User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 90
  2. Negative: 15 out of 90
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2018
    5
    Looking at this game objectively - one does not need to look far and see GunFire games hand of laziness throughout the entire game. From the beginning, to the middle? to the - off putting and needless ending, Darksiders III let me down in every sense of the way, aside from letting me know that the franchise is no longer in good, and caring hands.
  2. Nov 28, 2018
    7
    I love the presentation side of the game because both the visuals and sound design make the fantastic world come alive in all areas. The combat has a decent amount of depth present in it which makes defeating any enemy a fun and rewarding experience for the most part. Exploring the decent sized world always feels rewarding and coming across the different and creative puzzles makes you seeI love the presentation side of the game because both the visuals and sound design make the fantastic world come alive in all areas. The combat has a decent amount of depth present in it which makes defeating any enemy a fun and rewarding experience for the most part. Exploring the decent sized world always feels rewarding and coming across the different and creative puzzles makes you see that a lot of thought and effort has been placed into the world. Once again the story shines bright just like it did in the previous games and without a doubt it kept me hooked throughout my time with the game. Unfortunately the game suffers with quite a few technical issues which definitely hold the game back in some areas. I like a challenge for me the game is too difficult which in turn did cause me to become frustrated quite a bit. Even though the game offers you plenty of upgrades these upgrades don’t seem to help in any way when it comes to the games difficulty curve. The Darksiders is a franchise that never fails to capture the imagination and to say that it’s a series that I thoroughly enjoy would be a massive understatement. As you can imagine then I was eagerly anticipating the arrival of Darksiders III and thankfully for the most part it delivers in quite a big way, but unfortunately it does suffer with some issues which do stop it from being as good as the previous games in the series. I will say though that most of these issues can be sorted out with a few patches but until then some of the technical issues will annoy you quite a bit. I did in the end forget about these issues though and this was mainly down to the fantastic story and combat. The combat has a great deal of depth to it this time around and defeating the various enemies always felt rewarding. Exploration is also rewarding as well and this is a good thing because it eases the frustration that’s built due to the game’s difficulty curve, which might I add is extremely high. At the end of the day then fans of the Darksiders franchise will no doubt find things present in Darksiders III that satisfies them, but you will also find things that annoy and frustrate you as well. I'm sure patches will come in the future to address the current issues present in the game. That being said the game does get more things right than it gets wrong and that’s enough to get a recommendation from me. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2018
    7
    I have always enjoyed this series, each game changing up its style slightly. 1 was clearly inspired by Zelda, 2 by more loot orientated RPGS like Diablo, and now 3 seems inspired by Demon or Dark Souls. Gone are the predefined dungeon areas, now the whole world is more intertwined and the way you need to unlock new skills to open new passages and walkways.
    I am playing on an Xbox One X.
    I have always enjoyed this series, each game changing up its style slightly. 1 was clearly inspired by Zelda, 2 by more loot orientated RPGS like Diablo, and now 3 seems inspired by Demon or Dark Souls. Gone are the predefined dungeon areas, now the whole world is more intertwined and the way you need to unlock new skills to open new passages and walkways.
    I am playing on an Xbox One X. So far the game has crashed on me twice, both times when attempting to reload after a defeat from a boss.
    Overall I am loving the combat, exploration and simplified inventory and levelling up system, but annoyed with the frame rate and occasional crash.
    Is it unplayable as some people are saying, of cause not. However I feel the lack of another few months polish has taken a great game to a good game.
    For people playing this standalone it's maybe only a 6 at the moment. But for people who are fans of the series, love the world, the characters and the lore than we will probably want to overlook its shortcomings and could consider it an 8. I'll split the difference and call it a 7 for now.
    If they improve the bugs though this could easily go higher.
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    Darksiders 3 EXCELS in every aspect, combat feels great (even though it can be unforgiven if you dodge a second too early) level design is absolutely stunning and amazing,with a lot of shortcuts and connections that will let you with a ''How did I arrive here from there'' expression, like the one Dark Souls 1 delivered with level design.(which i have to add, Darksiders 3 takes a lot ofDarksiders 3 EXCELS in every aspect, combat feels great (even though it can be unforgiven if you dodge a second too early) level design is absolutely stunning and amazing,with a lot of shortcuts and connections that will let you with a ''How did I arrive here from there'' expression, like the one Dark Souls 1 delivered with level design.(which i have to add, Darksiders 3 takes a lot of inspiration from) Yes, the game has changed, but not for bad, it has evolved, for better. The only issue i've found with the game is not its fault, my xbox one S lacks the power to run this game without framedrops. But its worth it. The settings, the landscapes, the glorious music, the combat, the exploration. It might not be as big as darksiders 2, but is it awesome on its own and perfect way? yes. A total must play. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2018
    10
    Darksiders III exceeds my expectations. Despite a few bugs here and there (which is expected). Darksiders III offers an extremely unique and clever level design where the worlds seems to loop in on itself. The combat is more satisfying due to the increased difficulty. The world is beautifully unique. the protagonists needs some time to get used to but you will find out that she is veryDarksiders III exceeds my expectations. Despite a few bugs here and there (which is expected). Darksiders III offers an extremely unique and clever level design where the worlds seems to loop in on itself. The combat is more satisfying due to the increased difficulty. The world is beautifully unique. the protagonists needs some time to get used to but you will find out that she is very different from War and Death that provides a fresh look at the franchise. If you played the previous games and enjoyed them, you will surely enjoy this one too, Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2018
    9
    I am a big fan of the Darksiders franchise and this one is no exception. It strays from the first two in quite a few ways, but not negatively necessarily. It has a bit of a Souls feel in the gameplay which may be a good thing or a bad thing depending on said person. By no means is it perfect though. There are common frame drops and dodging seems inconsistent at times. Darksiders 3 is aI am a big fan of the Darksiders franchise and this one is no exception. It strays from the first two in quite a few ways, but not negatively necessarily. It has a bit of a Souls feel in the gameplay which may be a good thing or a bad thing depending on said person. By no means is it perfect though. There are common frame drops and dodging seems inconsistent at times. Darksiders 3 is a very good game and i would recommend to almost anyone interested in these types of games. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    Un gran regreso de un franquicia casi olvidada, posiblemente no posea los mejores graficos pero goza de una gran historia
  8. Nov 29, 2018
    8
    Úvod je značně přepálený a chybí berličky pomáhající méně zkušeným hráčům. Absence větší rekapitulace nechává mnoho dějových mezer, které zapomětlivější jedinci jen těžko vyplní a odklon od popcornové hratelnosti otevřel dveře stresujícím soubojům s častými respawny. A vadí to? Třetí díl Darksiders přichází s pozměněným konceptem, který skvěle odpovídá obměně ústřední postavy a zároveň doÚvod je značně přepálený a chybí berličky pomáhající méně zkušeným hráčům. Absence větší rekapitulace nechává mnoho dějových mezer, které zapomětlivější jedinci jen těžko vyplní a odklon od popcornové hratelnosti otevřel dveře stresujícím soubojům s častými respawny. A vadí to? Třetí díl Darksiders přichází s pozměněným konceptem, který skvěle odpovídá obměně ústřední postavy a zároveň do puntíku zapadá do vytvořeného univerza. Aby si Fury získala vaše sympatie, stačí jí široká paleta bojových schopností, dobře napsané dialogy a originální bossové. Příjemný návrat jezdců apokalypsy drobně kalí jen nevyužití některých prvků, grafika s proměnlivou kvalitou a skutečně tuhý kořínek některých soků. Nicméně to může být pro mnohé největší klad. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2018
    10
    Impressed that THQ were able to pull this off with such a small dev team. If you enjoy games with challenges and rewards this game is great! 10/10
  10. Nov 29, 2018
    8
    O jogo é muito bom e na minha opinião, é bem melhor e mais centrado que o segundo título da série.
    Infelizmente o lançamento com vários problemas técnicos não o deixou ser nota 10, embora eles provavelmente vão ser resolvidos no futuro, é obrigação das empresas lançarem os jogos em seu melhor estado.
    O preço do jogo é outro problema, R$250 não é válido para um jogo que não tem
    O jogo é muito bom e na minha opinião, é bem melhor e mais centrado que o segundo título da série.
    Infelizmente o lançamento com vários problemas técnicos não o deixou ser nota 10, embora eles provavelmente vão ser resolvidos no futuro, é obrigação das empresas lançarem os jogos em seu melhor estado.
    O preço do jogo é outro problema, R$250 não é válido para um jogo que não tem multiplayer e consiste em uma história de menos de 40 horas. Eu o peguei em uma promoção de pré-venda do xbox onde custou R$119. Caso em esteja em dúvida de adquirir ou não o game, recomendo que aguarde uma promoção.
    Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    This game is amazingly good as I remember the other 2 entries. Even more so after the first patch release. I love the story and plain and simple, the joy it brings me while playing.

    I am not just a fan I really loved it.
  12. Dec 1, 2018
    7
    If you loved Darksiders 1 - 2 and you expected something similar in 3 you will be disappointed and frustrated.
    You can no longer compare the Darksiders series to Zelda or God of War, this game is more like Darksouls/Bloodborne.
  13. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    Отличная игра, купил сразу на две платформы.
  14. Dec 3, 2018
    7
    Darksiders always grabbed my attention when it came to the world the story took place in, the characters (protag/antag), and the story itself. Darksiders 3 takes place after Darksiders 1 but before Darksiders 2. In D3, Fury must eliminate the Seven Deadly Sins to restore balance to the world.

    Firstly, Darksiders 3 does not feel next gen whatsoever. The combat can be clunky at times,
    Darksiders always grabbed my attention when it came to the world the story took place in, the characters (protag/antag), and the story itself. Darksiders 3 takes place after Darksiders 1 but before Darksiders 2. In D3, Fury must eliminate the Seven Deadly Sins to restore balance to the world.

    Firstly, Darksiders 3 does not feel next gen whatsoever. The combat can be clunky at times, dodges feel nonresponsive or finicky, frame rates can drop in the worst of times resulting in a potential death followed by lost progress. Opposed to previous titles, Darksiders 3 feels more like a souls game than a typical hack n' slash. Now, instead of mindlessly spamming attack to kill things you have to time dodges/attacks to overcome your enemies. I give Darksiders 3 points for that for taking a new direction in combat and keeping it rather fresh. My BIGGEST gripe with Darksiders 3 however is the jumping. This is where it feels past gen. Instead of double jumping over things you absolutely know you can make it up to, Darksiders 3 says, "No, **** you. You have to fall back down until you automatically grab the ledge and do a dumb jump animation to clear that ledge." Every. Single. Time.

    On to the pros now. Like I said before, the setting and characters always captivated me when it came to Darksiders. In Darksiders 3, I give massive respect to the design team. Boss fights feel like boss fights and some of them will make you pissed off. Fury feeeeeeeeeels like a badass being able to turn into a massive infuriated version of herself for extra damage. And her whips ooooooooooooooooooooooo her whips just feel so satisfying to swing around. There were some times where frames dropped or the game didnt look as pretty but that didn't bother me as much because.. Fury was always center stage and I always got a look at her flaming mane blowing in the wind as I essentially had a watery mouth over how dope her armor looks. All in all, I'd give Darksiders 3 a 7/10. It tries to bring a breath of fresh air to the franchise and while it is a fun game it feels like a nostalgia grab based on the fact that it does not feel next gen at all. If you can get past the past-gen feeling then there's an amazing game waiting here for you.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    It excels in many ways from fast and challenging combat to well-designed boss fights and good level design. The only problem is that it feels like the "lite" version of all of its inspirations, offering a taste of a masterpiece instead of a new take on those archetypes. You'll get Dark Souls without the measured combat, Bayonetta without the intricate weaving of combos, Castlevania with far fewer utility abilities to learn, and Zelda with puzzles that are far too easy for most. Still, what's taken from each of those games is mostly good, which makes Darksiders III a successful comeback story.
  2. Dec 6, 2018
    90
    Sure, it’s not as polished as the likes of God of War, but I don’t care. When Darksiders III works well, it’s just as entertaining. I love its character and enemy designs; its world draws you in and surprises you with the way all of its environments are linked together; and it really does have some epic boss fights. Throw in some light puzzling and an engaging story, and you have a no-frills adventure game that somehow feels fresh.
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    55
    Darksiders III strays too far away from the formula that made the first two entries great while also being mired by bugs and performance issues.