STX Entertainment | Release Date: June 1, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
AugustKellerJun 4, 2018
Shallow characters in deep waters, Adrift is lost at sea. Centered around uninteresting people and their uninteresting relationship, this movie gets its audience from start to finish with the suspense of drying paint. To be fair, there areShallow characters in deep waters, Adrift is lost at sea. Centered around uninteresting people and their uninteresting relationship, this movie gets its audience from start to finish with the suspense of drying paint. To be fair, there are parts of Adrift that are surprisingly refreshing: an interesting plot development, a quality closing shot (pre-unnecessary epilogue) and immersive sound throughout the scenes on water. However, these refreshing moments are like islands dotting a vast ocean of mediocre romance.

Fundamental aspects of Adrift (such as dialogue and editing) are conducted in such obtuse and formulaic fashions that the film is doomed to be forgettable. Because its emotional connections never truly hit its viewers, the direction of Adrift lands somewhere between clumsy and inept. The sequence of scenes is arbitrary, the relationships are underdeveloped, and the clashing special effects undercut the tension. Adrift does make occasionally good efforts but, overall, it’s washed up.

Writing: 4/10
Direction: 2/10
Cinematography: 5/10
Acting: 5/10
Editing: 2/10
Sound: 7/10
Score/Soundtrack: 5/10
Production Design: 4/10
Casting: 5/10
Effects: 3/10

Overall Score: 4.4/10

Original Article: https://thefilmguys.blog/reviews/augusts-reviews/adrift-2018/
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
judahjsnJun 1, 2018
Flawless and affecting movie. I loved it. Beautifully shot and acted. Very emotional.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
benskylerhillJun 1, 2018
It’s difficult to watch Adrift and not see it as a combination of the primary aspects of other movies like All Is Lost, Into the Wild, etc. It’s a familiar formula, but this film benefits from strong performances and seamless storytellingIt’s difficult to watch Adrift and not see it as a combination of the primary aspects of other movies like All Is Lost, Into the Wild, etc. It’s a familiar formula, but this film benefits from strong performances and seamless storytelling methods; as a result, it turns out to be a surprisingly engaging, even thrilling, drama.

Without spoiling anything, Adrift makes use of nonlinear storytelling, frequently jumping back and forth between two timelines, and for the most part, it works. The vast majority of the transitions are acutely timed and serve to develop the characters and therefore boost the narrative. But there are some flashback scenes that feel out of place, almost as though they were shot simply to add a little variety while adding nothing to the story and detracting from the tone of desperation.

The dialogue is iffy, half of it being realistic and powerful and the other half being cheesy and unnecessary.

Another issue I had with this film was the soundtrack. It really doesn’t add anything to the film and some of the music feels out of place with the scenes it accompanies.

Shailene Woodley is really what gives Adrift the majority of its force. She gives this role everything that she has and it’s impossible to not feel the desperation and fear that she gives to the character of Tami. Sam Clafin also plays his character well, but his strength is less in the tense drama and more in the romantic scenes where his charisma serves to elevate them.

Adrift isn’t a movie you need to rush out to go see right now, but it’s certainly both charming and gripping enough to overshadow most of its flaws and make it worth a watch.

Story: 7.5
Acting: 8.5
Script: 6
Visuals/Sound: 6
Entertainment Value: 8

OVERALL SCORE: 7.2/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
msdhonoJun 2, 2018
Exciting,erotic,engaging film about love,adventure with a truly empowered female lead. The writing captures a nonlinear story that adds interest and intrigue as the story unfolds. You will cry and gasp but emerge from the theater enriched andExciting,erotic,engaging film about love,adventure with a truly empowered female lead. The writing captures a nonlinear story that adds interest and intrigue as the story unfolds. You will cry and gasp but emerge from the theater enriched and entertained. See it! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SistajaiJun 1, 2018
Amazing! Loved the romance, the adventure, and the courage displayed by the strong female heroine. Definitely a must-see!!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
kelsieoJun 1, 2018
Such a wonderful story about love, fortitude, and resiliency. Our mind works in such beautiful and powerful ways and the Kandell brothers brought this to life!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
toestonoseJun 2, 2018
For this old salt, you put a sailboat in a movie with an attractive young woman and I'm hooked. A lovely romantic survival story, based on real occurrences makes this film worth seeing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
hairyblowersJun 7, 2018
Reason women like this move: It's another sappy romance. Reason guys like this movie: ( . ) Y ( . ) T1TS. I give it 2 stars for ( . ) Y ( . ) T1TS and some beautiful cinematic shots.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJun 5, 2018
Although it looks like this movie will be an on-the-seas survival story (based on a true events), it's actually more a romance. Shailene Woodley is travelling the world one odd job at a time, when she meets a charming man with his own boatAlthough it looks like this movie will be an on-the-seas survival story (based on a true events), it's actually more a romance. Shailene Woodley is travelling the world one odd job at a time, when she meets a charming man with his own boat (Sam Claflin). They set out from Tahiti to San Diego, but run into a hurricane that leaves them injured and stranded. The filmmakers decided to tell this story in a constant back and forth between the events leading up to the catastrophe and the aftermath. This interesting approach makes any kind of momentum difficult, whether it's the destructive power of the storm or the strong bond of their love. Even though the endurance challenge has its moments and the romance is sufficiently sweet, the combination waters down the effect of both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKJun 4, 2018
This is the first time I have ever been at a movie where it didn’t bother me that someone took out this phone two rows in front of me and checked his messages. What a dull movie. How can you make the sea dull???? Kormakur manages. I thoughtThis is the first time I have ever been at a movie where it didn’t bother me that someone took out this phone two rows in front of me and checked his messages. What a dull movie. How can you make the sea dull???? Kormakur manages. I thought Sam Claflin was cute, but he didn’t make me feel sorry for him or care what happened to him. And I found Shailene Woodley totally unconvincing. I didn’t even believe her bad sunburn. You would think I would give this movie a “red” since I seem to hate it so much, but I’ll just give it a “yellow” for being dull and boring and pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrettSiebenhaarJun 7, 2018
I really wanted to like this movie. Everything was good except one major part, Shailene Woodley. Sam Claflin on the other hand is an amazing, but underrated actor. He was this movies saving grace, besides the spectacular special effects!I really wanted to like this movie. Everything was good except one major part, Shailene Woodley. Sam Claflin on the other hand is an amazing, but underrated actor. He was this movies saving grace, besides the spectacular special effects! Back to Shailene, is she easy on the eyes, yes, but that doesn't make you a great actress. It was hard to believe the story that she was attempting to portray. There were a few highlights to what she did, but for the most part, it was hard to take her seriously and just believe that she was surviving 41 days at sea. I never felt the real connection that Tami (Shailene) and Richard (Sam) shared. It was almost as if there was no chemistry between the two. Again, Sam Claflin was amazing in this movie, and like I said, the special effects. For those two reasons, I would recommend this movie, but you have been warned about Shailene Woodley... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews