Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Dec 25, 2018
    90
    Below is a punishing dungeon crawler, mixing elements from roguelikes, Dark Souls and survival games to create an often painful, yet oddly enticing action-adventure game.
  2. 90
    Although it has a tendency to frustrate, both in terms of design and execution, Below offers a compelling adventure set in a mysterious world that's just begging to be explored.
  3. Dec 20, 2018
    85
    Below presents a very evocative proposal, with a captivating atmosphere and a multitude of secrets to discover. It is a difficult game to recommend to everyone because its absence of information is not accessible from the beginning and takes place in a slow progression. Even so, we have a roguelike exploration adventure with Zelda inspiration and a very original design.
  4. Jan 2, 2019
    80
    Despite its frustrating refusal to teach you even the basics, Below’s sense of discovery is as good as anything already out there, and its gameplay is as deep as its name suggests.
  5. 80
    Worth the wait, Below is a Rouge lite that doesn't hold your hand and asks you figure out the rules of this world on your own. It makes for a fulfilling, albeit difficult journey.
  6. Dec 28, 2018
    77
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Dec 25, 2018
    75
    Below is a unique game, masterfully blending elements from different genres to create a compelling mix where exploration and experimentation make much of the game's charm. Some design choices, like the survival elements and permadeath mechanics, can often make it more frustrating than challenging or satisfying. But thanks to its pros and its unique visual style, it's a game we suggest everyone should try.
  8. Dec 20, 2018
    75
    Below is an experience where survival and exploration are the keys to success in a narrative and well-polished environment. Unfortunately, the roguelike aspect is sometimes too repetitive, and the lack of visibility messes with the pleasure that we take.
  9. Dec 18, 2018
    74
    Below is a dark-space opera with strong imagery that revolves around the concepts of darkness and light, good and evil. It is a well-built hardcore game with procedural dungeons and traps. It is not suitable for casual players.
  10. Dec 18, 2018
    71
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Dec 27, 2018
    70
    It’s loaded with intrigue but resistant to modern methods of approach, creating a Rorschach test where losing patience with its internal contradiction is as credible of a reaction as relishing its idiosyncratic isolation and adversity. Ultimately, Below is a curiosity in which gratification is dependent on personal resolve.
  12. Dec 23, 2018
    70
    Below can be a satisfying roguelike experience for anyone who is willing to persevere through its steep learning curve and difficulty. For others, the journey might come to a close after only a few failed attempts.
  13. Dec 22, 2018
    70
    Below is a very mysterious and appealing roguelite, but it’s missing something more unique or deep to truly shine.
  14. Dec 20, 2018
    70
    A frustrating mix of survival game and roguelike, that has absolutely no respect for your time and yet still hides an enthralling and rewarding action adventure within its murky depths.
  15. Dec 20, 2018
    70
    Below is beautiful and endlessly intriguing, but also rigid and immensely frustrating.
  16. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    Below has a precise idea but transmits it reluctantly. Finally, not everyone who understands it might want to indulge it.
  17. Dec 20, 2018
    69
    Below simply leans too hard on roguelike and crafting elements, which create an urgent pace and conflict with its more admirable design ideas.
  18. Jan 10, 2019
    65
    After waiting for Below for over five years, I’m left conflicted. On one hand, it’s a beautiful and deeply engrossing roguelike with fantastic art direction and stunning music from Jim Guthrie. But it also doesn’t quite jive with some of its gameplay systems and, at times, feels like a confusing mixture of ideas. Despite this, however, I still don’t regret my time with Below. Even though it doesn’t always feel cohesive, it’s certainly worth playing, especially if you’re a fan of roguelikes —just know that your mileage may vary in the enjoyment department.
  19. Dec 28, 2018
    65
    Below’s strongest element is its gripping visual and sound design.
  20. Dec 19, 2018
    65
    BELOW evokes a fantastically ominous air of foreboding with its soundtrack, and its visual style is unquestionably superb, but as an example of the roguelike, Capy's game does nothing new. Perhaps it's intentionally pared-down, but the resulting game is enjoyable for an hour or two, and a relentless chore thereafter.
  21. Jan 2, 2019
    60
    Below's extreme demands for patience and tolerance remain right through to the game's mysterious ending. But despite its assured aesthetic and the initial pleasures of discovery, Below will eventually turn into a slog for all but the most committed of players.
  22. Jan 2, 2019
    60
    Its art style is unique but darkly opaque and as action/survival/roguelikes go, it doesn’t add much new to the genre. With wildly erratic difficulty spikes, the necessity for uninspired grinding and the inevitable and frequent loss of progress, Below is a niche game for a specific target audience that has enormous patience and determination.
  23. Dec 27, 2018
    60
    Uncompromising to a fault, Below is a unique and often hauntingly beautiful game but its punishing design eventually becomes a tedious slog, sucking out any intrigue or enjoyment of its initial hours.
  24. Dec 25, 2018
    40
    Below’s moody gloom and atmosphere is spoiled by mechanics that really cramp its central quest.
  25. Dec 22, 2018
    40
    There's a tacked on feeling permeating throughout the game's skeleton that it's hard to shake the feeling that maybe even after six years in constant development by Capybara, Below was simply unready for its time in the dark.
  26. Dec 18, 2018
    40
    I’m genuinely sad that the little indie I found so enamoring many years ago turned out to be something that I can’t stand playing, but that’s the truth of it, and here we are. Masochists looking for something to test their mettle might think a trip Below worthwhile, but I suspect that most will find a harsh, unforgiving experience that’s outdone by other, less brutal titles.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 10 out of 40
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    8
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible in my opinion because both the visuals and sound design give the gameplay so muchThe presentation side of the game is absolutely incredible in my opinion because both the visuals and sound design give the gameplay so much character. I love the freedom you get it the gameplay because discovering things all on your own is not only satisfying but rewarding as well. Each different mechanic plays a big part in the grand scheme of things and when they all come together it really does deliver a fantastic experience to you. In terms of content the game has a lot for you to sink your teeth into and the content is varied and has depth to keep you intrigued throughout. Crafting in the game actually feels unique and important and also adds to the overall survival elements within the game. There’s a few technical issues every now and then which can take away from your experience at certain moments and the game may get a little tedious after a while due to the game’s slower-pace style. Below had been in development for a long while, but thankfully it has finally made its way to the Xbox One. For the most part it was well worth and reminds me a bit of games like ICO, so the wait as well worth it, but it isn’t perfect either. That being said it gets a great deal more right than it gets wrong and when in full flow the game takes you on one amazing journey. At its core, the game is all about survival but there are also other mechanics in play as well. Each mechanic in the game plays an important role and I’m pleased to say that they’ve all been done well. Crafting feels as important as it should be and the freedom the game gives you is very refreshing. While the freedom is very nice, it does add to the overall difficulty of the game though which can be slightly unforgiving. The technical issues don’t help matters either, but thankfully these are very few and far between. Despite these issues Below still gets a two thumbs up from me though because it immerses you fully in it's world and it doesn’t let go even at the slowest points. Your adventure is always fulfilling and fans of the genre will love what Below brings to them. It's fun, original and worth the price of admission. Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2018
    0
    You can't save the game
    You die after one trap hit
    You have to start from the very beginning if you die. Zero explanations of mechanisms
    You can't save the game
    You die after one trap hit
    You have to start from the very beginning if you die.
    Zero explanations of mechanisms of gameplay. Unless this game gets a huge update its definitely not worth it.
    Also no story at all i have no idea what i was doing 2 hrs in the game so i just got bored i found no point in continuing i was super hyped because it looked so amazing and new and fresh i was totally digging it but once you start playing yourself you will quickly find many many issues that just kills the mood of enjoying the game. Not worth at least not yet this feel like a game in alpha mode more so then even in beta or final code. It doesn't feel like a finshed product at all.. and because of that i can already tell how many bad reviews this will soon get when everyone was hoping for something amazing and being instead a massive let down.
    I really hope the developers can fix alot of these issues with an update
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    This is a nice little dungeon exploration game a lot of people are complaining it’s to difficult it does require patience but so does theThis is a nice little dungeon exploration game a lot of people are complaining it’s to difficult it does require patience but so does the souls series. Definitely not for everyone but a great example of the genre Full Review »