User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 49
  2. Negative: 22 out of 49
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2018
    7
    The Crew didn’t do well with the critics back in 2014 and none of my friends were a massive fan of the game either. I found this to be a shame because I actually quite enjoyed it despite its shortcomings. Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t the best racing game I’ve ever experienced before but The Crew did offer a few unique features and these unique features caused me to sink quite a fewThe Crew didn’t do well with the critics back in 2014 and none of my friends were a massive fan of the game either. I found this to be a shame because I actually quite enjoyed it despite its shortcomings. Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t the best racing game I’ve ever experienced before but The Crew did offer a few unique features and these unique features caused me to sink quite a few enjoyable hours into the game. As you can imagine then I’m probably one of the few that was looking forward to The Crew 2, and I’m pleased to say that The Crew 2 is definitely an improvement over the original and I’m hoping that the improvements will bring the people who disliked the game back to the table. The first thing you will notice about the game is how much you can do. I’m not exaggerating when I say that the content available to you will keep you satisfied for months to come and the best thing is that you won’t become bored of the content either because it has variety dotted throughout. To accompany the vast amount of content then you also have an absolutely massive world in which the game takes place in. This world is gigantic and driving around it never gets boring because there’s always something different for you to do. If you like multiple vehicles to drive in this gigantic world then you’ll be pleased to know that there’s something for everybody. Each vehicle feels completely different and by them doing this it gives the game even more replayability because in the end you’re eager to try out each different vehicle. There is also a good progression system put into place that allows you to improve your vehicle quite considerably and on the whole this system has been done well, but I did find it a little grindy when trying to get the best results for the vehicle I had at the time. If you played the first game then you’ll recall that the game suffered with quite a few technichal issues, but you’ll be pleased to know that these technichal issues don’t resurface in The Crew 2, in fact technically the game holds up really well throughout your time with the game and you don’t bump into many problems at all, which is great. Something The Crew did get right last time around though was its presentation and once again they get it spot on here. Visually the game can look absolutely stunning at times and the sound design that accompanies it is equally as good which without a doubt gives the game a nice creative edge to it. At the end of the day The Crew 2 is a game that I’ll be enjoying for ages and I’m pleased to see that they’ve improved certain areas and for that reason I definitely recommend that you give this game a try even if you didn’t like the first game that much. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2018
    4
    A reboot of the first game that functions worse. Horrendous rubberbanding that artificially increases difficulty. The ability to fast travel everywhere immediately therefore removing any incentive to explore making the giant map rather redundant. No PvP until DECEMBER! Mind you this is an online only racing game where the core mechanic is racing with friends yet there's no competitiveA reboot of the first game that functions worse. Horrendous rubberbanding that artificially increases difficulty. The ability to fast travel everywhere immediately therefore removing any incentive to explore making the giant map rather redundant. No PvP until DECEMBER! Mind you this is an online only racing game where the core mechanic is racing with friends yet there's no competitive modes whatsoever where as the first game had it right out the gate. The plane sections are no more than time trials, same as the off-road raids (which weren't in the first game). Cops are advertised but absent. Having said all that it does look pretty on the XB1X at 1800p. Yay! Though after watching comparison videos there are sections of the game that actually received a visual downgrade when viewed side by side with the original. Oh and the follower progression system is a blatant rip-off of Forza Horizon 3's system which this game clearly strives to be but falls woefully short. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2018
    7
    Massive screaming Forza Horizon fanboy here decided to pick this up as I played the first and quite enjoyed it. Crew 2 is also very fun once you tweak/ get used to the handling. Was playing it so long yesterday didn't get a chance to play FH3 at all. It's very rare for that to happen. Xbox one x version graphics are decent, there's lots to do, a wide range of events. The livery editor is aMassive screaming Forza Horizon fanboy here decided to pick this up as I played the first and quite enjoyed it. Crew 2 is also very fun once you tweak/ get used to the handling. Was playing it so long yesterday didn't get a chance to play FH3 at all. It's very rare for that to happen. Xbox one x version graphics are decent, there's lots to do, a wide range of events. The livery editor is a complete rip off of Forza's but not quite so in depth. I'm giving it a 7 because it is a fun, content filled game. The lack of PvP though stops it getting 8 or 9. It's not coming in til December. Crazy. By then FH4 will have been out for 2 months. Will i still be playing or want to return to it then? 99.9% no but it'll do nicely for
    a few weeks.
    Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2018
    2
    While the map is huge, the graphics are above average and the game is mostly polished, Crew 2 is severely misguided as to what makes an open world racer feel good. Making a huge open world is fine and it is quite impressive but the world feels dead, sure the environments look decent enough but who cares when it lacks character and any trace of civilisation or incentive to explore thisWhile the map is huge, the graphics are above average and the game is mostly polished, Crew 2 is severely misguided as to what makes an open world racer feel good. Making a huge open world is fine and it is quite impressive but the world feels dead, sure the environments look decent enough but who cares when it lacks character and any trace of civilisation or incentive to explore this barren open world.

    World physics are horrendous, I don't know why but gravity in this game is totally messed up, it feels like you fall straight down like there is a magnet attracting it and that's weird and honestly horrible. There's zero suspension physics so jumps are kinda retarded in this game.

    Next the weather, there's next to none in this game. Again the world feels empty and lacks character because of this shallow weather implementation. Horrible.

    I don't really mind physics all that much but I guess when there's a standard set by Forza Horizon 2/3 you start to understand just how important car physics are. Cars in the Crew 2 are like GTA or Watch Dogs cars, there's very little that differentiates one from the other beyond speed. Cars don't feel different enough and the physics are kinda trash. Very shallow physics and just really bad for a racer. There's also not a lot of details on cars, again FH3 made every car look beautiful, filled to the brim with details. Car damage is again very shallow.

    Races are really dumb in this game, there's way too many jumps. I don't get why, it looks stupid and feels like you're playing Asphalt 8. Way too many jumps it just doesn't make you feel like you control the car. And honestly you don't need to because the wall will do it for you. Wall riding is faster than taking a racing line, yes we've got retarded game design. I know this is catered to kids and casuals but there's a limit.

    Other vehichles are worse to play with. Boats feel like you're playing the boat game on wii sports resort but it's still infinitely worse. Physics are again superficial and there is zero interactivity with the waves. Even a decade old game made waves an integral part of boat racing.

    Driving planes put me to sleep, I don't know why it's there, but it's there and it's boring. Everything about this game screams generic, superficial and it feels like everything in this game is an after thought except for the large open world but even there they stopped after rendering the environments.

    Graphics are above average but still pretty bad, cars lack detail, pop in is everywhere. Very superficial modelling.

    This game is bad, don't buy it, it has nothing to offer as a racer but if you want to see averagely rendered American landmarks buy it when it's 10 euros... Wait for Forza Horizon 4, I know it's a gruelling wait but it'll be worth it. It looks like FH4 is going to yet again set the standard for an open world racer.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    le jeu est magnifique, il est bien varié avec pleins de véhicules, de courses en tout genre, une map tres grande avec des endroits splendide , jouer avec ses amis c est tres pratique, rapide, c est tres amusant
  6. Jul 12, 2018
    6
    I put over 30 hours into it and it was a fun game the different kinds of vehicles keep the game fresh and exciting and the ai is tough and a whole lot of bull **** so it makes the game challenging i enjoyed it worth my money
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jul 17, 2018
    70
    The racing on offer in The Crew 2 is fun and there are a wide variety of different events and vehicles that will keep you entertained. For some genre fans, that may be enough, but sadly, it’s a game that feels like a jack of all trades and a master of none. Throw in some odd design choices, a dull story, and lukewarm presentation and The Crew 2 is an ambitious game that doesn’t achieve its potential, nor does it approach the standard of some other open-world racers available today.
  2. Jul 13, 2018
    88
    I'll be the first to admit that I was not a fan of the original Crew racing game, but Ubisoft's team went to work and developed a racing game that is so addictive that it should be considered a controlled substance. Despite some flaws and hiccups along the way, The Crew 2 is poised to cement itself as the definitive arcade racing experience on any platform.
  3. Jul 11, 2018
    65
    In a way The Crew 2 is a better game from the old, but in another way, it is also very much the same flawed racer. There is a lot of good here: open world, four racing types, huge customization, and tons of races. However, as a racing game, you’d do better with Mario Kart.