Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    90
    Sure, it’s not as polished as the likes of God of War, but I don’t care. When Darksiders III works well, it’s just as entertaining. I love its character and enemy designs; its world draws you in and surprises you with the way all of its environments are linked together; and it really does have some epic boss fights. Throw in some light puzzling and an engaging story, and you have a no-frills adventure game that somehow feels fresh.
  2. Nov 26, 2018
    89
    Gunfire Games have succeed in preserving the personality of the two last games, but also in making a great game of Darksiders III on its own terms.
  3. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    It excels in many ways from fast and challenging combat to well-designed boss fights and good level design. The only problem is that it feels like the "lite" version of all of its inspirations, offering a taste of a masterpiece instead of a new take on those archetypes. You'll get Dark Souls without the measured combat, Bayonetta without the intricate weaving of combos, Castlevania with far fewer utility abilities to learn, and Zelda with puzzles that are far too easy for most. Still, what's taken from each of those games is mostly good, which makes Darksiders III a successful comeback story.
  4. Nov 28, 2018
    78
    Darksiders III’s shift to a more Dark-Soulsy experience seems to fit perfectly within the Darksiders universe. The third outing in the franchise is a solid effort by Gunfire Games – one of my favourite gaming experiences of the year, in fact – let down only by some shaky traversal mechanics, a dodgy compass and some downright unpleasant frame-rate issues.
  5. Nov 26, 2018
    75
    More than a tribute to the first two games, Darksiders III creates its own identity. More demanding, but also more rewarding, it improves the formula in almost every compartments. Sadly, it lacks the epic breath of its predecessors.
  6. Dec 2, 2018
    70
    We're glad THQ Nordic revived this great series, but unluckily it feels quite sub-par compared with the previous games. The loss of environmental puzzles and a general dumbing down of the gameplay formula definitely hurt the series, even if it's still an enjoyable game. Too bad for the performance and technical problems that undermine the overall experience.
  7. Nov 29, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III shows there is still room for linear action gaming. Especially the boss fights are amazing, but technically speaking we expected a lot more.
  8. Nov 29, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III is a game that fans like myself will enjoy. While not as polished as the first two entries it continues the story of the Horsemen respectfully. I want to see how this saga ends so badly, and I hope THQ Nordic gives Gunfire Games more time and more money to craft the next entry. The rough edges are going to drag some people down, but I promise the conclusion is worth the ride.
  9. Nov 27, 2018
    70
    Darksiders III is a bittersweet episode in the series of the Horsemen that proposes a new and more demanding approach in combat, but remains halfway to a notable game for the lack of rhythm and the loss of elements such as exploration and puzzles. It is a bit far from the game that the Darksiders franchise needs to continue to be alive in the near future.
  10. Nov 26, 2018
    70
    The straightforward simplicity of Darksiders III is a refreshing change of pace after exploring so many dense open-world games. That simplicity doesn’t refer to the combat or boss battles, though, which are complex and almost startlingly unforgiving. Its throwback philosophy is comfort food for action gamers of a certain age, but it would’ve been nice to see the third game in the series introduce some new concepts to relaunch Darksiders in the modern age.
  11. Nov 27, 2018
    66
    Combat is hard, often unfairly so, but get into the groove and it’s also very satisfying. Exploring the environments can yield extra challenges, with powerful rewards for success, but a few more tantalizing glimpses of areas beyond your abilities wouldn’t have gone amiss. If you enjoyed the previous entries and have been waiting to see what Fury can do, you’ll find the wait has mostly been worth it. Just be prepared for a challenge.
  12. Dec 3, 2018
    60
    Darksiders III is a frustrating, awkward sequel to a series that’s charmingly stupid, but there’s a lot of fun to be had if you give up on getting good. Do yourself a favor and tone down the difficulty level so that you can enjoy the crazy character designs and ridiculous fantasy world that Gunfire Games has built. Fans will be glad that this underdog of a series at least got a third chapter, but if you’re new to Darksiders, you might want to start at the beginning.
  13. Dec 3, 2018
    60
    Darksiders III has a good framework, including the simple yet fun combat and interesting Hollow system. Unfortunately, it’s held back by its weak puzzles, uninteresting environments, and numerous technical issues. If you’re already invested in the series and want to see it through to the end, there’s enough to enjoy despite its flaws, but it’s not the strongest return for the franchise.
  14. Nov 30, 2018
    60
    Ultimately, while the setting, characters, and storytelling feel right at home, Darksiders III swings for the fences with its combat ambitions and only just barely manages to get on base. It gets points for trying something new, but the end result is a muddled set of ideas that clash with each other, with nothing in place to soften that collision.
  15. Nov 30, 2018
    60
    I enjoy the Darksiders series for being Darksiders; a colourful fantasy world with a satisfying hack and slash combat, a cast of bizarre characters, and a galore of environmental puzzles. Darksiders 3 tries too much to be something else: to be dark and tough. As a result, it loses a lot of its own identity – its own unique charm. It’s by no means a bad game and certainly has its moments, but being disappointed myself, I just can’t wholeheartedly recommend it to existing fans of the franchise.
  16. 60
    Darksiders 3 is a much different game than its predecessors. The ideas here aren’t bad, so much as they are poorly executed. There’s still an interesting story and great presentation to experience, but you’ll likely have to overlook the technical issues even if the core gameplay suits you.
  17. Dec 4, 2018
    55
    Darksiders III strays too far away from the formula that made the first two entries great while also being mired by bugs and performance issues.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 90
  2. Negative: 15 out of 90
  1. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    Darksiders 3 EXCELS in every aspect, combat feels great (even though it can be unforgiven if you dodge a second too early) level design isDarksiders 3 EXCELS in every aspect, combat feels great (even though it can be unforgiven if you dodge a second too early) level design is absolutely stunning and amazing,with a lot of shortcuts and connections that will let you with a ''How did I arrive here from there'' expression, like the one Dark Souls 1 delivered with level design.(which i have to add, Darksiders 3 takes a lot of inspiration from) Yes, the game has changed, but not for bad, it has evolved, for better. The only issue i've found with the game is not its fault, my xbox one S lacks the power to run this game without framedrops. But its worth it. The settings, the landscapes, the glorious music, the combat, the exploration. It might not be as big as darksiders 2, but is it awesome on its own and perfect way? yes. A total must play. Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2018
    10
    Darksiders III exceeds my expectations. Despite a few bugs here and there (which is expected). Darksiders III offers an extremely unique andDarksiders III exceeds my expectations. Despite a few bugs here and there (which is expected). Darksiders III offers an extremely unique and clever level design where the worlds seems to loop in on itself. The combat is more satisfying due to the increased difficulty. The world is beautifully unique. the protagonists needs some time to get used to but you will find out that she is very different from War and Death that provides a fresh look at the franchise. If you played the previous games and enjoyed them, you will surely enjoy this one too, Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2018
    7
    I love the presentation side of the game because both the visuals and sound design make the fantastic world come alive in all areas. TheI love the presentation side of the game because both the visuals and sound design make the fantastic world come alive in all areas. The combat has a decent amount of depth present in it which makes defeating any enemy a fun and rewarding experience for the most part. Exploring the decent sized world always feels rewarding and coming across the different and creative puzzles makes you see that a lot of thought and effort has been placed into the world. Once again the story shines bright just like it did in the previous games and without a doubt it kept me hooked throughout my time with the game. Unfortunately the game suffers with quite a few technical issues which definitely hold the game back in some areas. I like a challenge for me the game is too difficult which in turn did cause me to become frustrated quite a bit. Even though the game offers you plenty of upgrades these upgrades don’t seem to help in any way when it comes to the games difficulty curve. The Darksiders is a franchise that never fails to capture the imagination and to say that it’s a series that I thoroughly enjoy would be a massive understatement. As you can imagine then I was eagerly anticipating the arrival of Darksiders III and thankfully for the most part it delivers in quite a big way, but unfortunately it does suffer with some issues which do stop it from being as good as the previous games in the series. I will say though that most of these issues can be sorted out with a few patches but until then some of the technical issues will annoy you quite a bit. I did in the end forget about these issues though and this was mainly down to the fantastic story and combat. The combat has a great deal of depth to it this time around and defeating the various enemies always felt rewarding. Exploration is also rewarding as well and this is a good thing because it eases the frustration that’s built due to the game’s difficulty curve, which might I add is extremely high. At the end of the day then fans of the Darksiders franchise will no doubt find things present in Darksiders III that satisfies them, but you will also find things that annoy and frustrate you as well. I'm sure patches will come in the future to address the current issues present in the game. That being said the game does get more things right than it gets wrong and that’s enough to get a recommendation from me. Full Review »