User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1468 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2018
    7
    The gunplay and shooting mechanics surprised me a great deal because I didn’t expect them to pack as much of a punch as they did and I didn’t expect them to be as fluid as they were. There isn’t a huge amount of depth available when it comes to the game’s story what is available has actually been done pretty well. There are a few problems when it comes to the presentation side of thingsThe gunplay and shooting mechanics surprised me a great deal because I didn’t expect them to pack as much of a punch as they did and I didn’t expect them to be as fluid as they were. There isn’t a huge amount of depth available when it comes to the game’s story what is available has actually been done pretty well. There are a few problems when it comes to the presentation side of things but on the whole I enjoyed what both the visuals and sound design delivered to me. The world in which the game takes place is big it just doesn’t hook you and that’s mainly because it lacks excitement and livery. Technically the game suffers with an array of issues which hold the game back. Each quest I went on in the game lacked excitement and there wasn’t much fun to be had along the way. There is a lack of variety present in the enemies you face in the game as well. In terms of replay ability the game doesn’t have much at the moment because everything is repetitive. I’ll admit to you now that I had some reservations when I first learned that Fallout 76 was going to be online only and by the looks of different forums I wasn’t the only one who had reservations with this. I love the Fallout style though so I was ready to look past this and play Fallout 76 with my mind completely open, and that’s exactly what I did. Unfortunately though after a brief amount of time it became clear that this game is filled with problems and in a way it just doesn’t have the formula the previous game’s had. I always enjoyed traversing in the previous Fallout game’s, but traversing around in this game just lacked it's the fun of its predecesors. The quests are further hindered by the various technical issues in the game and when it’s all said and done there’s just too many issues which in turn hold the game back. At the end of the day as it stands at the moment I can’t recommend a higher score for Fallout 76 to you because it just has too much wrong with it. This is a shame because it does get some things right like the solid gunplay but the good things it does get right are quickly forgotten and in the end all that you’re left with is a shell of what the Fallout series has always been. Hopefully updates in the future will make theme more enjoyable and what it was intended to be from the initial concept. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    Let's give them a score for showing up, but this isn't a fallout game anymore than Mass Effect Andromeda was a Mass Effect game. Using the game as a skin and playing off the name doesn't make it part of the series. This is the MEA of the fallout world, and will be rated accordingly.

    While there are endless opportunities to criticize the game for everything no one wanted, lets focus on
    Let's give them a score for showing up, but this isn't a fallout game anymore than Mass Effect Andromeda was a Mass Effect game. Using the game as a skin and playing off the name doesn't make it part of the series. This is the MEA of the fallout world, and will be rated accordingly.

    While there are endless opportunities to criticize the game for everything no one wanted, lets focus on one thing. NO one wants to read through endless terminals or listen to endless halotapes, in an empty environment. The same disregards EA made with MEA, is being made all over again with Bethesda and 76. The reviews should reflect accordingly.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This isnt fallout. Its like a bastardized version of some online f2p shooter. This is not what i was waiting for and i am trully hoping that bethesda will stop and think next time.
  4. Nov 14, 2018
    6
    Buggy, Laggy, Boring... How on earth Bethesda thought this game was ready for release is beyond me.. Save your money.
  5. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Stupid shooter not a Fallout. Definitely not an RPG, but an open world FPS only. Cash grab. It represents everything that is wrong with the gaming industry today.
  6. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    Loot is level locked. PVP is invite initiated. There are no human NPC's. Every mission is mind numbingly repetitive. The "story" is told through hundreds of holotapes cause, again, no human NPC's. It looks absolutely terrible for a 2018 game and runs like hot garbage. Shall I go on? What a mess, Bethesda Softworks used to be one of the best gaming studios, now it's a bad joke.
  7. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Bethesda. You promised us that war never changes. Well, it did change. It became a laggy and boring experience. Huge, empty sandbox without any meaningful content. This isn't the Fallout we want.
  8. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Its not fallout i remember and aside from that its literally unplayble bugged and glitchy
  9. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    A terrible lazy insult to all Bethesda fans, the fallout and elder scrolls game need an updated engine and a better vision for their games.
  10. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Basically Stolen Coop mod for Fallout4.
    60$ game that uses 80% assets, textures and animations from the previous game, works on a **** 19(!!!!) years old engine and has a joke of an anticheat.
    Braindead story with literally NO npc-s. Survival is boring and simple. Lore and history, written by far more tallented people, once again trashed with "clever" ideas of a junior janitor
    Basically Stolen Coop mod for Fallout4.
    60$ game that uses 80% assets, textures and animations from the previous game, works on a **** 19(!!!!) years old engine and has a joke of an anticheat.

    Braindead story with literally NO npc-s.
    Survival is boring and simple.
    Lore and history, written by far more tallented people, once again trashed with "clever" ideas of a junior janitor assistant.

    Just buy urself scum, or rust, or dayz, or any other cheaper and superior survival game.
    Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    I played Fallout 76 for about 3 hours then returned to Fallout New Vegas.
    Bethesda simply did everything i dislike in a video-game. Next.
  12. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Shameless cashgrab and a betrayal of real fallout fans in the pursuit of money. And it shows.
  13. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Yeah, it's still kind of fun and now you can at least laugh at the bugs with 3 of your friends, but however you want to sugarcoat this game, you can't argue that this is a huge downgrade in terms of quality compared to anything Bethesda has done before.

    Yes, it has a huge map and crafting is back with more options and the gameplay loop is still passable as "somewhat fun", but we've lost
    Yeah, it's still kind of fun and now you can at least laugh at the bugs with 3 of your friends, but however you want to sugarcoat this game, you can't argue that this is a huge downgrade in terms of quality compared to anything Bethesda has done before.

    Yes, it has a huge map and crafting is back with more options and the gameplay loop is still passable as "somewhat fun", but we've lost NPCs, engaging story quests, most of the narrative, not to mention the trainwreck that's the SPECIAL system right now and at the end of the day, this game is a huge sandbox that, in all its vastness, ultimately feels empty. Bethesda has removed a lot of things compared to FO4, but forgot that if you take away from the game, you're supposed to put something in instead.

    Additionally, we still have the same friggin problems we had with FO4, but this time, modders won't be able to fix these for at least a year. No FOV slider, FPS lock on PC, weird glitches, objects and enemies stuck in the terrain, MY CHARACTER stuck in the terrain, missin push-to-talk option, disappearing and t-posing enemies... the list just goes on and on... Hell there are even bugs that Bethesda supposedly "fixed" during the beta, but here they are in the final release.

    Microtransactions are the final nail for me. Yes, you can earn everything by playing but just the existence of MTX in this game makes my blood boil. It makes it seem like this game went for profits and profits only. At least the cash shop works perfectly, am I right boys? It just adds insult to injury.

    Bethesda really needs to get its crap together if they want me to put money down for their products ever again.
    Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Many call it an obscene cash grab or a horrendous antithesis of fallout. I just call it garbage. It's a result of bethesda design philosophy to create content ultra-cheap and push it as a fake AAA game. This game shows a complete lack of respect for ex-loyal customers.
  15. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    They killed Fallout. Twice.

    Fallout 4 was a joke and I don't even want to mention this low-quality Fallout-themed Rust clone. I will just pretend that it doesn't exist. Bethesda should've left it to Obsidian, those guys clearly knew what to do with the franchise, but it's too late now since Obsidian was bought by Microsoft. That was clearly the last Fallout game I've bought (at least
    They killed Fallout. Twice.

    Fallout 4 was a joke and I don't even want to mention this low-quality Fallout-themed Rust clone. I will just pretend that it doesn't exist. Bethesda should've left it to Obsidian, those guys clearly knew what to do with the franchise, but it's too late now since Obsidian was bought by Microsoft.

    That was clearly the last Fallout game I've bought (at least I was able to sell it already) and I'm really worried about TES future.
    Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    I pre ordered this game and expected something similar to previous games. I played it for some hours, but i'ts a dead lifeless world with good things missing from it. Biggest disappointment I have had with a game for as long as I can remember.
  17. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Completely boring and lifeless there's no reason to limit your game with having no npc it's a survival game where it's hard as hell just to PVP so pretty much you're just exploring and that's only fun for about 12 hours once you explore everything there's nothing really to do and yes of course there are games that are fun playing with friends but that's every game that shouldn't be a coreCompletely boring and lifeless there's no reason to limit your game with having no npc it's a survival game where it's hard as hell just to PVP so pretty much you're just exploring and that's only fun for about 12 hours once you explore everything there's nothing really to do and yes of course there are games that are fun playing with friends but that's every game that shouldn't be a core concept of a game Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Fallout 76 is an absolutely soulless game, an endless void of uninspired grinding. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out why it's such an absolute chore to play, I went into it optimistically, I was honestly hoping for a good time. I've sunk a ridiculous amount of hours into the fallout and Elder Scrolls series and I've enjoyed them a lot despite their flaws but 76 just stands apart,Fallout 76 is an absolutely soulless game, an endless void of uninspired grinding. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out why it's such an absolute chore to play, I went into it optimistically, I was honestly hoping for a good time. I've sunk a ridiculous amount of hours into the fallout and Elder Scrolls series and I've enjoyed them a lot despite their flaws but 76 just stands apart, it's the black sheep of the series, the really boring black sheep. The main story is pathetic. Fallout 76 is the story of an insane man chasing quest markers around a map while pointless audio logs play in the background. You do not have any goals or direction, there are no characters to get you engaged or immersed in the game, just an endless series of quest markers to follow around. Saying the story is half-assed would be an overstatement, it's closer to no assed. The world is actually quite beautiful, the environments look really great and contain many different visually distinct areas, it's just too bad there's nothing in this world worth finding. There is literally no challenge in this game at all. Almost every enemy takes one or two shots to kill, while the player seems to be built like a tank. The power armor in this game works similar to the the star powerup in Super Mario Bros, you never die... At first I thought this was just because I was in a low-level area, but I ended up running into an enemy that was nearly double my level at one point and he was basically no threat whatsoever, I just back pedaled down the road and shot him in the face a few times. This game's difficulty feels like I'm playing fallout 4 on the "game journalist" difficulty. It is mind-numbingly boring and as a result of that I quickly started using fast travel whenever I possibly could to avoid fighting endless waves of impotent enemies. Let's talk about the loot, which is basically the only reason to play the game. There's no story and the enemies suck, so the loot has to be good right? This was the moment of revelation for me, this was the point that I figured it out, fallout 76 is not a Fallout game, it's a F-ing MMO. The core gameplay is there, it's a shooting game where you collect loot and level up, but all the joy of playing a Fallout game is just absent. There are no cool characters to meet, there are no interesting areas to explore I would go as far to say there really are no quests. Every area is just go here, kill dudes, pick up loot and return. And is the loot even worth anything? No of course not, MMOs are designed to waste your time, so you'll find 500000 pipe pistols that are all worth one cap. Thank You Todd. Let's talk about the cash shop. I don't really need to say anything about this. There is a cashshop and everyone knows cashshops are cancer. The leveling completely sucks, I have no idea how they F-ed this up so bad. The leveling up in Skyrim and fallout 4 was awesome, there were so many good perks to choose from and every level made you feel tangibly stronger. But leveling up in fallout 76 is pretty bland, the game randomizes the perks you can choose from and most of them are really anemic. I honestly couldn't tell much of a difference between my character when I was level one versus when I was level 20. It felt more or less the same. And because of the randomness, there's basically no chance that you can specialise towards a specific kind of build, you're just sort of stuck with whatever they give you. I imagine that after a few hundred hours of playtime you might be able to collect all the different perks, but there is no way I'm gonna suffer through to that point. This game handicaps itself by being so pathetically easy, why would you ever bother to team up with someone who's going to take half of your loot if you can play just as effectively solo. it's completely pointless. And even if you are brain-dead enough to actually need help with a quest good luck finding another player who has the exact same quest, is a similar level and actually wants to team up with you. You are probably more likely to win the lottery, so the co-op is totally pointless. The PvP is not only also pointless but it's also fundamentally broken. The way the PvP works is that when you shoot a player it sends a duel request and does a tiny amount of damage to that player, then if that player shoots back at you it starts a duel and then you both do full damage to each other. The problem here is that the person who sends the duel request by shooting first will always lose because the way you initiate the duel is by shooting back, meaning that if someone shoots you, you can just walk straight up to them, go into your inventory, put on your power armor, pop a psycho, get out your strongest shotgun and then just vats in on their head and get a critical and you'll kill them in one hit. You win the duel there's nothing they can do to stop you from doing this because they cannot damage you until you shoot back. it's just the most broken system. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Just sucks. Plain and simple. Honestly don't know how the team at Bethesda tested this game and thought that it would appeal to the masses of Fallout fans. To have pre-ordered and paid for an upgraded version, it just feels bad. Buying a new game can often be a gamble but something from the Fallout series genuinely felt like a safe bet.

    Sitting in the theater at E3 so many months
    Just sucks. Plain and simple. Honestly don't know how the team at Bethesda tested this game and thought that it would appeal to the masses of Fallout fans. To have pre-ordered and paid for an upgraded version, it just feels bad. Buying a new game can often be a gamble but something from the Fallout series genuinely felt like a safe bet.

    Sitting in the theater at E3 so many months ago and listening to the excitement around multiplayer I'm absolutely shocked that they missed so bad. From the crap frame rates, to the lack of NPCs to drive the narrative, to the non-compelling content...I'm never getting that time (or money) back.
    Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game sucks giant monkey balls. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I should have waited to see gameplay vids come out before purchasing this piece of crap, and that's on me. I was so excited for this game so I admit I rushed into the purchase with the utmost optimism. I loved the Fallout franchise because of the interesting storylines, engaging characters, and character perk options. This gameThis game sucks giant monkey balls. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I should have waited to see gameplay vids come out before purchasing this piece of crap, and that's on me. I was so excited for this game so I admit I rushed into the purchase with the utmost optimism. I loved the Fallout franchise because of the interesting storylines, engaging characters, and character perk options. This game falls completely short of the mark with its forced mmo play style. It is clear to me that this was a cash grab for Bethesda and I will not be making the mistake of preordering games from them in the future. If you like mindless shooters with absolutely no story and **** graphics, then this game is for you. I personally play games for the escapism aspect and this game is completely lacking there. There seems to be no real point to this game, "quests" disappear when you die, and you have to pay caps to respawn in less than convenient locations. No, I am not a bot, or someone paid to write a bad review...I am in fact an unhappy customer who wasted way too much money on this garbage game. Maybe Bethesda should actually take customer satisfaction into account instead of pointing the finger at the bad reviews and saying "fake news". Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is a shameless attempt at a cashgrab. the game should've been in development for another year. It doesn't have a POV slider, it doesn't have push-to-talk, it even defaults to always-on voicechat without telling you. It is missing support for 21:9 and other formats, its locked at 60fps and generally just very badly optimized. The response from Bethesda when these issues arise are jokesThis is a shameless attempt at a cashgrab. the game should've been in development for another year. It doesn't have a POV slider, it doesn't have push-to-talk, it even defaults to always-on voicechat without telling you. It is missing support for 21:9 and other formats, its locked at 60fps and generally just very badly optimized. The response from Bethesda when these issues arise are jokes about how "haha bugs again how typical us xD", instead of taking it seriously, and when they do issue out a statement about some of the gamebreaking issues, they just say it won't be out on launch, we'll fix it in the future sometime (maybe). It seems like they have stopped caring and they think this is somehow an acceptable state to put out a Bethesda game. It even has a bug that deletes your game for clicking play, how is that even possible? The game barely has any NPCs, devoid of any real story, and generally just feels soulless. it might be fun if you roleplay with your friends though, i'll give it that. After playing the B.E.T.A. and the game, i feel very dissapointed, its feels like a early access game, with terrible microtransactions. old outdated engine and generally unfinished in every sense of the word. At 60 usd... I haven't been this disappointed in a game since No Man's Sky. And this isn't an indie company either, this is Bethesda. This is completely unnacceptable. Bethesda should just stick to Singleplayer experiences, that's what they're good at, they're clearly incompetent at this. And if they intend to use the same engine for the new elder scrolls game, as they've stated, I will be severely dissapointed at that too, they NEED to make a new engine, its very outdated and its clearly not made for multiplayer, they need a new one. This game is a disgrace and I can't give it anything else than a 0. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Don't waste your time with this game, its boring and misguided. It tries to cater to everyone while appealing to no one at the same time. If you loved the modern fallout games like fallout 3, New Vegas or even fallout 4 don't expect this to appeal to you. They removed everything good about those games and replaced it with a rehashed version of fallout 4 with a new map and expect the actualDon't waste your time with this game, its boring and misguided. It tries to cater to everyone while appealing to no one at the same time. If you loved the modern fallout games like fallout 3, New Vegas or even fallout 4 don't expect this to appeal to you. They removed everything good about those games and replaced it with a rehashed version of fallout 4 with a new map and expect the actual players to make all the fun. ITS A LAZY CASH GRAB plan and simple with no soul or creativity. Expand
  23. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Absolutely perfect example of modern Bethesda Game Studios. A hollow, empty shell of a game designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator and idiot casuals, while sacrificing core fans to the altar of their one fervent god, MONEY.

    The performance is laughable for a multi-billion dollar company who has funds to spare. The graphics are years behind, and they continue to insist on
    Absolutely perfect example of modern Bethesda Game Studios. A hollow, empty shell of a game designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator and idiot casuals, while sacrificing core fans to the altar of their one fervent god, MONEY.

    The performance is laughable for a multi-billion dollar company who has funds to spare. The graphics are years behind, and they continue to insist on the use of their now ancient engine. The game is riddled with bugs and Bethesda should no longer get a free pass for this. It reaches a point where it ceases to be funny, and starts to become grating.

    If you're a fan of games with depth, substance, good writing and characterizations, then do yourself a favor and steer way clear of this, it's not the Fallout you love. but instead an abomination made by devs and publishers who don't give a **** about anything more than bogging their pockets down with as much of your money as they can at the expense of everything else
    Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I'm sorry but this is not fallout, this is an online multiplayer survival game with a fallout skin. I love Bethesda but this game is a huge f**k you from them to us loyal fans. I have passionately played their buggy games with long loading times built on their sh**ty engine because I love RPGs and they know how to build good RPGs. But this is an online multiplayer game with no NPCs,I'm sorry but this is not fallout, this is an online multiplayer survival game with a fallout skin. I love Bethesda but this game is a huge f**k you from them to us loyal fans. I have passionately played their buggy games with long loading times built on their sh**ty engine because I love RPGs and they know how to build good RPGs. But this is an online multiplayer game with no NPCs, dialogue options, multiple quest outcomes etc. so I am not going to bother playing this piece of garbage. There are mods better than this and they're free so I much rather play those.

    Please Bethesda, this game sucks and your engine is total trash. Ditch this game and your god forsaken engine, build a new engine or use Unreal or even Unity to build a good RPG. I don't care how long it takes just give us fans good games.
    Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Imagine that, people aren’t fans of cash grab games. Wake up consumers! I really believe it was not released on Steam to prevent players from "Refunding" their purchase. Plus you are able to write reviews and rate the game on Steam. They knew damn well the game was going to get terrible ratings. They are just trying to maximize profit and cover up bad press, thats it. I was suspicious ofImagine that, people aren’t fans of cash grab games. Wake up consumers! I really believe it was not released on Steam to prevent players from "Refunding" their purchase. Plus you are able to write reviews and rate the game on Steam. They knew damn well the game was going to get terrible ratings. They are just trying to maximize profit and cover up bad press, thats it. I was suspicious of this from the start and did not purchase.

    It's Interesting how gaming 'journalists' are so slow to post their thoughts on this one. Hell, Forbes even came out with an article saying 'Don't trust early Fallout 76 reviews'. There is no reason to even glance at game review sites anymore.

    when you settle for less, then you get less. That's what gamers are getting with Bethesda. Todd Howard of Bethesda said in an interview that they are not going to make a new engine because it takes too long to learn how to develop for it. He said they are used to the one they have and are just going to keep patching it up even with the new Elder Scrolls 6. They have no intentions on making a new engine. Why.... well I think they don't want to spend the money or time to do so. If gamers would quit settling for less, then you might get the game you want WITH great current graphics. I'm SURE you wouldn't complain about having it all.
    Expand
  26. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Just the name. A reason for Bethesda to get more money. Same bad engine, even worst because of it being online. Unfinished and unpolished. Don't touch this even with a stick.
  27. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Old engine made for single player forced into a multiplayer experience, looks bad, plays bad, tons of bugs, cash shop, no content, and no effort put into this blatant money grab
  28. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This is quite possibly the laziest mmo I have ever had the displeasure of playing. First things first, the gameplay is copied right from Fallout 4 which would be fine if it weren't for the fact that Fallout 4 had a lot more to do and a lot more to it. This game is incredibly empty with no real npc's to interact with, workbenches and the like that can only be utilized by a single player atThis is quite possibly the laziest mmo I have ever had the displeasure of playing. First things first, the gameplay is copied right from Fallout 4 which would be fine if it weren't for the fact that Fallout 4 had a lot more to do and a lot more to it. This game is incredibly empty with no real npc's to interact with, workbenches and the like that can only be utilized by a single player at a team leading to waiting in line for the chance to do anything, player collision systems that stop players from moving through each other making it so that people who stop in door ways stop everyone else from entering the building. Monsters spawn far to frequently and attack based solely on seeing a player, meaning trolls simply lead large groups of monsters into populated areas and let them loose on unsuspecting players. On top of that the story, if you want to call it that, is really, really lazy and poorly done. It honestly might as well not even be there. Now we can get to the best part, that the game is a buggy mess! This truly is a failure in every way. If you want a good fallout experience but have completed 4 then go back and play 1,2,tactics, 3 or NV. This game isn't
    even worth being free.
    Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Boring, worst game ever. Would give the game a negative ten rating if I could.
  30. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Bethesda managed to perfectly portray the setting of an apocalypse...its horrible, boring, and dreadful.
  31. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    I preordered and after playing the beta which wasn't a beta in reality but a pre-release and realized that for the first time that a Fallout game wasn't for me. No npcs, limited story structure and after you explore everything, this game will have no replayability factor. While some fanboys are overly negative or on their knees positive, I'm looking at it as a fan of the first game on andI preordered and after playing the beta which wasn't a beta in reality but a pre-release and realized that for the first time that a Fallout game wasn't for me. No npcs, limited story structure and after you explore everything, this game will have no replayability factor. While some fanboys are overly negative or on their knees positive, I'm looking at it as a fan of the first game on and seeing the game without biased opinion either way and this isn't a fun game, without the name Fallout on the cover, this game would be a huge failure. But bc its Bethesda who even while they fail to deliver a workable game without modders to help them and theres no mods untilnext November, they can't be questioned or bc Fallout has name recognition, this game will probably do well in sales but as the rush of the first few weeks dies down, so will the players bc the world while big is a boring mess without too much to enjoy.

    The game is awful trying to play solo even though Bethesda tries to trick people into buying it telling you its just as enjoyable experience alone as it is in a group. Its a multiplayer game and they try to shoehorn you to do so even more than they tried to force you to be a minuteman in Fallout 4. PvP is a joke so the CoD gamers will dislike it and Bethesdas usual customer base will dislike it bc how theres no rpg in the game. So you're left with a huge world with so little content that its sad its a $60 price tag on it. Its not worth 60, if you're dying to get it, wait a few months when the price will inevitably drop bc either they won't sell enough copies or won't be able to keep players interested to continue to log on. The game tries to be 2 different genres and fails to stand out in either one. Avoid unless you have money to burn. If you're on the fence, I'd say wait and see. Come back to the idea around Christmas, see what they've fixed, what they've done to improve long term playability and then make up your mind if this is for you.

    Pros
    -Huge world
    -Decent new enemies
    - Multiplayer questing can be fun at times
    - Is a loot simulator. If you enjoy looting in Skyrim or Fallout 4, it may be something you look forward to doing.
    - Game is brighter in some areas

    Cons
    - No npcs( it does matter in a huge world like this)
    - No story outside of reading (Bethesda hasn't done a good story in a very long time so maybe that's a plus?)
    - Rpg elements are completely gone
    - Recycled Fallout 4 EVERYTHING. Very little is different from that game, from design to profile. Very cost effective cut and paste.
    - Being shoehorned into playing with others. The game is pretty awful by yourself.
    - Very little challenge fighting enemies.
    - Gunplay and VATS is completely trash in this game and its not an effective shooter to aim manually exceptionally well.
    - PvP isn't interesting enough to keep people fighting.
    - Game seems confused on what it wants to be.
    - Game is unfinished. Bethesda has even admitted as much. So essentially you're paying full price for a game that's been shipped far too early and not even done yet. (Bethesda has a first day patch BIGGER than the WHOLE ACTUAL GAME! That should be a red flag on anyone on the fence about this game.
    - Without modders this time around, its up to Bethesda to fix their own bugs which they've proven they are poor at.
    - Bugs galore and framerates drop frequently.
    - Game lacks significant polish, seems thrown together in spots and the outdated Creation engine is showing its age considerably. Game overall seems rushed while I wouldn't call it a complete cash grab, its a cash in attempt. As I said before, if this didn't have Fallout in its title, it would be a flop, panned critically and player wide and forgettable within the first week.
    Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Fallout 76, or it should be named Frameout 76 because its massive framedrops. One of the worst optimized videogames so far. Terrible.
    Truly an insult to the gamer community.
  33. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    Worst game ever. 200 mb on disc,only online,witch sucks ,50 gb download day one,dated graphics. Rip Bethesda
  34. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    It isn't good it is poorly optimized and not well made. The game starts at 45 GB and has a day one patch of 52 GB yes Bethesda was unable to make a functional game so the patch they realese was larger than the game it self, not to metion that the patch dosnt fix much
  35. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    The game, at its very core, is a boring slog of inane missions which are there as an extremely dull distraction from an empty and lackluster world. If the premise of the "game" you are attempting to sell relies primarily playing with friends, then the game needs to provide an interesting environment in which these experiences can happen in. This game utterly fails at that.
  36. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is extremely disappointing, it was clear after Fallout 4 that Bethesda could not compete with CDPR and this feels a lot like a nail in a coffin.
  37. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Already tossed Fallout 76 to the wasted money pile. Always liked the Fallout games for single player fun. Got out of on-line games because they got to where they seemed like having a second job trying to group, find peeps to play with who weren't jerks and so on. Fallout games have always been full of bugs and such, but still a good way to kill time. Hopefully they make another FalloutAlready tossed Fallout 76 to the wasted money pile. Always liked the Fallout games for single player fun. Got out of on-line games because they got to where they seemed like having a second job trying to group, find peeps to play with who weren't jerks and so on. Fallout games have always been full of bugs and such, but still a good way to kill time. Hopefully they make another Fallout that is single player only in the future. Until then I am done with Bethesda. Expand
  38. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    The story being told from text and holotapes only really takes away from the game. You can't really take a liking to a NPC or care about them when they are all dead. The map is big and pretty beautiful but they stripped so much it almost isn't a fallout game. At launch it is a worse version of ESO, with minecraft elements of hunger and even thirst added. Without having friends toThe story being told from text and holotapes only really takes away from the game. You can't really take a liking to a NPC or care about them when they are all dead. The map is big and pretty beautiful but they stripped so much it almost isn't a fallout game. At launch it is a worse version of ESO, with minecraft elements of hunger and even thirst added. Without having friends to constantly play with you the huge map just becomes a vast prison. I had no idea the lack of interaction really takes out so much of a game. This is the only game that I have requested a return for. There is no drive for me to really even launch the game again, let alone grind for hours. Expand
  39. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game is not fallout, rather it is an laggy, grindy mess of a game they just copy and pasted of Fallout 4! You also need xbox live????? This is a scam, what a waste of $60!!!!
  40. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    This game is awful. No single player, no quests, no npcs, no amazing storyline. They just took everything bad about fallout and added multiplayer to make it even worse.
  41. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is not fallout, heck, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken pieceThis is not fallout, heck, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken piece of crap is the best definition of barren. I hadn't felt so insulted in my life, how can you destroy the fallout franchise like this? give it to Obsidian so they can do it justice. You with Fallout and Activision Blizzard with Diablo are in a competition to see who can destroy their franchise first Expand
  42. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    I must say I am quite surprised. Bethesda has grown so much as a studio. They've made some of the most inspired games of all time, though often buggy, and have made my G.O.T.Y. for 2016, DOOM. This year, they made a perfect example of what NOT TO DO. This game is a buggy mess, and after playing it for 1 hr, I will be going back and getting a refund. I am done with Fallout 4ever.(Get itI must say I am quite surprised. Bethesda has grown so much as a studio. They've made some of the most inspired games of all time, though often buggy, and have made my G.O.T.Y. for 2016, DOOM. This year, they made a perfect example of what NOT TO DO. This game is a buggy mess, and after playing it for 1 hr, I will be going back and getting a refund. I am done with Fallout 4ever.(Get it 4ever cause Fallout 4 is stupid.) Expand
  43. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Worst Fallout game to this date. Whoever thought it would be a good idea to take Fallout 4 and remove all NPCs, make a new map and just make it multiplayer? This game feels to empty that i'd rather lock myself inside a garden shed than play this game. Worst part is all the bugs and how Bethesda STILL use the creation engine, even though every fan of both Fallout and Elder scrolls haveWorst Fallout game to this date. Whoever thought it would be a good idea to take Fallout 4 and remove all NPCs, make a new map and just make it multiplayer? This game feels to empty that i'd rather lock myself inside a garden shed than play this game. Worst part is all the bugs and how Bethesda STILL use the creation engine, even though every fan of both Fallout and Elder scrolls have complained about it since the release of Skyrim back in 2011. Expand
  44. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    -12 / -12 пам пам пам пам Мистер говард сделал....пам пам....
  45. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    The franchise is no longer an RPG. this game is nothing like Fallout 1 or 2 or 3 or new vegas. it's very awful ,,i hate it.
  46. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    it just didn't work i guess.

    Todd already took my family, so i have nothing left
  47. Nov 14, 2018
    7
    It's fun. People who post negative reviews, day 1, for random reasons they are grinding their axe too, are morons.
    Have played solo. Fun
    Played with friends. Fun Is there work to do? Yes. I didn't realize how a lack of NPC's would make the game feel empty, in a bad way. I am enjoying FO76, and I look forward to what Bethesda can make out of this. But this does need work. I
    It's fun. People who post negative reviews, day 1, for random reasons they are grinding their axe too, are morons.
    Have played solo. Fun
    Played with friends. Fun

    Is there work to do? Yes. I didn't realize how a lack of NPC's would make the game feel empty, in a bad way. I am enjoying FO76, and I look forward to what Bethesda can make out of this. But this does need work.
    I want more CAMP space to build. Bigger stash. Harsher consequences for death. PVE & PVP servers. Remove level caps on everything. The level caps make no sense at all in a game like this.

    If you haven't played the game, and aren't making a critique on what you like/don't like in a vacuum from comparisons to what you have played/wanted, shut up and go away. You are an idiot.
    Expand
  48. Nov 22, 2018
    10
    Loving this game. So nice to explore another beautiful Bethesda world

    It’s got bugs, so has RedDead Redemption 2
  49. Nov 19, 2018
    10
    Bit of a shame that folk are jumping on a hate driven bandwagon, since the game is a lot of fun. The Roanoke-style mystery at the core of the game is interesting, the base building from FO4 has a lot more context now people can visit them and the different areas all have their own interesting stuff going on.
    Thankfully fans don't seem to need a metacritic score to validate their enjoyment.
  50. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Fallout 76 is the best (and most addictive) game I've played in the last 5 years (and my current gamerscore is at 128000, so I've played a few other games in those years). It takes most things I've loved about the Fallout franchise and gives the player a new and interesting part of the wasteland to explore, which by the way is four times as large as the environment of Fallout4.

    Playing
    Fallout 76 is the best (and most addictive) game I've played in the last 5 years (and my current gamerscore is at 128000, so I've played a few other games in those years). It takes most things I've loved about the Fallout franchise and gives the player a new and interesting part of the wasteland to explore, which by the way is four times as large as the environment of Fallout4.

    Playing with friends is purely optional, but makes the game even better in my opinion. I'm already looking forward to future DLC and hope to spend a lot of time exploring and conquering this amazing game with my friends.
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    fallout tiene bugs = Se quejan
    Bethesda saca una actualización para corregir bugs = Se quejan.

    El juego en si esta MUY bueno, pero la gente se quejo mucho del condenado parche de mierda, no es para tanto
  52. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    People need to stop giving an unfairly bad review because they have issues with minor things.

    The game has bugs, they had a weird server issue at launch, and yea its the same engine and graphics as fallout 4. But, it has lots of content, missions, PVP and PVE, a huge world to explore and tons of fun to be had with friends. I've had a blast so far, don't let anti-hype get in your way
    People need to stop giving an unfairly bad review because they have issues with minor things.

    The game has bugs, they had a weird server issue at launch, and yea its the same engine and graphics as fallout 4.

    But, it has lots of content, missions, PVP and PVE, a huge world to explore and tons of fun to be had with friends. I've had a blast so far, don't let anti-hype get in your way of enjoying a fun game.
    Expand
  53. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    This game is a lot of fun. It keeps the same atmosphere as the other fallout games and has a wide arrangment of new and eerie places to explore. I've met people online to play with, that I now play with regularly, and that's actually really nice. After all, one of Fallout 76's biggest boasts to date has been the concept of "doing it together" - the idea of having the game bring playersThis game is a lot of fun. It keeps the same atmosphere as the other fallout games and has a wide arrangment of new and eerie places to explore. I've met people online to play with, that I now play with regularly, and that's actually really nice. After all, one of Fallout 76's biggest boasts to date has been the concept of "doing it together" - the idea of having the game bring players together in a group to explore: which, for me, it certainly has done.

    To be honest, if you're reading this with the actual hope of getting a fair opinion on the game, I'm not sure why so many people are upset with it at its launch (which is when I'm writing this). It's not a perfect game but it definitely doesn't deserve to be bombarded with 0s by folks who haven't, and who refuse to, play the game for themselves - which is why I'm giving it a 10. Why is it that a game made to bring players together, with seemingly good intentions, possesses so many people to act so negatively? As though to try and tear the community down before it even has a chance to walk.

    I understand people wish it were a single player game and I'm pretty sure Bethesda has said that they'll continue to make single player games after Fallout 76. This game tries something different which, respectfully, is quite a brave thing to do.

    Now, if you can't get by the idea of something which takes the road less traveled by then so be it; this game isn't for you and that's okay - but if you're welcome to new ideas and like the prospect of joining a community of players who are as well then Fallout 76 offers a unique opportunity: to emerge form the vault together.

    Hope to see you in the wasteland!
    Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    This is genuinely my favorite fallout game in some time. It's different, but in a good way. There's still lots to discover, lots to build, lots to learn and find, lots to shoot. Only real drawback is the 400 lb stash limit, which even that is workable if you can shelve your inner hoarder and sell off some that junk you don't REALLY need to save for later. I don't miss the human NPCs youThis is genuinely my favorite fallout game in some time. It's different, but in a good way. There's still lots to discover, lots to build, lots to learn and find, lots to shoot. Only real drawback is the 400 lb stash limit, which even that is workable if you can shelve your inner hoarder and sell off some that junk you don't REALLY need to save for later. I don't miss the human NPCs you still get to learn all about the ones that WERE alive in the area. Sure there's some bugs, but none that have made the game unbearable or even annoying to play for me. If you like crafting, if you like survival, if you like adventure, if you like strategically hauling loot to your base or a shop, if you don't mind the idea of encountering evidence that other human beings exist in a geographic area the size of state...I'd recommend this game. Expand
  55. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    Actual player, this game is great. It has the same fundamentals as previous Fallouts but with the added bonus of being able to play with friends.
    Other note: This game is not a money grab!!! There are ways to earn Atoms by completing challenges which will allow you to own all the cosmetic extras. As i have almost all of them by doing the challenges (daily, weekly, character, and one other
    Actual player, this game is great. It has the same fundamentals as previous Fallouts but with the added bonus of being able to play with friends.
    Other note: This game is not a money grab!!! There are ways to earn Atoms by completing challenges which will allow you to own all the cosmetic extras. As i have almost all of them by doing the challenges (daily, weekly, character, and one other that i cant think of).

    Now for the people that put 0... buy the game and play it before submitting a review. People want the truth about the game not some story from someone who has never played.

    I also blame Meta for allowing users to submit the review without reviewing the review first.
    Expand
  56. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    Le pongo un 10 por los memes, pero el juego me parece una broma mala y como necesito 76 caracteres para publicar solo diré que bethesda son unos ladrones
  57. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    This game is amazing. A blast with friends, and I can say with certainty that is is one of if not the best fallout game I have ever played.
  58. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    it's a good game, really, just try to understand the lore et play in group ( if possible ) this game is better than Fallout 4 but you're just raging , all !
  59. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    Probably GOTY of 2018, Witcher 3 from a world of CO-OP games and definitely must have of this year!!!
  60. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    This game isn't perfect but it is a blast to play. There are many bugs but this is a Bethesda game so sadly that is to be expected. I've played probably 15 hours including beta time and it has been one of the best game experiences I've ever had. Ignore the zero reviews, it's just entitled brats that are mad its not New Vegas 2. I will say playing with a group is way more enjoyableThis game isn't perfect but it is a blast to play. There are many bugs but this is a Bethesda game so sadly that is to be expected. I've played probably 15 hours including beta time and it has been one of the best game experiences I've ever had. Ignore the zero reviews, it's just entitled brats that are mad its not New Vegas 2. I will say playing with a group is way more enjoyable than playing solo. Expand
  61. JPK
    Nov 22, 2018
    4
    The Sonic 06 Of The 2010's
    What I mean by that is it's VERY buggy and technically flawed.
  62. Jan 28, 2019
    10
    People should not shun the dev team just for wanting to try something new even if the the public says its bad doesn't mean it is. don't actually think that they are selling an unfinished game and its a new game bugs are normal especially in online games. and if you do some digging in the wikis there is some evidence that people were looking forward to an online fallout game that wasPeople should not shun the dev team just for wanting to try something new even if the the public says its bad doesn't mean it is. don't actually think that they are selling an unfinished game and its a new game bugs are normal especially in online games. and if you do some digging in the wikis there is some evidence that people were looking forward to an online fallout game that was cancelled. sure power Armour lv requirements are bad look on the bright side because of the lack of human npcs means that you control the story as one guy made him self a end game boss that no-one could beat without using nukes. at least they didn't buy into that so called "battle royal" **** which is only a 100-man free for all or squad deathmatch. and a massive fad Expand
  63. Feb 1, 2019
    8
    Overall Game is amazing. Each Patch is better and better. Great Graphics, Sound Effects, Radio Tracks, Lore and Lore. Ton of side missions, Events, Daily Quest to do.
    8.75/10
  64. Dec 30, 2018
    0
    Bethesda banned people for using graphic improvement mods and ask them to write essays about why it's so bad. A company. From which you PURCHASED a product. Ban you from using a product you paid for. A product you DID NOT misused. And ask you to write a **** schoolyard essay about why you are a bad person in their eyes.

    Well that's a big no from me, guys.
  65. Dec 11, 2018
    1
    eto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdecetoeto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdeceto pizdec Expand
  66. Dec 21, 2018
    0
    Typically, I do not lend much credence to user reviews/scores. This is primarily for two reasons: Too often they are loaded with emotionally-stirred bias and because the complaints are usually trivial at best. In the case of Fallout 76 I am inclined to agree with the masses, the game is quite frankly dreadful. As high as our expectations are of the holders of the sacred Fallout universe,Typically, I do not lend much credence to user reviews/scores. This is primarily for two reasons: Too often they are loaded with emotionally-stirred bias and because the complaints are usually trivial at best. In the case of Fallout 76 I am inclined to agree with the masses, the game is quite frankly dreadful. As high as our expectations are of the holders of the sacred Fallout universe, so are the new lows achieved by this production.

    From the clunky design logic to the tedious game-play, I cannot fathom a rescue for this title. Glitches are no longer a source of humor when they utterly and completely destroy the experience at large. MP for the sake of MP is absurd. “Misery loves company” is not a valid game experience platform. From the very start, it seems to be a beta posing as a final release. The producers are more or less demanding 100% dollars for 25% game.

    As a manager of software development teams I can assure you that multiple trains went off of numerous rails during the FO76 SDLC. I would surely love to see the integration test construct that was utilized (or wasn’t as the case may be). Does anybody at Bethesda understand UX? Clearly bad decisions were made from one end of the spectrum to the other. Most often, abysmal failures can turn into great opportunities. BGS has produced top-notch products in the past, here’s hoping they return to what made them great.
    Expand
  67. Jan 27, 2019
    0
    Well i have been renting games for 3 days before buying them lately. Tired of paying upwards of 70 bucks for a dog. Thank GOODNESS I rented this game first cause WOOOOOOOOF!

    I am huge fallout series fan. But after a few hours.... this game is simply BORING. Games i thought were supposed to be fun but then again who am I to judge. Rent this and you will be grateful you did. Will
    Well i have been renting games for 3 days before buying them lately. Tired of paying upwards of 70 bucks for a dog. Thank GOODNESS I rented this game first cause WOOOOOOOOF!

    I am huge fallout series fan. But after a few hours.... this game is simply BORING. Games i thought were supposed to be fun but then again who am I to judge. Rent this and you will be grateful you did. Will be uninstalled shortly after returning the game. Mine was.

    san
    Expand
  68. Feb 14, 2019
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! There is a severe lack of content, the mechanics that make it 'revolutionary' are broken and boring. The quest system is terrible as well, there are soo many quests that are broken in this game that there might as well be no possible way to progress through the 'story'. Bethesda takes forever to release an update, that barely effects the game anyway, and its prettyDO NOT BUY THIS GAME! There is a severe lack of content, the mechanics that make it 'revolutionary' are broken and boring. The quest system is terrible as well, there are soo many quests that are broken in this game that there might as well be no possible way to progress through the 'story'. Bethesda takes forever to release an update, that barely effects the game anyway, and its pretty much certain that the only reason this game exists is because they wanted money. This game was an experiment that was designed to drain your wallet. Do. Not. Buy this game. Expand
  69. Feb 20, 2019
    0
    From day one the game was as buggy as heck, the worst I have ever seen but I was willing to put up with it for a while. There is no story, no end game and not a lot to do other than very repetitive "go here & find this" missions but often the glitches in the game meant having to repeat the mission as you didn't get the reward. This is a perfect example of how NOT to make a game.
    Following
    From day one the game was as buggy as heck, the worst I have ever seen but I was willing to put up with it for a while. There is no story, no end game and not a lot to do other than very repetitive "go here & find this" missions but often the glitches in the game meant having to repeat the mission as you didn't get the reward. This is a perfect example of how NOT to make a game.
    Following a server crash in early December I have now been unable to connect to the servers for 2 months & Bethesda support has been useless & often going in little circles. Every update I am sent back to square one with the customer support or told to ask the retailer for a new game code as Bethesda are not responsible for issues with codes purchased through a third party.
    The Game is awful & should be pulled, the customer service is worse. In order to get a refund I am now seeking legal advice as the game is not fit for purpose, is not as originally advertised & does not meet the promises made by Bethesda over graphics quality. The gaming engine is the same as fallout 3 & is very outdated, Bethesda are trying to milk a cow that died years ago.
    Avoid the game unless you like wasting money.
    Expand
  70. Nov 27, 2018
    0
    I am a fan of Fallout and Fallout 76. Yet that changed because the glitches are so bad and the updates are so small and fix nothing I would never suggest this game. The glitches are game breaking which includes infinite health enemies, GOD mode players that don't take any damage and glitches that will not let you respawn. On top of that crashing is really bad and will crash your who XboxI am a fan of Fallout and Fallout 76. Yet that changed because the glitches are so bad and the updates are so small and fix nothing I would never suggest this game. The glitches are game breaking which includes infinite health enemies, GOD mode players that don't take any damage and glitches that will not let you respawn. On top of that crashing is really bad and will crash your who Xbox sometimes. The game frame rate is a joke and that's why I am giving it a 0. The amount of time I was able to play and enjoy the game pales in comparison to just how much it glitches out and breaks my game. Expand
  71. Nov 30, 2018
    0
    Nononononononononononononononononononononononononononononononononononononono
  72. Nov 29, 2018
    0
    Bad graphics, no npc’s, boring combat, poor AI, bugs, the world’s empty. Disgrace to the series and nobody should have to suffer through this game.
  73. Nov 26, 2018
    2
    Fallout 76 is a blatant self ripoff of Fallout 4. Almost every texture, model, and building is the same as Fallout 4.

    PvE combat is broken due to every enemy AI rushing you at every opportunity. Without the opportunity to slow-time with VATS, combat is inherently broken. Even the AI type that attempts to take cover has laughable AI and easily gets stuck just navigating the world.
    Fallout 76 is a blatant self ripoff of Fallout 4. Almost every texture, model, and building is the same as Fallout 4.

    PvE combat is broken due to every enemy AI rushing you at every opportunity. Without the opportunity to slow-time with VATS, combat is inherently broken. Even the AI type that attempts to take cover has laughable AI and easily gets stuck just navigating the world.

    There are no NPC's to give the land a sense of life. Bethesda says it's the story that no one is around. I think they couldn't make them work in multiplayer with their terrible game engine.

    PvP is completely pointless due to the weird "handshake" mechanic where each party has to shoot each other before full damage is done. There is no reward for engaging in PvP to make it worthwhile.

    The CAMP mechanic (base building) is broken due to having to rebuild your camp every time you log out and back in.

    The storage limit in your personal stash is so low that players are hitting the storage limit by level 10.
    You literally do not have enough space to keep extra weapons, which you'll need because the weapons are constantly breaking. Food cannot be saved due to the new "spoilage" mechanic. So much for trying to provide your team with food or potions.

    This game is a terrible self-ripoff of Fallout 4. Do not buy.
    Expand
  74. Nov 29, 2018
    0
    I'm having huge buyer's remorse for this. And they don't accept refund now!! What a shame... This game clearly shows what greed can do once great RPG game studio. Shame on you Bethesda.
  75. Nov 30, 2018
    0
    When Fallout 76 was first announced, I was so excited to play it until they announced it would be a multiplayer online only game. I lost all excitement for it but was still willing to give it a chance. Then November 14 came, I rented it from Redbox and it was the WORST game I have ever played. Even worse than Black Ops 4. Fallout has been my favorite franchise since 3 and this game hasWhen Fallout 76 was first announced, I was so excited to play it until they announced it would be a multiplayer online only game. I lost all excitement for it but was still willing to give it a chance. Then November 14 came, I rented it from Redbox and it was the WORST game I have ever played. Even worse than Black Ops 4. Fallout has been my favorite franchise since 3 and this game has let me down. I hope Bethesda can redeem the Fallout franchise when the real Fallout 5 comes out and with single player. Overall score 0/10 F Expand
  76. Dec 1, 2018
    0
    What A HUGE LETDOWN BETHESDA!!! Will not be buying any more games from you.
  77. Nov 27, 2018
    2
    I'm not mad at Bethesda - I've known that their company and their product was garbage ever since 2015 when they released "Fallout 4." You can refer to my review on that one for further info. This time around, I'm mad at the gaming press, who as far as I'm concerned, is totally corrupt and completely without credibility.

    I've watched and read numerous "professional" reviews on Fallout
    I'm not mad at Bethesda - I've known that their company and their product was garbage ever since 2015 when they released "Fallout 4." You can refer to my review on that one for further info. This time around, I'm mad at the gaming press, who as far as I'm concerned, is totally corrupt and completely without credibility.

    I've watched and read numerous "professional" reviews on Fallout 76, all of which are terrible. I'm not disputing the critics' reception to this title - not by a long shot. But my question is this: so what the f*** was going on with you guys when you reviewed Fallout 4? The XONE score was what? An 88? The user score was far lower than that. What gets me is that the professional critics are voicing the exact same complaints that we, the players, voiced nearly four years ago regarding Fallout 4. ALL OF THE SUDDEN, they're appalled by the terrible graphics. "That's odd," I thought. "The graphics in Fallout 4 were among the worst I'd ever seen, particularly on the heels of the Witcher 3." ALL OF THE SUDDEN, they're appalled by the slipshod game performance and bugs. "That's odd," I thought. "Fallout 4 played like it was programmed by a team of high schoolers or undergrads." The list goes on and on, but Bethesda got a lot of positive feedback on "Fallout 4" from the professional gaming press, so what would motivate them to improve Fallout 76?

    I don't know if the gaming press is on the take, or they're trying to curry favor with the big game developers, etc., and I really don't care. The Fallout 76 scandal finally brought into the light the mass corruption in the gaming press that gamers have known about for many, many years.
    Expand
  78. Nov 26, 2018
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (After 1.02 patch) I love the new perk system, love the locale, love the variety of scenery. I see what Fallout 76 was supposed to do and I like all of the concepts, but it still needs work. The main reason for the low score is simply that the game is just too buggy to play. I haven't had a successful game session over two hours, and the game crashes are random, even had it once crash as I was quitting the game. Lots of crashes when I tried to get into power armor. Lost an claim workshop event because the pathing for mobs was so bad that I couldn't find them, then I lost both the workshop event, and the subsequent event re-take in the same minute. I am glad they are going to address the inventory issues in future updates. Basic shooting is pretty buggy too, as I can shoot a target pointblank miss, yet deliberately shoot to the right or to the left of the target and hit them.

    Mob placement is weird too. Level 62 ghouls intermixed with level 9 and level 15 ghouls, and yet they aren't instant death to me at level 25 (in fact, I killed quite a number of level 62 beasts).

    The number of players per server is a bit small, and should be doubled especially considering the number of people. Haven't tried the PVP yet, but considering general shooting is a bit buggy too

    The lore seems a little off too. Not just the Brotherhood of Steel (would have made more sense as Enclave), but other things don't make sense with the overall story.

    So, if it was bug-free, I'd give it a 7 or 8. If they fixed the lore, the mob location, and had more people per server then I'd put it at a 9. Overall, it looks like Bethesda was trying to do something new using technology it knew how to use, but it was just a bridge to far. I don't mind paying for the risk though, if they are going to keep supporting Fallout 76.
    Expand
  79. Nov 27, 2018
    2
    I have enjoyed previous versions of Fallout. Fallout 76 has a lot of possibilities but it appears that Bethesda went for the gold (or rather our cash) and released an early beta version of the game with little to no quality assurance work. The game engine is seriously dated, the graphics would look great on a PS2 or PS3, I encountered 3 game ending bugs in three hours of play last night.I have enjoyed previous versions of Fallout. Fallout 76 has a lot of possibilities but it appears that Bethesda went for the gold (or rather our cash) and released an early beta version of the game with little to no quality assurance work. The game engine is seriously dated, the graphics would look great on a PS2 or PS3, I encountered 3 game ending bugs in three hours of play last night. Did someone forget a user save option? Hello? What is up with a multiplayer only option? Everything that you could possibly do wrong in a game seems to have been included in this version. I know Bethesda has hopes that they can save this pig with many patches in the future, but honestly, I didn't pay $80 dollars to be a @#!$ beta tester. I expected a little competence for my money. At this point I will settle for more time in Red Dead Redemption II and shelve this garbage for a few more months and maybe by then I will be able to play for an afternoon without being booted from their server or crash after crash. Spoiler alert; skip this for at least a year and maybe by then Bethesda will have basic gameplay issues resolved. Expand
  80. Nov 27, 2018
    2
    I love Bethesda and I love the Fallout IP. Unfortunately, the game should not have been released in this state. I really wanted an online Fallout game but this completely missed the mark in what I wanted. There is a bit of promise there and you can have a little fun with friends. I just became worn down by issues with broken CAMPS, broken Quests, Broken Physics, Lost Progression, LostI love Bethesda and I love the Fallout IP. Unfortunately, the game should not have been released in this state. I really wanted an online Fallout game but this completely missed the mark in what I wanted. There is a bit of promise there and you can have a little fun with friends. I just became worn down by issues with broken CAMPS, broken Quests, Broken Physics, Lost Progression, Lost Loot, etc... Outside of that I appreciate the chance Bethesda took and I also appreciate how they immediately responded to my refund request, so major props to their customer service. The game may be worth revisiting in a year or two. Expand
  81. Dec 3, 2018
    0
    Online only, no NPC, micro transactions, lag, bugs and glitches left and right. Absolute mess of a game in all fronts that don't deserve to carry the Fallout brand.
    Avoid at all costs. Vote with your wallet.
    This is not a real Fallout game.
  82. Nov 26, 2018
    1
    This is such a sad attempt at a $60 game, which isn't even finished. There are so many bugs and server disconnections it is ridiculous. I have had items in my inventory disappear and i have been attacked by invisible enemies many times. The game feels empty and its just boring. This game is a joke and Bethesda has become a joke of a company.
  83. Nov 29, 2018
    0
    I’ve played fallout 3, new Vegas, and 4. I love fallout. Fallout 76 is garbage plain and simple. I do not find it fun at all. From the pain in the but drink and eat you have to maintain to ammo weight. The bugs are also horrible.
    Bethesda let us down on this one
  84. Nov 29, 2018
    0
    Fun at first, but so many broken elements to the game kills it for me. High-level areas have bullet sponge enemies that can take an armor penetrating round to the head (no armor) without dying. So many things broken in this game, I don't know where to start. Worst insult to this franchise I've ever seen. Save your money and get Fallout 3, New Vegas, or even Fallout 4. Can you play it solo?Fun at first, but so many broken elements to the game kills it for me. High-level areas have bullet sponge enemies that can take an armor penetrating round to the head (no armor) without dying. So many things broken in this game, I don't know where to start. Worst insult to this franchise I've ever seen. Save your money and get Fallout 3, New Vegas, or even Fallout 4. Can you play it solo? Mostly, but launching a missile against unending waves of robots with no way to repair your weapons. Entire game designed for microtransaction cosmetics. Expand
  85. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    If you’re reading this and you actually are looking for review read on I play a lot of fallout 4 with mods I personally love fallout 4 but it doesn’t play very well but when you use mods it fixes a lot of issues I can 100% tell you fallout 76 is a new engine or at least very upgraded a lot of the rendering issues have been fixed character movement has been fixed a lot of issues have beenIf you’re reading this and you actually are looking for review read on I play a lot of fallout 4 with mods I personally love fallout 4 but it doesn’t play very well but when you use mods it fixes a lot of issues I can 100% tell you fallout 76 is a new engine or at least very upgraded a lot of the rendering issues have been fixed character movement has been fixed a lot of issues have been fixed this game plays very well I’m surprised by all the Hate it got people are crazy it stays true to the lore know in NPCs are needed or they could always add some I personally really like it I think a lot of other people will too Expand
  86. Nov 28, 2018
    3
    Lvl 55
    Pros - Fallout with friends; very neat art direction including fantastic bosses; enjoyable C.A.M.P building
    Cons - No story; very limited loot storage - this is such a huge issue in a game where looting and storing resources is paramount to the experience; regular crashes occur; terrible frame rates in high traffic areas; countless functionality and visual bugs; server hiccups
    Lvl 55
    Pros - Fallout with friends; very neat art direction including fantastic bosses; enjoyable C.A.M.P building
    Cons - No story; very limited loot storage - this is such a huge issue in a game where looting and storing resources is paramount to the experience; regular crashes occur; terrible frame rates in high traffic areas; countless functionality and visual bugs; server hiccups which are to be expected but not when a BETA has been released (a great time to work on server issues); can't break down or sell ammunition.

    I remember the days when QA was imperative to the release experience for players, when regulations were in place, and games couldn't release until expectations were met. Have Microsoft and Sony softened their expectations to stay in play while indie, pre-beta "free QA" marketing campaigns thrive? It would make sense if this were the case considering the quality of Fallout 76. It's horse manure with a garnish of mutfruit.
    Expand
  87. Nov 26, 2018
    1
    I loved FO3, FO:NV, and FO4. The concept for FO76 is excellent. However, the fanboy love only goes so far. In fact, it all crumbles after you've been disconnected from the server multiple times in a single session. It falters when the frame rate drops to near zero at that moment that a horde of bad guys swarms on you. It disintegrates when the game just freezes and no longer acceptsI loved FO3, FO:NV, and FO4. The concept for FO76 is excellent. However, the fanboy love only goes so far. In fact, it all crumbles after you've been disconnected from the server multiple times in a single session. It falters when the frame rate drops to near zero at that moment that a horde of bad guys swarms on you. It disintegrates when the game just freezes and no longer accepts the input of any button but the home button. If your tolerance for BS is low and your blood pressure is high, you might want to skip this edition. Expand
  88. Nov 27, 2018
    1
    This game is a joke, I have played games that are in Alpha that far exceed this game. This game ranks poorly across and fails on all fronts: UI, stability, visuals, story, content, and pushing the limits of the video game industry. I think everyone who purchased this game is stuck with a $60 coaster.

    Bethesda games are normally known for their glitchiness and issues. However, games such
    This game is a joke, I have played games that are in Alpha that far exceed this game. This game ranks poorly across and fails on all fronts: UI, stability, visuals, story, content, and pushing the limits of the video game industry. I think everyone who purchased this game is stuck with a $60 coaster.

    Bethesda games are normally known for their glitchiness and issues. However, games such as Skyrim, FO NV, and Morrowind pushed the boundaries of what a video game was in their time. The only boundary this game pushes is how broken of a game can a AAA studio release before they get a class action lawsuit,

    The only reason I didn't give it a 0 is because the music is decent even though the majority is recycled from FO4.
    Expand
  89. Nov 27, 2018
    4
    Incredibly average, day one was somewhat fun minimal glitches and disconnects but as more players joined as they should have been able to, the worse this got it should no longer be tolerated for games to be released as a “ no mans sky” type game....
    I’m not interested in how this game will look in 12 months as it should have been released perfect the first go see rdr2 and take notes.
  90. Nov 27, 2018
    1
    This game is a complete utter lie. As shown by both the class action lawsuits, and the lack of forgiving fan opinion of this. The game is a new approach on a fallout game, I get that. Smart on Bethesda to try something new. Though this game has utterly one of the worst connections in almost all history of online experiences. While this game has redeeming qualities, it is so hidden in mudThis game is a complete utter lie. As shown by both the class action lawsuits, and the lack of forgiving fan opinion of this. The game is a new approach on a fallout game, I get that. Smart on Bethesda to try something new. Though this game has utterly one of the worst connections in almost all history of online experiences. While this game has redeeming qualities, it is so hidden in mud and ash that it is irrelevant to fill these holes. Holes like connection issues, graphical issues, and lack of main plot points to say the least. A multiplayer experience is the only thing that makes this fun in any way, but as everyone knows The Room is a cool movie when you are watching it with friends. Basically something so bad can be fun and entertaining if you do it with someone else. To summarize this game is a dumpster fire of complete trash, and accordingly should be treated as such. I hope Bethesda can get the torch lit under them to make a new engine, or sell fallout to a company that will. Expand
  91. Nov 28, 2018
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its peace of **** Just play new vegas again, Its worst graphics, gameplay, no quests, npc's. I just can't imagine smt good about it.. Expand
  92. Nov 28, 2018
    4
    Bethesda must have developed this game in a vacuum without any consideration to the core elements that made the Fallout franchise a player favorite. If you couple the lack of historical fan favorite elements with the overburdened glitches, then you end up with a live launch that should have been relegated to early stage Beta, at best. Additionally, I appreciate the whole social platform,Bethesda must have developed this game in a vacuum without any consideration to the core elements that made the Fallout franchise a player favorite. If you couple the lack of historical fan favorite elements with the overburdened glitches, then you end up with a live launch that should have been relegated to early stage Beta, at best. Additionally, I appreciate the whole social platform, but I hate being forced to subscribe to Xbox Live just to play the game. It should have a solo / unplugged option which would satisfy players like me, and cure most of Bethesda's "server issue" plague that haunts the game. Expand
  93. Nov 30, 2018
    2
    This game should have been delayed until it was properly finished. Instead, Bethesda released a half finished game to the ire of everybody who paid full price for it. It is a chore to play, and I recommend you save your money.
  94. Dec 6, 2018
    0
    I've done about +100 hours in game to give it a chance, due to bad press.

    The game overall is incomplete, has no story, no end game content and Bethesda makes a great effort micromanaging it's player base: -Fully repaired weapons would break after first shot -Mutations we're disabled and only provided a negative effects -I was locked off from getting certain build plans -Low level
    I've done about +100 hours in game to give it a chance, due to bad press.

    The game overall is incomplete, has no story, no end game content and Bethesda makes a great effort micromanaging it's player base:

    -Fully repaired weapons would break after first shot
    -Mutations we're disabled and only provided a negative effects
    -I was locked off from getting certain build plans
    -Low level characters will attack high level characters; grieving system will punish high level
    -Friend was banned because I blew up a low level griever
    -Enemies have infinite health
    -My alternative character's also suffered from the same things

    Overall; this "game" should of been a Fallout 4 DLC. Not a method for scamming their player base.
    Expand
  95. Nov 26, 2018
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. Everything about, from the bugs to gameplay. Absolutely bad. Everything they promised at E3 was thrown down the drain. But hey, At least they earned an Award. The 3rd most discussed game of 2018. Don't take it as a nice title, Todd.
  96. Dec 4, 2018
    0
    First off I am a HUGE fallout fan. Although i wasn't a fan of fallout going multiplayer, i was willing to give it a chance..... I created a account to show my disgust with this game. This game is complete garbage and a disgrace to the fallout name. Bethesda CREATE A NEW ENGINE AND DITCH YOUR OUT-DATED **** ENGINE!!!
  97. Nov 26, 2018
    0
    I don't know what to say. Stay away from this game. It's the worst Fallout experience you can ever imagine. Bad game! Bad!
  98. Nov 22, 2018
    0
    El videojuego de Fallout 76 es un caso similar al de NoMans sky debido a que se apresuraron en sacar el producto sin terminar. Además, Bethesda toma la estrategia de vender el producto y con parches pesados ir arreglándolo para compensar el error. Sin embargo, con el paso del tiempo estará terminado en dos años. El sistema de micro pagos está más cuidado que el propio juego. No vale laEl videojuego de Fallout 76 es un caso similar al de NoMans sky debido a que se apresuraron en sacar el producto sin terminar. Además, Bethesda toma la estrategia de vender el producto y con parches pesados ir arreglándolo para compensar el error. Sin embargo, con el paso del tiempo estará terminado en dos años. El sistema de micro pagos está más cuidado que el propio juego. No vale la pena comprarlo solo por ser un Fallout.

    In English
    The game of Fallout 76 is a case similar to that of NoMans sky because they rushed to get the product unfinished. In addition, Bethesda takes the strategy of selling the product and with heavy patches go fixing it to compensate for the error. However, with the passage of time it will be finished in two years. The micro payments system is more careful than the game itself. It's not worth buying just for being a Fallout.
    Expand
  99. Nov 26, 2018
    0
    Questo gioco è probabilmente una delle più grandi delusioni dell’anno, che potrebbe compromettere seriamente la fama della serie Fallout. Si tratta di una sorta di DLC di Fallout 4, privo di alcun tipo di interazione con altri NPC. La storia la si segue attraverso le cassette audio del gioco, un’idea terribile. Per tutto il tempo si ha una sensazione di estrema solitudine e il lag èQuesto gioco è probabilmente una delle più grandi delusioni dell’anno, che potrebbe compromettere seriamente la fama della serie Fallout. Si tratta di una sorta di DLC di Fallout 4, privo di alcun tipo di interazione con altri NPC. La storia la si segue attraverso le cassette audio del gioco, un’idea terribile. Per tutto il tempo si ha una sensazione di estrema solitudine e il lag è qualcosa di inaccettabile: anche se trovi un giocatore il lag non permetterà di avere un combattimento normale o divertente costringendo i giocatori a non attaccarsi mai... Un fallimento su ogni aspetto, questo gioco merita davvero uno 0 spaccato, anche solo come voto di protesta. Expand
  100. Nov 27, 2018
    2
    the game is a disappointment we wanted a fallout game with co op but we didn't get this and i constantly disconnect from servers and the ai in the game is just broken.
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. 60
    But it’s hard to feel as if you’re truly affecting the world when there are no NPCs to express satisfaction or disdain, or to be directly influenced by your actions. Even killing feels hollow. Some of my best battles in Fallout 4 came when I stumbled across an outpost and found there a raider in there; he’d yell and scream at me as we were facing off. The Scorched, while armed, feel like nothing more than zombies.
  2. Dec 11, 2018
    50
    The addition of multiplayer feels as though it comes at the expense of Fallout’s memorable story-driven moments. What good is a vast map full of players if they're given little to no purpose? When no other players are around, the game’s world feels almost empty. The attention-grabbing locales and landmarks add to Appalachia's charm, but it's difficult to not wish for living, breathing characters to inhabit it. Post-apocalyptic West Virginia is described as a wasteland, and this term paints an inadvertent but accurate picture of what Fallout 76 is right now.
  3. Nov 30, 2018
    60
    If you enjoy multiplayer games of this type and are willing to overlook the engine anomalies, you may find yourself rapidly addicted to the game's exploration density and loot systems. If you're easily frustrated by bugs and issues, you may want to sit tight a bit to see what Bethesda does to polish things up, cus oh boy, it could use a bit right now. If you're a fan of the single player, branching narrative the series is known for, you'll want to wait for Fallout 5.