's Essex Green Dine-In Theater watching the credits of Adrift thinking that crying is alright in theaters with my justification being that the theater room may be the equivalent of a crying room. I have work in a few minutes so I contain myself though I talk of tearing - not crying - to my co-workers, friends, and guests as though Adrift deserves any more of my tears.

A film adaptation of a true story may be very compelling and impactful due to the audience having to relate to very real and possible concepts capable of being within their grasp - within their life. So, without knowing the full actual story, I find the retelling of the story in Adrift well done. Adrift doesn't dwell too long; each scene fulfills its purpose to bring the film full circle. No - not every story has to come full circle to be a complete-well-done story. If any special effects are in Adrift, I don't notice them - which draws me closer to the experiences occurring in the film concerning (at least) the idea of real coexisting entities. Plus, I have a strong appreciation for animations - CGI - done well, especially in conjunction with reality in visual storytelling forms.
I'm glad about not really knowing any of the actors prior to Adrift. What's interesting is as Shailene Woodley appears in the film, a part of me is finding a familiarity with her though - at the same time - after a bit of divulging - I come to find myself wanting to get to know her and Sam Claflin (respectfully as their characters Tami Oldham and Richard Sharp). The acting, directing, and use of the environment within each scene really creates a welcoming atmosphere which confirms the idea of untouchable romance - a love without disturbance even in the seemingly overwhelming and distracting imbalance of circumstances. Surprisingly, the attire of each of the acting members confirms a stronger sense of reality that the audience is not able to ignore.

Adrift really helps one feel - long to feel and experience more. What is so small to someone may be so impactful to another. I think Adrift doesn't even lure the audience; the audience is being taken on a journey immediately, from the beginning of the story through the ending of the credits. The story is touching and leaves one (at least me) thinking of the persistence and subtleness of love.

Nostalgic Moment: The Perfect Storm comes to mind after watching Adrift.

Overall Score: 7.325/10

- K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
WonderZOct 3, 2018
This film encapsulates the true essence of the human emotion, how our basic feelings work so hard to save us and to shelter us from a harsh reality. Shailene Woodley performs fiercely to offer such a hard rendition of emotions, she sways fromThis film encapsulates the true essence of the human emotion, how our basic feelings work so hard to save us and to shelter us from a harsh reality. Shailene Woodley performs fiercely to offer such a hard rendition of emotions, she sways from scene to scene on a mere feeling and it's a joy to watch. Adrift is so much more than a survival story, it tells its story with never-ending passion and I very much enjoyed watching it with boxxy software. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
TheWayfarer73Sep 20, 2018
An hour into this movie and I could care less what happens to the characters. It would've been A LOT better had the director just told the story linearly rather than this back-and-forth style which really took the wind out of the sails, punAn hour into this movie and I could care less what happens to the characters. It would've been A LOT better had the director just told the story linearly rather than this back-and-forth style which really took the wind out of the sails, pun intended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
justwibiOct 24, 2018
not great survival movie or romance. both of them got 50% good for me. soo not bad.. i enjoyed it. at least entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ThomassSep 8, 2018
The movie is very competently done, the leads are good but it left me feeling something was missing. Other reviews have mentioned that there are many “lost at see” movies and as I thought about it I thought maybe that’s the problem. The factThe movie is very competently done, the leads are good but it left me feeling something was missing. Other reviews have mentioned that there are many “lost at see” movies and as I thought about it I thought maybe that’s the problem. The fact that this story is true does make it special but it needed something else to separate it from these other films that fictionally cover the same ground. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Vitor007Sep 2, 2018
Shailene Woodley becomes astonishing. The film that is based on a true story be a bit of a fantasy. With many points of tension and few of excitement, the film loses in screenplay, but continues to be an exciting story. Hm... Ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
assaedAug 30, 2018
فيلم جيد حبكة رائعة بالرغم من ان الفيلم مكبل بقصة حقيقية
فيلم يجسد الصراع و المثابرة من اجل البقاء و من أجل السعادة و من اجل الحب
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bataguilaNov 14, 2018
Mediocre, ella no es simpatica, cae mal, quieres que se ahogue. El cae bien pero se pasa de pendejo. El final si puede sorprender pero no salva lo tediosa de la historia
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talahhammoudNov 2, 2018
this movie is just like the book called we were liars living in a world of excitement and urge to keep going the punching you so low you cant but cry
in the best way possible
and the fact that its based on a true story triggers your mind to
this movie is just like the book called we were liars living in a world of excitement and urge to keep going the punching you so low you cant but cry
in the best way possible
and the fact that its based on a true story triggers your mind to think about how life can be unfair
solemn reminder of not all stories have a happy ending
cruel but genuinely amazing reality learned to always stitch to your companion and go together as one unit, completely inextricable
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews