Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    An unlikely mix of survival horror and cartoons work smoothly together. Bendy and the Ink Machine succeeds in combining two very different genres into one. It’s as if you were playing inside a child’s nightmare. The game suffers a little when it comes to the combat but, luckily that is a minor focus in the game. Even though it’s a pretty short game with little to no replay value, you can expect to have a memorable time.
  2. Dec 13, 2018
    79
    An indie horror game above the average thanks to they bizarre art style and quirky sense of humour. Maybe the game's name is the weakest aspect of the game.
  3. Dec 3, 2018
    72
    Bendy and the Ink Machine is an interesting survival horror. Despite its combat issues and easy puzzles, Kindly Beast, Inc. manages to bring us an interesting story with some effective jump scares. Bendy and the Ink Machine does not give us anything new, but it's enjoyable enough to give it a chance.
  4. Nov 27, 2018
    72
    Bendy and the Ink Machine is a pretty good action-horror, and although it can sometimes seem a little bland, you cannot knock it for its originality. There’s a couple of technical and design issues to iron out, but overall, the fresh and distinct look, together with some good scares, will undoubtedly keep your heart racing throughout.
  5. Dec 3, 2018
    70
    Though it isn’t a perfect game by any means and can be incredibly frustrating at times, Bendy and the Ink Machine is a fun game that mixes horror elements with a cartoon environment that gives players some enjoyable yet scary moments along the way.
  6. Nov 30, 2018
    70
    A unique and creative horror game filled with boring puzzles and clunky combat.
  7. Dec 9, 2018
    68
    An intriguing concept and design gets partially ruined by a lacklustre technical production and boring puzzles.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 25, 2018
    8
    I found both the visuals and sound to be extremely charming and they both create an atmosphere that not only enhances the gameplay but makesI found both the visuals and sound to be extremely charming and they both create an atmosphere that not only enhances the gameplay but makes it more interesting as well. The story throughout the different chapters keeps you hooked from start to finish and there’s plenty of twists and turns along the way. There’s a decent array of different puzzles for you to tackle during your adventure, and I did enjoy the creativity in some of them. There are a few issues with the game the controls thankfully weren’t an issue and remained tight and responsive at all times. In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to sink your teeth into and you’ll no doubt be satisfied for quite a while. Unfortunately the game suffers with a few technical issues which do frustrate you every now and then. Loading times vary wildly and sometimes the game didn’t load at all which did frustrate me and will hopefully be patched in the near future. Bendy and the Ink Machine has been out on the PC for a while now and it’s a game that I’ve heard nothing but good things about. Thankfully after playing it I can now see why the game has a ton of good reports and to say I enjoyed my time with the game would be an understatement. From the moment you start the game there’s a fun and creepy atmosphere present and thanks to the brilliant visuals and sound design this atmosphere is available throughout. Accompanying this very good atmosphere is a fantastic story that grips you from start to finish throwing in some twists and turns along the way as well. The gameplay also throws up some twists and turns along the way as well and I must admit that I really enjoyed the creative puzzles that were littered throughout. Unfortunately though there was something else that was littered throughout and that was technical issues. Some of these issues are only small there is in my opinion too many of them and a patch is definitely needed to fix the main problems like the long loading times. Despite this Bendy and the Ink Machine gets everything else pretty much spot on and even though the technical issues can be a nuisance at times they still don’t make the fun levels dwindle much and they don’t stop me from giving the game a recommendation to buy either. Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game was fun. Most of the chapters in the game were quite interesting and unique with their level design and atmosphere. The only thing I really didn't like was Chapter 5. It just got annoying; especially after dying WAAAY too many times! And also the fact that if you wanna play the "archives" chapter, you have to start a new game (slight spoiler)! But the game has replay some value. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Bendy and the Ink Machine is a farcry 1920s survival horror. The graphics (or drawings) are absolutely mesmerising. The gameplay and combatBendy and the Ink Machine is a farcry 1920s survival horror. The graphics (or drawings) are absolutely mesmerising. The gameplay and combat issues are slightly annoying but nothing to cry about. The "puzzle" aspect of the game is less than challenging and not very robust.. In the end, Kindly Beast, Inc. makes its mark on history by creating a game that not only changes my perception on ALL 1920s cartoons, but also scared by interpretation of those cartoons as well. Bendy and the Ink Machine gives members new to the genera something they can throughly enjoy, with a few scares to boot. Watch out Cuphead. Full Review »