Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 1, 2018
    100
    XBox One owners have no excuse to miss out on this game. It is one of the best examples of video games as a medium of entertainment and needs to be played by every person possible. I cannot stress enough how important this game is, or how good it is.
  2. Jul 5, 2018
    100
    NieR: Automata remains a fantastic action RPG, bringing an alluring world, compelling characters and a real sense of agency together to craft something I really can’t recommend enough. If you’ve yet to play this gem, the Xbox One is currently one of the best places to do so.
  3. Jul 3, 2018
    100
    Beautiful, eccentric and whimsical, Yoko Taro’s one of a kind dream child is something every Xbox One owner should experience – and who knows, maybe in exchange we’ll get more unusual Japanese games appearing on the platform too.
  4. Jul 2, 2018
    100
    The story has impact on both a base level and philosophically, and will no doubt leave you with questions to consider for days after you finish if you enjoy that kind of thing. I wish I could have more games like NieR: Automata, but I'll probably be waiting a while — it's only so often a game this excellent comes around.
  5. Jul 16, 2018
    98
    Many games get forgotten once completed, as I’m glad to have played many, but very few stick with me for quite some time, and even less that I euphorically have to recommend experiencing. NieR:Automata is one of those must have games, as it’s completely unique and unlike anything else I’ve ever played. Thank you to those directly responsible for bringing this amazing gem to the Xbox One for more fans to enjoy, as I probably would have never gotten to experience it otherwise.
  6. Jul 6, 2018
    95
    Rest assured, if you love a great story told with devastating style, you need to play through Nier Automata several times.
  7. Jul 5, 2018
    95
    Being that the game is unchanged from last year, it’s no surprise that the Become As Gods Edition doesn’t disappoint. If you’re Xbox-only and haven’t given this game a go, there’s no better time than the present.
  8. Jul 3, 2018
    95
    NieR Automata lands on Xbox One and is the same game that launched on PS4 last year. The Xbox One X version, though, is smoother and prettier than its PS4 Pro’s counterpart. The same great game, but with enhanced graphics.
  9. Jul 3, 2018
    93
    Nier Automata finally arrives to Xbox One, including every DLC released, and with improved resolution for Xbox One X. It is one of the greatest J-RPGs of the generation: difficult, rewarding and with great characters.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 18, 2018
    90
    Excellent combat executed with stylish flair. A must have for action game fans. [Sept 2018, p.90]
  11. Jul 27, 2018
    90
    In spite of all the odds against Yoko Taro's career, he has finally delivered a true masterpiece that finally delivers on all fronts, including gameplay. Environmental detail aesthetics lacking aside, Nier: Automata is an unbelievable game and one that just might make even the most stone cold hearted gamers well up into a weepy emotional mess. This is a landmark in storytelling that is one that embraces the fact it is a videogame and does not try to imitate film like the way most story-driven titles do.
  12. Jul 16, 2018
    90
    Nier: Automata has been one of the most unique games in recent years, and now, Become as Gods Edition lets Xbox One users to experience it too.
  13. Jul 12, 2018
    90
    There is a ton to see and do in Nier: Automata. Talking about much of it does it a disservice to the player. Don’t think about it. The game is finally on Xbox One. The more platforms the merrier. Perhaps one day Switch owners will get to experience it as well. This is a once-in-a-generation type experience. Go buy this game. Play it multiple times. It is worth every second of investment and I enjoyed pounding through all the endings for a second time. Somehow it was even better.
  14. Jul 2, 2018
    90
    NieR: Automata is a product of auteur game making at its finest.
  15. Jul 2, 2018
    90
    One of the best games of this generation (and one of the best action rpgs ever) finally comes to Xbox One, in a slightly refined version and with a price cut: do we really need to recommend it once more?
  16. 90
    A fantastic mix of explosive action and thoughtful storytelling, that results in one of the most unpredictable and ambitious action role-players of the modern era.
  17. Jul 1, 2018
    90
    NieR: Automata is nothing short of outstanding. Its storytelling is deep and engaging, its gameplay is in-depth and remarkably fluid, its design remains innovative throughout and its pacing is second to none. Rarely do we see such a high level of attention to detail in games of this type. Simply put, this is a near masterpiece that more than deserves your time and attention. It’s a truly sensational experience.
  18. Jun 29, 2018
    90
    Automata is a shining and delicate pearl that any action game lover should possess.
  19. Jun 29, 2018
    90
    The award masterpiece of Platinum Games arrives on Xbox One: the story is captivating, the world is alive and evolving, the combat is engaging and the soundtrack is simply amazing.
  20. Jun 26, 2018
    90
    Thanks to Platinum Games' knack for riveting and gratifying combat, Automata is Yoko Taro's most exciting game to date.
  21. Jul 25, 2018
    89
    If you still haven't played NieR: Automata then this Become as Gods Edition is a great excuse to finally get your hands on Yoko Taro's latest stylish action-packed tale.
  22. Jun 28, 2018
    89
    As good as it was on PS4, but with a bit more content, and it's cheaper. A win-win situation despite its delay.
  23. Jul 16, 2018
    88
    A brilliant and visionary action-RPG with a great plot, awesome music and rock-solid gameplay. It's still got some technical problems, but it definitely remains a must buy.
  24. Jun 28, 2018
    87
    Finally the wait for this masterpiece on Xbox One is over. If you are tired of run-of-the-mill action-adventures, this is the game you need.
  25. Jul 26, 2018
    85
    Nier Automata is one of the must-play games of this generation. Beside some technical roughness, the core mechanics are strong and any fan of the hack & slash genre will find a lot of joy in it.
  26. Jul 3, 2018
    85
    Automata is the perfect evolution for the NieR series with its smooth and dynamic combat. This is an excellent version for Xbox One.
  27. Jun 28, 2018
    85
    NieR: Automata makes some very brave choices when it comes to gameplay and direction. Platinum’s work on the combat and the bullet-hell comes off strongly and cleanly, and with Yoko Taro’s insane vision and obsession with morality and philosophy fuelling the narrative, the result is a game with a split personality that makes you fall in love with both sides. NieR: Automata is unlike anything else you can play on Xbox One.
  28. Jul 10, 2018
    80
    NieR: Automata is a masterclass action game with deep RPG mechanics, and a beautiful open world. While it’s held back by a weak narrative and a clunky game format that mandates replaying hours of content, it offers a wide variety of enjoyable experiences that make it well worth the asking price.
  29. Jun 29, 2018
    80
    NieR: Automata - Become as Gods Edition gives to all Xbox One players the chance to play one of the most ambitious and loved games we had last year.
  30. Aug 17, 2018
    70
    Nier: Automata Become As Gods Edition has a very deep and thoughtful story, but it requires a lot of time before you get down to it.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 110
  2. Negative: 13 out of 110
  1. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    I won’t mind admitting that I was very jealous when NieR Automata released on the PS4 because it is a game that is right up my alley, and II won’t mind admitting that I was very jealous when NieR Automata released on the PS4 because it is a game that is right up my alley, and I was very tempted to buy a PS4 just for that game. There was a part of me though that hoped it would eventually release on the Xbox One and as you can imagine when I first learnt that it was making its way to the Xbox One I was very excited to say the least, and I’m pleased to say that it was well worth the wait. Everything about this game oozes class and charm and to say I enjoyed my time with the game would be a massive understatement. I heard many good things about the game’s story and now I can see why because it’s breathtakingly brilliant from start to finish and the gameplay that accompanies the fantastic story is also flawless. The reason the gameplay is so flawless is because every little different mechanic and aspect adds a unique side to the game. You’ll be pleased to know then that the combat plays a big part in making the gameplay so addictive. Everything runs so smooth when you’re in combat and that means defeating the enemies you face always remains satisfying throughout your time with the game. This is a very good thing because in terms of content the game has a quite a lot for you to be getting on with. The content also doesn’t get boring either because there is variety dotted throughout the game’s fantastic world. In fact the content is that good that my only gripe with the game is that the fetch quests can be a little tedious from time to time, but this is only a small gripe and you can easily look past this. If you’re a fan of big and magnificent boss battles then you will no doubt be pleased with what NieR Automata has to offer. Each boss in the game actually felt like they mattered and the clever design of them meant that fighting them was not only rewarding but it was also very exciting as well. I have to also give a special mention to the presentation side of the game as well because it does enhance the gameplay quite a lot. I know everybody isn’t a fan of NieR’s style when it comes to the visual department, but for me I think it’s perfect and when both the visuals and sound design combine together you end up having even more of an immersive experience. At the end of the day even though NieR Automata came out last year on the PS4 I still think it deserves a special mention in regards to game of the year this year because quite frankly it’s fantastic. It’s not very often when a game gets everything right but it does here and in the end I can’t recommend this game to you enough. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2018
    10
    Square enix did it yet again. Nier: Automata is the single player hack and slash RPG every xbox gamer wanted to come to our platform, and itSquare enix did it yet again. Nier: Automata is the single player hack and slash RPG every xbox gamer wanted to come to our platform, and it did.

    In a time where aliens invade earth with machine lieforms, the human race hangs by a thread on orbiting "bunkers". There are so many things that this games does perfectly that tons of other games attempted. Lets start with the constant POV changes. One minute you're in the standard 3rd person, next you're playing as a 2D sidescroller, usually finished with a top down sequence. The game blends the POV so well in a way that comes off as refreshing in the gaming world.

    The combat is fluid and satisfying. Every blow to an enemy feels significant and wonderful to do. Nier: Automata in a way reminds me of a faster paced Bloodborne. If you aren't evading enemy attacks you could instantly die to a combo in higher difficulties. (You'll die instantly from one hit on the hardest difficulty regardless). The boss battles always have your adrenaline running which is something I haven't personally felt since Cuphead.

    Story wise, the game is pretty straightforward and makes you question your morals and the cause you're fighting for around halfway through the game. Otherwise, the game is spectacular in every respective way. My only complaint is that there are a few questionable texture pop in times here and there. Nonetheless, Nier: Automata is the perfect game every Xbox player should own.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2018
    10
    Amazing game, graphics are first class on the Xbox one X (Digital Foundry have found this version to be the best console version). GreatAmazing game, graphics are first class on the Xbox one X (Digital Foundry have found this version to be the best console version). Great gameplay and story, 10/10. Full Review »