User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 10 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    8
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible in my opinion because both the visuals and sound design give the gameplay so much character. I love the freedom you get it the gameplay because discovering things all on your own is not only satisfying but rewarding as well. Each different mechanic plays a big part in the grand scheme of things and when they all come together itThe presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible in my opinion because both the visuals and sound design give the gameplay so much character. I love the freedom you get it the gameplay because discovering things all on your own is not only satisfying but rewarding as well. Each different mechanic plays a big part in the grand scheme of things and when they all come together it really does deliver a fantastic experience to you. In terms of content the game has a lot for you to sink your teeth into and the content is varied and has depth to keep you intrigued throughout. Crafting in the game actually feels unique and important and also adds to the overall survival elements within the game. There’s a few technical issues every now and then which can take away from your experience at certain moments and the game may get a little tedious after a while due to the game’s slower-pace style. Below had been in development for a long while, but thankfully it has finally made its way to the Xbox One. For the most part it was well worth and reminds me a bit of games like ICO, so the wait as well worth it, but it isn’t perfect either. That being said it gets a great deal more right than it gets wrong and when in full flow the game takes you on one amazing journey. At its core, the game is all about survival but there are also other mechanics in play as well. Each mechanic in the game plays an important role and I’m pleased to say that they’ve all been done well. Crafting feels as important as it should be and the freedom the game gives you is very refreshing. While the freedom is very nice, it does add to the overall difficulty of the game though which can be slightly unforgiving. The technical issues don’t help matters either, but thankfully these are very few and far between. Despite these issues Below still gets a two thumbs up from me though because it immerses you fully in it's world and it doesn’t let go even at the slowest points. Your adventure is always fulfilling and fans of the genre will love what Below brings to them. It's fun, original and worth the price of admission. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2018
    0
    You can't save the game
    You die after one trap hit
    You have to start from the very beginning if you die. Zero explanations of mechanisms of gameplay. Unless this game gets a huge update its definitely not worth it. Also no story at all i have no idea what i was doing 2 hrs in the game so i just got bored i found no point in continuing i was super hyped because it looked so amazing
    You can't save the game
    You die after one trap hit
    You have to start from the very beginning if you die.
    Zero explanations of mechanisms of gameplay. Unless this game gets a huge update its definitely not worth it.
    Also no story at all i have no idea what i was doing 2 hrs in the game so i just got bored i found no point in continuing i was super hyped because it looked so amazing and new and fresh i was totally digging it but once you start playing yourself you will quickly find many many issues that just kills the mood of enjoying the game. Not worth at least not yet this feel like a game in alpha mode more so then even in beta or final code. It doesn't feel like a finshed product at all.. and because of that i can already tell how many bad reviews this will soon get when everyone was hoping for something amazing and being instead a massive let down.
    I really hope the developers can fix alot of these issues with an update
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    This is a nice little dungeon exploration game a lot of people are complaining it’s to difficult it does require patience but so does the souls series. Definitely not for everyone but a great example of the genre
  4. Dec 18, 2018
    0
    La petite daube indé du jour vous propose d'explorer les tréfonds de... euh quoi déjà ? enfin, en dessous du dessous là où c'est sombre et d'ailleurs, on conseille fortement à ce jeu qui sent pas bon d'aller se mettre à un endroit de son anatomie qui ne voit jamais la lumière du jour, pour son bien mais surtout pour le nôtre à dire vrai (ce genre de sous-produit est une abomination trèsLa petite daube indé du jour vous propose d'explorer les tréfonds de... euh quoi déjà ? enfin, en dessous du dessous là où c'est sombre et d'ailleurs, on conseille fortement à ce jeu qui sent pas bon d'aller se mettre à un endroit de son anatomie qui ne voit jamais la lumière du jour, pour son bien mais surtout pour le nôtre à dire vrai (ce genre de sous-produit est une abomination très vaguement audio-visuelle).

    C'est vu de très haut et on contrôle le petit bonhomme très con avec sa petite épée et son petit arc : on dirait cette tanche de Link qui doit aller sauver la petite princesse Zelda qui n'a plus de papier sauf qu'ici, c'est sombre et à peine éclairé et qu'il faut en plus fabriquer de la bouffe et de la flotte quand on campe dans la nature de ces égoûts plein de poésie et de méchants **** bonhommes rouges (sans doute des communistes).

    On sauvegarde pas évidemment et si on clamse, bah on recommence tout (c'est frais !). L'interface est horrible et le jeu reste laid comme un pou alors qu'une musique new age cherche à nous endormir, ni vu ni connu. Oui, c'est tellement en dessous de tout que même Nintendaube n'en a pas voulu !
    Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    If youre the type of gamer that appreciates the developers of a game not treating you like youre helpless, then this might be the dungeon crawler for you. When you first arrive on the beach of this massive island, the first thing that youll notice, is there are no tutorials. If learning the controls, recipes, navigation, etc through trial and error sounds terrifying, you might want to stayIf youre the type of gamer that appreciates the developers of a game not treating you like youre helpless, then this might be the dungeon crawler for you. When you first arrive on the beach of this massive island, the first thing that youll notice, is there are no tutorials. If learning the controls, recipes, navigation, etc through trial and error sounds terrifying, you might want to stay away. This game feels like it was tailor made for me. If i could give you any advice, it would be, dont look for answers on a wiki or walkthrough. Half the fun is in the discovery and learning how the mechanics function. This is a rare gem, completely deserving of a 10/10 Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2018
    8
    Immediate, special hatred for one game? That shows how much players wish to delve into this.

    This game challenges your ability to adapt. This game brings unfamiliar interaction enough to stand unique. This game will immerse you and challenge your tenacity.
  7. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    Ahh yessss get Gud or ....die .ohhh the music.. old school no respawns .zelda like
  8. Dec 21, 2018
    8
    I REALLY like Below.

    Coming in the busiest season of the busiest year for excellent games in memory, it is easy to imagine this game getting lost, and that would be a travesty. Below is a top-down action-adventure game with RPG elements. It offers no story, no voice acting, and no explanation. Oh. And it's permadeath. To call Below hard would be, I think, unfair. It is not a hard
    I REALLY like Below.

    Coming in the busiest season of the busiest year for excellent games in memory, it is easy to imagine this game getting lost, and that would be a travesty.

    Below is a top-down action-adventure game with RPG elements. It offers no story, no voice acting, and no explanation. Oh. And it's permadeath.

    To call Below hard would be, I think, unfair. It is not a hard game. It is altogether rather easy. It is just uncompromising. There are rules, and you learn them with time. Being observant will keep you alive. Being patient will keep you alive. Experience will keep you alive. But you will die. More than once. The systems of survival are simple, and in small number, and learning them is part of the fun.

    I originally fell in love with Below before I ever played it. Seeing the game on screen at E3 for the first time was enough. It reminded me of everything I'd loved about Legend of Zelda, and I wanted it. Years later, having finally played the game I was struck by how accurate that impression was. This game is a love letter to Legend of Zelda. Not to Link. Not to the Zelda series. To the original Legend of Zelda. Just that first game. It will be dangerous to go alone.

    There is a beauty to this game. To the sounds, and the dank artistry of it. It is easy to lose yourself as you explore.

    A friend of mine died within 20 minutes on his first playthrough because he didn't pay attention to one of the more obvious systems. Another died at the one hour mark for not thinking ahead about another until it was too late. The third died because he got too greedy. The fourth was the only one of us whose first death was because of combat. I lasted about 3 hours before my first death. And it came down to my eyes not working. I feel like that listing of deaths describes a lot about the game and the kind of people who enjoy it.

    I played The Legend of Zelda for the first time in March of 1986. I was 5. I was in love. Many of my friends played the game too. We talked to one another about it at recess. We traded stories and secrets over lunch. We took those stories and secrets back with us to the game and together we experienced an unravelling mystery, each of us on our own. This is the same experience I have with Below with my friends now. And it's wonderful.

    The sound is lovely, the graphics are gorgeous, the gameplay is delightful and you can lose hours without realizing it. A lot of people seem to hate this game. I don't think they're wrong, I just don't understand them. I love it. All of my friends that have played it love it. My kids both love it.

    I don't know if you're the kind of person who wants to explore a dungeon, and die lots of times along the way. I don't know if you want to shoot messages to your friends about successful, and unsuccessful, excursions. But I do.

    I REALLY like Below.
    I hope you do too.
    Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    Se você é o tipo de jogador que aprecia os desenvolvedores de um jogo que não está te tratando como se você estivesse desamparado, então este pode ser o rastreador de dungeon para você. Quando você chega pela primeira vez na praia desta enorme ilha, a primeira coisa que você notará é que não há tutoriais. Se aprender os controles, receitas, navegação, etc, através de tentativa e erro soaSe você é o tipo de jogador que aprecia os desenvolvedores de um jogo que não está te tratando como se você estivesse desamparado, então este pode ser o rastreador de dungeon para você. Quando você chega pela primeira vez na praia desta enorme ilha, a primeira coisa que você notará é que não há tutoriais. Se aprender os controles, receitas, navegação, etc, através de tentativa e erro soa terrível, você pode querer ficar longe. Este jogo parece que foi feito sob medida para mim. Se eu pudesse lhe dar algum conselho, seria, não procure respostas em um wiki ou passo a passo. Metade da diversão está na descoberta e no aprendizado de como a mecânica funciona. Esta é uma jóia rara, completamente merecedor de um 10/10 Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    This is a nice little dungeon exploration game a lot of people are complaining it’s to difficult it does require patience but so does the souls series. Definitely not for everyone but a great example of the genre.
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible in my opinion because both the visuals and sound design give the gameplay so much character.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Feb 27, 2019
    80
    A special experience for a certain type of gamer. Try it if you're brave.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Feb 1, 2019
    80
    If Below is a game about the single-minded pursuit of a shape, about making your descent at all cots, it is also a test of your ability to find time for appreciation or understanding along the way. [March 2019, p.104]
  3. Jan 25, 2019
    70
    Below is a solid and well-designed game that will challenge every level of gamer. Steeped in mystery, fans of Roguelike dungeon exploring will feel right at home in this subterranean adventure.